Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Girth Extender

Item #16155

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Do you ride lots of horses in a day? Tired of searching for the right girth to fit a variety of horses? Look no more!

The Girth Extender is made of top quality durable bridle leather with roller buckles. Brown.

Length of each extender including the buckle: 9.25"
Length of each extender not including the buckle: 7.5"
Width of each extender:1"
½ inch spaces between each hole

Made in the USA

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Girth Extender is rated 4.7143 out of 5 by 28.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy to have I had recently bought a new saddle that had considerably shorter billet straps so that my girth no longer fit. The girth extender allowed me to save money on having to get another girth, but the bonus was that you can't even tell that it is there. Also love that it had roller bars to save the wear and tear on the billet straps. Certainly worth having on hand, especially given the price as compared to getting a new girth..
    Date published: 2014-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality and works well! When I saw this girth extender I thought, "It's probably going to be stiff and I'll have to oil it to make it more supple," but I when I received it in the mail the leather was already soft and ready to use! I like how simple it is and it works very well for my saddle. It had many more inches than I needed, which is nice because I can adjust it however I want. The only teeny, tiny problem is when the buckle was by my calf it rubbed a little, but adjusting it and putting it on different holes fixed that problem! I love this extender and I would recommend it to anyone.
    Date published: 2014-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made This is a well made item, my granddaughter rides english, so far holding up well.
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheaper than a new girth! Picked this up for early spring when the horses have put on a few pounds over winter and girths don't quite fit. It's nothing fancy, but it's nice and sturdy, and gives you those few extra inches you need.
    Date published: 2013-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One size fits all Makes riding horses of different girth sizes easy.
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the price! This product is definitely worth the money. The quality is very decent for the price and it is nice to be able to use my same girth on different horses or different saddles. My mare appreciates that I can cinch up slowly rather than having to yank on the billets and cinch to get her tacked up because the cinch just fits.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Choice I got a new saddle back in October, which happens to have shorter than normal billets. Because I ride a number of different horses of different shapes and sizes throughout the week, I bought this girth extender. It was such a great choice, and it gives a great range of extension, from very little to a whole lot (for our darling fatty ponies).The girth extender is so much more affordable than buying new girths. I don't even have to bother searching for larger girths in the tack room (with crossed fingers that I'll even find one), nor do I have to worry about irritating my mounts. How would you like someone to tack you up and suddenly clamp right to a fully (perhaps overtight) girth? Ouch!So happy with my purchase. The leather is thick and durable. The extender is not the greatest quality in the world, but, if that's your concern, you might as well just go buy a bigger girth. It's easy to use, and I've been happy with it for over a year now.
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice product for the money I bought this girth while the elastic was breaking in on a leather girth that I purchased. It add just enough length to my girth, without adding too much bulk under my leg. Would buy again.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from can't tell it's there With it on the horse you can't feel it there at all, its like part of the saddle. I can always feel the girth heads, but cannot feel this - I still feel the actual girth head under the saddle flap, but I don't feel this one at all, great product, thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tried to use with a 48" girth and it was still not long enough. Overall nice product.
    Date published: 2011-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Very nice quality for the price. Works well and it looks pretty nice too. Thanks smartpak.
    Date published: 2011-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ease of Use I really enjoy having this as a part of my tack inventory. It is not bulky to me and I cannot feel it underneath my saddle. The leather is a tad stiff, but I guess you would expect that if you're only paying 15 dollars for it. So for that price, it's a great buy!
    Date published: 2010-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Buy I recently purchased a new saddle, and its billets are on the short side. I ride numerous horses, and this girth extender was a great solution for my issues with girth fit. I've only used it for two weeks so far, but it seems durable.
    Date published: 2010-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Solution! I've been training a friends horse, and my girth just barely didn't fit, and we are working on weight loss on him, so I figured I'd give this a try instead of getting another girth. as posted before, when received, it was very stiff, but buckles worked fine. After only using it a handful of times, the leather softened up nicely, and buckles are still super easy to move! an awesome money saver!
    Date published: 2010-08-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a bad product I didn't want to spend the money for a new girth so I tried this girth extender. The leather is nice, but a slight bit stiff. It gives me the extra length I need, so I have no arguments there. I do think the buckles are a bit large and it is uncomfortable under my leg.
    Date published: 2010-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product Used it as soon as i got it. Made of very strong leather and buckles. Keeps me from changing the girth for each of the horses i ride because they are all only sizes apart.
    Date published: 2010-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy with it It was just what I needed for my new chunky mare. Hopefully we won't need it for too long! ;)It seems strong & does its job well.I have seen longer ones with more holes, but honestly- If you need more than this, you might as well get a new girth!
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    • 2016-02-08T14:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_22
    • loc_en_US, sid_6155, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.