Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Horse Shave

Item #16209
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This little gadget is amazing and it really works! If you get wriggly noses when trying to trim whiskers, then despair no more - ditch the scissors/clippers and use the Horse Shave Razor!

The Horse Shave is a very quick and easy way to remove all those unwanted whiskers from muzzles. It can also be used for removing any unwanted hair from the face and legs, plus removing bot fly eggs.

Favorite Features

  • Remove Unwanted Whiskers and Hair From Muzzle
  • Safely Remove Long Hair Around Eyes
  • Removes Bot Fly Eggs
  • Set of 3

Sizing

1.75” Wide X 2 7/8” High
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The SoloComb is an essential item for a ...
    Description:
    "The SoloComb is an essential item for a tidy mane and tail. Create a natural look without the tedious job of pulling. Back comb the hair as usual and then instead of pulling the hair simply press the lever and ...
    Why We Love This The Oster Fine Curry ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Oster Fine Curry Comb is the perfect solution for sensitive areas! The fine fingers will gently clean and massage dirt and dandruff away. Imported. Favorite Features Rubber control-touch handle for added comfort and better grip ...
    "The Microfiber Mitt will quickly become an essential ...
    Description:
    "The Microfiber Mitt will quickly become an essential part of your grooming routine! This safe and soft microfiber product is perfect for wiping down your horse both before and after workouts. Microfiber is suitable for even the most sensitive areas ...
    "The Jelly Scrubber works great as a bathing ...
    Description:
    "The Jelly Scrubber works great as a bathing mitt. The Jelly Scrubber is a soft, flexible curry that's great for short-haired dogs or thin-skinned horses. Large nubs on one side are great for washing out the deep down dirt while ...
    "Round, very firm rubber curry, features a molded ...
    Description:
    "Round, very firm rubber curry, features a molded strap for easier grooming. Green. Rubber Hand Groomer effectively lifts out dirt and breaks up clumps of mud to deep clean. Imported."
    Why We Love This Cut your grooming time ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Cut your grooming time in half! The dual use Vac n'Blo Pro does all the work for you. Used as a vacuum, the super suction gets down deep to remove dirt, dandruff, loose hair, and parasites. ...
    "Tired of wimpy, hard-to-hold hoofpicks that force you ...
    Description:
    "Tired of wimpy, hard-to-hold hoofpicks that force you to do all the work? From the first time you hold it in your hand, you’ll know that the perfectly ergonomic Ultimate Hoofpick is solidly built, worth every penny and the last ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Horse Shave is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 96.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Handy tool I bought this over the Christmas break as my horse seems to have a lot of Bot fly eggs on him this year. I finally used it this weekend and it works well for what it is, do not expect to remove large quanties of hair with it as it is just not designed for that. Overall I am happy with my less than $2 purchase.
    Date published: 2017-01-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work. I bought two 3 -packs. Took 2 from first pack and neither did not work at all - barely took off a whisker and useless on long hairs under the chin. Opened second bag and tried one from there - nothing. Tossed all 6 in trash. Will go back to purple shavers. Weird that they did not work at all.
    Date published: 2017-01-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would give zero stars These do not work AT ALL. Tried on two different horses, not a whisker came off.
    Date published: 2017-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have young colt. The shavers are awesome. Let's me teach the little horse and shave him without noise. It's a great beginning. For a spooky horse they are the answer. I love them
    Date published: 2016-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect aid in grooming!
    Date published: 2016-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from More than adequate for quick, handy use I have been using these for years. They are simply quick and handy and make no noise. Great to keep in a travel pack.
    Date published: 2016-07-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not work at all. Had to toss all three of these out. They did not work at all. Couldn't even shave one whisker off my horse's muzzle with them. Not sure if its the design or the blade not being sharp enough, but the "purple" shavers work better.
    Date published: 2016-06-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy I've tried this on two different horses and they don't work at all. Its like trying to use a butter knife.
    Date published: 2016-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse Shave I keep these in my horse trailer for a quick touch-up before a show. So easy to use.
    Date published: 2016-02-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dull! Not sharp enough to cut anything at all! Too dull, not worth it, needed a refund because it was worth less than what it would cost to ship back
    Date published: 2015-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holds up well I break these things like its my job. These seem to hold up pretty well though.
    Date published: 2015-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Genius product Great value on a great product. My horse is very suspicious of clippers. Instead of torturing him, I use this. Nice clean look for the show ring. Takes a few minutes.
    Date published: 2015-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this little thing! I had never used one of these before, and I love it! It's great on whiskers or anywhere else. From now on, it will be a staple in my tack box.
    Date published: 2015-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought the horse shaves to trim my horses muzzle. I love how convenient they are to use.
    Date published: 2015-02-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Did not work, will not purchase again. Unhappy with product.
    Date published: 2015-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product!!! Its a must for horse shows for touch ups. Great product for the price!!
    Date published: 2014-08-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from each blade only good for one use I guess I shouldn't be surprised because they are so cheap, but each blade is only good for a maximum of one use. I actually had to use two to finish trimming my horse's whiskers the second time.
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from dull I loved the original purple shavers. The Smartpak version is awful. They are dull and do not shave.
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great Have a horse who hates the clippers. This product works great and is convenient.
    Date published: 2014-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome alternative these are really handy if your horse doesn't like clippers near their face like my horse does. I have a Percheron cross and she likes these much better, trims her whiskers and hair under her chin just fine!
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great, great price These are so handy to keep in a tack box. They work great on bot eggs also.
    Date published: 2014-02-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for touch-ups These are perfect for muzzle maintenance in between times you get out the clippers. The quality does vary based on the batch, unfortunately, but I've never had one that doesn't cut; just ones that go dull quickly and then end up tugging at the whiskers. I much prefer to do the job with clippers but these are a good substitute.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Agree! Bring back the purple ones! Blue ones didn't shave at all. Purple ones were awesome. Sad pony face :(
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Where are the purple ones? The old brand/type were purple and they worked wonderfully. Like some of the other reviewers, the last batch I purchased was blue. They can't be that hard to make, but yes, the blue ones don't work at all. They're dull. Unless Smartpak starts carrying the purple variety again, don't buy these.
    Date published: 2013-11-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Whisker trim bummer I used to get the packs of the purple ones from Smartpak all the time. The last pack I ordered, though, was the Smartpak variety and they didn't work. At all. I tried all three, and even though my horse is kept trimmed up and doesn't have a big goat beard, they didn't touch a whisker. This is probably the one and only Smartpak item I've ever been very disappointed in. I now just grab a few when I'm at my local tack shop. 
    Date published: 2013-11-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't Even Waste the $6 I purchased these to shave my horses whiskers without the use of clippers. They do not work, do not even bother wasting the $5 or $6 to buy them. It's easier to just go to your local tack stop & pick up the $1.50 purple whisker shavers that everybody sells.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy! Either I got a bad batch, or these really don't work. I called to order the purple quick shave razors and thought that was what I was getting, but the SmartPak variety arrived. OK, how tough could they be to make? Well, I tried 2 of the 3 in my pack and they just didn't grab or trim the muzzle hairs at all, trying either direction of hair growth - unlike the ones I usually get. But when I called, SmartPak was great, as usual, about crediting me for them.
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome chin trimming tool These are superb for trimming chin hairs, especially with ticklish horses that want to play with clippers. Easy to carry, inexpensive...I haven't used clippers for her chin in years. Thumbs up!
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from horse shave are great products! I have been using these for a while, and they are great the morning after you've clipped your horses' muzzle, ears, etc... I always seem to miss somewhere!!! They stay pretty sharp, so that I have been able to get several uses out of one shaver, which is really nice! They're easy to pack along too- not like packing 2 sets of clippers, oil, etc. Great product, and I have recommended these to all of my friends, who now use them!!!
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Fragile Several of my family members tried to use these with no success. The first two tried broke at the top after two attempts.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    • y_2017, m_2, d_28, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_86
    • loc_en_US, sid_6209, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders