Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Grab Strap

Item #12445
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Challenging ride ahead of you? The Grab Strap attaches to any English saddle. Just in case. Leather. One size.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Grab Strap is rated 4.2647 out of 5 by 34.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy leather I never thought I'd need one of these, but my trainer is having me do some exercises that involve the grab strap. It's nice leather and it's sturdy. So I say it's not a bad thing to have in your bag of tricks.
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits kids saddle I purchased this grab strap for my daughter's 15" jumping saddle. It fits the saddle well and looks nice.
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good length, but don't use for safety vest I bought this thinking it would look nicer than the nylon strap sold by the safety vest company. I now realize that I need to attach my vest to the stirrup bar, not to the wimpy D-rings on the front of my saddle. I have a young horse and a little extra something to grab is always good, I'm keeping it for that purpose.
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I wouldn't recommend I gave this one star bc the strap is to short to fit on a jumping saddle or dressage saddle. You can not grab it with an adult hand if your horse starts to get fresh. Maybe this would work on a kids saddle but did not work on my saddles. The leather is nice and it looks like it is made well though.
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Grab Strap The grab strap is very nice. It is a little stiff, but otherwise a great buy for the price.
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice strap only not rated 5 star because I wish it was a bit longer
    Date published: 2012-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like the fact that this product is rolled so it is easier to grab during an "oops" moment.
    Date published: 2012-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grab Strap Very nice quality grab strap. It came to me feeling already broke in. It is a nice solid, yet soft leather.
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grab strap The workmanship is very good. I haven't used it yet.
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this for a client that is learning to ride in an English saddle for the first time (she's always ridden western.) She used it for one ride before she got the hang of it, which is good enough for me. I buckled scissor snaps onto each end of it to make it both easier to take on/off & to make it slightly longer. I had found it to be a tad short. But it's good now. Leather quality isn't wonderful, but who cares. It's simply a raw beginners crutch or a good tool for a lunge line lesson. Works for me. Sarahjoy Crain, trainer/owner - Independent C Farms
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh S--- Strap Perfect for introducing beginners to the saddle. Adds a huge level of confidence!
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product The grab strap that I purchased is made of quality leather of the appropriate length. Have to admit I have not had to use it yet but I am glad it is there. Also bought the D straps to save my D rings on my saddle.
    Date published: 2011-10-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Haven't had to test it yet! Nice touch - 2 holes on each end so length is slightly adjustable. I put it on a lesson saddle and so far it hasn't been put to the test but installation was a piece of cake and it looks nice enough!
    Date published: 2011-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used for Hit Air vest I got this to attach my lanyard from my hit air vest to the saddle, I had seen and talked to a few people and felt I would rather have a leather grab (ie break away) strap than the nylon one sold from hit air (airvest.com). Love the quality and perfect for my hit air vest!
    Date published: 2011-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Made I use this grab strap on my saddle whenever our grand kids ride. It is well made and gives the kids a more secure feeling in the saddle.
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just in case Love having this on the front of my saddle, just in case! It is nice enough leather to go with my high-end saddle.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Short On my wide tree (for a warmblood) cutback dressage saddle, this grab strap stretched so tightly across the pommel that it was of no use, even when on the longest adjustment buckle hole. So tight across that it dug a furrow into the saddle leather. If the strap were a few inches longer it would otherwise be fine, it had good hardware and attractive leather.
    Date published: 2011-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well Made Really like the quality of the product. Rolled edges are nice and comfortable to the grip. Well made product. Attaches easily to saddle via d-rings or d-ring savers.
    Date published: 2011-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extra Safety A green horse to jumping and a rider (myself) who has been out of the hunter world for eighteen years made this strap a must buy. It's nice to have it on my saddle. It gives me some security.
    Date published: 2011-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Great product! I was skeptical of it matching my saddle, but it works & looks GREAT. In the business of re-training thoroughbreds, this is a much needed and used item.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from not just for training I dont use these when training horses but rather young riders. all of my lead liners and short sturrip riders use one at first for a sence of added security and an aid for finding their seat. it also has saved my littlest ponies from brused mouths and banged up teath! I love it and use them every day with my lesson kids!
    Date published: 2010-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy and durable Well constructed with sturdy buckle and stitching. Wish you carried black as well.
    Date published: 2010-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice quality Seems a very sturdy piece of leather. Matches my brown saddle perfectly. I thought it would be a bit longer ut actually keeps the shape better at this length.
    Date published: 2009-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not just for beginners I have a grab strap on all of my saddles, for all of my horses, not just for the filly who's being started this year. Not only is it cheap insurance on the brisk days when the horse is not herself, it's great for steadying yourself when you're learning to sit the trot. But one thing I read: you also should have dee-savers to attach to the grab strap. When you need the grab strap the most--when you're hanging on for dear life and are at danger of being thrown--the grab strap is likely to rip the dee rings loose from the saddle. The dee rings are not made to withstand the kind of force delivered by a human going one way and a horse going the other way. The grab strap can't help you if it's detached from the saddle, and reattaching the torn dee rings is an expensive job.To guard against that, add dee-savers--also sold here--that attach the grab strap to the stirrup bars, not the dee rings. They are not obtrusive or bulky--you can barely see them--but they could save you when you need help the most!
    Date published: 2009-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for beginners. I purchased this strap for my husband when he was first learning to ride. It was my insurance plan to help protect our horses mouths in the event he lost his balance. It was his "go to" item for the first six months.
    Date published: 2009-03-20
    • 2015-05-28T09:59CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_33
    • loc_en_US, sid_2445, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.