Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Horseware Competition Jacket

Horseware Ireland
- Item #21008
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Horseware Competition Jacket is a lightweight stretchy softshell competition jacket. Bonded with contrasted light fabric for ultimate movement. Breathability 1000mvp, Waterproofness 3000mm.

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight shell is breathable and moves with you, freeing you to perform your best
  • Contrast red lining and red/silver zips on front pockets adds stylish flair
  • Horseware logo buttons add subtle detail (spare button included on care label)
  • Vent in back for comfortable riding
  • Ladies jacket has a vertical style line on front for a more fitted shape
  • Machine washable for easy care  
  • 85% Polyester, 3% spandex, 12% PU. Machine washable.

Imported

Sizing It Up 

XS (4)
S (6)
M (8)
L (10)
XL (12)

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Designed for the rider who wants the traditional ...
    Description:
    Designed for the rider who wants the traditional look with a high tech fabric! Finally, a show coat that recognizes the demands of the sport while maintaining the classic, traditional look. Favorite Features Unconstructed interior (no lining) allows the rider ...
    The Horseware Platinum Nerina Jacket is a stylish ...
    Description:
    The Horseware Platinum Nerina Jacket is a stylish addition to add to your riding wardrobe. Featuring an extended back hem, this jacket is ideal for spending time in the saddle. Made from softshell, this jacket helps to stop wind from ...
    The Pikeur Gotha II Show Coat is a ...
    Description:
    The Pikeur Gotha II Show Coat is a must see!  As Pikeur's premier ladies show jacket, it is made from a new specially designed Schoeller Softshell fabric that is bi-elastic, very light, breathable, and wind and water repellent. Modern length ...
    Pikeur Ghia is a fashionable ladies' riding jacket ...
    Description:
    Pikeur Ghia is a fashionable ladies' riding jacket with myriads of technical aspects. Made of extremely functional Soft-Shell fabric in a streamline form. Flattering slanted front pockets, an additional zipped pocket and two rear slits. The Ghia Soft-Shell fabric is used ...
    Out with the old, in with the new! ...
    Description:
    Out with the old, in with the new! The RJ Classics Washington Xtreme Soft Shell Show Coat is not your traditional show coat - it delivers both competitive performance and revolutionary style! The high tech fabric and innovative style makes ...
    The Horseware Platinum Bella Jacket is the perfect jacket ...
    Description:
    The Horseware Platinum Bella Jacket is the perfect jacket in and out of the saddle! This jacket will quickly become your go-to outerwear this season. 100% polyester. Machine washable. Favorite Features Water repellent and breathable material keeps you protected without trapping in ...
    Unbeatable sport performance has a trendy new look! ...
    Description:
    Unbeatable sport performance has a trendy new look! The RJ Classics Palmetto Xtreme Soft Shell Show Coat is not your traditional show coat - it delivers both competitive performance and revolutionary style! The high-tech fabric and innovative style makes the ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Horseware Competition Jacket is rated 4.4643 out of 5 by 56.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Starter Show Coat I needed an appropriate, stylish and budget friendly coat for my first dressage show. This jacket was the perfect solution. It was lightweight and moved with me, and the slightly stretchy fabric made the jacket feel like it was a semi-custom fit. Machine washability was a big plus, and allowed me to wear a clean jacket both days of the show.
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too small I purchased this jacket in hopes that it would work for me but it was to small in the bust area and shoulders. I ordered it according to the size chart listed.
    Date published: 2015-05-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horseware Competition Jacket We really wanted to love this coat, but sadly, it didn't work. It runs big, and the fabric felt cheap, shiny and stiff. For the price I didn't expect it to be perfect, but the fabric just wasn't good enough for the show ring. Returned.
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great coat, especially for the price! This is a really great coat. I wasn't expecting much for the price, but it looks like a much more expensive coat! I always get compliments on it! Love the fabric and fit - only complaint is it runs a little snug.
    Date published: 2015-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fabric, love the buttons Love the fit have not had a chance to show or ride in yet
    Date published: 2015-04-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from did not like fit my daughter did not love the fit or material of this jacket
    Date published: 2015-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from show coat my mom bought this for me for christmas and i love it...about to show in it this week so excited
    Date published: 2015-02-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish I'd ordered two sizes to try Loved the coat the first time I saw someone else wearing it and knew I'd buy one. I'm 5'3" and consider my build pretty average but definitely have more muscular upper arms. I ordered a Medium and everything about the jacket fits nicely except right where the sleeves attach to the coat and across the back. I find this to be just a little tight. If I get into jumping position it may be a little small. However, the stretch may make it alright. I wish I'd ordered both a M and a L and just returned one of them since it's free return shipping. I'll be ordering the L as well and making my decision once I have both.
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for summer Nice fabric and so flexible! It wrinkles a little bit. Being 1,63 tall and 110 lbs weight, the small fits me excellent. Nevertheless, its great only for summer. Not recommended for cold weathers!
    Date published: 2015-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Show worthy with athletic stule I bought the blue in size medium. I like the shorter length and athletic fit with stretch through the shoulders and back, perfect fit through the waist and great style with zippered pockets.
    Date published: 2015-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it-- So comfortable The fabric is great. Super flexible. I have used this for foxhunting already and plan to use it for eventing
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! I have two of these Horseware Competition jackets (one in each color). They are a good price, washable, and they fit well.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good price Caveat - first show coat I've ever bought so I have no reference point. I really wanted to like this because the price is so reasonable but it just didn't work. The fabric is very lightweight and "shower-proof". I liked that it was not shiny even though it was technical fabric (I got the black). The sizing just didn't work for me. The medium was too tight in the arms and shoulders (but I do have chubby arms) and the large was just sort of shapeless/too big with very long sleeves (ref 5'6", 150, 34D/DD). Would work great for someone with long arms. Also probably for thin people if you get a small. My trainer said no go for dressage because it only has 3 buttons but I think she may be on the traditional side.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Material is classy as are the features I did not want to spend a fortune on one of the new soft shell coats and was delighted to find this one!
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice lines & Lightweight I bought one of these at Rolex 2013 as I live and show in the southeast, and it is no fun to wear wool in high temps & severe humidity. It has nice lines and its fit is flattering. The fact that it is washable and then quickly air dries is great as well. I wear a size 6 normally and the small fit me well.
    Date published: 2014-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product for the price! This jacket fits great, slim-fit, waisted. I got the xs and it was perfect for my fit; 32D chest, 5'8", and I'm usually difficult to find a good fit. The blue is really pretty. It's thin and cool, great for hot weather shows. I love it! Can't beat the price!
    Date published: 2014-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for price I bought this jacket and like it very much. I am 5' 2" and an embarrassing 135 pounds and the medium fit well. I am short waisted and it probably won't work on those of you who are long waisted, it is quite short. The jacket is comfortable and washes beautifully, dries quickly. I ended up returning the coat, however, as I wanted a dark navy jacket and the navy is more of a French blue.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid coat for the money! Bought this coat after trying it on at a local tack shop- but Smartpak definitely had a better price. I love the fabric- not too hot to ride in, doesn't get dirty, and doesn't hold horse hair. I got the navy which is a lot more blue than navy, but I absolutely love the color. I have a grey horse so the color looks great and I don't get covered in white hair!I was told that this jacket has no shape, but I think the fit is great- better than any other brand I've tried on. Feels like a tailored fit! I'm usually a 14/16 in hunt coats, took a L and it looks great.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not very good I got this coat just in case the expensive one i ordered didn't fit, since i needed a new show coat and the show's in three weeks. The color is odd, my hunter/jumper show probably won't allow it because its not navy blue. It's like royal blue. It's easy to tell from looking at it and touching it that its cheap. The fit was nice though. I think it would be good for someone doing simple shows like schooling shows.
    Date published: 2014-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Tech Coat! I ordered black in size XL to use for the stadium phase in eventing. After seeing the pictures I wasn't exactly sure what the coat would look like in person. Well, I was delightfully surprised! This looks like a $400 coat! It fits beautifully and I love the detail. It is incredibly lightweight and comfortable. Love, love, love!
    Date published: 2014-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this coat!!! Cannot say enough good things about this jacket, not to mention the fantastic price. I will keep my wool Elite coat for medals (just incase this isn't "traditional" enough) but I could live in this jacket, so light and stretchy! I have got so many compliments on it in just one show too! Highly recommend - as far as sizing I wear a 32 shirt and generally use a "medium" in everything but needed a small in this, luckily with smartpaks awesome return policy sizing shouldn't be an issue
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit and Look were great for price Just rode in this for the first time on the weekend - comfortable and not too hot (it was 95 degrees) and got loads of compliments.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great jacket at any price! I was looking for an affordable softshell show jacket. I first tried an RJ Classics jacket and could not get the fit right no matter what size I tried. I then tried this jacket, and from the moment I put it on I loved it. It fits just right, not too long in the torso like most jackets are for me. The material is lovely, comfortable and flexible. I also love that the color isn't as dark as most navy blues, it really looked sharp next to my grey horse. It is also not nearly as hot to wear as most other show jackets I've worn. Nothing but compliments here!
    Date published: 2014-06-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely Jacket, not long enough for me Ordered this in black, for the price the jacket was very nice! I am tall (5'10") and the large was too short in the arms and the XL was too large in the body. Its a great jacket if it fits
    Date published: 2014-06-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't fit I am 5'11 and 125lbs and the small was too wide and too short. Would've been a lovely jacket if it wasn't for the fit
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Coat for the Money I bought this coat because a few of my friends were raving about it. It was pretty, and I loved the flashy lining, but the shorter hemline just didn't look good on me, so I sent it back. I may have been happier if I'd ordered a size up, because it wasn't as stretchy as I thought it would be, and I found it a little confining.
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lightweight show coat! Amazing jacket! Bought it to replace my wool coat that I've shown in for the past 10 years. Super lightweight and breathable. Very attractive and fits my figure well. I'm 120 lbs, 5'3'', have a short torso, and usually wear a size 4. I got a size small and its perfect. They do run short but because I have a short torso that didn't matter. It just fit me like it should. Only complaint is that it is a bit noisy but it is not distracting at all. Overall a great coat! s
    Date published: 2014-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it so far! I bought this jacket for local summer shows in hopes I wouldn't be burning in the summer heat. The jacket material is great! Light, durable and seems to be very water resistant! The jacket is form fitting and gives your body a nice sleek look to it, cannot wait to show in it!
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great first show coat I have only tried it on over a show shirt so far. It fits perfect. I am 5'5" 120lbs with broad shoulders and the small fits with lots of room to move. very flattering fit. the material is a bit noisy but not too bad. I bought it for upcoming schooling shows.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing jacket! I am an eventer and needed a jacket that was cool and comfortable for both the Dressage and Show Jumping phases. I bought this about a month ago in black. I recently wore it in 90 degree/sunny weather and I still felt cool! A very nice looking coat and the red lining adds a level of class and professionalism. Well fitted- not too loose and too tight. I am 5' 9"/130 lbs. and the medium fits perfectly.All in all, this jacket is very professional looking and very light and cool. So happy I bought it.
    Date published: 2014-04-18
    • 2016-05-05T14:50CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_55
    • loc_en_US, sid_11008, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders