Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Harwich Rubber Reins by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17369

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Harwich Bridles and accessories are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned. Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware.  An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

The Harwich Rubber Reins are made from a rich Hazelnut with Brown rubber or Black leather with Black rubber. Hazelnut reins are raised and fancy stitched. Black is plain. 5/8” x 54"

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Rubber Reins by SmartPak is rated 4.7922 out of 5 by 77.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! These were some of the least expensive rubber reins I could find and since they were from Smartpak I figured they would be decent quality... and they are! I only just started using them so I can't comment on durability but the rubber is nice and thick like I'd hoped for, while still pliable, and the leather part is raised. Nice looking. Very pleased.
    Date published: 2015-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these rubber reins Very pleased with the quality of these Harwich rubber reins. They have definitely exceeded my expectations for reins at this price point. They are just the right thickness, not bulky at all, very soft and flexible while providing excellent grip. Stitching, hardware and craftsmanship are all great. I expect they will hold up well for many years. Perfect length for my 16.2 hand thoroughbred.
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely! Especially for a rubber rein. Rubber reins aren't known for being elegant or fancy enough for dressage work, but the raised leather makes it stand out nicely. Great price for these reins too. They're very durable and after only 2 rides, I'm completely sold it was the right decision for my dressage wardrobe (as a 3-day eventer).
    Date published: 2015-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent reins These reins were exactly what I thought they would be. I am extremely please with them as well as the price.
    Date published: 2015-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality details Love the buckles facing inside instead of out, which looks ugly on most horses. I will be buying more of these reins
    Date published: 2015-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent reins! I bought these reins for stadium jumping and cross country and so far, they are holding up extremely well. The rubber is a lot thicker than my previous pair of reins (different brands) but I love them!
    Date published: 2015-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality and looks! These are very nice reins at a great price. So far they are holding up well and look super.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These rubber reins are of the finest quality and they match my harwick bridle perfectly
    Date published: 2015-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice Very nice right out of the shipping box, feel good in your hand as you ride.
    Date published: 2015-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality Quality exceeded my expectations for the price point. Love these reins and will be purchasing another!
    Date published: 2015-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins! Soft right out of the box and oiled up nicely
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little stiff, and could be improved For the price point these are great- I love big fat reins to hang on to because I hate clenching my hands. The leather is a bit stiff, it doesn't darken much with oil and you can see some of the adhesive where rubber meets leather... I'd also like to see leather rein stops added!Overall great value, as some brands of rubber reins are really expensive.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! I bought these a shot time ago but I already love them. Rubber reins have always been my favorite but they are typically so pricey, these are not! The rubber is quite soft and I love the look of the raised leather. Very nice reins for the price.
    Date published: 2014-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the stitching! When I bought these I didn't know what to think since the brown reins have beautiful stitching and the black ones do not - at least in the picture. Well, the black reins do have stitching and they are marvelously beautiful! I get so many compliments on these reins and everyone is always flabbergasted when they find out they're SmartPak brand. Affordable and gorgeous? Yes please.
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins for the price I purchased these after looking ridiculous riding in laced reins with rein stops at my first event. I hate to spend a lot on reins because one dumb move and you break them. These were soft right out of the bag and look great. Very pleased with my purchase.
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these reins. I purchased these reins about a month ago and love them. I especially like the rubber on these because of the grip and non slip portion of the rein. The quality is excellent.
    Date published: 2014-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for the price!! I bought these reigns a few weeks ago and put them on my horses jumping Pelham they are great super grippy and not too long as I was afraid of from earlier reviews.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great reins, great price These reins were as I expected. I did not find them to be extra long as some of the reviews stated. They have good grip and I find them quite comfortable. I got black reins to match my black padded dressage bridle and they look great.
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful For the price,a great quality and a pretty rein. Rubber is super grippy and comfy too.
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice reins for the price! Leather is decent for the price, took a few greases then they seemed to soften up. Can't go wrong for the price.
    Date published: 2014-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality These are still new and sitting in my tack room but I can't wait to use them! They seem very durable, and the leather is grippy. I think if I use gloves my hands will never budge! They are a bit heavy, but that's a good thing for me.
    Date published: 2014-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Finish Really nice quality for the price. Excellent stitching detail.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Find! I was also looking for an inexpensive pair of rubber reins like one of the previous reviewers.  When I opened the box, I was SO impressed!  The quality is great, love the stitching, and they feel nice in my hands.  I did not have a problem with them being too long, they fit my horse the same as my regular reins.  They are just a bit stiff at first, but breaking in really nicely.  
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Quality, but Long I tend to leave my fingers open and reins slip in my fingers easily. This pair of rubber reins is nice and thick, and very grippy. They work really well, and the price is the best I've seen for black rubber reins. The quality is great, and the leather is softening up really nicely. I do have two issues, they aren't deal breakers for me, but might be for someone else. First, these reins are LOOOOOOONG. My horse is average sized and has an average neck, but these suckers have so much slack that it's kind of annoying. Second, stamped very visibly on one side of the rein (by the buckle) is the word HARWICH. I don't mind, but I can see this collecting dust and standing out a bit more than some might be okay with. Overall great product! 
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Edgewood quality We have now purchased five pairs of these reins for our barn and I am still so impressed with the quality. I love these as much as my Edgewood's and actually think the rubber is even more workable straightaway with these vs the EW. So impressed, these are knock-out quality for the price!
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these reins!!! I was looking for inexpensive nice rubber reins. Then I found these! Absolutely LOVE them, they are just as nice if not nicer then the way more expensive reins! I loved these so much I bought another pair! Highly recommend these!
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Practical rubber reins I needed a pair of reins easy to clean - yet with some give and feel. I have added scissor snaps to the bit ends to facilitate easy snap on/off for different bridles. They are "rubbery" but it's also a matter of getting used to a different feel.
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful rubber reins for a great price! I just got these rubber reins in- they were less then half the price of most others. I LOVE them. They match my bridle well, including the fancy stitch. The rubber is perfect and a great thickness. They are long enough for my long-necked WB mare. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend these.
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value! You can't beat the value for the price! I love them and since my horses tend to eat reins it's a little less painful in the wallet
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I got these to go with an Edgewood bridle that was already oiled and darkened. They oiled up right away and match the bridle almost perfectly. Leather is very nice for the price. Definitely recommend
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    • 2016-02-11T15:35CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_75
    • loc_en_US, sid_7369, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.