Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Heavy Cotton Lead

Item #12084

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This Heavy Cotton Lead won't wimp out on you, and will last for ages!

Favorite Features

  • 100% cotton heavy duty cotton
  • Brass bolt snap

Sizing It Up

3/4" x 9' long

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Heavy Cotton Lead is rated 4.3504 out of 5 by 137.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from no fraying!!! My horse lives in a paddock and the other horse likes to chew on my leads only and he can't chew through this!!! The lead is long enough to do anything and has a good weight!
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everyday lead This lead is a nice weight, tough material. Color choice is nice. Snap is heavy.
    Date published: 2012-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value Good quality lead at a really good price. Available in lots of colors. I plan to buy more in other colors
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a lead rope Nice, long, heavy cotton lead rope that I have been using 2x per week for the past month. No complaints.
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a nice practical lead rope. It is sturdy, well made, and utilizes good hardware.
    Date published: 2012-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Leadrope I bought this lead to replace one I had previously purchased that had a clip that rusted out in 3 months. This one is going strong over a year later and there is NO rust on the clip. The only reason I gave a 4 for quality instead of a 5 is because the rope is fraying. I will be replacing it with another of the same. I am tired of other leads that have clips that end up rusting shut.
    Date published: 2012-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality product which is just the right length for maintaining control while still giving the horse plenty of freedom.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hardware is of excellent quality This is a quality lead for those of us who prefer cotton. It's solid, comfortable to the touch and the brass hardware is substantial. I really really like this lead rope.
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product Name Sums it up! This really IS a heavy cotton lead. Substatial and well made. It is wearing well after several months of use- other than the inevitable dirt, this still looks brand new.
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value This is a nicely made lead with a heavy duty snap. Great product for a reasonable price. The length is perfect. Good purchase!!
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Sturdy I have a bit of a bully for a pony. This lead rope is very sturdy and can stand the test of time!
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead rope! I love this lead rope. For the cost, it's one of the best leads I've bought. Nice and soft, strong snap, and it's black so when it gets stepped on and chewed up, you can't tell!
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So soft! I love these, I will never again buy another lead rope outside of these
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Basic Lead Rope Purchased this lead rope in the royal blue color, which nicely matches the Havana/Blue padded leather halter also sold by SmartPak. It's of a good length and thickness. The cotton is soft and easy on the hands. The only drawback is the cotton itself is not braided, which may lead to eventually fraying. But so far it's proven sturdy. The brass snap is nicely weighted and solid, clearly not the cheap brass plated hardware found on some ropes.All in all, a good basic lead rope that should last quite a while.
    Date published: 2011-10-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Different colr of the bolt snap The picture shows and says BRASS bolt snap, but we got a silver one, does not math with the halter.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead A good utility lead. I would prefer it about a foot shorter but it has good hardware and has a good feel to the hand.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy!! Love this rope. Feels good in my hand while leading and is heavy duty enough to deal with a bossy little Morgan. Would buy again any day.
    Date published: 2011-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasts forever! Great quality! I've had a few of these now and I just replaced one that last me 4 years. Just be careful if you ever try to wash them, one came apart in the washing machine while others held up.
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic rope and easy on the hands. Great colors and durability.
    Date published: 2011-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my only lead rope It's getting more difficult to find cotton leads, but it's all I use. Having a nylon lead ripped out of my hands by a yearling made me a firm believer in cotton. The length is good and the snap always outlives the rope.
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good quality I have purchased a few of these lead ropes and plan to buy more in the future. They are good quality and I am very pleased with them.
    Date published: 2011-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice cotton lead I needed a replacement lead for my AQH mare and saw one on SmartPak. As I have never been disappointed by one of their products I thought I would try this one. Pleasantly surprised. Nice and strong with a heavy clasp and I do not believe I will have to replace it any time soon. And any one who has trained horses before knows having a 9-13 foot lead is ideal.
    Date published: 2011-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead rope I love the heavy cotton lead. Very durable and strong and functional around the pony farm. We breed hunter ponies and the long length of the rope comes in handy when teaching the babies how to lead. The length also comes in handy when leading the stallions for safety purposes.
    Date published: 2011-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leads/ropes These seem to last a long time even thru rough weather. I also use them as reins on the halter to ride.
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a lead rope Thick cotton, longer than the thin cotton ropes, durable snap, and typically lasts many years. It's a lead rope, just get it.
    Date published: 2010-12-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from big mistake I purchased 14 of these lead ropes, one for every horse in the barn. They are falling apart daily. Total garbage.
    Date published: 2010-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead Great lead rope; very comfortable in the hand. High quality snap.
    Date published: 2010-11-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Heavy Cotton Lead I returned this lead as it would not last very long since it is not braided; just twisted. Also, the lead is made in China, and while I understand why the US gets so much from China (don't necessarily agree), whenever possible, I prefer to support US manufacturers and companies. The quality just was not there and I'd rather pay a bit more and have a lead that will last many years. Thanks for the opportunity to share feedback.PS - I gave an overall rating of 3 stars since as usual, SmartPak provided excellent customer service and promptly processed my refund when this item was returned. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2010-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality lead They last and last. Prefer the cotton. I have them attached to rings all over the place so I can just attach when needed.
    Date published: 2010-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy Lead Rope Nice lead rope with heavy duty snap. Will provide years of service.
    Date published: 2010-05-11
    • 2016-02-12T14:54CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_116
    • loc_en_US, sid_2084, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.