Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Harwich Rubber Reins by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17369
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Harwich Bridles and accessories are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned. Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware.  An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

The Harwich Rubber Reins are made from a rich Hazelnut with Brown rubber or Black leather with Black rubber. Hazelnut reins are raised and fancy stitched. Black is plain. 5/8” x 54"

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Expertly crafted from durable imported, vegetable-tanned leather, Harwich ...
    Description:
    Expertly crafted from durable imported, vegetable-tanned leather, Harwich Bridlework represents superb quality and style. You'll appreciate the long-lasting quality, fine details and premium hardware. 5/8" wide brown leather browband with solid brass clincher details.Brass or Nickel plated Brass. Full size, ...
    Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Eventer Bridle is ...
    Description:
    Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Eventer Bridle is crafted withdurable, imported vegetable-tanned leather making it ideal for every day schooling or top rated shows!Features an innovative padded crown design which allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown, alleviating ...
    The number #1 choice on the A Circuit! ...
    Description:
    The number #1 choice on the A Circuit! Edgewood Original leather goods are made with the finest vegetable-tanned leather in the U.S. The fancy stitch, high-profile square raise, deep rich chestnut color and clean, careful workmanship combine for a striking ...
    Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather ...
    Description:
    Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that's vegetable tanned. With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area. Superb craftsmanship is reflected in ...
    Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Elastic Breastplate is ...
    Description:
    Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Elastic Breastplate is built to last for everyday schooling! Made with eye catching SmartPak Blue elastic whichallows for greater freedom of movement whileyour horseis moving or jumping. The elastic insertsminimize the restriction on your horses ...
    Astylish and practical addition to any rider's bridle,Stubben ...
    Description:
    Astylish and practical addition to any rider's bridle,Stubben Wrapped Leather w/ Inside Grip Reins offer aSofter and lighter feel in the riders' hands. Made with the quality you've grown to appreciate from Stubben, these reins have a subtle modern upgrade. ...
    All KL Rubber reins feature the supplest English ...
    Description:
    All KL Rubber reins feature the supplest English leather handcrafted to the highest standards exclusively forKL Select in the UK. Full leather reins with rubber overlay. Added value features include reinforced leather-shielded ends; stainless steel buckles or hook-studs, finished bevel ...
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Rubber Reins by SmartPak is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 85.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great purchase I bought these about a month ago, and they've been working really well! I would definitely recommend these.
    Date published: 2016-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice quality feel these reins have a nice, substantial feel and are pleasantly grippy without feeling bulky. Great value, in my opinion.
    Date published: 2016-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Harming rubber reins Love them they not stiff as some people say.Liked so much ordering another for other Briddle they a bit longer for the long neck horse But I make work and injoy riding in them Thank smartpak
    Date published: 2015-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins After trying a friends runner reins I needed my own. These are just the right width and super grippy. Perfect!!
    Date published: 2015-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Harwich Rubber Reins Wow!!!!!! Amazing quality.....so surprised they looked the good!!! Simply the best rubber reins!!!
    Date published: 2015-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! These were some of the least expensive rubber reins I could find and since they were from Smartpak I figured they would be decent quality... and they are! I only just started using them so I can't comment on durability but the rubber is nice and thick like I'd hoped for, while still pliable, and the leather part is raised. Nice looking. Very pleased.
    Date published: 2015-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these rubber reins Very pleased with the quality of these Harwich rubber reins. They have definitely exceeded my expectations for reins at this price point. They are just the right thickness, not bulky at all, very soft and flexible while providing excellent grip. Stitching, hardware and craftsmanship are all great. I expect they will hold up well for many years. Perfect length for my 16.2 hand thoroughbred.
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely! Especially for a rubber rein. Rubber reins aren't known for being elegant or fancy enough for dressage work, but the raised leather makes it stand out nicely. Great price for these reins too. They're very durable and after only 2 rides, I'm completely sold it was the right decision for my dressage wardrobe (as a 3-day eventer).
    Date published: 2015-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent reins These reins were exactly what I thought they would be. I am extremely please with them as well as the price.
    Date published: 2015-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality details Love the buckles facing inside instead of out, which looks ugly on most horses. I will be buying more of these reins
    Date published: 2015-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent reins! I bought these reins for stadium jumping and cross country and so far, they are holding up extremely well. The rubber is a lot thicker than my previous pair of reins (different brands) but I love them!
    Date published: 2015-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality and looks! These are very nice reins at a great price. So far they are holding up well and look super.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These rubber reins are of the finest quality and they match my harwick bridle perfectly
    Date published: 2015-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice Very nice right out of the shipping box, feel good in your hand as you ride.
    Date published: 2015-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality Quality exceeded my expectations for the price point. Love these reins and will be purchasing another!
    Date published: 2015-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins! Soft right out of the box and oiled up nicely
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little stiff, and could be improved For the price point these are great- I love big fat reins to hang on to because I hate clenching my hands. The leather is a bit stiff, it doesn't darken much with oil and you can see some of the adhesive where rubber meets leather... I'd also like to see leather rein stops added!Overall great value, as some brands of rubber reins are really expensive.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! I bought these a shot time ago but I already love them. Rubber reins have always been my favorite but they are typically so pricey, these are not! The rubber is quite soft and I love the look of the raised leather. Very nice reins for the price.
    Date published: 2014-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the stitching! When I bought these I didn't know what to think since the brown reins have beautiful stitching and the black ones do not - at least in the picture. Well, the black reins do have stitching and they are marvelously beautiful! I get so many compliments on these reins and everyone is always flabbergasted when they find out they're SmartPak brand. Affordable and gorgeous? Yes please.
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins for the price I purchased these after looking ridiculous riding in laced reins with rein stops at my first event. I hate to spend a lot on reins because one dumb move and you break them. These were soft right out of the bag and look great. Very pleased with my purchase.
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these reins. I purchased these reins about a month ago and love them. I especially like the rubber on these because of the grip and non slip portion of the rein. The quality is excellent.
    Date published: 2014-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for the price!! I bought these reigns a few weeks ago and put them on my horses jumping Pelham they are great super grippy and not too long as I was afraid of from earlier reviews.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great reins, great price These reins were as I expected. I did not find them to be extra long as some of the reviews stated. They have good grip and I find them quite comfortable. I got black reins to match my black padded dressage bridle and they look great.
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful For the price,a great quality and a pretty rein. Rubber is super grippy and comfy too.
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice reins for the price! Leather is decent for the price, took a few greases then they seemed to soften up. Can't go wrong for the price.
    Date published: 2014-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality These are still new and sitting in my tack room but I can't wait to use them! They seem very durable, and the leather is grippy. I think if I use gloves my hands will never budge! They are a bit heavy, but that's a good thing for me.
    Date published: 2014-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Finish Really nice quality for the price. Excellent stitching detail.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Find! I was also looking for an inexpensive pair of rubber reins like one of the previous reviewers.  When I opened the box, I was SO impressed!  The quality is great, love the stitching, and they feel nice in my hands.  I did not have a problem with them being too long, they fit my horse the same as my regular reins.  They are just a bit stiff at first, but breaking in really nicely.  
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Quality, but Long I tend to leave my fingers open and reins slip in my fingers easily. This pair of rubber reins is nice and thick, and very grippy. They work really well, and the price is the best I've seen for black rubber reins. The quality is great, and the leather is softening up really nicely. I do have two issues, they aren't deal breakers for me, but might be for someone else. First, these reins are LOOOOOOONG. My horse is average sized and has an average neck, but these suckers have so much slack that it's kind of annoying. Second, stamped very visibly on one side of the rein (by the buckle) is the word HARWICH. I don't mind, but I can see this collecting dust and standing out a bit more than some might be okay with. Overall great product! 
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Edgewood quality We have now purchased five pairs of these reins for our barn and I am still so impressed with the quality. I love these as much as my Edgewood's and actually think the rubber is even more workable straightaway with these vs the EW. So impressed, these are knock-out quality for the price!
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    • 2016-05-25T18:09CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_80
    • loc_en_US, sid_7369, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders