Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Halter Fleeces

Equine Comfort Products
- Item #11732
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Merino sheepskin 9 piece premium Halter Fleeces. Halter Fleeces are perfect for shipping to keep your horse from getting rubs. Machine washable.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    TheKensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish ...
    Description:
    TheKensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish and functional! Favorite Features Triple stitch, 1" nylon webbing with padded nose band Leather breakaway at buckle and snap at throat Matching 9.5 ft. 5/8" poly lead adds a touch of fashion ...
    The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable ...
    Description:
    The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable for the show ring but priced for everyday use.This halter is handmade in Amish country using leather that isSoft and supple from day one. Favorite Features Brass plated hardware Beautiful havana color ...
    The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
    Description:
    The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle designgive this halter avery traditional look, makingit aclassic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown thread is flattering on ...
    The Rockin' SP Triple Stitched Halter isa show-quality ...
    Description:
    The Rockin' SP Triple Stitched Halter isa show-quality halter at an everyday halter price that's built to fitstockier horses!Rockin' SP really is smarter gear for smarter riders. Each halter is handmade in the USA by skilled Amish craftsmanfrom the highest ...
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman ...
    Description:
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1" nose and cheek pieces with contrastingSoft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on 1" double ...
    The Fieldsafe Halter isdurable andhas VELCRO brand breaking ...
    Description:
    The Fieldsafe Halter isdurable andhas VELCRO brand breaking points that release at a given pressure. Favorite Features Made from a durable nylon Quick release cheek clip Adjustable noseband and crown piece Velcro breaking points that release when under a given ...
    The SmartPak Triple Stitch Halter isa show quality ...
    Description:
    The SmartPak Triple Stitch Halter isa show quality halter at an everyday halter price. Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather.By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with ...
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Halter Fleeces is rated 4.8947 out of 5 by 57.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful leather covered in the softest sheepskin.
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality fleece liners for a great price Durable, fits halter well, great quality for the price.
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! These are so soft and look fancy on the halter. They are very easy to put on to turn your regular halter into a shipping halter. A great price, too!
    Date published: 2013-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good deal Excellent purchase - there are many pieces that you can choose from to fit the appropriate need. I used a few pieces on a bridle. The velcro on each piece makes them user friendly.
    Date published: 2013-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Soft! I didn't want to purchase a whole new shipping halter as I had just bought 2 new leather halters for my new horse, so I decided to try these. Having not seen them in person I did not know what to expect - I had visions of that horrible synthetic stuff you see in fabric stores... I was so pleasantly surprised! Super soft, fits perfectly on my halter (and it's a Warmblood size halter). And it's cat approved! After I put them on my halter my cat decided to snuggle up with it. Can't wait to go to my next show with this!
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not an easy product to find Very pricey...but not easy to find.I will use this product .
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Fleeces Didn't want to spend $200+ on a shipping halter and decided to add these to a leather halter to create my own shipping halter. All tack shops in my area are selling these same covers for more than double the price. I put them on my halter and it looks just like a shipping halter. Super cushiony and soft. Only complaint is that I have a very large warmblood and the crown piece was a little too small. Overall wonderful product and AWESOME price
    Date published: 2012-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Purchase! I love these halter fleeces! They are very soft and great quality for the price!
    Date published: 2012-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase These halter fleeces are excellent quality and a great price. I'm only using the crown piece on a horse who was being rubbed raw from his turnout halter, and it solved the problem. I had previously tried making a padded tube out of polarfleece to help with his halter rubbing problem, but that didn't help much because it was not breathable. These fleeces are real sheepskin, so they don't trap moisture. They fixed the halter rub problem in a couple of weeks. :)
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from New use for the halter Fleeces I use these fleeces to put in the Grass Muzzles where they rub my horses nose, they cushion and they can be washed frequently, my horse has a smooth nose and he really pushes on the muzzle!
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product! I didn't want to invest in an expensive shipping halter, so when I saw these for $30 I was thrilled. They attach with velcro, so they're very easy to put on to any halter. In 5 minutes my Wellfleet padded halter was turned into a supreme shipping halter. This is a must have for my bag of tricks.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for very good quality These halter fleeces are very good quality, natural fleece, and have held up well so far (only had them about a month). I'm just using the crown piece to help with halter rubs my horse was getting from wearing his halter in turnout. Most of the hair has grown back in successfully, so I think the fleece is helping.
    Date published: 2012-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from practical For the price I was surprised at how nice the quality was. these are a great value!
    Date published: 2012-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Halter Fleeces Ever Absolutely solved the problem of my horses face being rubbed by wearing a grazing muzzle all day.
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very soft Top part on crown piece shredded for some reason, other than that the rest are a perfect fit and the horse I bought them for loves them!
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for grazing muzzle I have a pink skinned paint that doesn't tolerate the grazing muzzles well, so I ordered this and voila no more rubbing, plus I can soak them overnight in woolite rinse them off hang them to dry and they are good to go!
    Date published: 2012-07-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and soft and easy to put on They've done a good job stopping the rubs my mare was getting from her turn-out halter (I just put on some of the fleece pieced where the rubs were). I got a good laugh when I first tried to put her newly-poofy halter on: BIG eyes and lots of snorting. And when I put it on she made the funniest face trying to look down at the fleeces along her cheeks. Have only used it for a few weeks, so I don't know how long the velcro will last, but so far, so good.
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sweet Fleece! The fleeces certainly cozy up my shipping halter. Most pieces fit great, a few were a bit snug fitting around the thick noseband, crown of my leather halter. My horse said he appreciated them after initially shying from the fuzziness going up around his face . =)
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made for a comfy ride This was terrific. Thanks to your expediency, I received it just in time for a long haul to Florida and back. My horse was comfy and no rubs, and I simply brushed it clean after use!
    Date published: 2012-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for the price! I purchased these for trailering to local shows. I already had a beautiful leather halter so i didn't want to go to the expense to buy a shipping halter. The little pieces come off so you can wash them. So soft!
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Money! This fits very well on my Cob halter. It looks like the real expensive shipping halters BUT for a lot less. The great thing about it is that you can take it off after you have used it and wash it!
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from hight quality alternative to a shipiing halter! FINALLY! an affordable yet high quality alternative to a shipping bridle! This fleeces are so soft! Plus they are so much easier to wash than a leather bridle!
    Date published: 2011-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value Easy to use and high quality product ...horse was slightly nervous about is going over his ears the first time but ok with it after that
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I have a gelding with a huge jaw and he tends to get sores from his halter on his cheek bones. When he has to wear his halter for long durations thi product does the trick to protect his sensitive skin.
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! This is definitely a better option than getting the shipping halter. I picked up a cheap $20 halter at a local tack shop and saved over $80. The fleeces are super soft and very easy to put on! I was afraid they would be too big for my cob-sized halter, but they fit perfectly. However, make sure you get a halter that doesn't have an adjustable noseband because I had some trouble getting the fleece to fit over the buckle. I was able to velcro it on either side of the buckle and I think it'll stay on.
    Date published: 2011-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product They were exactly what I needed and it fit my Draft size halter perfectly. I will repurchase when needed.
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A soft solution! I bought the Halter Fleeces because my horse was getting halter rubs. Because they are 100% sheepskin and not imitation fleece, they are so soft! It has definitely helped his rubs recover and hair is starting to grow back nicely. The variety of pieces means you can use them to cover the whole halter or have back ups on hand. They do hold a little bit of dirt, so if you use them daily, you will need to wash them.
    Date published: 2010-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Alternative I put these halter fleeces on one of my nylon halters for shipping, as I had an extra halter and needed a shipping halter. I am very pleased with the quality and texture of the fleece. Definately a great alternative to the expencive shipping halters, and just as effective.
    Date published: 2010-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Halter Fleeces Fits my horse halters great and with a little trimming, the pony sizes as well. The fleece is average quality - the fibers are a little loose and I could pull small clumps out. Overall, a good buy due to the low price.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I bought these to put on my horse's grazing muzzle to help with rubs. They have held up great and have helped with the rubs. The velcro makes for easy on/off too.
    Date published: 2010-07-06
    • 2016-05-30T16:14CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_50
    • loc_en_US, sid_1732, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders