Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17215
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned.  With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area.  Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware.  An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Favorite Features

  • Crafted in rich Hazelnut leather with dark brown padding on the crown, noseband and browband
  • Fancy stitch ¾” completely padded noseband and ½” padded brow band
  • 5/8” cheeks with hook stud ends and stainless steel hardware with roller buckle on caveson
  • Complete with 5/8” raised fancy stitched laced reins

Imported

Sizing It Up

Size: Cob, Full, O/S

Color: Brown  w/ Dark Brown Padding

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.7606 out of 5 by 213.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft leather straight out of the box! I have this bridle for both my thoroughbred (cob size) and my warmblood (oversize) and both bridles came out of the box soft and supple. No oiling needed! I really love the padded crown piece and the way that the noseband runs along the outside of the crown to reduce rubs. The stitching is beautiful and even the reins have the stitching detail - a lovely fancy touch. I couldn't be happier with the quality of these bridles for the price!
    Date published: 2015-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very soft leather This bridle came out of the box feeling already broken in. It was easy to put together even with the crownpiece being a bit different. It fits my OTTB beautifully.
    Date published: 2015-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle, affordable price! Awesome bridle-- looks great, feels great, wears well, lasts long. This is my second (new horse needed new size) and the last one is 6 years old and going strong! The keepers on the noseband don't move, so you have to keep an elastic band as a third keeper, but it's a great bridle!
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded expectations! I bought this to use as a schooling bridle, but was incredibly impressed with the quality. Time will tell as to the durability, but I see no reason why it could not be used as a show bridle. Leather is so soft, beautiful color, and I imagine the padding is very comfy for my guy!
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing bridle! I bought this a month ago as my new show bridle & am so happy that I did! This bridle finally fits just right & looks great on my mare. Right out of the box it is very supple & oiling darkens it right up no problem. As mentioned in other comments, the throat latch is a little long, but it definitely still fits - just on one of the top holes. I love it & I can't wait for show season!
    Date published: 2015-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Out of the box and into the ring Great job, Smartpak. Beautiful, soft leather. Very easy to assemble and ready for the hunter ring. Looks great with my CWD saddle. The Horse size fit my 16.2 TB with the O/S martingale. Lots of compliments from grooms and trainers. Looks and feels expensive.
    Date published: 2015-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle! Soft leather and great quality. I am very pleased and for a good price too. I bought this bridle because my friend had it and highly recommended it as well.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle I just received the bridge two weeks ago. It is very nice though the brow band is a bit large for my horse. It is a rich brown that looks great on my horse Irish.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price! After many years doing dressage and out of the hunter/jumper world I recently decided to start back in on a recreational level so I needed a good quality bridle that wasn't extremely expensive. I saw one of these bridles in a silent auction and was impressed with the softness of the leather and the overall quality. I lost the bid at the auction, so when I got home I immediately got on the computer and ordered one. I've only had it about a month, but it's already supple after an initial oiling and a few uses! Color is nice and rich looking. Definitely nice enough for the show ring! My equine friends were very impressed with the quality for such a great price. Fits my horse (16 hand bay THxQH) well and looks great on him! Very happy with my purchase and looking forward to using it for many years to come.
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice! Very supple and soft out of the package! Super pretty and a really nice color. I was afraid it would be to dark because I have a light/chestnut chocolate saddle... it's perfect! My only complaint was that putting it together was a bit more tricky with the special crown piece. Besides that it was awesome!
    Date published: 2014-10-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not my favorite. I wasn't very pleased with this bridle. It was a little too stiff for my liking. Also what made me give the lower review is after oiling and cleaning the noseband it still rubbed my horse so bad it cut her. Im sure this is a good bridle, just not my favorite.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very Nice Bridle Very nice bridle. the reins are a bit stiff but with time I believe they will soften up.
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look and price! This bridle is perfect for schooling and the show ring. I use it every day and it holds up great! The leather is beautiful and I love the no pressure points and so does my horse! This bridle looks very fancy, but has a very little price tag. I will be purchasing more for my other horses in the future.
    Date published: 2014-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful bridle, affordable price I purchased this bridle a month ago. I have never been so happy with a purchase. The leather is so supple and quality exceeded my expectations in this price range. The raised braided reins are the perfect weight in my hands. It looks amazing on my horse and I receive complements daily! Smartpak definitely pointed out a great choice for me!
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy!! I have a very difficult to fit warmblood, and every bridle we have purchased over the last 3.5 years have not fitted the way they should. Or they didn't match my other tack. I ordered this bridle on a whim because it received great reviews, had everything I was looking for to make my gelding more comfortable (poll relief, padding at crown and noseband), and it looked like it would match my Bates saddle. So far it's exceeded my expectations. I rode with it for the first time ever this Saturday in the showring, and the leather wasn't stiff at all, matched all my tack perfectly, fitted my difficult to fit horse like it was made for him, and I received a few compliments from other riders. My only complaint is that the bridle is bleeding red dye all over my horses face (he's white), but I am hoping this will go away as I break in the bridle more.
    Date published: 2014-05-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Update to previous review After I actually tried it on my horse I realized that it is actually too small for my 15.1h TB - returned it for horse size.
    Date published: 2014-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Avery nice bridle Nicely made, refined style and good leather. Bought it for my small TB and it fits nicely.
    Date published: 2014-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! The leather is very supple right out of the bag and the color looks great on my chestnut horse. However, noseband was fairly difficult to adjust but once you get it right its perfect.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nice, but unfortunate I bought this bridle about 2 months ago as a schooling bridle and while it started out a chocolate brown I oiled it twice and have cleaned it regularly with a bridle cleaner. I enjoy the padding and the nice length of the brow band and I loved the wide nose band, however! There's a catch, this bridle I will be returning as the stitching is coming apart all along the brow band and nose band, and the leather is actually crumbling in several spots. For this bridle, it is NOT what I expected.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Bridle I have been trying to fit my 16.2, 1300 lb. Quarter Horse with a bridle for four years. He needs a long browband and throatlatch, but not long cheek pieces. On the recommendation of a Smartpakmassociate, who knew the measurements of the Harwich bridle, I bought one. It works perfectly! I was surprised and more than a little pleased. Quality is good and fit is perfect. My horse finally has a bridle that is not made from pieces of other bridles so that it fits. My thanks to Smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nothing beats this bridle for the price! Absolutely love this bridle, everything about it is great, very supple and a nice dark color out of the box. Fits the horse I'm leasing fantastic. Ordered the full size. I've gotten many complements on it after only owning it for a few weeks from peers and my trainer! The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because of how much color it bleeds while cleaning which is annoying but hasn't affected the quality or look of the product.Definitely a huge step up from the Plymouth which is also very nice. The Harwich bridle is definitely show quality. Liked it so much that I ordered the matching martingale!
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle Order this bridle and liked it so much ordered it again in the longer reins for pleasure classes. With just one oiling it softens up a lot. The crown piece was hard to get used to at first, but I think its unique.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bridle I really love this bridle. It needs a little oiling and softening right out of the box but it is very usable. I haven't had a chance to oil it because I bought this to replace a bridle that broke and have been using it every day. I love the look of it and it fits my Quarter Horse's large head and jaw. I can't speak about it's durability yet, but since it's SmartPak I forsee no problems. Really love this bridle.
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous bridle! I bought this bridle for my delicate-boned OTTB gelding in the cob size, and it fits his fine features perfectly! The leather is great quality and a lovely warm, slightly reddish brown color that's unique while not being too flashy. I LOVE this bridle! Definitely a great buy, thank you Smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent bridle for the price! My only complaint is that the nose band is way too big for my current horse. This wouldn't be a big deal if the keeper moved to keep the extra bit from flapping around. The full size fit my old Warmblood perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price I actually like this bridle better than many of the more expensive brands out there. The leather was supple right out of the packaging, it was easy to put together and fits my horse perfectly. I actually didn't find that it ran large like other people did; the full size fit my TB with a smalish head (more quarter horse shaped). It looks great on him. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2014-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looove this bridle! I got this bridle for my birthday last month and I couldn't be happier! Great price for a WONDERFUL bridle! The only issue I have had is it seems like the throat latch is a little too long. Other than that, fantastic! I will purchase again in the future!
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Monocrown is more of a hindrance than help Looks cute on my mare, stiff at first. Trying to oil it up to supple the leather this week. As soon as I began cleaning it though after first use yesterday, the color is was coming off onto my cleaning rag. This makes me nervous. Will just have to see how it holds up.
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bridle I love this bridle. It's excellent for the price and required almost no break-in time. It looks really adorable on my mare (she always wears cob size so I got this in cob size and it fits perfectly).
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Show quality! Bought this bridle about 5 months ago and it has held up perfect! Works for everyday use and cleans up well for the show ring. The color has a rich auburn tint which makes it stand out and doesn't look bland dark brown 
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    • 2015-08-26T13:28CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_198
    • loc_en_US, sid_7215, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.