Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Horseware Competition Jacket

Horseware Ireland
- Item #21008
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Horseware Competition Jacket is a lightweight stretchy softshell competition jacket. Bonded with contrasted light fabric for ultimate movement. Breathability 1000mvp, Waterproofness 3000mm.

Imported

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight shell is breathable and moves with you, freeing you to perform your best
  • Contrast red lining and red/silver zips on front pockets adds stylish flair
  • Horseware logo buttons add subtle detail (spare button included on care label)
  • Vent in back for comfortable riding
  • Ladies jacket has a vertical style line on front for a more fitted shape
  • Machine washable for easy care  
  • 85% Polyester, 3% spandex, 12% PU. Machine washable.

Sizing

Available in

XS (4)
S (6)
M (8)
L (10)
XL (12)
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Stand out in the show ring with the ...
    Description:
    "Stand out in the show ring with the FITS Zephyr II Hunt Coat no matter what the temperature is! The Zephyr II Hunt Coat is made from all mesh, providing maximum airflow and sweat evaporation. With varying layers of mesh ...
    "Elegance can be easy – and comfortable with ...
    Description:
    "Elegance can be easy – and comfortable with the Kerrits Competitors Koat. Cut to flatter in a fabric that breathes and stretches with every stride, this jacket helps you feel cool and polished (even if your steed is snorting at ...
    "The Kimes Ranch Women's Long Rider Jacket gives ...
    Description:
    "The Kimes Ranch Women's Long Rider Jacket gives a western take on a very sheik, fashon jacket. Great pockets. A lot of added detail with zippers. Cinch-able waist band. Oversized hood. Color: Army Green"
    "The Piper Softshell Coat by Smartpak is stretchy ...
    Description:
    "The Piper Softshell Coat by Smartpak is stretchy and lightweight! Match with the Piper Full Seat Breeches by SmartPak in White/Light Grey as shown or wear them with the Piper Show Side Zip Knee Patch Breeches and you're ready for ...
    "The latest innovation in safety vests - perfect ...
    Description:
    "The latest innovation in safety vests - perfect for eventing, foxhunting, starting youngsters, or any time you want to a little extra protection. The Point Two Hybrid is a combination of the Point Two ProAir Jacket and the World’s leading ...
    "Perfect for the hunter ring, this classic-looking, easy-care ...
    Description:
    "Perfect for the hunter ring, this classic-looking, easy-care shadbelly provides exceptional quality and tailoring at an affordable price. R.J. Classics takes pride in offering you the choices to fill your personal look of refined elegance in the show ring, and ...
    "Designed for the rider who wants the traditional ...
    Description:
    "Designed for the rider who wants the traditional look with a high tech fabric! Finally, a show coat that recognizes the demands of the sport while maintaining the classic, traditional look. 80% Nylon, 20% Elastan. Imported"

    Reviews

    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Horseware Competition Jacket is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 80.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Price! I really like this jacket, the fit is a little off for me but it works fine for local schooling shows. The color is beautiful and I am considering buying the berry one too! It has an odd texture to it but I was recently at a tack swap and I saw a used one of these coats for sale and it felt much softer than mine does, so I'm hoping with a couple washes and some more ware it will soften up! Nice coat and an amazing price!
    Date published: 2017-08-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from sad Sadly I bought this coat not realizing that is had hot pink piping:(((( I sent it back
    Date published: 2017-08-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous coat, on par with Grand Prix and similar. If this didn't run small and I didn't already have multiple coats I don't wear that I could, I would have kept it... but I decided to be an adult and return rather than exchange. Seriously still obsessing over the coat and it's quality.
    Date published: 2017-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this jacket I love this jacket so much that I own 3-the navy, the slate blue, and black. I am thinking about buying the hunter, too. Love the fit, and that they are washable. They are sooo much cooler than my shadbelly...I had to wear my shadbelly in May for the first time in a year and I was soooo hot. These jackets will spoil you!
    Date published: 2017-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice jacket I bought this jacket for my daughter to wear showing local hunters. I liked the look of the Grand Prix soft shells but they were a little too pricey for me. This jacket fits well and in my opinion looks just as nice as the pricier jackets. Very pleased with this purchase.
    Date published: 2017-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can't speak to the durability because I haven't used this yet, but it is stretchy and super comfortable! It looks to be of the same quality as many more expensive brands.
    Date published: 2017-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I bought this for my first show. It fit well and looked great, plus it's easy care!
    Date published: 2017-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome color I was given this coat in Berry by my non-horsey mother for Christmas, and I didn't even ask for it. She did good. I am 5'10" and 145lbs and I take a 10L in Pikeur. I have the medium and it is big through the body but it fits well through the shoulders and there is plenty of length in the sleeves, so that's what really matters to me. It is definitely more purple in color than the picture here suggests, and there is subtle pink piping that I love. I did see one of these coats at my local consignment shop with rust on the buttons, so be careful washing it.
    Date published: 2017-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Jacket I bought the jacket based off the reviews I read on line. I first got a size bigger because I read on here that it ran small. That was not true for me. I am 4'11, 110 lbs and medium was HUGE on me. I returned it (which smart pack did very fast with no charge) and got the small. It fits great! As far as the color I was hoping for more of a burgundy color, but it's more purple looking. I still like it though. Looks great when riding darker horses. I do not have pics yet, but maybe I will later. If I can I will come back and post a pic.
    Date published: 2017-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super light, soft jacket! This is my first non-wool show coat, so I may be slightly biased, but this coat is phenomenal! Very stretchy yet sleek, and the colors are beautiful. Super happy!
    Date published: 2017-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits perfectly! Bought this for showing and I absolutely love it! Perfect fit everywhere! For it being on the more inexpensive side it is amazing quality!!
    Date published: 2016-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please Haven't had a chance to use it yet but it fit properly and arrived it arrived early! Good fit and very nice look
    Date published: 2016-11-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stood out like a plum thumb Not like I already stand out, riding the only Haflinger in many of the Area 7 Eventing scene but I thought I give this jacket in the plum color a try. It was light weight and much cooler then my previous show jumping jacket. I usually get "Cute horse!" From fellow Eventers, but Sunday as I rode to stadium I got more compliments on my new jacket.
    Date published: 2016-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice coat but not right for me I ordered this coat along with similar coats by SmartPak and Kerrits. I am 6' tall and I ordered a large in each. The fabric on the Horseware coat was very different from the other two, extremely lightweight and it felt like it might be water resistant. Out of the three it fit the most snug. It was a little shorter than I prefer, although the arms were plenty long on me (in fact, the arms were the longest out of the three coats). The black coat had a bright red lining. It had regular buttons that didn't seem like they were sewed on tight enough. I prefer the zipper/snap button combo on other "technical" coats. I ended up sending this one back and keeping the SmartPak Piper coat, but the Horseware coat is a nice option at the price point if you have long arms but prefer a shorter fit in the body.
    Date published: 2016-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great coat for the price! This coat exceeded my expectations. The material is great, repels water and dirt, doesn't wrinkle and has a nice contrasting liner. Its a flattering fit without having any alterations. My only complaint is that the sleeves were a bit long for me, but thats not a big issue considering everything else about the coat is great!
    Date published: 2016-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the color ! Bought this jacket so we could stand out in show season. Love the fit the price and color!
    Date published: 2016-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The berry color is stunning! I have always wanted a burgundy show coat, but didn't want to spend $600+ on a custom coat. When I saw this coat at this price, I couldn't pass it up! I already had the Horseware coat in grey, so I knew exactly how it fit. It's cut quite short, but I don't mind the look. The color is also a little more purple than I would prefer, but I've gotten TONS of compliments! It's a fun way to get a little variety from the usual navy/black/grey! It's a bold choice and definitely not appropriate for hunters or equitation, but very fun for jumpers!
    Date published: 2016-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely coat, lots of compliments I have only worn this once, for the dressage portion of a combined test. I got lots of compliments and someone asked me where I purchased it. The judge even commented on our nice turnout. The material is not so stiff as I expected from the other reviews--it's quite nice.
    Date published: 2016-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! Just got the berry coat and I'm in love!! Wait, no, I mean I hate it. You'll all hate it. Nobody should order it. I swear once a few people show in these everybody will want one. The color is amazing. The fabric and fit seem a bit improved over prior years' versions too. Still the same scratchy noise, but a bit lighter weight, and a more tailored fit through the waist (less boxy). The fabric is no Grand Prix Techlite, sure, but the coat is 1/4 of the price. The color and the fit are both great. I originally bought this to just be a "rainy day coat" but I seriously see myself wearing this just as often as my others. Maybe more. I just hope Smartpak will carry the matching fly bonnet! I'm between a small and a medium and things are often tight on my arms, so I ordered a medium and the fit is perfect. I'd say it runs true to maybe SLIGHTLY small. There's plenty of stretch too.
    Date published: 2016-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I bought this jacket recently in the Berry. But I have to admit I have it in blue and black. I love the way this jacket fits. I'm 5ft tall so finding jackets to fit me are like finding a needle in a haystack. The blue and black are the older style and the fabric seems to be a little thicker, but great for a rain storm. Must get some water repellant breeches or else they soak up all the water!!!! I do wish they came in a double vented back because I'm slightly apprehensive about showing in the equitation with it. Although, I did show in an equitation class with the blue and won so it must not really make a difference. My favorite!
    Date published: 2016-04-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lightweight and comfortable! This is a great jacket for the price! It looks great for dressage and show jumping. I originally ordered both a small and medium to be sure I got the right fit. The small was a hair too small in the chest, and the medium was WAY too big all around. I ended up moving the buttons over 1/2 an inch and now the small fits great. This jacket gives you excellent freedom of movement!
    Date published: 2015-07-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Weird texture and fit I bought this coat after hearing a couple of my friends rave about it. It looks A LOT different then it feels. It is made of this really stiff and awkward material. It feels more like a windbreaker than a show coat. While this jacket fits beautiful on someone with shorter torso, It looked quite boxy on me...i am 5'10 with a narrow figure. For some peopke it works and others it just doesn't, so don't feel bad if this isnt the jacket for you.
    Date published: 2015-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice cut and look- it is hot in warm weather I bought this jacket to be a rain coat and save my dry cleaning required Pikeur. I liked the cut so much and it fit so well I wore at a show here in North Carolina even though not raining. It was really quite warm and didn't feel breathable. I think the fit is true to size- I wear a size 2 top and the XS fits well.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Starter Show Coat I needed an appropriate, stylish and budget friendly coat for my first dressage show. This jacket was the perfect solution. It was lightweight and moved with me, and the slightly stretchy fabric made the jacket feel like it was a semi-custom fit. Machine washability was a big plus, and allowed me to wear a clean jacket both days of the show.
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too small I purchased this jacket in hopes that it would work for me but it was to small in the bust area and shoulders. I ordered it according to the size chart listed.
    Date published: 2015-05-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horseware Competition Jacket We really wanted to love this coat, but sadly, it didn't work. It runs big, and the fabric felt cheap, shiny and stiff. For the price I didn't expect it to be perfect, but the fabric just wasn't good enough for the show ring. Returned.
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great coat, especially for the price! This is a really great coat. I wasn't expecting much for the price, but it looks like a much more expensive coat! I always get compliments on it! Love the fabric and fit - only complaint is it runs a little snug.
    Date published: 2015-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fabric, love the buttons Love the fit have not had a chance to show or ride in yet
    Date published: 2015-04-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from did not like fit my daughter did not love the fit or material of this jacket
    Date published: 2015-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from show coat my mom bought this for me for christmas and i love it...about to show in it this week so excited
    Date published: 2015-02-14
    • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_78
    • loc_en_US, sid_11008, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders