Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Heavy Cotton Lead

Item #12084
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This Heavy Cotton Lead won't wimp out on you, and will last for ages!

Favorite Features

  • 100% cotton heavy duty cotton
  • Brass bolt snap

Sizing It Up

3/4" x 9' long

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass ...
    Description:
    Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass plated snap. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Choose Havana, Chestnut or Black. Measures 6'L x 1"W. This leather lead pairs beautifully ...
    Soft padded leather lead with heavy duty hardware ...
    Description:
    Soft padded leather lead with heavy duty hardware and 30" chain. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Measures 7'L x 1"W. All with solid brass hardware except Black/White which comes ...
    With heavy duty snap and leather "popper", this ...
    Description:
    With heavy duty snap and leather "popper", this 24-strand polyester Blocker Lead Rope is an excellent option as a lead and works perfectly with any of the other Blocker products. Sizing It Up 12' long rope Imported
    Big D leads are durable and long lasting.  ...
    Description:
    Big D leads are durable and long lasting.  Favorite Features Manufactured using heavy duty nylon and polypropylene for extra strength Exclusive bolt snap and chain are guaranteed not to break Sizing It Up 5/8" x 9'. Chain measures 30". 
    Bring out your bright colors with these Amish ...
    Description:
    Bring out your bright colors with these Amish made cotton lead ropes. Lead measures 1/2" x 6'. Chrome plated snap and clamp. Comes with snap. Made in the USA
    These fantastic cotton leads are an economical barn ...
    Description:
    These fantastic cotton leads are an economical barn staple! These leads are carefully braided at both ends to avoid fraying with a  30" brass plated chain, making them heavy duty and meant to last. At the same time the cotton remains soft in ...
    Made from a continous piece of rot-resistant diamond ...
    Description:
    Made from a continous piece of rot-resistant diamond braided poly rope, this halter is soft to the touch for both horse and handler and the 8' detachable lead is the perfect length. Favorite Features Made from soft, two-toned, diamond braided ...
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Heavy Cotton Lead is rated 4.3214 out of 5 by 140.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cotton Lead I bought this lead to go with my leather halter and they look awesome together. I bought the blue color. The snap seems durable and the lead is nice and long. I switched over to cotton after my horse that I've had for 7 years randomly pulled on day and his nylon lead tore up my hand. I'll continue to buy these cotton leads. I only wish they came in a thicker size so they were a little more durable, but for the price you cant beat it.
    Date published: 2015-12-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead Nice everyday lead rope. Cotton gives good gripe. Not as sturdy as more heavy duty leads
    Date published: 2015-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these lead ropes. Never have problems when ordering,delivery is always timely
    Date published: 2015-10-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Quality Control I couldn't use this lead because the clip, snap, whatever you want to call it was junk. The parts did not line up. The top curved part and the lower movable part don't line up. I'm returning it for an exchange hoping I will get something better next time. Soft in hand, finishing of end and clip end could be better. If they are all like this I can not recommend. We'll see what comes next.
    Date published: 2015-10-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just okay Some of the threading was coming undone by the time I got to my house .
    Date published: 2015-09-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very poor construction I was very dissatisfied with the quality of this lead. The ends were poorly finished and unraveling. I would have immediately returned it, but found myself needing to use it ectedly. To use only once, I had to duct tape the area near the fastener as well as the end of the rope. After first and only use, I tossed it
    Date published: 2015-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice quality lead for the price. I bought this lead to have a nicer quality lead and was not disappointed. It's long enough and heavy enough without being too heavy or long.
    Date published: 2015-08-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good hook So far so good, I have only been using them for a week or so.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality and Value for the Price This is a good quality cotton lead rope with sturdy hardware. I wish the lead rope were a little bit thicker, though. Great value for the price.
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heavy duty Nice heavy duty lead. I would have given it 5 stars if the ends of the lead, at the clamp and at the end, did not come frayed. The extra threads were not woven back in but left hanging. I had to take black yarn (matching) and encircle all the ends to clean up the look of the lead.
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice! Bought two as spare leads. Nice heavy rope material.
    Date published: 2015-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good with a minor problem The quality of this lead rope is excellent as it stood up to my horse's chewing and being outdoors. The hardware did not rust or turn an funky color, despite it being brass plated. In fact, it held up as well as my all brass triple-stitched Smarpak halter (another quality item). I bought another as a backup because my horse likes to chew on lead ropes (ugh). The only problem was that I bought black (green last time) and the black had this weird green stitching running through it. If it were in a specific pattern I would've kept it since those are his colors anyways, but it was uneven and like green thread got in accidentally so I exchanged it. On the plus side, Smartpak, awesome as always, exchanged it very quickly which was great since I am moving tomorrow!
    Date published: 2015-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Perfect heavy long cotton lead. Only wish it came with stainless clip
    Date published: 2015-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best rope ever This is a great lead rope. It's not slippery, and the snap is heavy duty enough to stand up to daily use. Some snaps are not well made, so they catch-- especially bad when you are trying to turn horses out! Plus this one is long enough to be able to put it through the bit and run it over the head, and STILL have room to get out of the way of a frisky horse!
    Date published: 2015-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy & heavy weight A good quality, solid & heavy brass clasp with a nice long, sturdy lead.
    Date published: 2015-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommended lead rope The best and safest lead rope! Well made and a nice length. I got black so it does show dirt.
    Date published: 2015-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice feel. heavy duty harware Love these ropes. Soft in the hand since they are cotton. Heavy enough to "feel" the horse at the end. Only drawback is that they are a bit too thick for blocker tie rings if you use those. Heavy duty hardware. Cotton doesn't disintegrate over time like the poly ropes do.
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heavy duty brass snap with soft cotton rope. This lead rope is just the right length and the soft cotton rope is great for the handler. The nice brass, heavy duty snap is a reassuring quality.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice leadrope and I love the royal blue Very nice weight cotton lead rope. Not light, but not super thick and heavy.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice and sturdy I bought this about a month ago. I find it to be very sturdy and well made, nice value for the price!
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lead rope True to description, I am very happy with this cotton lead!
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the price-a great lead! We are low on cotton lead ropes and I ordered one from SmartPak and another from a major catalog supplier. The SmartPak lead was perfect. Good solid snap and a nice sized lead. The other, for the same price was little and flimsy - something I would walk my dog with. I loved the fact that I could add it to my already-being-shipped supplement order.
    Date published: 2014-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this without realizing it was a horse lead, Please make one just like only lighter for my Doodle who is 88#'s.
    Date published: 2014-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good every day lead rope Good heavy weight lead for every day barn use. Both clip and lead are study and are holding up well even after a few washes after being drug through the mud by a playful colt.
    Date published: 2014-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite lead I bought this lead about three years ago and still use it to this day. I just bought another since I've left this one outside and the spring has rusted (But after beating on it for years, I'm impressed). It's simple, doesn't burn my hands if my horse is having a "fun" day, and looks neat and clean. Love it.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality This lead has it all at a great price: nice quality snap, durable twisted cotton rope,generous length, comfortable to handle, attractive color choices! It looks great withmy new SmartPak leather halter. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value. I always prefer to use a cotton over nylon lead. This one is good quality for the price.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from standard cotton lead in standard colors which was EXACTLY what i was looking for and wanted! Would be nice if they were offered in a few other colors but honestly, all I ever really want is a plain black cotton lead
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead Rope I bought this and love these products, as they don't rope burn your hands like a nylon rope will.
    Date published: 2013-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! Very nice length and you can't beat it for the price!
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    • 2016-05-05T14:57CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_118
    • loc_en_US, sid_2084, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders