Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Heavy Cotton Lead

Item #12084
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This Heavy Cotton Lead won't wimp out on you, and will last for ages!

Favorite Features

  • 100% cotton heavy duty cotton
  • Brass bolt snap

Sizing It Up

3/4" x 9' long

Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass ...
Description:
Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass plated snap. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Choose Havana, Chestnut or Black. Measures 6'L x 1"W. This leather lead pairs beautifully ...
Non-SlipProtection!Created using open-celled, non-latex foam, the Equi-Fit Tail ...
Description:
Non-SlipProtection!Created using open-celled, non-latex foam, the Equi-Fit Tail Wrap won't slip. Breathable material eliminates chaffing and itching and ensures that the wrap will stay in place. Featuring hook and loop closure for easy application and removal.6' x 4". Made in ...
Theperfect amount of easy-access storage for all the ...
Description:
Theperfect amount of easy-access storage for all the essentials you need on your next trail ride! Favorite Features Two padded pocketshold your essentials and keep themProtected Hook-and-loop strap attaches around the pommel for maximum security and Two buckled straps hold ...
TheReflective Tail Band has high visibility for horse ...
Description:
TheReflective Tail Band has high visibility for horse and riderProtection. Adheres to European safety standard EN-471. 2" wide elastic band with touch tape closure. Attaches to horses tail. It is a5" long reflective strip that hangs down horses tail.Imported.
This convenient 4 gallon Hott Wash water heater ...
Description:
This convenient 4 gallon Hott Wash water heater is perfect for the horse or dog owner on the go. Attach an ordinary garden-hose, a hot water hose, plug the Hott Wash in and you're done! titanium tank andHeavy duty commercial ...
RJ Classics Tote Bag is a sylish multi-use ...
Description:
RJ Classics Tote Bag is a sylish multi-use tote bag.Stain resistant, water repellent, and washable. Three exterior zipper pockets. Includes a coordinating detachable zipper pouch. Dimensions: 14.8"H x 21.5"W x 4.5"D. Height can extend to 19.8". Imported.
Why We Love This ? Designed to provide extra ...
Description:
Why We Love This ? Designed to provide extra protection to knees, hocks, fetlocks, and heels, the Roma Deluxe Shipping Boots are great to use Favorite Features Constructed of durable 1000 Denier nylon outer shell Soft fleece lining Sizing It Up ...
out of 5
88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Heavy Cotton Lead is rated 4.315068493150685 out of 5 by 146.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Heavy cotton lead Poorly made. There was no care in making this lead rope. I would have thought Smart Pak would never sell something this so. Low grade.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty nice Overall, a nice product. The rope and snap are good quality but the second time I used it had to grab it suddenly (because my horse was spooking) and the wrapping that holds the rope to the snap all pulled off way too easily. I can fix it but it is aggravating.
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not the same lead and a safety risk. Customer service says Smartpak has changed the manufacturer for this lead. Previous orders of this exact lead from Smartpak resulted in amazing, attractive, tightly-constructed leads that hold up well and I feel safe using for my horse. I will not use this latest one sent. This lead's braiding is so loosely constructed around the bolt that I do not trust its integrity and will not risk my horse. Plus it's an unattractive, bulky jumble around the bolt. Customer service claims it's not defective and this is the intended design from the new manufacturer. Despite the "free returns" graphic being displayed within this item's description, the rep insisted that the defective-in-our-opinion lead could only be returned if I paid for shipping back. Eventually, after much frustration, we were finally allowed a begrudging "one time exception" to send back this very poorly-constructed item.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product for price! This heavy cotton lead is great for the low price! Exactly what it says it is, no more and no less. Clip is sturdy and reliable.
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from work like it should Been using for a month, no problems. Comfortable grip.
Date published: 2016-01-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This is my second one. Unfortunately the hardware continues to break.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cotton Lead I bought this lead to go with my leather halter and they look awesome together. I bought the blue color. The snap seems durable and the lead is nice and long. I switched over to cotton after my horse that I've had for 7 years randomly pulled on day and his nylon lead tore up my hand. I'll continue to buy these cotton leads. I only wish they came in a thicker size so they were a little more durable, but for the price you cant beat it.
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead Nice everyday lead rope. Cotton gives good gripe. Not as sturdy as more heavy duty leads
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these lead ropes. Never have problems when ordering,delivery is always timely
Date published: 2015-10-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Quality Control I couldn't use this lead because the clip, snap, whatever you want to call it was junk. The parts did not line up. The top curved part and the lower movable part don't line up. I'm returning it for an exchange hoping I will get something better next time. Soft in hand, finishing of end and clip end could be better. If they are all like this I can not recommend. We'll see what comes next.
Date published: 2015-10-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just okay Some of the threading was coming undone by the time I got to my house .
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very poor construction I was very dissatisfied with the quality of this lead. The ends were poorly finished and unraveling. I would have immediately returned it, but found myself needing to use it ectedly. To use only once, I had to duct tape the area near the fastener as well as the end of the rope. After first and only use, I tossed it
Date published: 2015-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice quality lead for the price. I bought this lead to have a nicer quality lead and was not disappointed. It's long enough and heavy enough without being too heavy or long.
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good hook So far so good, I have only been using them for a week or so.
Date published: 2015-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality and Value for the Price This is a good quality cotton lead rope with sturdy hardware. I wish the lead rope were a little bit thicker, though. Great value for the price.
Date published: 2015-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heavy duty Nice heavy duty lead. I would have given it 5 stars if the ends of the lead, at the clamp and at the end, did not come frayed. The extra threads were not woven back in but left hanging. I had to take black yarn (matching) and encircle all the ends to clean up the look of the lead.
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice! Bought two as spare leads. Nice heavy rope material.
Date published: 2015-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good with a minor problem The quality of this lead rope is excellent as it stood up to my horse's chewing and being outdoors. The hardware did not rust or turn an funky color, despite it being brass plated. In fact, it held up as well as my all brass triple-stitched Smarpak halter (another quality item). I bought another as a backup because my horse likes to chew on lead ropes (ugh). The only problem was that I bought black (green last time) and the black had this weird green stitching running through it. If it were in a specific pattern I would've kept it since those are his colors anyways, but it was uneven and like green thread got in accidentally so I exchanged it. On the plus side, Smartpak, awesome as always, exchanged it very quickly which was great since I am moving tomorrow!
Date published: 2015-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Perfect heavy long cotton lead. Only wish it came with stainless clip
Date published: 2015-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best rope ever This is a great lead rope. It's not slippery, and the snap is heavy duty enough to stand up to daily use. Some snaps are not well made, so they catch-- especially bad when you are trying to turn horses out! Plus this one is long enough to be able to put it through the bit and run it over the head, and STILL have room to get out of the way of a frisky horse!
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy & heavy weight A good quality, solid & heavy brass clasp with a nice long, sturdy lead.
Date published: 2015-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommended lead rope The best and safest lead rope! Well made and a nice length. I got black so it does show dirt.
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice feel. heavy duty harware Love these ropes. Soft in the hand since they are cotton. Heavy enough to "feel" the horse at the end. Only drawback is that they are a bit too thick for blocker tie rings if you use those. Heavy duty hardware. Cotton doesn't disintegrate over time like the poly ropes do.
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heavy duty brass snap with soft cotton rope. This lead rope is just the right length and the soft cotton rope is great for the handler. The nice brass, heavy duty snap is a reassuring quality.
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice leadrope and I love the royal blue Very nice weight cotton lead rope. Not light, but not super thick and heavy.
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice and sturdy I bought this about a month ago. I find it to be very sturdy and well made, nice value for the price!
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lead rope True to description, I am very happy with this cotton lead!
Date published: 2014-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the price-a great lead! We are low on cotton lead ropes and I ordered one from SmartPak and another from a major catalog supplier. The SmartPak lead was perfect. Good solid snap and a nice sized lead. The other, for the same price was little and flimsy - something I would walk my dog with. I loved the fact that I could add it to my already-being-shipped supplement order.
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this without realizing it was a horse lead, Please make one just like only lighter for my Doodle who is 88#'s.
Date published: 2014-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good every day lead rope Good heavy weight lead for every day barn use. Both clip and lead are study and are holding up well even after a few washes after being drug through the mud by a playful colt.
Date published: 2014-03-17
  • 2016-07-29T11:07CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_124
  • loc_en_US, sid_2084, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders