Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Heavy Cotton Lead

Item #12084
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This Heavy Cotton Lead won't wimp out on you, and will last for ages!

Favorite Features

  • 100% cotton heavy duty cotton
  • Brass bolt snap

Sizing It Up

3/4" x 9' long

Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass ...
Description:
Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass plated snap. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Choose Havana, Chestnut or Black. Measures 6'L x 1"W. This leather lead pairs beautifully ...
Non-SlipProtection!Created using open-celled, non-latex foam, the Equi-Fit Tail ...
Description:
Non-SlipProtection!Created using open-celled, non-latex foam, the Equi-Fit Tail Wrap won't slip. Breathable material eliminates chaffing and itching and ensures that the wrap will stay in place. Featuring hook and loop closure for easy application and removal.6' x 4". Made in ...
Theperfect amount of easy-access storage for all the ...
Description:
Theperfect amount of easy-access storage for all the essentials you need on your next trail ride! Favorite Features Two padded pocketshold your essentials and keep themProtected Hook-and-loop strap attaches around the pommel for maximum security and Two buckled straps hold ...
TheReflective Tail Band has high visibility for horse ...
Description:
TheReflective Tail Band has high visibility for horse and riderProtection. Adheres to European safety standard EN-471. 2" wide elastic band with touch tape closure. Attaches to horses tail. It is a5" long reflective strip that hangs down horses tail.Imported.
This convenient 4 gallon Hott Wash water heater ...
Description:
This convenient 4 gallon Hott Wash water heater is perfect for the horse or dog owner on the go. Attach an ordinary garden-hose, a hot water hose, plug the Hott Wash in and you're done! titanium tank andHeavy duty commercial ...
RJ Classics Tote Bag is a sylish multi-use ...
Description:
RJ Classics Tote Bag is a sylish multi-use tote bag.Stain resistant, water repellent, and washable. Three exterior zipper pockets. Includes a coordinating detachable zipper pouch. Dimensions: 14.8"H x 21.5"W x 4.5"D. Height can extend to 19.8". Imported.
Why We Love This ? Designed to provide extra ...
Description:
Why We Love This ? Designed to provide extra protection to knees, hocks, fetlocks, and heels, the Roma Deluxe Shipping Boots are great to use Favorite Features Constructed of durable 1000 Denier nylon outer shell Soft fleece lining Sizing It Up ...
out of 5
88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Heavy Cotton Lead is rated 4.315068493150685 out of 5 by 146.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite lead I bought this lead about three years ago and still use it to this day. I just bought another since I've left this one outside and the spring has rusted (But after beating on it for years, I'm impressed). It's simple, doesn't burn my hands if my horse is having a "fun" day, and looks neat and clean. Love it.
Date published: 2014-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality This lead has it all at a great price: nice quality snap, durable twisted cotton rope,generous length, comfortable to handle, attractive color choices! It looks great withmy new SmartPak leather halter. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value. I always prefer to use a cotton over nylon lead. This one is good quality for the price.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from standard cotton lead in standard colors which was EXACTLY what i was looking for and wanted! Would be nice if they were offered in a few other colors but honestly, all I ever really want is a plain black cotton lead
Date published: 2013-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead Rope I bought this and love these products, as they don't rope burn your hands like a nylon rope will.
Date published: 2013-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! Very nice length and you can't beat it for the price!
Date published: 2013-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Lead Line Very sturdy and does not ravel. I love these lead lines and will never use a different one!
Date published: 2013-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy Cotton Leads 9' These are very nice colorful leads with great strong snaps. I find that even having one at each stall is never enough and when the price is right I buy a bunch. Good value with long life of use. Have bought them before and will again.
Date published: 2013-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but not best I bought this and it didn't hold up very well, but I still use it. Its not the best but if well taken care of should last.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase I just ordered two of these. Although I am happy with the product, it is not quite what I expected. Many years ago I purchased what I consider "Heavy" Lead ropes. I could not remember where or what the exact thickness was. But they are thicker than these lead ropes. Anyway, I am very satisfied with these lead ropes. They seem heavy duty and have a little bit of elasticity to them which I like since one of them is for my 2 year old colt who is very abusive to equipment. The braid going back into the rope to hold the snap on seems very secure and tight.Hopefully these will hold up will post again if they do not! But as always smartpak has great quality products.
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't last I don't know if the recent stock of these lead ropes are defective, but that would explain why the lead rope unraveled by the snap after five days of minimal use. My horses have paddocks attached to their stalls so they only have to walk from their stalls to the cross ties in a four stall barn. After this experience I see no reason to open the other lead rope I purchased and will be sending both back to Smart Pak.
Date published: 2013-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't Hold Up Within a week, the whole top part of this lead rope had come apart, and there was no type of excessive use. Just daily walk out to turnout and back in at night. Disappointed that this fell apart so quickly.
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Purchase I have only had this lead rope for a few weeks, but it is perfect. Exactly what I expected. It is hardy, even though my mare abuses her lead ropes.
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good value I have 3 of these lead ropes and really like them.The extra length is nice to have and they're very comfortable in your hand.They do tend to fray a little over time, though.
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Lead Rope I purchased two of these and have been happy with both them. They are well made, especially for the money. Nice lead rope.
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality for the Price After my horse's lead shank was stolen, I decided to get a new one, and a plain rope lead. After shopping around, I decided on this one from SmartPak. It is just the right thickness to hold comfortably, and is generous in length, making it useful for more than just leading a horse (such as getting a cast horse turned over).
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Lead Rope at a Great Price! I bought this just a couple of weeks ago and love it. I got the royal blue and love how long it is. It has a nice large clip on the end too which is great. My old lead broke and was the same length but this one seems to be heavier and bigger than my old one. Great lead for a really nice price!
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good basic lead My horse is a bit destructive with lead ropes, but I got this one to use with his leather halter that I only use at shows so I can't really comment on how well it holds up over time. I like the softness and weight of this lead rope, though. I did find one drawback to it while trailering during a rainy day- it absorbs a lot of water. Other than that, I'm happy with it!
Date published: 2012-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from awesome love this lead i go to shows a lot so i trailer a lot. i hate when i have a stiff lead because they are hard to tie. this lead was nice and loose when i got it and it is amazing. the only problem i have with it is it is really long but other than that it is great
Date published: 2012-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but not great I haven't ordered lead ropes from Smartpak in a few years - this one seems different however, we have a large farm with many lead ropes that it's hard to keep track.This one is better than most but it's not the most substantial lead rope we've had. The snap is about a medium size compared to others. And the rope is not as thick as we would like.I wish they would add more colors as I get so tired of the same ones. I realize recently they've added a few more choices but they are the same as everyone else. What I'd like is a super thick lead rope with a heavy duty snap in different colors like pink, orange, multi colors, brown, different shades of blue and green- anything but the ordinary.
Date published: 2012-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good lead Good sturdy leadline - comfortable to hold, nice hardware, and perfect length for even big long horses.
Date published: 2012-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Excellent quality and a great price. Also got the matching halter. Happy with both.
Date published: 2012-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I've gotten these before, and I love them. The last one I had lasted me about five years, with a horse that likes to take himself for walks and chew on his leads. I have high hopes for the one I just got.
Date published: 2012-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value I really liked this lead rope. It has a strong snap, a heavy weight cotton line, and a nice braided end. Great lead for the money.
Date published: 2012-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful I love this lead! This is the 2nd one I have bought, I use it everyday, it is soft and flexible, so it is easier to tie than a poly lead. The hardware is really durable, and I believe it will last a long time!
Date published: 2012-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy and soft lead rope It's soft and won't tear your hands apart, but it's still super strong, so I love it. The only thing I would change is that there isn't anywhere on the metal hardware that a name tag can fit. I'd like to see a spot for that, but otherwise great and very inexpensive.
Date published: 2012-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good economical leadrope. This is a nice leadrope. It's not top of the line, but it's also a great price. The hardware on it is sturdy, and I like that it is longer than many leadropes. The blue is even brighter than pictured, it's a nice color. :-)
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead, great price I got this lead rope in black and I love it! It's thick and long without being bulky; very comfy for my hands. The clip is good quality and easy to clip and un-clip. Overall the lead seems durable so far. Great value!
Date published: 2012-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke Apart but Repaired with Duct Tape I had not used this lead rope for very long, but it unraveled and fell off the buckle. I was able to fix it with duct tape, but I wouldn't buy it again. It's too bad because I like the heavy weight and the fact that it's cotton and not synthetic, which can slip through gloved hands easily. I refuse to pay $10 for something that will definitely require duct tape, though. I would buy the other cotton lead rope offered by SmartPak, as it seems to be wrapped more tightly and be stronger as a result.
Date published: 2012-06-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Regret purchase This lead rope was not good at all. Not heavy and part of the rope was frayed in the middle. I didn't return it cost it didn't cost enough.
Date published: 2012-06-13
  • 2016-07-30T10:30CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_124
  • loc_en_US, sid_2084, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders