Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Harwich Padded Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17220
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned.  With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area.  Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware.  An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Padded ½” browband and ¾” padded flash noseband. 5/8” cheek pieces with hook stud closure.  Roller buckles on caveson.  Complete with 5/8” rubberized web reins.

Black with Black Padding. Cob, Full or Oversize.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Padded Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.6327 out of 5 by 98.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Buy I own a friesian and I got the normal horse size and I had some doubts if it would fit him but it did! It did need a bit of oiling when it first arrived. But it does fit nice! I would defiantly recommend this to anyone!
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits hard to fit horse Smart Pak staff helped us fit our very hard to fit mare. After trying 3 bridles from competitors, Smart Pak staff measured their bridles and helped us fit her on the first try!Thanks so much!
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unfortunately Returned I was very excited by the leather quality and couldn't wait to try this on my 17 hand Appendix. Once it was on I was not so excited. The horse size was too small and the oversize was just bizarre - the whole bridle fit him crooked? An adjustment one place messed it up elsewhere. I don't need a fancy bridle and can't use a crank or flash with this guy. The Plymouth Elite is my next try! Did experience great, quick customer service!
    Date published: 2012-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value for school, not show This is a terrific purchase for a schooling bridle. The leather quality is a good value for the price. I did have a major issue with the dye on my original bridle fading after the first conditioning. SmartPak kindly exchanged the bridle, but even the replacement still had some minor fading. For that reason, not something I would trust for show, but a terrific, durable bridle that looks very nice at home. I found the fit to be true to size.
    Date published: 2012-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price! I love this dressage bridle. Looks great on the grey mare it was purchased for (horse size fits her well - she is 16H). The leather is supple right out of the box. I've conditioned it several times and now it really feels great. I also LOVE the web reins it came with. My only wish is that it came without a flash.
    Date published: 2012-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it I have looked at bridles in tack stores that were over twice the price of this bridle and think this one may be better. Love the reins. Also thought the cob size might be a little big on my 14 hand Connemara but it fit perfectly so maybe it runs a little small. It fit on the middle hole on all the pieces on my pony.
    Date published: 2012-04-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic bridle! I had bought a different bridle and when it arrived it was much to big so I decided to upgrade the bride and buy a smaller size. The fit is perfect and it was soft and supple right out of the package and ready to use - I am very happy with it!!
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Steal of a deal I agonized over what bridle to purchase and picked this one. Not disappointed at all. Such great quality for the price. Good enough to school with and I think it will work for the local shows I plan on doing this year and next. Soft and comfortable right out of the box.The only big question is how it will stand up over time. I wish there was a n/a option in the rating.
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Bridle For The Price This bridle looks nice for the price, a bit stiff and not a big fan of the rein quality, but for the price it is a nice bridle. Also had to punch quite a few holes in the flash even for my big guy, but that wasn't a big deal.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality for price the padding is very nice and soft for such an inexpensive bridle- the leather is a little stiff at first but not bad for price point- flash seems to run big but you can easily punch holes in it to adjust- only thing im not a fan of is the rubberized webbed reins- would rather have regular webbed reins but that is just a matter of personal preference
    Date published: 2012-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy & perfect fit for my mare! I bought this bridle for my 5 yr. old Dutch WBxTrakehner mare. She measures 46" from one corner of her mouth over her head to the opposite corner of her mouth, 26" around the jaw (where the noseband would go), and 16" ear to ear (browband). This bridle fit her PERFECTLY! The crownpiece buckles line up perfectly to her eye -- if she grows any more I've got room in this bridle, the noseband isn't too big or too small, and the browband doesn't make the crownpiece cramp her ears.The quality of the leather is lovely. Came out supple from the box. One cleaning/conditioning later the leather is even more supple, but still sturdy.I've only had the bridle for a couple weeks, but I'm guessing it will last me quite awhile.
    Date published: 2012-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle I wanted a bridle with a padded poll and no crank. This is a great bridle, especially for the price. The throatlatch is very big but otherwise it's perfect.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking bridle My husband bought this for me to replace my older mare's $30 bridle. The leather is soft and pliable and appears to be excellent quality. Is nice enough that I'll also use it for showing along with day to day schooling.
    Date published: 2012-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome every day bridle! Bought this bridle for an every day bridle due to price and previous reviews. This product is well made and reminds me of bridles twice the price. Fits our new Hanoverian mare like a glove!!
    Date published: 2011-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top quality bridle! The SmartPak "Harwich" Dressage Bridle is a high quality, great looking and most importantly proper fitting bridle. I am very pleased with it and the price was very resonable.
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle for the price Quality bridle, with padding for the poll area seen in more expensive bridles. Leather nice, but needs softening to put together the first time. Fits my Arabian's small sized cob head!
    Date published: 2011-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Bridle I was lucky enough to win this bridle from a contest, but I would absolutely have paid for it! I was very pleasantly suprised! The quality and suppleness of the leather is amazing, and the construction is top notch. I only gave a durability and fit 3 stars because I havent used it yet, or even tried it on my horse. :)
    Date published: 2011-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bridle I'm very happy with this bridle. It fit my draft cross very well (oversize) and it was soft from the beginning and has just become softer with cleaning, use and oiling.
    Date published: 2011-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great quality Great quality product. Size runs small. Have an Arabian mare, ordered Cob size and it did not fit. The throat strap was too long on both the Cob size and the Large size that I exchanged it for. Local tack shop did alterations on the strap and it works fine now. Love, love, love the reins! Recommend these to all my friends.SmartPak customer service is by far the best I have ever dealt with. They deserve praise for their excellent service!
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle Nice bridle. The bridle arrived with somewhat stiff leather that softened well with oiling. My only complaint is that the throat latch was too long on the OS bridle. I had to have it shortened 1 1/2 inches. The reins were lighter weight than I expected. The padding is very soft and the crown piece is a nice feature.
    Date published: 2011-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dressage bridle This bridle fits my pony so well!!!! He loves it! It's very comfy, from what I see, and it looks nice too!!!! I love the no slip reins :)
    Date published: 2011-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bridle for the $! Super quality am very pleased!
    Date published: 2011-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value Love the bridle. Well made and beautiful on my mare. Be aware when ordering - it runs a little small. My mare is normally a cob but in this bridle had to move up to horse size.
    Date published: 2011-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality! I was very pleased when I opened up my new bridle and reins! I was very happy with the padding and the leather was of high quality and already soft (still better safe than sorry to oil before you ride!) I was also pleased that the bridle came with a plain cavesson as well...always great to have options. The only thing I was bummed about was the size of the noseband...it was too small for my guy. If your horse is in between a Cob and a Full, go with the full size. I am returning my Cob sized to get a Full and can't wait for it to get here! Would definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good fit Bought the Oversized bridle for my mule because I needed to use a caveson with her. It fits her better than her mule bridle but I can see where horse owners might have to punch extra holes. Not as heavy a leather as the western headstalls I am used to, but it seems to be holding up okay. I like the padding on the crown and the noseband.
    Date published: 2011-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was looking for a black flash bridle with a padded crown, and this fit the bill for a fantastic price. The leather required a few coats of oil to soften up (not up to par with $200+ bridles, but that's to be expected). Fits my medium-sized TB very well (the horse/full size). Looking forward to it lasting a very long time. We'll see!
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I hoped... I purchased this bridle as I needed a black schooling bridle to match my new dressage saddle. The padding is soft, the leather is decent, but the fit is terrible. I ordered a cob size for my mare who has several bridles and halters in cob size, and some of those items even needed to be made smaller. This cob sized smartpak bridle is so small (in the cheekpieces) that there is no way I could use it. I will be returning this item and not ordering the horse size as I fear it will be too big everywhere else for my delicate mare. Pity.
    Date published: 2011-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice features for the price! Nicely padded at the poll and noseband. Rubber reins are nice thickness for smaller hands.
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised Much higher quality than bridle I paid twice as much for in my local tack store
    Date published: 2011-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle I recently purchased this bridle and I'm glad I did. It's great for schooling and nice enough for showing so I don't have to worry about buying an overpriced show bridle. My mare outgrew her old bridle and the crown was pushing against the base of her ears. I chose the Harwich padded dressage bridle because of the padded crown which wouldn't hurt her ears. I also like the fact the caveson goes over the the crown rather than under like so many other bridles. These are features I saw in bridles at least twice the cost of the Harwich. The leather is a bit stiff but nothing a few coats of oil wouldn't fix. I don't know about the durability since this is a recent purchase. My only gripe is the throatlatch is too long and I will have to take the bridle to a professional to get it shortened.
    Date published: 2011-06-13
    • 2015-05-22T07:57CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_95
    • loc_en_US, sid_7220, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.