Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Heavy Cotton Lead

Item #12084
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This Heavy Cotton Lead won't wimp out on you, and will last for ages!

Imported.
Favorite Features
  • 100% cotton heavy duty cotton
  • Brass bolt snap
Key Specifications
  • Material: Cotton
  • Breakaway: No
  • Metal Type: Brass
  • Customizable: No

Sizing

3/4" x 9' long
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Material Cotton
Breakaway No
Metal Type Brass
Width 3/4"
Customizable No
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "This lead has a 7' leather portion with ...
    Description:
    "This lead has a 7' leather portion with a 30"" removable chain shank and features ADT's unique slip-through design for added security. The first 10"" of the leather is padded for your comfort. Soft and supple, yet durable leather for ...
    "Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass ...
    Description:
    "Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass plated snap. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Choose Havana, Chestnut or Black. This leather lead pairs beautifully with the Double Stitched ...
    "The Lettia Sparkle Lead is a fun option ...
    Description:
    "The Lettia Sparkle Lead is a fun option for those who are looking for a little sparkle in their horses wardrobe! Eye catching colors are lined with suede nu-buck for softness and feature durable polypropylene webbing. Heavy duty cast hardware ...
    "The Mustang Poly Lead Rope features a brass ...
    Description:
    "The Mustang Poly Lead Rope features a brass plated bolt snap and is perfect for everyday use - offered at a great price point! Keep one in the barn, your tack trunk and the trailer! Durable and made to last." ...
    "Soft padded leather lead with heavy duty hardware ...
    Description:
    "Soft padded leather lead with heavy duty hardware and 30"" chain. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. *All Havana come with solid brass hardware, all Black come with stainless steel ...
    "The Plymouth Halter by Smartpak is crafted from ...
    Description:
    "The Plymouth Halter by Smartpak is crafted from durable imported leather. It's quality workmanship is shown in it's padded noseband and crown, fine details, rolled throat latch, and solid brass hardware. Perfect for everyday use, and an unbelievable value! Available ...
    "The SmartPak Double Stitch Stable Halter is suitable ...
    Description:
    "The SmartPak Double Stitch Stable Halter is suitable for the show ring, but priced for everyday use. This halter is handmade in Amish country using supple, top quality leather in Havana. Made in the USA Personalization available! Addcustomization to this ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Heavy Cotton Lead is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 164.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality and Value for the Price This is a good quality cotton lead rope with sturdy hardware. I wish the lead rope were a little bit thicker, though. Great value for the price.
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heavy duty Nice heavy duty lead. I would have given it 5 stars if the ends of the lead, at the clamp and at the end, did not come frayed. The extra threads were not woven back in but left hanging. I had to take black yarn (matching) and encircle all the ends to clean up the look of the lead.
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice! Bought two as spare leads. Nice heavy rope material.
    Date published: 2015-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good with a minor problem The quality of this lead rope is excellent as it stood up to my horse's chewing and being outdoors. The hardware did not rust or turn an funky color, despite it being brass plated. In fact, it held up as well as my all brass triple-stitched Smarpak halter (another quality item). I bought another as a backup because my horse likes to chew on lead ropes (ugh). The only problem was that I bought black (green last time) and the black had this weird green stitching running through it. If it were in a specific pattern I would've kept it since those are his colors anyways, but it was uneven and like green thread got in accidentally so I exchanged it. On the plus side, Smartpak, awesome as always, exchanged it very quickly which was great since I am moving tomorrow!
    Date published: 2015-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Perfect heavy long cotton lead. Only wish it came with stainless clip
    Date published: 2015-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best rope ever This is a great lead rope. It's not slippery, and the snap is heavy duty enough to stand up to daily use. Some snaps are not well made, so they catch-- especially bad when you are trying to turn horses out! Plus this one is long enough to be able to put it through the bit and run it over the head, and STILL have room to get out of the way of a frisky horse!
    Date published: 2015-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy & heavy weight A good quality, solid & heavy brass clasp with a nice long, sturdy lead.
    Date published: 2015-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommended lead rope The best and safest lead rope! Well made and a nice length. I got black so it does show dirt.
    Date published: 2015-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice feel. heavy duty harware Love these ropes. Soft in the hand since they are cotton. Heavy enough to "feel" the horse at the end. Only drawback is that they are a bit too thick for blocker tie rings if you use those. Heavy duty hardware. Cotton doesn't disintegrate over time like the poly ropes do.
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heavy duty brass snap with soft cotton rope. This lead rope is just the right length and the soft cotton rope is great for the handler. The nice brass, heavy duty snap is a reassuring quality.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice leadrope and I love the royal blue Very nice weight cotton lead rope. Not light, but not super thick and heavy.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice and sturdy I bought this about a month ago. I find it to be very sturdy and well made, nice value for the price!
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lead rope True to description, I am very happy with this cotton lead!
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the price-a great lead! We are low on cotton lead ropes and I ordered one from SmartPak and another from a major catalog supplier. The SmartPak lead was perfect. Good solid snap and a nice sized lead. The other, for the same price was little and flimsy - something I would walk my dog with. I loved the fact that I could add it to my already-being-shipped supplement order.
    Date published: 2014-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this without realizing it was a horse lead, Please make one just like only lighter for my Doodle who is 88#'s.
    Date published: 2014-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good every day lead rope Good heavy weight lead for every day barn use. Both clip and lead are study and are holding up well even after a few washes after being drug through the mud by a playful colt.
    Date published: 2014-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite lead I bought this lead about three years ago and still use it to this day. I just bought another since I've left this one outside and the spring has rusted (But after beating on it for years, I'm impressed). It's simple, doesn't burn my hands if my horse is having a "fun" day, and looks neat and clean. Love it.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality This lead has it all at a great price: nice quality snap, durable twisted cotton rope, generous length, comfortable to handle, attractive color choices! It looks great with my new SmartPak leather halter. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value. I always prefer to use a cotton over nylon lead. This one is good quality for the price.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from standard cotton lead in standard colors which was EXACTLY what i was looking for and wanted! Would be nice if they were offered in a few other colors but honestly, all I ever really want is a plain black cotton lead
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead Rope I bought this and love these products, as they don't rope burn your hands like a nylon rope will.
    Date published: 2013-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! Very nice length and you can't beat it for the price!
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Lead Line Very sturdy and does not ravel. I love these lead lines and will never use a different one!
    Date published: 2013-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy Cotton Leads 9' These are very nice colorful leads with great strong snaps. I find that even having one at each stall is never enough and when the price is right I buy a bunch. Good value with long life of use. Have bought them before and will again.
    Date published: 2013-08-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but not best I bought this and it didn't hold up very well, but I still use it. Its not the best but if well taken care of should last.
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase I just ordered two of these. Although I am happy with the product, it is not quite what I expected. Many years ago I purchased what I consider "Heavy" Lead ropes. I could not remember where or what the exact thickness was. But they are thicker than these lead ropes. Anyway, I am very satisfied with these lead ropes. They seem heavy duty and have a little bit of elasticity to them which I like since one of them is for my 2 year old colt who is very abusive to equipment. The braid going back into the rope to hold the snap on seems very secure and tight. Hopefully these will hold up will post again if they do not! But as always smartpak has great quality products.
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't last I don't know if the recent stock of these lead ropes are defective, but that would explain why the lead rope unraveled by the snap after five days of minimal use. My horses have paddocks attached to their stalls so they only have to walk from their stalls to the cross ties in a four stall barn. After this experience I see no reason to open the other lead rope I purchased and will be sending both back to Smart Pak.
    Date published: 2013-04-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't Hold Up Within a week, the whole top part of this lead rope had come apart, and there was no type of excessive use. Just daily walk out to turnout and back in at night. Disappointed that this fell apart so quickly.
    Date published: 2013-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Purchase I have only had this lead rope for a few weeks, but it is perfect. Exactly what I expected. It is hardy, even though my mare abuses her lead ropes.
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good value I have 3 of these lead ropes and really like them. The extra length is nice to have and they're very comfortable in your hand. They do tend to fray a little over time, though.
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    • y_2018, m_1, d_22, h_8
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_140
    • loc_en_US, sid_2084, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 32ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders