Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Heavy Cotton Lead

Item #12084
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This Heavy Cotton Lead won't wimp out on you, and will last for ages!

Favorite Features

  • 100% cotton heavy duty cotton
  • Brass bolt snap

Sizing It Up

3/4" x 9' long

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Heavy Cotton Lead is rated 4.4206 out of 5 by 126.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice feel. heavy duty harware Love these ropes. Soft in the hand since they are cotton. Heavy enough to "feel" the horse at the end. Only drawback is that they are a bit too thick for blocker tie rings if you use those. Heavy duty hardware. Cotton doesn't disintegrate over time like the poly ropes do.
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heavy duty brass snap with soft cotton rope. This lead rope is just the right length and the soft cotton rope is great for the handler. The nice brass, heavy duty snap is a reassuring quality.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice leadrope and I love the royal blue Very nice weight cotton lead rope. Not light, but not super thick and heavy.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice and sturdy I bought this about a month ago. I find it to be very sturdy and well made, nice value for the price!
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lead rope True to description, I am very happy with this cotton lead!
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the price-a great lead! We are low on cotton lead ropes and I ordered one from SmartPak and another from a major catalog supplier. The SmartPak lead was perfect. Good solid snap and a nice sized lead. The other, for the same price was little and flimsy - something I would walk my dog with. I loved the fact that I could add it to my already-being-shipped supplement order.
    Date published: 2014-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this without realizing it was a horse lead, Please make one just like only lighter for my Doodle who is 88#'s.
    Date published: 2014-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good every day lead rope Good heavy weight lead for every day barn use. Both clip and lead are study and are holding up well even after a few washes after being drug through the mud by a playful colt.
    Date published: 2014-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite lead I bought this lead about three years ago and still use it to this day. I just bought another since I've left this one outside and the spring has rusted (But after beating on it for years, I'm impressed). It's simple, doesn't burn my hands if my horse is having a "fun" day, and looks neat and clean. Love it.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality This lead has it all at a great price: nice quality snap, durable twisted cotton rope,generous length, comfortable to handle, attractive color choices! It looks great withmy new SmartPak leather halter. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value. I always prefer to use a cotton over nylon lead. This one is good quality for the price.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from standard cotton lead in standard colors which was EXACTLY what i was looking for and wanted! Would be nice if they were offered in a few other colors but honestly, all I ever really want is a plain black cotton lead
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead Rope I bought this and love these products, as they don't rope burn your hands like a nylon rope will.
    Date published: 2013-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! Very nice length and you can't beat it for the price!
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Lead Line Very sturdy and does not ravel. I love these lead lines and will never use a different one!
    Date published: 2013-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy Cotton Leads 9' These are very nice colorful leads with great strong snaps. I find that even having one at each stall is never enough and when the price is right I buy a bunch. Good value with long life of use. Have bought them before and will again.
    Date published: 2013-08-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but not best I bought this and it didn't hold up very well, but I still use it. Its not the best but if well taken care of should last.
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase I just ordered two of these. Although I am happy with the product, it is not quite what I expected. Many years ago I purchased what I consider "Heavy" Lead ropes. I could not remember where or what the exact thickness was. But they are thicker than these lead ropes. Anyway, I am very satisfied with these lead ropes. They seem heavy duty and have a little bit of elasticity to them which I like since one of them is for my 2 year old colt who is very abusive to equipment. The braid going back into the rope to hold the snap on seems very secure and tight.Hopefully these will hold up will post again if they do not! But as always smartpak has great quality products.
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't last I don't know if the recent stock of these lead ropes are defective, but that would explain why the lead rope unraveled by the snap after five days of minimal use. My horses have paddocks attached to their stalls so they only have to walk from their stalls to the cross ties in a four stall barn. After this experience I see no reason to open the other lead rope I purchased and will be sending both back to Smart Pak.
    Date published: 2013-04-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't Hold Up Within a week, the whole top part of this lead rope had come apart, and there was no type of excessive use. Just daily walk out to turnout and back in at night. Disappointed that this fell apart so quickly.
    Date published: 2013-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Purchase I have only had this lead rope for a few weeks, but it is perfect. Exactly what I expected. It is hardy, even though my mare abuses her lead ropes.
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good value I have 3 of these lead ropes and really like them.The extra length is nice to have and they're very comfortable in your hand.They do tend to fray a little over time, though.
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Lead Rope I purchased two of these and have been happy with both them. They are well made, especially for the money. Nice lead rope.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality for the Price After my horse's lead shank was stolen, I decided to get a new one, and a plain rope lead. After shopping around, I decided on this one from SmartPak. It is just the right thickness to hold comfortably, and is generous in length, making it useful for more than just leading a horse (such as getting a cast horse turned over).
    Date published: 2012-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Lead Rope at a Great Price! I bought this just a couple of weeks ago and love it. I got the royal blue and love how long it is. It has a nice large clip on the end too which is great. My old lead broke and was the same length but this one seems to be heavier and bigger than my old one. Great lead for a really nice price!
    Date published: 2012-12-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good basic lead My horse is a bit destructive with lead ropes, but I got this one to use with his leather halter that I only use at shows so I can't really comment on how well it holds up over time. I like the softness and weight of this lead rope, though. I did find one drawback to it while trailering during a rainy day- it absorbs a lot of water. Other than that, I'm happy with it!
    Date published: 2012-11-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from awesome love this lead i go to shows a lot so i trailer a lot. i hate when i have a stiff lead because they are hard to tie. this lead was nice and loose when i got it and it is amazing. the only problem i have with it is it is really long but other than that it is great
    Date published: 2012-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but not great I haven't ordered lead ropes from Smartpak in a few years - this one seems different however, we have a large farm with many lead ropes that it's hard to keep track.This one is better than most but it's not the most substantial lead rope we've had. The snap is about a medium size compared to others. And the rope is not as thick as we would like.I wish they would add more colors as I get so tired of the same ones. I realize recently they've added a few more choices but they are the same as everyone else. What I'd like is a super thick lead rope with a heavy duty snap in different colors like pink, orange, multi colors, brown, different shades of blue and green- anything but the ordinary.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good lead Good sturdy leadline - comfortable to hold, nice hardware, and perfect length for even big long horses.
    Date published: 2012-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Excellent quality and a great price. Also got the matching halter. Happy with both.
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    • 2015-05-25T10:21CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_105
    • loc_en_US, sid_2084, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.