Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Heavy Cotton Lead

Item #12084
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This Heavy Cotton Lead won't wimp out on you, and will last for ages!

Favorite Features

  • 100% cotton heavy duty cotton
  • Brass bolt snap

Sizing It Up

3/4" x 9' long

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Heavy Cotton Lead is rated 4.4206 out of 5 by 126.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Different colr of the bolt snap The picture shows and says BRASS bolt snap, but we got a silver one, does not math with the halter.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead A good utility lead. I would prefer it about a foot shorter but it has good hardware and has a good feel to the hand.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy!! Love this rope. Feels good in my hand while leading and is heavy duty enough to deal with a bossy little Morgan. Would buy again any day.
    Date published: 2011-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasts forever! Great quality! I've had a few of these now and I just replaced one that last me 4 years. Just be careful if you ever try to wash them, one came apart in the washing machine while others held up.
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic rope and easy on the hands. Great colors and durability.
    Date published: 2011-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my only lead rope It's getting more difficult to find cotton leads, but it's all I use. Having a nylon lead ripped out of my hands by a yearling made me a firm believer in cotton. The length is good and the snap always outlives the rope.
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good quality I have purchased a few of these lead ropes and plan to buy more in the future. They are good quality and I am very pleased with them.
    Date published: 2011-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice cotton lead I needed a replacement lead for my AQH mare and saw one on SmartPak. As I have never been disappointed by one of their products I thought I would try this one. Pleasantly surprised. Nice and strong with a heavy clasp and I do not believe I will have to replace it any time soon. And any one who has trained horses before knows having a 9-13 foot lead is ideal.
    Date published: 2011-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead rope I love the heavy cotton lead. Very durable and strong and functional around the pony farm. We breed hunter ponies and the long length of the rope comes in handy when teaching the babies how to lead. The length also comes in handy when leading the stallions for safety purposes.
    Date published: 2011-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leads/ropes These seem to last a long time even thru rough weather. I also use them as reins on the halter to ride.
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a lead rope Thick cotton, longer than the thin cotton ropes, durable snap, and typically lasts many years. It's a lead rope, just get it.
    Date published: 2010-12-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from big mistake I purchased 14 of these lead ropes, one for every horse in the barn. They are falling apart daily. Total garbage.
    Date published: 2010-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead Great lead rope; very comfortable in the hand. High quality snap.
    Date published: 2010-11-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Heavy Cotton Lead I returned this lead as it would not last very long since it is not braided; just twisted. Also, the lead is made in China, and while I understand why the US gets so much from China (don't necessarily agree), whenever possible, I prefer to support US manufacturers and companies. The quality just was not there and I'd rather pay a bit more and have a lead that will last many years. Thanks for the opportunity to share feedback.PS - I gave an overall rating of 3 stars since as usual, SmartPak provided excellent customer service and promptly processed my refund when this item was returned. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2010-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality lead They last and last. Prefer the cotton. I have them attached to rings all over the place so I can just attach when needed.
    Date published: 2010-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy Lead Rope Nice lead rope with heavy duty snap. Will provide years of service.
    Date published: 2010-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from doesn't burn I only use cotton lead ropes because they do not burn my hands. Even with well-trained and older guys, they still have their moments!
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from lead by example Nice quality lead w/ large clip that is easy to open and clip to the halter. Quality thick cotton line that is a good length for leading but not cumbersum.
    Date published: 2010-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very practical purchase this rope is invaluable it is soft on the hands especially with a young horse or difficult one. the snap is one handed so it is easy to use on difficult horses that don't want to stand still. the length is perfect on too long to get tangled or too short to hitch. i always have extras in case something happens to my primary lead.
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A necessary item Thick, heavy cotton, plenty of length and a big brass snap - this is a nice sturdy lead.
    Date published: 2009-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice lead Nice cotton lead. Finished well with a tight twist. Seems like it will hold up better than some of the others I have purchased in the past.
    Date published: 2009-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price and awesome lead rope I ordered this lead rope in black and just wanted a utility rope to move the horses around. Turns out, this rope is beautiful, much greater quality than the last cotton lead I had purchased (that snapped in half on day 2). Oh no, this rope is thick and durable and works great as a utility lead, but also goes well with his leather travel halter. I also love the brass snap on it... won't rust!!
    Date published: 2009-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality. Everyone should have more than a few of these around their barn. Great price for a great product.
    Date published: 2009-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and Strong Love this nice thick long strong lead!but not too thick!
    Date published: 2009-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality lead Great lead. I prefer the cotton for comfort. The only suggestion I have is that I would like a shorter version to be available too.
    Date published: 2009-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Value This lead rope is perfect; it is a little longer than most.It is comfortable in my hands. It has a sturdy clasp.I plan to buy more in other colors.
    Date published: 2009-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product I really like this lead line - it's really soft, a great length, and it holds up well to all the abuse of daily use! (leading, tying the gate shut, tied to the halter for riding bareback) I've had other lead lines break within a few uses because the snap was poor quality. So far I am very pleased with this product!
    Date published: 2009-09-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice long lead rope I love the length - with my young horse I prefer to have a longer lead than risk running out of rope if he does something silly. My only criticism is that the "brass" snap is a really dark gold color that looks a little chintzy, but so far it's holding up well to use and seems to be quite durable.
    Date published: 2009-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great... a little long This is a great lead, but I didn't read the description carefully enough and it's actually pretty long. I find I sometimes trip over it. Great if you want a long lead, high quality and durable, but long.
    Date published: 2009-08-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Rope This rope is a good price and I use it to keep in the horse trailer. Soft and durable for use.
    Date published: 2009-06-22
    • 2015-05-27T09:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_105
    • loc_en_US, sid_2084, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.