Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Fresh Helmet Sack

Item #18998

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Have you ever gotten to the barn only to find that your helmet is still wet from the last time you rode? Even worse, there's that smell! Well we found the solution!

Designed by experienced riders, the Fresh Helmet Sack eliminates that musty, moldy helmet smell. Activated carbon neutralizes odors caused by everyday use and perspiration, rather than simply masking them. A desiccant helps sweat and perspiration dry quicker and more completely. Just toss it in your helmet after each ride and you'll find a fresher, drier helmet next time you ride!

Your helmet is an investment and the Helmet Sack is a great way to help prolong it's life.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Fresh Helmet Sack is rated 4.3191 out of 5 by 47.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works! I bought this on a whim because I was tiring of spraying tons of deoderizer in my helmet. In the Florida summer we tend to get a little sweaty and going through $9 cans a week can get expensive. This little bag really does work. I pop it in after I ride and the next day my helmet is dry and fresh. I just wish it was about 2 inches bigger so it would cover the entire interior of my helmet. I may buy another one and just use two for that purpose.
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great idea but way too small! I received my Fresh Helmet Sacks (I ordered two of them) and opened the packages with great anticipation in the hope of having a dry, non-stinky helmet! When I put the sack into my helmet (size 7 3/8) it only covered about a 4 inch square on the top of the helmet. It did a great job of doing what it was advertised to do - but only in this small area. I don't know about you but I perspire on the entire inner surface of my helmet (an IRH Elite Xtreme.) Because of the small size of the helmet sack the majority of my helmet was still gross when I put it on the next day. The Fresh Helmet Sack would be the perfect product if it were 3 of 4 times bigger and covered the entire interior of a helmet. I use a wire helmet rack and the sack is small enough to fall right through the wire frame. This product is a great idea and, if it were bigger, I would recommend it heartily. Unfortunately, because of it's small size, it just doesn't get the whole job done.
    Date published: 2011-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I was a little suspicious about this working, but so far it has kept my helmet smelling fresh and dry. I keep my helmet in a cover bag so I was worried about putting it back in there wet so this has worked really well! I'd definitely buy it again
    Date published: 2011-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! This thing is so cool! I've been cursed with ridiculously over-active sweat glands and my poor helmet is practically soaked by the end of a ride. It used to be that I'd show up the following day to ride and get to put on a damp helmet - no fun for anyone! But this little invention dries it out quickly (along with the straps, which also get yucky) and keep it smelling reasonably good. Plus it comes in a cute patterned sack! I love this item.
    Date published: 2011-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works WONDERS!! I use this in my helmet after EVERY ride because I tend to sweat a lot because of the medications that I am on. This little sack keeps my helmet fresh and wicks away the sweat.A+ on this one!
    Date published: 2010-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! I was really surprised how well this works. If you sweat a lot (like I do, hehe) I would probably recommend buying 2 or 3 to rotate them around. No weird smell, helmet is much drier - so nice!
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this I ride 6-7 days a week. As a result, my helmet doesn't smell the best, especially in the summer. This was great. My helmet dried out quickly, and actually smelled good after using it. I would definitely recommend this product, it is well worth it.
    Date published: 2010-08-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I thought I don't think this helmet sack actually does anything. I put in in my helmet, I take my helmet back out, and it still stinks. It must have been my mistake, but for some reason I was under the impression that I would put my helmet IN the sack, not put the sack in the helmet. Regardless, it isn't what I expected.
    Date published: 2010-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works! Our tack room is always damp, but has been exceptionally so this summer with all the heat and humidity. My helmet was taking multiple days to dry out, so I gave this a try.I was dubious, at first, but it really works! My helmet dries out over-night between rides and that funky smell is GONE. I love it!
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from little miracle in a bag what is in this little bag? i've tried everything to freshen up my helmet...air fresheners, febreeze, helmet deodorizers...and nothing has worked. i tease everyone at the barn that if they aren't nice to me i'll make them smell my helmet! after using the fresh helmet sack for a little over a week my helmet is no longer nasty...it's also nice and dry the next day when i wear it. i love this little bag!
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fresh Helmet Sack Believe it or not, this works! My daughter's helmet really smells bad, and takes a long time to dry out in our summer heat and humidity. Sprays, dryer sheets, etc. helped, but not as much as this product. The only negative - I thought it was a large sack that you put the helmet in, but it is really a very small bag with crystals that fit inside the helmet. It's ok, though, since you can put your helmet with this sack inside a helmet cover.
    Date published: 2010-08-04
    • 2016-02-13T15:03CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_46
    • loc_en_US, sid_8998, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.