Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Hamilton Nylon Halter

Hamilton Products, Inc.
- Item #15041
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only the highest quality durable nylon webbing, thread, and hardware to ensure practical durability for years to come.  Hardware includes solid brass buckle square and snap along with brass-plated rings. 

Favorite Features

  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Adjustable crown piece
  • Solid brass buckle hardware

Sizing It Up


Large Horse (1100-1600lbs), Horse (800-1100lbs), or Cob (500-800lbs)


Please note, this is not a breakaway halter, and is unlikely to break under pressure.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Hamilton Nylon Halter is rated 4.7091 out of 5 by 55.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost Waldoproof! Hamilton Halters have always been a good product. When these were reduced in price I ordered two! Waldo is a bit destructive with equipment, but I have noted that he can't do this with these halters. I also don't have to worry about the hardware on these either. These really last. Thank you Smart Pak for carrying this brand 
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't Hold Up I am sad to say that after just 3 weeks of use, this halter broke when I pulled on it. The horse didn't do anything crazy, just stopped and didn't want to walk forward. So, I pulled and after about 3-4 seconds of a steady hard pull, the throat latch broke. It was only held together with a dab of glue and a few stitches.
    Date published: 2013-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Literally The Best Halter Ever! I love this halter! The color is bright and the halter is so durable! It even withstood being chewed on by other horses when my pony was in his playing halter tag days! This halter has really nice quality and the snap never freezes even when it seems like its below freezing on show mornings! LOVE halter!!! Would recomend this to everyone with a mistevous little pony!
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter This is an excellent halter, and well constructed. My horse has a large head (but isn't a draft), so I always had trouble fitting halters to him. This one fits him nicely (on one of the tighter holes) even though I ordered "horse" size instead of "draft".I'm very pleased with this halter.
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality Product I have a WP Quarter horse and have a very hard time finding a halter that fits over his jaw without the halter being to tight. This Hamilton is the only one so far. It is very soft, so if you have a horse who just drops his head into the halter this one is a little bit of a challenge. Runs large.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Halter was too small. I bought a cob size halter for my large pony and the halter ran VERY small. I should've bought the horse size but ended up giving the halter away as a gift. It seemed like a nice quality and very durable.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable; Excellent quality I use Hamilton halters both at home & at the show for everyone.That particular Hamilton halter in the picture on my late beloved Spirit in the picture was already several years old.That picture was taken 3 yrs ago and I am still using this halter (2/2013).I have 8 horses & that halter has been through 100's of baths.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from More expensive but worth it. My warmbloods "outgrew" their nylon halters when their fuzzy winter coats came in, and this halter fits great because it runs a bit large. The pointed metal end on the strap makes it easier to get on, too. The colors are great. My halters hang on outside runs in all weather, and they still look good, wash easily and dry quickly. I have bought 4 of these so far, and I love them. They cost more than other nylon halters but are so worth it.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hamilton Nylon Halter The halter is fantastic, looks and fits great, love the little custom touches.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hamilton Nylon Halter The halter is absolutely beautiful, the fit is fantastic. It's soft and durable, the horse looks beautiful wearing it.
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for the price The Hamilton Nylon Halter is extremely durable, the brass fittings and clasp are excellent and it holds it's shape very well. For daily use, you can't beat the quality and price.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Everyday Halter This halter is very well made. I love the throat snap for easy on/off!
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely durable purchase This is an extremely durable halter. It stands up to heat and rain. My mare wears it every day when she is turned out and it has shown little sign of wear in the time I've used it.
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter for head tossers I had an old Hamilton halter that I got with a horse who retired here and I really liked it. I guess the best part is the (weighted) brass tip on the well proportioned (i.e., long enough)strap. It helps to "guide" the strap over my big boy's head as he tries to eat the rest of the halter. The new Hamiltons are softer than the old ones, too.
    Date published: 2012-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stable halter Bought this halter for a large Quarter pony. I ordered the cob size and had to return it for the next size up. I like the quality and the snap at the throat. It is a great everyday stable halter.
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Accurate size This halter, size large horse actually fits a large horse.
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get this Halter!!! This halter is very sturdy and will last a while. The halter hasn't rusted out like all my other halters do fast!!!
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful halter I love these halters! They do great out in the weather, after a bath etc. Long lasting and do not rub. Very adjustable. Highly reccomended.
    Date published: 2012-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Lasting and Gorgeous!! This is a great purchase. Even though I didn't buy it from SmartPak, I wish I had because their shipping is cheaper and the price is cheaper! The Navy looks AMAZING on him!! Love the solid brass hardware. Really stands out beautifully on the navy. Before you buy a really cheap halter that you will probably haved to replace, get this! you won't be dissapointed!
    Date published: 2012-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! I've gotten so many compliments on the color of this halter (I purchased the navy) and it was one of the more reasonably priced options. Average horse size was a perfect fit for my 16.1 TB gelding. Great value for the price, very durable: Honor is kind of a spaz and he hasn't managed to break any of the hardware!
    Date published: 2011-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have used Hamilton halters for a long time. I like how sturdy they are. The fit is good and they last. They may be more expensive than some nylon halters but they are worth the extra money.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fit and color but rusty I loved this halter when I got it about two months ago. I purchased the Navy in large and it fits my fat headed OTTB very well when other "large" halters have been tight. Really a great looking halter that is nice and thick with easy to use buckles. The only downfall is that the round metal parts that fall on his cheeks have already started rusting and peeling. I don't leave the halter on all the time but it is on when he gets sprayed down after riding 3 times a week and I guess thats enough to rust it already. Overall, I'd love to find a halter that didn't rust but they all seem too and this one is a great price and great quality otherwise.
    Date published: 2011-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VEERRRY NICE HALTER! I have bought Hamilton halters before, so I thought I knew what to expect, but this was a step up. Very heavy duty, the hunter green was a beautiful color with solid hardware at a terrific price. I prefer the neck latch, another plus. Only the lack of a safety release stands in the way of this being THE perfect halter, but I buy the leather releases by the bag and just cut out the short piece at the jowl between hardware, attach the safety release and, Voila, a safety halter. Perfect!
    Date published: 2011-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for money I love the way these halters wear and fit. My horse is hard on halters and these hold up well.
    Date published: 2011-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! By far the best nylon halter I've ever owned. It is very well made with sturdy hardware and strong nylon. It's also adjustable at the crown AND chin which makes me very happy. When this halter wears out, I'll by another. No need to try anything else.
    Date published: 2011-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Halter I love the feel of this halter, it is nice and big for my Draft size horse and the quality and craftsmanship is great. The price was right too.
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price for a great Halter I am very impressed with the construction of this halter. It is sturdy and fits my horse perfectly but I can also throw it on a pony and size it down appropriately.
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Halter Very tough long lasting halter. The best halter made.
    Date published: 2010-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use So many nylon halters are lined, which makes them thick and, after awhile, they get stiff and difficult to adjust. The lining shrinks after it gets wet. I bought the "Large Horse" size this time. It is adjustable at the crown and muzzle and has the clip on the side. The only area that is still a bit too big is the muzzle--I adjusted it as small as it will go--but overall I'm happy that I don't have to struggle with getting the halter on and off, and it looks great.
    Date published: 2010-07-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting fit This halter has held up great, however it is not proportioned great for my horses face.
    Date published: 2010-03-20
    • 2015-05-22T08:19CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_49
    • loc_en_US, sid_5041, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.