Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

IRH Elite EQ Helmet

International Riding Helmets
- Item #19509
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The IRH Elite EQ Helmet is the ultimate advantage in styling, workmanship and innovation. It features the distinctive styling that made IRH the choice for all riders! Covered in Amara Suede Low profile Geometry Center front ports coupled with right, left and rear ports create Optimal Air Intake making the Elite EQ the most fashionable and most comfortable helmet on the market today. World class safety riding helmet.

ASTM F1163.04a / USA / SEI / EN-1384 / CE Mark Europe.

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    IRH Elite EQ Helmet is rated 4.8372 out of 5 by 43.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I've had IRHs every since I started riding and tehy are by far my absolute favorite. I just bought this helmet last winter for IHSA competitions and I love it! It fits perfectly and isn't bulky (nor does it look that way!). It's ultra light and very comfortable!If you have big, thick, curly hair like mine, I would suggest maybe going up a tiny bit in size to fit hairnets in (or try the no-bow hairnets... they're marvelous!).
    Date published: 2013-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! I had an IRH previously and while I loved the fit, I hated the lack of ventilation. This helmet is perfect! Still has the great IRH quality and I stay much cooler throughout my ride.
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet... I bought this helmet to replace my OLD "trail" helmet, a Troxel Sierra, in "tan"...the inner suspension system had started to break, (had it 5 years +). I do have a Charles Owens GR8...it is "newish" and fits well but it is much too hot for most months in Florida, no vents! I read in the customer reviews that the IRH Elite EQ was very well ventilated, IT IS :-) I bought the same size as my CO, 7 1/8, I took a chance on size/shape, normally I go to a store for helmets...but I "knew" that Smart Pak is excellent about returns/exchanges. It fit perfectly AND it is VERY well ventilated no "hot head" here! It is MORE comfortable than my CO! The "many" reviews REALLY 'help" when buying online. Thank you Smart Pak
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet and an even better price! i LOVE this helmet. I have had Charles Owen's for years and finally I decided I didn't want to look like a mushroom head anymore so I shopped for a new helmet. I have a very round face and the IRH looks awesome on me. I didn't want to spend the money on a GPA and the IRH is just as awesome and I think it looks better one me. Great purchase overall i am very happy.
    Date published: 2013-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this helmet! I have had this helmet for almost a year now and I love it! It fits and looks great! My trainer, who is a Charles Owen lover, loves my helmet and wants to get one for herself for schooling. I have had problems in the past trying to fit all my hair in helmets but it's no problem with this one! I use it for schooling and for shows and I am always getting compliments! I highly recommend this helmet for schooling/ showing. It's also lightweight which is nice on hot summer days!
    Date published: 2012-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Helmet This is a very nice helmet suitable for the schooling or show ring. I measured my head with my hair up and it fits true to size. I can neatly put my hair up in this helmet without the use of a hair net due to the shaped back that cradles the ponytail. The quality is very nice and while I can't speak 100% on durability since I just got it, I went ahead and gave it 5 stars because it seems very well made. I only gave 4 starts on value because you can purchase this helmet on other sites for about $20 cheaper, but I bought here since I was placing another order with SmartPak. I will be using this helmet for schooling as well as local shows and IEA shows and I think it will fit in very well. It is not quite as light as other helmets I have had and is slightly larger but it still does not give you the huge mushroom head look that other helmets do.
    Date published: 2012-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from the vents on this helmet really work! it keeps me pretty cool (although if its 100 degrees dont expect not to sweat a little) and the helmet is also really comfortable. i would order a size up b/c tends to run alittle small
    Date published: 2012-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! This helmet exceeded all my expectations. The fit is great, it's well-vented, and even looks stylish (as much as a helmet can). This is the first helmet I've had that kept my head noticeably cooler than other "vented" helmets. I measured at 55 1/2 cm, so I got the 6 3/4 size. It felt pretty snug at first, but never even noticed it while riding, and it's felt fine ever since.
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love It! Got this helmet for a REALLY great price, and totally worth it! My only issue is that not having a molded harness slightly cheapens the look. Though not the durability. So kinda cancels one another out! Great helmet, LOVE how light it is, and how hot it looks ;-D
    Date published: 2012-08-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, Comfy, and Looks Awesome! I love this helmet! I had been looking to upgrade to a new helmet for a while. I ordered 6 different ones from SmartPak, which they were so awesome about. I tried on each one and settled on this one. I returned all of the other ones so easily and with no hassles at all. This one is comfortable, soft, and breathes really well. It is over 100 degrees where I live on many days in the summer and this helmet does a good job with the heat. I have a small head and an oval shaped face, and it looks the best on my head out of all of the others I tried.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet-Good Value My daughter loves this helmet, it looks great for shows and has been good for our hot and humid Virginia summers!
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good helmet and safe falls I really like this helmet. The vents are nice but I didn't notice a BIG change. The vents at least didn't make my head feel like it was in a sauna. I had my first fall on it and wow! My head didn't hurt at all and I LANDED on it. I feel super safe and confident that my next fall won't be so bad :) I really enjoy this helmet, deffinantly worth every penny!
    Date published: 2012-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful helmet This is a beautiful helmet, with a great price point. However, the fit was not a good one for me. I had to return it. Bought another brand. Thank you Smart Pak for making the return process painless.
    Date published: 2012-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet Ever! I love this helmet! I've always tried on various helmets but have stuck with IRH. The fit is perfect and looks very attractive. I decided to get this helmet after my old IRH was just totally beat up. The Elite EQ is great quality, it's lasted a long time without any damage, and keeps my head cool, which is important in Arizona summer heat. Plus I look very professional! I love this helmet.
    Date published: 2012-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great show helmet Love the look of this helmet and the price. I got the IRH EQ Elite helmet & wore it to a show that same week. I was so happy to have the air vents since it was 95 degrees. My head wasn't cool, but I didn't feel like it was in a hot sauna. The vents really helped. I bought it on sale, but would have paid full price for the look and features. I have a long, narrow face and my picky trainer said it looked good. I had tried on a GPA of a friend (even though I wasn't going to spend the money for one) and my trainer said she didn't like that on me. I even got a compliment on the helmet at the show! I'm very impressed with this helmet.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great show breeches This is my first pair of Tailored Sportsman and I really like them. My trainer, who is very picky, told me they fit me great! I'm 5 ft. 7.5 in. & I ordered the longs. I'm glad they weren't any longer, but they seem to be fine. The inseam measures 28 in. on the 28L that I got. The rise comes up to the bottom of my belly button. I really like the mid-rise! I have worn them once and they seemed to repel dirt better than my other show breeches. If I needed another pair of show breeches, I would order these.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Comfortable Helmet! This is my first IRH helmet and I have to say I'm completely happy. I'd already been through troxel, charles owen, tipperary and none fit well all that well. This helmet fits so well I forget its even there. I have round face and my old helmets were always a little goofy looking but this one looks really great. The vents are awesome for the summer heat and the suede is easy to care for.
    Date published: 2012-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Comfortable Helmet This is my show helmet and I love it!!! It has plenty of vents so I stay cool on hot summer days. It is probably the most comfortable helmet I put on my head!! It is just a bit pricey but is totaly worth the investment!
    Date published: 2012-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! Super comfortable. Sizing is very accurate. I have a round face verses oblong if that matters. I can tuck my hair up nicely in this helmet and it holds it well even without a hairnet. I've only had this helmet a short time but the product rating does not allow you to enter "not applicable" on any of the rating criteria. In reality, I have know idea about the durability having only had it such a short time, but I expect this product to last. I really like this helmet!
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice! It was this or a Charles Owen. The IRH fit much better and I liked the harness on this way better than the comparable CO. Nice overall fit and quality good.
    Date published: 2012-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmut This helmut is very cool looking, good coverage and the vents keep your head cool. I did have to add a little padding for a perfect fit. It is well worth the money and the free shipping is great.
    Date published: 2012-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good For Any Shape Head! I have a very round head (almost square)! When I tried this helmet on right out of the box there was a lot of room in the front and back of my head, BUT when I placed the padding in the back of the helmet it fit PERFECT! (it comes with padding strips to custom fit). I love how many vents it has because I hate having a hot head. Well, who does!? This was a great purchase. VERY pleased with the fast shipping too =)
    Date published: 2012-03-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good helmet for the price I did not purchase this helmet because it dd not fit me as well as the Charles Owen, although I'm sure I could have adjusted it to fit with the extra padding provided in the box if I wanted to. It is a very nice looking helmet, nice and lightweight, and I'm sure the ventilation would be helpful for summer weather. I have an oval head and had extra room in front/back, so it rocked on my head a bit. But if it fits you well, this would be an excellent helmet, good for show or training, particularly for the price.
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking, great fitting helmet! This helmet fits true to size, looks beautiful, and best of all is lightweight and cool! I take some grueling lessons, and when I take this helmet off, my hair isn't even damp! It would look beautiful in the hunter ring with it's traditional, plush look. Smartpak has it priced competitively low with the real bargain being free shipping! I would highly recommend this helmet on it's correct fit, traditional low profile styling, and it's light, well vented, cool feel!
    Date published: 2012-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Inexpensive Classic If you need a helmet to pull double duty for show and schooling, this is it. The low-profile styling is flattering and the exterior of the helmet is easily cleaned yet still has that more classic brushed look. I have the navy helmet and it looks wonderful with a navy dressage coat. I now wear it primarily for schooling and it is the most comfortable helmet I've had in a long time.
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted Love everything about this helmet.It's extremely comfortable, breathes well, looks great, comes with a helmet bag which helps me to keep it clean and hang it anywhere. The helmet is even comfortable when my long hair is french braided underneath it.110% satisfied here :)
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Value Attractive Helmet Very attractive helmet at a great price. Great fit. I can't speak to durability because I haven't worn it very much yet - but I have no doubts that it will perform just as well in that category! Excellent value for the money.
    Date published: 2011-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from exceptional helmet I have regained my faith that a helmet can fit , be functional and not make you feel like a bobble head. After trying several different makes and styles, I found the elite to be an exceptional fit despite all the other helmet descriptions and prices. I am very pleased with the price paid and what I received, customer service was excellent
    Date published: 2011-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great and cool helmet This is a comfortable helmet that is also very nice looking. It is much cooler than other helmets and fits very well. I did have to go up one size (from 7 to 7 1/8) because of the ample padding.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice style and great value So... I am the kind of person who gets their mind set on their favorite brand or style and never wants to change. That being said, I had a nasty fall in my first-generation GPA and had no choice but to replace it. Unfortunately I simply could not afford to go the GPA route again, but I decided that if the IRH Elite line is good enough for Liza Boyd, it's good enough for me.The helmet is very cute and very low-profile. I don't love the look as much as my old GPA but again, I am set in my ways. However it is very very comfortable and well ventilated, and totally appropriate for show or schooling and easy to wear on long show days.Since it seems so much lighter than other helmets I've had, I will be interested to see how it holds up over time. Also, while the shape of the helmet is very good for my round head, these seem to run a little large. I ordered a 7 (57) which is my size in Charles Owen and GPA (or was the last time I bought helmets - I had no way to measure my head this time) and it is just slightly big, but very secure with the extra liners placed inside so I will not be downsizing.Overall it's a very nice helmet and I would recommend it as an alternative to the GPA.
    Date published: 2011-07-23
    • 2015-05-27T09:06CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_41
    • loc_en_US, sid_9509, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.