Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Harwich Padded Crank Noseband Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

Harwich by SmartPak
- Item #17222
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This


Why We Love This

The Harwich Padded Crank Noseband Dressage Bridle is an exceptional value with high quality leather and expert craftsmanship.  Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned.  This bridle features an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area. Available exclusively at SmartPak!

Harwich Cheek Pieces by SmartPak and Harwich Padded Dressage Browband available for replacement pieces.

Favorite Features

  • Made from vegetable tanned leather
  • Stainless steel roller buckles
  • Hook stud closures
  • Padded crank noseband for added adjustability with flash
  • Includes 5/8" rubberized web reins

Sizing

½” browband
¾” padded flash crank noseband
5/8” cheek pieces
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Why We Love This The Kavalkade Quentin Dressage ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Kavalkade Quentin Dressage Bridle features a softly padded noseband and anatomically shaped head piece. The noseband runs over the headpiece in order to reduce pressure at the horse's poll. This bridle has an embossed straight leather browband. Key Features ...
    "The Piaffe Dressage Bridle has a uniquely shaped ...
    Description:
    "The Piaffe Dressage Bridle has a uniquely shaped noseband – that is wider across the front of the nose, and tapers in on the sides. The Piaffe features a padded uni-crown headstall – for poll pressure relief, a 1 3/4” ...
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
    Description:
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Impeccably crafted, innovative bridle. Ultra soft ...
    Why We Love This ?The Black Oak economy ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This ?The Black Oak economy Larkspur Dressage bridle combines exceptional value, with the quality craftsmanship & details KL Select products are known for. The Larkspur features a clear crystal browband that adds sparkle and dresses up the ...
    "The Micklem Diamante Competition Bridle with English Leather ...
    Description:
    "The Micklem Diamante Competition Bridle with English Leather combines the unique design of the original Micklem Competition Bridle with high quality English leather and stylish details. Micklem bridles are designed to fit the horse's skull and prevent uncomfortable pressure points. ...
    "Following the success of the Plymouth line, SmartPak ...
    Description:
    "Following the success of the Plymouth line, SmartPak is proud to introduce the Plymouth Elite. The Plymouth Elite takes all of the wonderful features of the Plymouth line, and adds additional enhancements such as a true padded monocrown, buckle closures, ...
    "The Dr. Cook's Beta Bitless Bridle was developed ...
    Description:
    "The Dr. Cook's Beta Bitless Bridle was developed by Dr. Robert Cook after years of research, inspiration and perspiration! The Dr. Cook® Bitless Brides are marketed all over the world and used in all disciplines. It is the most accepted ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Padded Crank Noseband Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 44.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've had this bridle for almost 2 years now and it still looks as good as the day it came out of the bag. It's used almost daily for both a dressage bridle and a hackamore for jumping. The leather quality is amazing. Both of my horses love it and the price is reasonable. Will definitely be buying another Harwich!
    Date published: 2015-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfectly Sized Bridle for Small Horse I bought this bridle in a cob size to use as a schooling bridle on a petite 15hh mare. The great news is that the size and scale of the bridle works beautifully. It is hard to find a crank noseband and comfort headstall that won't overwhelm a petite cob size horse.The bad news is that it is isn't the best construction or materials. One of the keepers broke the first time I put the bridle on my horse. Smartpak replaced the bridle, but I am not sure how well it is going to hold up to daily use. For the price, though, it isn't horrible.
    Date published: 2015-05-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good bridle for the price Great bridle for every day use , the padded areas are great
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bridle has weird sizing! I am a Smartpak addict. When these bridles went on sale, I couldn't resist purchasing one! As per the other reviews I purchased the Cob size for my petite TB. Everything fit great except the noseband. I then exchanged it for a Full size, finding the size to be too large. The bridle is overall excellent quality and highly recommended for purchase. Very sad to have to send this bridle back.
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Schooling Bridle This bridle is great for schooling and for low level showing too. It fits true to size and I love the crank noseband. I wish there was an extra keeper on the noseband.
    Date published: 2014-08-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Workable This is a perfectly adequate bridle for the price. I like how it fits on my mustang/Andalusian.
    Date published: 2014-04-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Okay bridle for schooling I was looking for a dressage bridle for schooling and showing. It came out of the box super stiff and I had to oil it a TON to get it to soften. It still isn't supple but maybe with a few months of use it will. Noseband is way too small, I had to swap out the browband because it was too small and the cheek pieces are a little big. I wish they sold separate parts.
    Date published: 2014-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle ! Just got the new bridle and it is lovelyI have the one without the crank tooThe leather is very soft just like the otherone (I've had that one for 2 1/2 years )and looks quite elegant
    Date published: 2014-02-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Quality at a Great Value Harwich Padded Crank Noseband Dressage Bridle- nice quality, fit was a little big, very adjustable because the leather was soft and pliable and is wearing nicely.
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value and a perfect fit for my mare! I've been wanting a padded monocrown design for years and SmartPak items were on sale and I figured it was the perfect time to give this bridle a try. As you can see in the photo, my mare has a somewhat refined head so I was looking for a bridle without a huge noseband (she'd be dwarfed by 1 1/4" or 1 1/2"!). I also wanted supple leather and I like the crank design because it has more padding on the chin (although I do NOT crank it tight). She usually wears a full-size but she even fits in some cob-sized but I ordered the full-size and it fits perfectly! My only complaints are that it was a little stiff and smelled of fish out of the bag (perhaps it was coated in fish oil?), so I oiled it in Neatsfoot oil before using it. It's now very supple and has soft padding. Quality design and leather for the cost! Note: I do not care for the reins (very lightweight & you'd have to wear gloves to deal with the rubber). I recommend ThinLine reins instead - a soft rubbery grip all around and comfortable with or without gloves.
    Date published: 2013-08-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price! This is an absolute steal for a bridle of this quality! The leather was stiff out of the bag, but softened after only one oiling. The padding is soft but not bulky. Honestly, the quality of the leather/bridle is comparable to some much more expensive bridles on the market.Unfortunately, I am not over the moon with the fit. I got the cob size for my Morgan mare. The cheek pieces, crown and noseband fit perfectly, but the browband was WAY too tight, so I had to order the horse sized browband, and the throatlatch was WAY too big. It will work, but it is not ideal. I guess for the price, I can't complain too much, you can't get perfection for $120, but it is still a very nice bridle for those of us who can't spring for a $200+ bridle.
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from ALMOST a perfect fit I ordered the cob size for my 16h Hanoverian mare -- she has a lovely feminine head. The fit is perfect, except for the throat latch. It should be at least 2 inches shorter. The quality of the leather seems fine for the price. Time will tell about its durability. The too-long throat latch is the only reason for the 4 star rating. It would have been 5 stars otherwise.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! I bought this bridle about 4 years ago and have used it regularly since I bought it. I was looking for a bridle with a crank/flash noseband that wasn't too wide for my little Arab's delicate face, that wasn't too terribly expensive. This bridle fi the bill perfectly. My only complaint was my horse wore it on the tightest holes, leaving a lot of extra strap hanging which I had to take to get cut off so it looked a little better. This bridle has held up extremely well over the years! Over the years his noseband has stretched out enough that it is too big on him now and I am going to replace it with another Harwich because I was so pleased with my purchase years ago. If you are looking for an affordable bridle made out of soft leather that will hold up well, this is a great buy.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from price is right Not the greatest bridle, but cheap. Leather is semi-soft but the edges lose their color some with very little use. True to size. Nice enough, but wouldn't buy another one.
    Date published: 2013-02-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty nice bridle for price I think that overall, the bridle quality matches it's price. I wasn't thrilled with the leather when I first pulled it out of the packaging-some pieces of the bridle had little crackle-like lines, while some parts seemed to be made of a better quality leather. However, another long-term horse person I know really liked the quality of the leather. (I have only owned inexpensive bridles, so what do I know!) I can't comment on durability yet since I just got the bridle, so I gave it the benefit of the doubt and a 5. I do love the crank aspect of the bridle, the roller seems to be high quality, and the padding on the browband, crown, chin and noseband is soft and supple. I love the mono-crown aspect of it, too.
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from bridle I bought this as an inexpensive schooling bridle and I'm really surprised at how good it is, the leather feels soft and supple, its really well made, looks great and is a great fit - I wouldn't be ashamed to use it in competitions
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice everyday bridle Nice everyday bridle but it ran large on my fine Arabian head.
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle & great reins! I love the reins, thin, comfortable & great grip. Cob size crank nose band barely fits my large nosed Haflinger. Otherwise, nice fit & comfort crown is great, especially with a thick mane.
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality leather Nice bridle for the price. Very well padded, good quality leather. Perfect schooling bridle.
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from didn't fit I got the COB for my petite mare. The leather is nice but it did not fit. The check pieces fit perfect, the throat latch was too big, and the noseband was way too small.
    Date published: 2012-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value Leather is nice. Love the reins. Bought Cob size. Flash is too long!
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bridle for the price... I purchased one of these bridles for my horse a year ago - it's held up so beautifully that we ordered one for my daughter's new horse. The only complaint I have is the reins that it comes with - hated those so we purchased the Harwich rubber reins to use instead.
    Date published: 2012-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Budget Friendly Bridle I was looking for a dressage bridle with a flash, crank noseband, and comfort crown for under $100. I knew this was a tall order but this one fit the bill. I have been very impressed with the leather quality. It has gotten very nice and soft with a little conditioning. It fit my horse very well overall. He is a pretty average sized horse (16.1 appendix gelding) and the only thing I would change would be for it to have a slightly longer browband (I will probably replace the one it came with eventually. It fits ok but is a little short on him). I haven't had it very long but looking at the construction I think it will be very duarable but it isn't bulky at all. This is a great buy if you want a very nice dressage bridle with great features but have a limited budget.
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice but weird sizing I like this bridal but it does not make sense in the sizes of the pieces. The nose band I have to put on the first or second hole and then the flash on one of the last holes and the cheek pieces on the top holes, it is just weird to me. Also it is very stiff even after I oiled it and cleaned it.
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for the Price I didn't expect this bridle to fit and feel like a high priced bridle... but it does! I was pleased to find a quality crank noseband on a nice quality bridle with good quality leather.
    Date published: 2012-01-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bridle for 3 year old - great value This was a great purchase for the price. I wanted a starter bridle for my filly. It is still a bit stiff after conditioning and wearing. The crank is hard to move at is it so stiff and not quite sure how the keepers and straps are supposed to work with it, but we have it functioning. Throat latch seems long. Looks nice on her Appendix head - more TB than QH. We'll see how it holds up and if it softens.
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product I am very pleased with the purchase of my new Harwich Padded Crank Noseband Dressage Bridle. This bridle is quite elegant made with quality leather that is both soft and supple. The bridle looks great on my horse and adds refinement to a head with large features. Thank you, Smart Pak. I would definitely recommend this bridle to my dressage friends.
    Date published: 2011-08-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Schooling bridle I bought the Harwich Padded Crank Noseband Dressage Bridle for schooling. I have an Arab and not all dressage bridles fit well. The cob size in the Harwich fit him well. The leather is also nice for the price. It is a very nice bridle for the price.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value This bridle is very soft and overall fits well. the only exception is the throat latch seems very large and i need to have it shortened. it has very nice padding and the flash fits great on my arab. the reins are very comfortable as well.
    Date published: 2011-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle I was really surprised at how nice this bridle is. It is very inexpensive and yet looks like a high quality bridle. Hopefully it will continue to look good!!
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    • y_2017, m_1, d_23, h_10
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_43
    • loc_en_US, sid_7222, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders