Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Hydrophane Cribox

Item #16415
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Famous English ointment (aka "goo") that puts a stop to cribbing, gnawing, and other "no-no's". Discourage your horse from cribbing or chewing by applying ointment to the surface.  

Sizing It Up

450 g (16 oz)

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    ThisHeavy wall large capacity corner container is what ...
    Description:
    ThisHeavy wall large capacity corner container is what by all standards can be called a real smart choice. Its one-piece construction makes an excellent stall feeder or waterer and also makes it easy to clean. Favorite Features Special offset front ...
    Stainless Steel, heated, automatic for up to20 head. ...
    Description:
    Stainless Steel, heated, automatic for up to20 head. The Ultrafount is designed to give year-round service, providing clean, fresh, temperate water regardless of climate. If you're tired of breaking ice on the coldest days, the Ultrafount has been proven to ...
    Thetried and true FortiFlex's Flat Back Buckets are ...
    Description:
    Thetried and true FortiFlex's Flat Back Buckets are a favorite among horse owners and horses alike! Made with FORTALLOY rubber-polyethylene blend for exceptional strength and toughness even atlow temperatures.Thethick wall construction andHeavy duty galvanized fittings ensure long lasting durability. Favorite ...
    Nearly indestructible, theSafe-T Salt Block Holder is made ...
    Description:
    Nearly indestructible, theSafe-T Salt Block Holder is made from one piece of molded plastic making it hard for horses to chew. Favorite Features Scooped sides and short wings for a snug hold Won't rust or corrode Two holes for mounting ...
    This is the latest HAYGAIN hay steamer system ...
    Description:
    This is the latest HAYGAIN hay steamer system designed to accommodate a fully strung bale or the equivalent in loose hay or hay nets. Double walled and thermally insulated to reach and maintain the critically high temperatures required to effectively ...
    Exceptionally durable, the Fortiflex Round Feeder Tub is ...
    Description:
    Exceptionally durable, the Fortiflex Round Feeder Tub is easy to hang in your horse's stall Favorite Features Includes attached S hooks orHeavy-duty snaps for installation Galvanized reinforcements Capacity markings in gallons and liters Perimeter rim helps bottom of bucket resist ...
    Bye Bye Odor is a safe natural microbial ...
    Description:
    Bye Bye Odor is a safe natural microbial solution specially formulated to eliminate urine and manure odors. Simply spray stalls, trailers, or kennels daily withenough to give the bedding or surface an even mistingand within three days or less and ...
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Hydrophane Cribox is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 45.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from IT WORKS! I've tried a number of products, but none of them worked this well. The sprays have to be constantly re-applied. Cribox stays on through the rain and snow. After applying one product, my little miniature donkeys actually licked the post, but not with Cribox. It just works. I use a metal putty knife to apply and smooth over the wood. Well worth the price.
    Date published: 2015-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ONLY product that stops cribbing! I have tried pretty much every product on the market that claims to stop cribbing and wood chewing. This product is the ONLY one that works. It will stop even the most dedicated cribber. I've been using this product for 4 years and it hasn't let me down once. I have yet to come across a horse that likes the taste of it. It's a little time consuming to apply but I only need to reapply every 4-6 months so the time spent is totally worth it
    Date published: 2014-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very effective This stuff works so well my pony doesn't have to wear a crib collar in his stall. Not foul smelling to humans and lasts for a while, unlike others that need to be re-applied every few days.
    Date published: 2014-11-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Far So Good!!! I have a show horse that has started cribbing in the past year while in his stall. I have tried several different concoctions both manufactured and home made to put on the stall wall to stop him and nothing has helped. I have had to start using a cribbing strap, but I hate having to put it on him. I read the reviews on Cribox and thought I would give it a try. So Far So Good!!! I applied it to where he was cribbing (with a puddy knife after reading reviews) and so far he has stopped!! My only problem is that he is rubbing his head and neck on the area trying to wipe it off and is a stickey mess!! I have found out that it comes off pretty well by straying the area with alcohol and rubbing off with a towel. Hopefully he will stop soon. I would definitely recommend, I think this is going to work!!!!
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally something works! I purchased this for my TB gelding, Captain. He is a retired police horse and his only vice is he is a HARDCORE windsucker. I tried the Miracle Collar and that didn't work. I was using the cage type cribbing muzzle on him and he figured out how to windsuck with it on! When I first used Cribox I thought it wasn't working as he was still windsucking in his stall where I applied it. I put on a heavier coat and he changed his spot. I then applied it to the entire top edge of the back of his stall. (Wall only goes 1/2 way up) He started windsucking on his front door until I applied it there. Now he can be in his stall (without his cribbing muzzle on) and eat peacefully. Before it was eat 2 - 3 bites of grain and windsuck 5 - 6 times. I believe that he is actually gaining some weight now. One of the other reviewers suggested applying the product with a putty knife and that is the best way to apply this product. It is very thick and very paste like. I live in south GA and it went on smoothly and melted into the wood because it was very hot out. It might be harder to apply if it is colder though. I am very pleased with this product. I was originally going to send it back because I though it wasn't going to work. Boy am I glad I gave it another shot.
    Date published: 2014-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective product but messy! Horse does not crib anywhere this is applied, however it is very messy.
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I bought this two weeks ago and applied it immediately as directed on the container. Two days later my horse was still chewing and had the greasy substance, the Cribox, all over his face, main and in his hair other places on his body. I can't seem to get it off of him and I have even tried dawn dish soap! The stuff is still all over my barn because I followed the directions and I can't get rid of it. To sum it up, I still have a cribbing problem and now I have barn walls covered with grease a horse covered with the thick grease and an all around annoying mess that only made matters worse!
    Date published: 2014-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works! We live in a very warm and humid climate so crib collars aren't practical. I bought some Cribox, based upon the reviews, for our new RPSI mare who loves to crib, unfortunately. The Cribox has stopped her cribbing completely -- no more crib collar needed. I even put it around her turnout, following her to each post or tree until she gave up trying to crib. I'm buying more as it took ⅔ of a tub to get her stall and turnout fully prepped, but it lasts for a while.
    Date published: 2014-02-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product! Works wonderfully! This product works wonderfully for my very addictive cribber. Would recommend it to everyone who has a cribber. It is hard to apply, so keeping it in a warm place during cold months is something i'd recommend, but it is a wonderful product. I will continue to use it.
    Date published: 2014-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! Works great! Stopped my pony from cribbing. Since it is relatively hard, I found itwas easy to apply with a putty knife. It removes easily from horse coats (andpeople and clothes) with original Dawn dishwashing detergent. I wish the productcame in a bigger container.
    Date published: 2014-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and works!! I brought this a month ago. I put it on some fence posts they were chewing and so far it seems to be working. It has stayed on so far through rain and snow.
    Date published: 2014-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No chewing this! Bought this because my minis were chewing their shed into toothpicks! Not even rubbing jalapeños peppers or habanero peppers on the wood stopped them but this sure has! Have had this on the new support beams for two weeks now with no bite marks whatsoever! 
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great! I bought this product for my gelding who has been on stall rest for the past 3 month recovering for surgery.  He only started cribbing recently due to increasing boredness and this stuff works great. My only complaints are that smartpak sent it to me frozen and the bottom was cracked so it leaked all over when it warmed up.  It also is extremely hard to to clean out of a grey horses coat if they rub up against it.  Other than that my horse has stopped cribbing from what I can tell.  
    Date published: 2013-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wow! I have a die hard cribber. He will try to crib on just about anything. Collars never worked for him. Nor did hot sauce/dish soap/ivory soap/manure/etc. He really hates this Cribox stuff. He won't touch his panels when it is on there. My only complaint is that it came to me frozen. So I heated it up thinking that it would stay soft. Well... every time I use it I have to heat it up first in order for it to be spread. Not a big deal, but it would be easier if it was already paste like and not hard as a rock.
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mind Blowing!! My mare is a windsucker and after trying EVERYTHINGGGG we were just giving up. Cribbing collars did nothing, toys wouldn't keep her attention long enough. I found this as a last resort. I CANNOT BELIEVE HOW GREAT IT IS!! I'm a firm believer nothing will stop windsucking or cribbing, and I've been proven wrong. My mare would chew/suck on the metal gate to her field all the time. I slapped this on, she threw her nose up once and never tried again. What makes this product really amazing is not only that is actually works, but the product will stay in place outdoors through thunderstorms and downpours. My trainer and barn manager swear by it now!!
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I put this on my pipe corrals and its the only thing that has worked for stopping my cribber - the single coat I put on is lasting quite a while - will need to reapply eventually but its so sticky it stays put for a long time, and repels water like grease... water just beads off. It's VERY hard to get off the horse's hair but if that's the worst side effect, I'd say that's not too bad at all. Thank you Cribox for saving me from future colic vet bills.
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Cribbing Ok, this stuff is gross but it works! Every surface this goes on is no longer a surface my horse will crib on and I don't blame her I wouldn't want to touch it either. I put it on with gloves everywhere in her stall and she no longer cribs. The drawback is you have this gooey stuff everywhere but you no longer have a horse that cribs!
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for boarding barns My gelding could go pro at chewing wood. And when I moved him to a new boarding barn I was worried he was going to destroy, well everything really. This has been great for him. And me. I can't imagine replacing all those boards he would eat!
    Date published: 2012-09-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cribox review prevented my diehard cribber from sucking air where applied, easy to apply, & stuck on wood longer than comparable products. Gave 3 for value as it can get pricey to do whole fence lines...and well it DOES eventually come off. But it did work!
    Date published: 2012-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great alternative to a cribbing collar! I have a gelding who intermittently cribs but the habit was worsening--I bought this as a last ditch alternative to a cribbing collar.It took 2-3 applications to the key areas of his stall, and the cribbing has stopped. I put a medium layer on the outside edge of his feeder and automatic waterer and it's worked beautifully.The only downside is if he rubs on it, the cribox is very gooey and challenging to remove--2-3 shampooings on the coat and more elbow grease to mane/ tail, but well worth it!
    Date published: 2012-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped a pasture cribber. My gelding is kept in a pasture with plenty of grass to graze on 24/7, but cribs anyway. I have previously tried cribbing collars, but they wouldn't stay secure enough to keep him from cribbing and I worried that he would catch himself on the collar in the pasture and injure himself. This stuff is AMAZING! I slathered it all over the tops of the wood fence posts my gelding cribs on and NO MORE CRIBING. It also smells good (to me, not to the horses - my gelding turned his nose up at the fence post and walked away#. My only complaint is it doesn't come in larger packages. I have many fence posts to cover and ran out before I could apply it to every wooden surface he has access to #he's out on like 10 acres). I would buy this stuff by the 5 gallon bucketfull if they packaged it that way!!! WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped a Life Long Cribber! I have had my gelding for 13 years now and he has been a die hard cribber since I got him. After reading reviews I ordered Cribox and for the first time in 13 years I watched him eat his breakfast without cribbing. If you are at your wits end...give this product a try! I would not have believed it, but now I am a believer! A+++
    Date published: 2012-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It WORKS! So excited, I just got back from the barn where for the first time my horse got through his dinner without cribbing! He's a rescue who has been through so much and along the way picked up cribbing, especially when he eats. We did the 28 day paste for ulcers, the u-gaurd, the alfalfa ...all with mild reduction but nothing ever stopped the cribbing, not even the mental on the stall or the sprays. Tonight I put the goo on, easy with a glove, I didn't think it smelled that bad but the two horses literally turned their noses up at it and culled their lips back ... was very funny and best of all no cribbing! he ate his meal without his usual bite, turn, loose grain on the floor, crib, a few more bites, a few more cribs. Tonight, ate his whole meal, didn't loose any, looked confused like "hey what do I do now" just stood at the stall and looked at the half wall, wandered outside, back in and out .. never cribbed once and decided to go eat hay :). Thank you smart pack and Cribox. I wonder how long it lasts between reapplying but it is totally worth it. ps: loving, beautiful, great rescue ... even with the cribbing he's worth a million bucks.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product WORKS! I have tried alot of products, so when I read about Cribox I was sceptical. I am very pleased to say that this product definatly works, even on a lot of different surfaces. I AM SO HAPPY TO HAVE FOUND CRIBOX.
    Date published: 2011-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very impresses He has stopped cribbing!! My horse has a metal edge along his stall to protect the wood. This unfortunately is wearing his teeth. I spread a thin strip with a putty knife and I can tell where he tried to crib, but stopped. I'm going to try it outside on post. Worth it if you have a cribber.
    Date published: 2011-04-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Thrilled I bought this product so that I could take my TB's cribbing strap off at night in his stall. Unfortunately, he loves to crib on his water bucket. I didn't want to discourage him from drinking, so I refrained from putting it there. Even though he doesn't crib where I put the Cribox, he somehow gets the goop all over his face and ears...and it's NOT easy to clean off.
    Date published: 2011-03-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from it works I've tried them all and this is the only thing that keeps my horse from cribbing in the stall... You just need to reapply. Wish it didn't get so frozen in the winter - I always have to bring it home to warm it up...so I can spread it.It's messy.
    Date published: 2011-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Really Works Cribox is a "fence" saver! I have tried all products out there to save my wood fence in the winter time when the horses get bored. They usually wouldnt last or not work at all. McNasty was my absolute favorite, but is not available anymore....so tried Cribox and I LOVE IT ! It REALLY works !! A little goes a long way and LASTS! Thru rain too!! The horses really hate it! Which is a GOOD thing !!
    Date published: 2010-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feel better using Cribox than the Cribbing Collars I have a 12 y.o. QH who's a confirmed cribber. I have tried EVERYTHING (collars, supplements that target the pituitary gland and stomach believed to cause cribbing, toys in the stall, etc). My horse is out on pasture about 8+ hours a day. He simply can't help himself when it comes to cribbing. When he's on pasture, the cribbing subsides for obvious reasons, but I'll still catch him cribbing on fences at times. In his stall, he starts channeling his inner "woodchuck." Though the cribbox is messy to apply (use gloves or putty knife, and leave a sign for people not to lean on it, as it stains clothes), it is definitely working. It will wear off on the door every 3+ days from my horse leaning on it, but a little goes a long way, and I just reapply. My horse has gotten very creative in finding new places to crib, but when I see it, I just put the cribbox on. To me, it's better than the miracle collar. Plus, with the hot, humid weather, I felt guilty putting the collar on. If you have an intense equine cribber, give this a try.
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cribox Product actually works. Mare stopped cribbing on spot where i rubbed this product and then movedon down the board to find another spot.
    Date published: 2010-05-21
    • 2016-07-24T10:21CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_44
    • loc_en_US, sid_6415, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders