Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Heavy Cotton Lead

Item #12084
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This Heavy Cotton Lead won't wimp out on you, and will last for ages!

Imported.
Favorite Features
  • 100% cotton heavy duty cotton
  • Brass bolt snap
Key Specifications
  • Material: Cotton
  • Breakaway: No
  • Metal Type: Brass
  • Customizable: No

Sizing

3/4" x 9' long
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Material Cotton
Breakaway No
Metal Type Brass
Width 3/4"
Customizable No
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a ...
    Description:
    "The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a distinctive double raised detail on the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available ...
    "Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass ...
    Description:
    "Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass plated snap. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Choose Havana, Chestnut or Black. This leather lead pairs beautifully with the Double Stitched ...
    "Beautiful and functional way to display your colors.Attaches ...
    Description:
    "Beautiful and functional way to display your colors.Attaches with hook & loop strip. Sunbrella Fabric is fade-proof, stain resistant, and worry-free."
    "Convenient, multi-purpose bench water caddy stores not only ...
    Description:
    "Convenient, multi-purpose bench water caddy stores not only water but your supplies too! Recessed handles for carrying and compartment storage area with lid strong enough to stand on. Molded-in spray bottle or beverage holders on top. 3 year warranty Natural ...
    "Soft padded leather lead with heavy duty hardware ...
    Description:
    "Soft padded leather lead with heavy duty hardware and 30"" chain. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. All with solid brass hardware except Black/White, Black/Black, and Black/Havana which come with ...
    "Why We Love This A new TWIST to ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This A new TWIST to the traditional leather lead. An elevated look that is perfect for shows and everyday use.Made in America, by local Amish craftsmen using top quality leather. Each cut, stitch and finishing touch is ...
    Why We Love This With heavy duty snap ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This With heavy duty snap and leather "popper", this 24-strand polyester Blocker Lead Rope is an excellent option as a lead and works perfectly with any of the other Blocker products.   Imported Key Specifications Material: Polyester Breakaway: Metal ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Heavy Cotton Lead is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 148.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I've gotten these before, and I love them. The last one I had lasted me about five years, with a horse that likes to take himself for walks and chew on his leads. I have high hopes for the one I just got.
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value I really liked this lead rope. It has a strong snap, a heavy weight cotton line, and a nice braided end. Great lead for the money.
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful I love this lead! This is the 2nd one I have bought, I use it everyday, it is soft and flexible, so it is easier to tie than a poly lead. The hardware is really durable, and I believe it will last a long time!
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy and soft lead rope It's soft and won't tear your hands apart, but it's still super strong, so I love it. The only thing I would change is that there isn't anywhere on the metal hardware that a name tag can fit. I'd like to see a spot for that, but otherwise great and very inexpensive.
    Date published: 2012-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good economical leadrope. This is a nice leadrope. It's not top of the line, but it's also a great price. The hardware on it is sturdy, and I like that it is longer than many leadropes. The blue is even brighter than pictured, it's a nice color. :-)
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead, great price I got this lead rope in black and I love it! It's thick and long without being bulky; very comfy for my hands. The clip is good quality and easy to clip and un-clip. Overall the lead seems durable so far. Great value!
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke Apart but Repaired with Duct Tape I had not used this lead rope for very long, but it unraveled and fell off the buckle. I was able to fix it with duct tape, but I wouldn't buy it again. It's too bad because I like the heavy weight and the fact that it's cotton and not synthetic, which can slip through gloved hands easily. I refuse to pay $10 for something that will definitely require duct tape, though. I would buy the other cotton lead rope offered by SmartPak, as it seems to be wrapped more tightly and be stronger as a result.
    Date published: 2012-06-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Regret purchase This lead rope was not good at all. Not heavy and part of the rope was frayed in the middle. I didn't return it cost it didn't cost enough.
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead Rope This lead rope is just what I was looking for. It has been hard to find a decently priced cotton lead with a good size clip and enough length to it, and this one has both.
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good lead at good price I haven't used this too much, but I like the length and feel. Seems like a good purchase for under $10.
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not so great it fell apart after about 4 months of occassional use. the rope twisted off the buckle when my horse was tied one day. No Bueno. I would have spent more money for a rope to last a decent amount of time without untwining itself.
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice lead line I needed something hanging on the front of my stall. When you need something quickly, running to your tack locker can waste precious moments, plus I like having it at my fingertips. Since my last lead went missing (it may have been borrowed, I may have misplaced it) I didn't want to invest alot. I like the fact that it has a brass snap and the cotton is nice and heavy. It was sturdy enough to write my horses name near the snap with puffy paint :)hahaha, we'll see how long THAT last!
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Frayed after a week of use Maybe I got a lemon, but I have used this lead rope six times and already it is starting to fray and come apart. It's a shame because I like the brass snap. I am working with a young, spirited mare so I need a lead rope that will hold up under some stress. I'll keep looking.
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great lead, great price Really that is all I have to say; nice thick soft cotton lead and cheap. I won't cry if I lose it. I will just order another one!
    Date published: 2012-04-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Product I'm horrified! It started fraying almost right after I got it. Now there is a thread hanging off it. I think Smartpak missed this one hit. Never be buying this again.
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Barn Staple Even though this is just a humble, plain old lead rope, cotton is my favorite material. It's comfortable, and if a horse acts up, won't burn your hands/be slippery like a poly lead. One can never have too many lead ropes around a barn. This is a good price and a super value.
    Date published: 2012-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from The snap mechanism was a bit sticky
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from no fraying!!! My horse lives in a paddock and the other horse likes to chew on my leads only and he can't chew through this!!! The lead is long enough to do anything and has a good weight!
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everyday lead This lead is a nice weight, tough material. Color choice is nice. Snap is heavy.
    Date published: 2012-03-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value Good quality lead at a really good price. Available in lots of colors. I plan to buy more in other colors
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a lead rope Nice, long, heavy cotton lead rope that I have been using 2x per week for the past month. No complaints.
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a nice practical lead rope. It is sturdy, well made, and utilizes good hardware.
    Date published: 2012-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Leadrope I bought this lead to replace one I had previously purchased that had a clip that rusted out in 3 months. This one is going strong over a year later and there is NO rust on the clip. The only reason I gave a 4 for quality instead of a 5 is because the rope is fraying. I will be replacing it with another of the same. I am tired of other leads that have clips that end up rusting shut.
    Date published: 2012-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality product which is just the right length for maintaining control while still giving the horse plenty of freedom.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hardware is of excellent quality This is a quality lead for those of us who prefer cotton. It's solid, comfortable to the touch and the brass hardware is substantial. I really really like this lead rope.
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good buy
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product Name Sums it up! This really IS a heavy cotton lead. Substatial and well made. It is wearing well after several months of use- other than the inevitable dirt, this still looks brand new.
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value This is a nicely made lead with a heavy duty snap. Great product for a reasonable price. The length is perfect. Good purchase!!
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    • y_2017, m_1, d_16, h_17
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_126
    • loc_en_US, sid_2084, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders