Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
7:00am - 10:00pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Horseware Competition Jacket

Horseware Ireland
- Item #21008
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Horseware Competition Jacket is a lightweight stretchy softshell competition jacket. Bonded with contrasted light fabric for ultimate movement. Breathability 1000mvp, Waterproofness 3000mm.

Imported

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight shell is breathable and moves with you, freeing you to perform your best
  • Contrast red lining and red/silver zips on front pockets adds stylish flair
  • Horseware logo buttons add subtle detail (spare button included on care label)
  • Vent in back for comfortable riding
  • Ladies jacket has a vertical style line on front for a more fitted shape
  • Machine washable for easy care  
  • 85% Polyester, 3% spandex, 12% PU. Machine washable.

Sizing

Available in

XS (4)
S (6)
M (8)
L (10)
XL (12)
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Favorite Features Woven subtle pinstripe front, collar, and ...
    Description:
    "Favorite Features Woven subtle pinstripe front, collar, and cuffs provides the classic look you want in the show ring Lightweight, stretch Coolmax® fabric back, sides, and upper sleeves wicks away moisture to keep you dry and comfortable throughout your ride ...
    "The Piper Softshell Coat by Smartpak is stretchy ...
    Description:
    "The Piper Softshell Coat by Smartpak is stretchy and lightweight! Match with the Piper Full Seat Breeches by SmartPak in White/Light Grey as shown or wear them with the Piper Show Side Zip Knee Patch Breeches and you're ready for ...
    Why We Love This The Pikeur Alina Bling ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Pikeur Alina Bling Show Top has just the right amount of bling for the show ring!     Favorite Features Pearl band application on collar Short sleeves helping to keep you cooler on hot days Piker bling logo on left sleeve ...
    "The ShowQuest Vintage Stock Tie is a pre-tied ...
    Description:
    "The ShowQuest Vintage Stock Tie is a pre-tied stock tie made with top grade fabrics in delicate and beautifully crafted designs, and an attention to detail that is unsurpassed. Imported. Stock pins not included but can be purchased separately - ...
    "A timeless, classic hunt coat designed to help ...
    Description:
    "A timeless, classic hunt coat designed to help you look and perform your best! The RJ Classics Essential Men’s Hunt Coat offers uncompromising style at an affordable price. Lovely wool blend moves with you for maximum comfort. Imported"
    Why We Love This The Asmar London Show ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Asmar London Show Coat is a bold option with white piping and chrome buttons. Perfectly tailored fit with a superior stretch makes this coat a perfect choice for the show ring when you really need ...
    "Made from the finest collections of European fabrics, ...
    Description:
    "Made from the finest collections of European fabrics, RJ Classics Platinum Collection Stock Ties offer you the look of refined elegance and optimal performance in the show ring. 100% fine cotton. Imported"

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Horseware Competition Jacket is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 66.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice coat but not right for me I ordered this coat along with similar coats by SmartPak and Kerrits. I am 6' tall and I ordered a large in each. The fabric on the Horseware coat was very different from the other two, extremely lightweight and it felt like it might be water resistant. Out of the three it fit the most snug. It was a little shorter than I prefer, although the arms were plenty long on me (in fact, the arms were the longest out of the three coats). The black coat had a bright red lining. It had regular buttons that didn't seem like they were sewed on tight enough. I prefer the zipper/snap button combo on other "technical" coats. I ended up sending this one back and keeping the SmartPak Piper coat, but the Horseware coat is a nice option at the price point if you have long arms but prefer a shorter fit in the body.
    Date published: 2016-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great coat for the price! This coat exceeded my expectations. The material is great, repels water and dirt, doesn't wrinkle and has a nice contrasting liner. Its a flattering fit without having any alterations. My only complaint is that the sleeves were a bit long for me, but thats not a big issue considering everything else about the coat is great!
    Date published: 2016-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the color ! Bought this jacket so we could stand out in show season. Love the fit the price and color!
    Date published: 2016-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The berry color is stunning! I have always wanted a burgundy show coat, but didn't want to spend $600+ on a custom coat. When I saw this coat at this price, I couldn't pass it up! I already had the Horseware coat in grey, so I knew exactly how it fit. It's cut quite short, but I don't mind the look. The color is also a little more purple than I would prefer, but I've gotten TONS of compliments! It's a fun way to get a little variety from the usual navy/black/grey! It's a bold choice and definitely not appropriate for hunters or equitation, but very fun for jumpers!
    Date published: 2016-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely coat, lots of compliments I have only worn this once, for the dressage portion of a combined test. I got lots of compliments and someone asked me where I purchased it. The judge even commented on our nice turnout. The material is not so stiff as I expected from the other reviews--it's quite nice.
    Date published: 2016-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! Just got the berry coat and I'm in love!! Wait, no, I mean I hate it. You'll all hate it. Nobody should order it. I swear once a few people show in these everybody will want one. The color is amazing. The fabric and fit seem a bit improved over prior years' versions too. Still the same scratchy noise, but a bit lighter weight, and a more tailored fit through the waist (less boxy). The fabric is no Grand Prix Techlite, sure, but the coat is 1/4 of the price. The color and the fit are both great. I originally bought this to just be a "rainy day coat" but I seriously see myself wearing this just as often as my others. Maybe more. I just hope Smartpak will carry the matching fly bonnet!I'm between a small and a medium and things are often tight on my arms, so I ordered a medium and the fit is perfect. I'd say it runs true to maybe SLIGHTLY small. There's plenty of stretch too.
    Date published: 2016-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I bought this jacket recently in the Berry. But I have to admit I have it in blue and black. I love the way this jacket fits. I'm 5ft tall so finding jackets to fit me are like finding a needle in a haystack. The blue and black are the older style and the fabric seems to be a little thicker, but great for a rain storm. Must get some water repellant breeches or else they soak up all the water!!!! I do wish they came in a double vented back because I'm slightly apprehensive about showing in the equitation with it. Although, I did show in an equitation class with the blue and won so it must not really make a difference. My favorite!
    Date published: 2016-04-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lightweight and comfortable! This is a great jacket for the price! It looks great for dressage and show jumping. I originally ordered both a small and medium to be sure I got the right fit. The small was a hair too small in the chest, and the medium was WAY too big all around. I ended up moving the buttons over 1/2 an inch and now the small fits great.This jacket gives you excellent freedom of movement!
    Date published: 2015-07-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Weird texture and fit I bought this coat after hearing a couple of my friends rave about it. It looks A LOT different then it feels. It is made of this really stiff and awkward material. It feels more like a windbreaker than a show coat. While this jacket fits beautiful on someone with shorter torso, It looked quite boxy on me...i am 5'10 with a narrow figure. For some peopke it works and others it just doesn't, so don't feel bad if this isnt the jacket for you.
    Date published: 2015-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice cut and look- it is hot in warm weather I bought this jacket to be a rain coat and save my dry cleaning required Pikeur. I liked the cut so much and it fit so well I wore at a show here in North Carolina even though not raining. It was really quite warm and didn't feel breathable. I think the fit is true to size- I wear a size 2 top and the XS fits well.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Starter Show Coat I needed an appropriate, stylish and budget friendly coat for my first dressage show. This jacket was the perfect solution. It was lightweight and moved with me, and the slightly stretchy fabric made the jacket feel like it was a semi-custom fit. Machine washability was a big plus, and allowed me to wear a clean jacket both days of the show.
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too small I purchased this jacket in hopes that it would work for me but it was to small in the bust area and shoulders. I ordered it according to the size chart listed.
    Date published: 2015-05-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horseware Competition Jacket We really wanted to love this coat, but sadly, it didn't work. It runs big, and the fabric felt cheap, shiny and stiff. For the price I didn't expect it to be perfect, but the fabric just wasn't good enough for the show ring. Returned.
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great coat, especially for the price! This is a really great coat. I wasn't expecting much for the price, but it looks like a much more expensive coat! I always get compliments on it! Love the fabric and fit - only complaint is it runs a little snug.
    Date published: 2015-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fabric, love the buttons Love the fit have not had a chance to show or ride in yet
    Date published: 2015-04-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from did not like fit my daughter did not love the fit or material of this jacket
    Date published: 2015-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from show coat my mom bought this for me for christmas and i love it...about to show in it this week so excited
    Date published: 2015-02-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish I'd ordered two sizes to try Loved the coat the first time I saw someone else wearing it and knew I'd buy one. I'm 5'3" and consider my build pretty average but definitely have more muscular upper arms. I ordered a Medium and everything about the jacket fits nicely except right where the sleeves attach to the coat and across the back. I find this to be just a little tight. If I get into jumping position it may be a little small. However, the stretch may make it alright. I wish I'd ordered both a M and a L and just returned one of them since it's free return shipping. I'll be ordering the L as well and making my decision once I have both.
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for summer Nice fabric and so flexible! It wrinkles a little bit. Being 1,63 tall and 110 lbs weight, the small fits me excellent. Nevertheless, its great only for summer. Not recommended for cold weathers!
    Date published: 2015-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Show worthy with athletic stule I bought the blue in size medium. I like the shorter length and athletic fit with stretch through the shoulders and back, perfect fit through the waist and great style with zippered pockets.
    Date published: 2015-01-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it-- So comfortable The fabric is great. Super flexible. I have used this for foxhunting already and plan to use it for eventing
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! I have two of these Horseware Competition jackets (one in each color). They are a good price, washable, and they fit well.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good price Caveat - first show coat I've ever bought so I have no reference point. I really wanted to like this because the price is so reasonable but it just didn't work. The fabric is very lightweight and "shower-proof". I liked that it was not shiny even though it was technical fabric (I got the black). The sizing just didn't work for me. The medium was too tight in the arms and shoulders (but I do have chubby arms) and the large was just sort of shapeless/too big with very long sleeves (ref 5'6", 150, 34D/DD). Would work great for someone with long arms. Also probably for thin people if you get a small. My trainer said no go for dressage because it only has 3 buttons but I think she may be on the traditional side.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Material is classy as are the features I did not want to spend a fortune on one of the new soft shell coats and was delighted to find this one!
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice lines & Lightweight I bought one of these at Rolex 2013 as I live and show in the southeast, and it is no fun to wear wool in high temps & severe humidity. It has nice lines and its fit is flattering. The fact that it is washable and then quickly air dries is great as well. I wear a size 6 normally and the small fit me well.
    Date published: 2014-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product for the price! This jacket fits great, slim-fit, waisted. I got the xs and it was perfect for my fit; 32D chest, 5'8", and I'm usually difficult to find a good fit. The blue is really pretty. It's thin and cool, great for hot weather shows. I love it! Can't beat the price!
    Date published: 2014-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for price I bought this jacket and like it very much. I am 5' 2" and an embarrassing 135 pounds and the medium fit well. I am short waisted and it probably won't work on those of you who are long waisted, it is quite short. The jacket is comfortable and washes beautifully, dries quickly. I ended up returning the coat, however, as I wanted a dark navy jacket and the navy is more of a French blue.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid coat for the money! Bought this coat after trying it on at a local tack shop- but Smartpak definitely had a better price. I love the fabric- not too hot to ride in, doesn't get dirty, and doesn't hold horse hair. I got the navy which is a lot more blue than navy, but I absolutely love the color. I have a grey horse so the color looks great and I don't get covered in white hair!I was told that this jacket has no shape, but I think the fit is great- better than any other brand I've tried on. Feels like a tailored fit! I'm usually a 14/16 in hunt coats, took a L and it looks great.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not very good I got this coat just in case the expensive one i ordered didn't fit, since i needed a new show coat and the show's in three weeks. The color is odd, my hunter/jumper show probably won't allow it because its not navy blue. It's like royal blue. It's easy to tell from looking at it and touching it that its cheap. The fit was nice though. I think it would be good for someone doing simple shows like schooling shows.
    Date published: 2014-08-30
    • y_2017, m_4, d_23, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_65
    • loc_en_US, sid_11008, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders