Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Heavy Cotton Lead

Item #12084
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This Heavy Cotton Lead won't wimp out on you, and will last for ages!

Favorite Features

  • 100% cotton heavy duty cotton
  • Brass bolt snap

Sizing It Up

3/4" x 9' long

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass ...
    Description:
    Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass plated snap. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Choose Havana, Chestnut or Black. Measures 6'L x 1"W. This leather lead pairs beautifully ...
    Soft padded leather lead with heavy duty hardware ...
    Description:
    Soft padded leather lead with heavy duty hardware and 30" chain. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Measures 7'L x 1"W. All with solid brass hardware except Black/White which comes ...
    With heavy duty snap and leather "popper", this ...
    Description:
    With heavy duty snap and leather "popper", this 24-strand polyester Blocker Lead Rope is an excellent option as a lead and works perfectly with any of the other Blocker products. Sizing It Up 12' long rope Imported
    Big D leads are durable and long lasting.  ...
    Description:
    Big D leads are durable and long lasting.  Favorite Features Manufactured using heavy duty nylon and polypropylene for extra strength Exclusive bolt snap and chain are guaranteed not to break Sizing It Up 5/8" x 9'. Chain measures 30". 
    Bring out your bright colors with these Amish ...
    Description:
    Bring out your bright colors with these Amish made cotton lead ropes. Lead measures 1/2" x 6'. Chrome plated snap and clamp. Comes with snap. Made in the USA
    These fantastic cotton leads are an economical barn ...
    Description:
    These fantastic cotton leads are an economical barn staple! These leads are carefully braided at both ends to avoid fraying with a  30" brass plated chain, making them heavy duty and meant to last. At the same time the cotton remains soft in ...
    Made from a continous piece of rot-resistant diamond ...
    Description:
    Made from a continous piece of rot-resistant diamond braided poly rope, this halter is soft to the touch for both horse and handler and the 8' detachable lead is the perfect length. Favorite Features Made from soft, two-toned, diamond braided ...
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Heavy Cotton Lead is rated 4.3214 out of 5 by 140.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Product I'm horrified! It started fraying almost right after I got it. Now there is a thread hanging off it. I think Smartpak missed this one hit. Never be buying this again.
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Barn Staple Even though this is just a humble, plain old lead rope, cotton is my favorite material. It's comfortable, and if a horse acts up, won't burn your hands/be slippery like a poly lead. One can never have too many lead ropes around a barn. This is a good price and a super value.
    Date published: 2012-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from no fraying!!! My horse lives in a paddock and the other horse likes to chew on my leads only and he can't chew through this!!! The lead is long enough to do anything and has a good weight!
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everyday lead This lead is a nice weight, tough material. Color choice is nice. Snap is heavy.
    Date published: 2012-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value Good quality lead at a really good price. Available in lots of colors. I plan to buy more in other colors
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a lead rope Nice, long, heavy cotton lead rope that I have been using 2x per week for the past month. No complaints.
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a nice practical lead rope. It is sturdy, well made, and utilizes good hardware.
    Date published: 2012-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Leadrope I bought this lead to replace one I had previously purchased that had a clip that rusted out in 3 months. This one is going strong over a year later and there is NO rust on the clip. The only reason I gave a 4 for quality instead of a 5 is because the rope is fraying. I will be replacing it with another of the same. I am tired of other leads that have clips that end up rusting shut.
    Date published: 2012-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality product which is just the right length for maintaining control while still giving the horse plenty of freedom.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hardware is of excellent quality This is a quality lead for those of us who prefer cotton. It's solid, comfortable to the touch and the brass hardware is substantial. I really really like this lead rope.
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product Name Sums it up! This really IS a heavy cotton lead. Substatial and well made. It is wearing well after several months of use- other than the inevitable dirt, this still looks brand new.
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value This is a nicely made lead with a heavy duty snap. Great product for a reasonable price. The length is perfect. Good purchase!!
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Sturdy I have a bit of a bully for a pony. This lead rope is very sturdy and can stand the test of time!
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead rope! I love this lead rope. For the cost, it's one of the best leads I've bought. Nice and soft, strong snap, and it's black so when it gets stepped on and chewed up, you can't tell!
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So soft! I love these, I will never again buy another lead rope outside of these
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Basic Lead Rope Purchased this lead rope in the royal blue color, which nicely matches the Havana/Blue padded leather halter also sold by SmartPak. It's of a good length and thickness. The cotton is soft and easy on the hands. The only drawback is the cotton itself is not braided, which may lead to eventually fraying. But so far it's proven sturdy. The brass snap is nicely weighted and solid, clearly not the cheap brass plated hardware found on some ropes.All in all, a good basic lead rope that should last quite a while.
    Date published: 2011-10-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Different colr of the bolt snap The picture shows and says BRASS bolt snap, but we got a silver one, does not math with the halter.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead A good utility lead. I would prefer it about a foot shorter but it has good hardware and has a good feel to the hand.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy!! Love this rope. Feels good in my hand while leading and is heavy duty enough to deal with a bossy little Morgan. Would buy again any day.
    Date published: 2011-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasts forever! Great quality! I've had a few of these now and I just replaced one that last me 4 years. Just be careful if you ever try to wash them, one came apart in the washing machine while others held up.
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic rope and easy on the hands. Great colors and durability.
    Date published: 2011-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my only lead rope It's getting more difficult to find cotton leads, but it's all I use. Having a nylon lead ripped out of my hands by a yearling made me a firm believer in cotton. The length is good and the snap always outlives the rope.
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good quality I have purchased a few of these lead ropes and plan to buy more in the future. They are good quality and I am very pleased with them.
    Date published: 2011-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice cotton lead I needed a replacement lead for my AQH mare and saw one on SmartPak. As I have never been disappointed by one of their products I thought I would try this one. Pleasantly surprised. Nice and strong with a heavy clasp and I do not believe I will have to replace it any time soon. And any one who has trained horses before knows having a 9-13 foot lead is ideal.
    Date published: 2011-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead rope I love the heavy cotton lead. Very durable and strong and functional around the pony farm. We breed hunter ponies and the long length of the rope comes in handy when teaching the babies how to lead. The length also comes in handy when leading the stallions for safety purposes.
    Date published: 2011-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leads/ropes These seem to last a long time even thru rough weather. I also use them as reins on the halter to ride.
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a lead rope Thick cotton, longer than the thin cotton ropes, durable snap, and typically lasts many years. It's a lead rope, just get it.
    Date published: 2010-12-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from big mistake I purchased 14 of these lead ropes, one for every horse in the barn. They are falling apart daily. Total garbage.
    Date published: 2010-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead Great lead rope; very comfortable in the hand. High quality snap.
    Date published: 2010-11-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Heavy Cotton Lead I returned this lead as it would not last very long since it is not braided; just twisted. Also, the lead is made in China, and while I understand why the US gets so much from China (don't necessarily agree), whenever possible, I prefer to support US manufacturers and companies. The quality just was not there and I'd rather pay a bit more and have a lead that will last many years. Thanks for the opportunity to share feedback.PS - I gave an overall rating of 3 stars since as usual, SmartPak provided excellent customer service and promptly processed my refund when this item was returned. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2010-11-16
    • 2016-05-01T17:22CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_118
    • loc_en_US, sid_2084, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders