Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Grab Strap

Tory Leather Co.
- Item #12445
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Challenging ride ahead of you? The Grab Strap attaches to any English saddle. Just in case. Leather. One size.

Made in the USA

Sizing

Strap adjusts from 10.5"-11.5" long
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Too many distractions for your horse? Help him ...
    Description:
    "Too many distractions for your horse? Help him tune out noise with these 100% Merino Sheepskin Ear Puffs. These Ear Puffs are super soft! If the Ear Puffs don’t curb the spooking we highly recommend the Sekur-Grip . Black and ...
    Why We Love This The English Bridle Leather ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The English Bridle Leather Spur Straps is a high quality English Bridle Leather Spur Straps.  Imported. Favorite Features   Double sewn in leather keepers Black STILL HAVE QUESTIONS? SEE Q&A STILL HAVE QUESTIONS? SEE Q&A 100% Happiness Guarantee ...
    "Say goodbye to the annoying problem of uneven ...
    Description:
    "Say goodbye to the annoying problem of uneven stirrup leathers with the Thorowgood Stirrup Straps! They have a strong nylon web core that will never stretch or snap. Highly recommended for use with the Thorowgood saddles. Imported."
    "Designed to stand up to the most demanding ...
    Description:
    "Designed to stand up to the most demanding riding with heavy harness leather that’s dipped in oil, dressed with saddle butter and hand rubbed for the ultimate in performance and a rich golden chestnut color. Non-rust stainless steel hardware."
    Why We Love This The Tory Leather Rolled ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Tory Leather Rolled Bridle Grab Strap features easy on/off with double snap ends. This grab strap is made from rolled bridle leather. Available in Havana and Black. Favorite Features •  Durable, long lasting leather STILL HAVE ...
    "The Horizons Collection features great basic tack perfect ...
    Description:
    "The Horizons Collection features great basic tack perfect for everyday riding. Durable, weather-resistant harness leather spur straps look great with our other Horizons products as well as a variety of other tack. Durable nickel plated hardware."
    "Pony POMMS Premium Equine Ear Plugs are designed ...
    Description:
    "Pony POMMS Premium Equine Ear Plugs are designed to allow your pony to hear normal tones, while greatly reducing distracting or loud noises. POMMS “comfort plus” design protects your pony's sensitive ears from wind, water and debris. Made in the ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Grab Strap is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 37.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for This is just what I was looking for, but I have to admit shopping for one was difficult no matter where I shopped - because the length is never part of the description. I specifically wanted a short one and had to search through reviews to find it's length
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too short Serves the purpose, but it's pretty tight across my saddle, so it's hard to get my hand into the strap.
    Date published: 2014-02-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too short Strap is too short so it pulls the rings up and hurts your leg. Probably ok on a pony saddle.
    Date published: 2013-09-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good strap
    Date published: 2013-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good strap It is indeed like others mentioned not very long, but works great for us. Well made, very comfortable grip. Very happy with it so far
    Date published: 2012-12-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from grab strap... ...even dressage riders need one on occaision! With that in mind, I wish this were available in black as well, to match my black tack. But, since I'm only using it for schooling, the brown on the black saddle is no big deal. (unlike some other reviews, I don't have a problem with the length. I attached it with the Dee-savers and it seems to work just fine.)
    Date published: 2012-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice for many uses. I love to use this strap when working with beginner riders and with young horses while I am riding. Its a nice quality leather and does not seam to stretch as much as many others I have used did. I also love them for Lunge lessons when teaching riders new things or having them work with no stirrups for the first time (it also helps keep the reins back, just buckle them to the strap and lunge away)
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy leather I never thought I'd need one of these, but my trainer is having me do some exercises that involve the grab strap. It's nice leather and it's sturdy. So I say it's not a bad thing to have in your bag of tricks.
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits kids saddle I purchased this grab strap for my daughter's 15" jumping saddle. It fits the saddle well and looks nice.
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good length, but don't use for safety vest I bought this thinking it would look nicer than the nylon strap sold by the safety vest company. I now realize that I need to attach my vest to the stirrup bar, not to the wimpy D-rings on the front of my saddle. I have a young horse and a little extra something to grab is always good, I'm keeping it for that purpose.
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I wouldn't recommend I gave this one star bc the strap is to short to fit on a jumping saddle or dressage saddle. You can not grab it with an adult hand if your horse starts to get fresh. Maybe this would work on a kids saddle but did not work on my saddles. The leather is nice and it looks like it is made well though.
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Grab Strap The grab strap is very nice. It is a little stiff, but otherwise a great buy for the price.
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice strap only not rated 5 star because I wish it was a bit longer
    Date published: 2012-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like the fact that this product is rolled so it is easier to grab during an "oops" moment.
    Date published: 2012-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grab Strap Very nice quality grab strap. It came to me feeling already broke in. It is a nice solid, yet soft leather.
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grab strap The workmanship is very good. I haven't used it yet.
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this for a client that is learning to ride in an English saddle for the first time (she's always ridden western.) She used it for one ride before she got the hang of it, which is good enough for me. I buckled scissor snaps onto each end of it to make it both easier to take on/off & to make it slightly longer. I had found it to be a tad short. But it's good now. Leather quality isn't wonderful, but who cares. It's simply a raw beginners crutch or a good tool for a lunge line lesson. Works for me. Sarahjoy Crain, trainer/owner - Independent C Farms
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh S--- Strap Perfect for introducing beginners to the saddle. Adds a huge level of confidence!
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product The grab strap that I purchased is made of quality leather of the appropriate length. Have to admit I have not had to use it yet but I am glad it is there. Also bought the D straps to save my D rings on my saddle.
    Date published: 2011-10-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Haven't had to test it yet! Nice touch - 2 holes on each end so length is slightly adjustable. I put it on a lesson saddle and so far it hasn't been put to the test but installation was a piece of cake and it looks nice enough!
    Date published: 2011-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used for Hit Air vest I got this to attach my lanyard from my hit air vest to the saddle, I had seen and talked to a few people and felt I would rather have a leather grab (ie break away) strap than the nylon one sold from hit air (airvest.com). Love the quality and perfect for my hit air vest!
    Date published: 2011-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Made I use this grab strap on my saddle whenever our grand kids ride. It is well made and gives the kids a more secure feeling in the saddle.
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just in case Love having this on the front of my saddle, just in case! It is nice enough leather to go with my high-end saddle.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Short On my wide tree (for a warmblood) cutback dressage saddle, this grab strap stretched so tightly across the pommel that it was of no use, even when on the longest adjustment buckle hole. So tight across that it dug a furrow into the saddle leather. If the strap were a few inches longer it would otherwise be fine, it had good hardware and attractive leather.
    Date published: 2011-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well Made Really like the quality of the product. Rolled edges are nice and comfortable to the grip. Well made product. Attaches easily to saddle via d-rings or d-ring savers.
    Date published: 2011-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extra Safety A green horse to jumping and a rider (myself) who has been out of the hunter world for eighteen years made this strap a must buy. It's nice to have it on my saddle. It gives me some security.
    Date published: 2011-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Great product! I was skeptical of it matching my saddle, but it works & looks GREAT. In the business of re-training thoroughbreds, this is a much needed and used item.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from not just for training I dont use these when training horses but rather young riders. all of my lead liners and short sturrip riders use one at first for a sence of added security and an aid for finding their seat. it also has saved my littlest ponies from brused mouths and banged up teath! I love it and use them every day with my lesson kids!
    Date published: 2010-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy and durable Well constructed with sturdy buckle and stitching. Wish you carried black as well.
    Date published: 2010-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice quality Seems a very sturdy piece of leather. Matches my brown saddle perfectly. I thought it would be a bit longer ut actually keeps the shape better at this length.
    Date published: 2009-11-30
    • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_8
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_36
    • loc_en_US, sid_2445, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders