Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Flysect® Citronella Spray

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13428
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Flysect® Citronella Spray contains botanically-derived pyrethrins and oil of citronella in a gentle, yet highly-effective spray.

View Product Label

 

Favorite Features

  • Contains lanolin to condition coat and skin
  • Flysect® Citronella Spray controls flies, gnats and mosquitoes

Sizing

32 oz. ready-to-use with trigger sprayer or gallon refill. 

 

What Customers Say:

Ingredients

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS:
Pyrethrins: 0.1%
Piperonyl Butoxide, Technical*: 1.0%
Butoxypolypropylene Glycol: 15.0%
OTHER INGREDIENTS**: 83.9%

* Equivalent to 0.8% (butylcarbityl) (6-propylpiperonyl) ether and 0.2% related compounds.
** Contains petroleum distillate.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
DIRECTIONS FOR USE: It is a violation of Federal law to use this Product in a manner inconsistent with its labeling. FLYSECT CITRONELLA SPRAY with Lanolin has been especially developed for use on horses. It provides a coating against flies while imparting a high sheen to the hair when brushed out. One to two oz. per horse per day gives adequate protection. Apply by either soft cloth or fine mist spray. DIRECTIONS FOR WIPE ON USE: First brush animal to remove excess dirt and dust. Moisten (but do not wet to the point of dripping) a soft cloth and rub over the hair. It is best to apply by rubbing against the hair growth. Give special attention to the legs, shoulders, shanks, neck and facial areas where flies most often are seen. Only light application is required. Avoid using excessive amount on your horses. Do not wet skin. After application, brush out thoroughly to bring out bright sheen on the coat. Repeat daily or as required. DIRECTIONS FOR SPRAY ON USE: May be applied as fine mist spray to stable area and over and around stabled horses for fast paralysis and kill of flies. Do not wet horse’s skin or exceed 2 oz. per application.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Swat Fly Ointment protects wounds, open sores, scratches ...
    Description:
    "Swat Fly Ointment protects wounds, open sores, scratches and abrasions from dirt, filth and disease-carrying flies. Botanically-derived pyrethrin formula repels house flies, stable flies, face flies and horn flies, and kills them on contact. Ideal for use on the ears ...
    "Bronco Gold Fly Spray protects your horse from ...
    Description:
    "Bronco Gold Fly Spray protects your horse from nasty flies while giving him a healthy shine! Repels and kills stable flies, horn flies, house flies, face flies, horse flies, deer flies, mosquitoes and gnats. View Product Label"
    "Endure Sweat Resistant Fly Spray stays on and ...
    Description:
    "Endure Sweat Resistant Fly Spray stays on and keeps working, even in wet conditions. Endure Sweat Resistant Fly Spray contains special conditioner that binds to hair shaft - won't sweat off. Protects against biting and nuisance flies, gnats, mosquitoes, deer ...
    "The reliability of Repel-X in a smooth, spreadable ...
    Description:
    "The reliability of Repel-X in a smooth, spreadable lotion. Repel-X Lotion is excellent for spot treatment around eyes, muzzle, ears and wounds. Cypermethrin formula with botanically-derived pyrethrins to repel and kill biting flies, filth flies, biting gnats, ticks and lice. ...
    "Get long-lasting fly protection with Tri Tech 14 ...
    Description:
    "Get long-lasting fly protection with Tri Tech 14 Fly Spray by Farnam. This fly spray is a customer favorite that protects against horse, house, stable, face, horn and deer flies, gnats, lice, deer ticks and mosquitoes. With the combination of ...
    "Uniquely shaped Bite Free Stable Fly Trap provides ...
    Description:
    "Uniquely shaped Bite Free Stable Fly Trap provides an ecomonical solution to those persistent and potentially harmful Stable Flies. Also known as Dog Flies, these pesky flies attack horses, livestock, dogs, and humans, leaving you and your animals prone to ...
    "The Captivator Fly Trap patented formulation uses fly ...
    Description:
    "The Captivator Fly Trap patented formulation uses fly pheromones to attract flies, the one-way entry system keeps them in the trap. Reusable and economical, heavy-duty plastic jar. Trap comes complete with 1 tube of attractant, just squeeze in and add ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Flysect® Citronella Spray is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 56.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product It works great and doesn't irritate my horses skin as other products have done.
    Date published: 2015-09-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from 5 Minute Fly Spray Works for a few minutes, then you have to re-apply. Haven't even used mine 5 times, and it's almost all gone. It was really a waste of money, also makes the horse very greasy and slippery!
    Date published: 2015-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from used it before Snow predicted for next few days, so have not yet needed to use the spray. I purchased this spray previously and found it to be effective. Katie, my 24 year old paint, likes it because it is natural and safe for her.
    Date published: 2015-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it This spray works well in my area again mosquitos, fly's, and gnats. Love the Citronella spray.
    Date published: 2015-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatest fly spray Have used this product for years. I have tried others but always come back to this one.
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-02-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Smells good, not very effective Although I love the natural ingredients in this spray (for my own sake, as much as my horse's), it was not very effective at keeping the bugs away. It left a greasy sheen on my horse's coat that attracted dust and gunk.
    Date published: 2014-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product...
    Date published: 2014-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most effective fly spray! I have been using this fly spray on my pasture-boarded horse all summer. Over the years we have tried many brands of fly spray and this is the only one I'll purchase now. It definitely works. I apply it every day during fly season. I also feel good about coating my horse in the ingredients in this fly spray, especially compared to other brands. I have had some issues with leakage of the spray bottle during shipping. Instead of reordering the spray bottle I get the refill bottle and have had no leaks with that.
    Date published: 2014-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great smell but the flys don't like it!! This is the only spray I buy and have for years. I guy it by the gallon and we do not have a fly problem.
    Date published: 2014-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORKS!
    Date published: 2014-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well for a natural product! This spray seems to work well, though it doesn't protect against ticks, so if my horse is going out in the long grass I spray his underside with Endure.
    Date published: 2014-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Fly Spray! This fly spray does a great job. One of my horses had sensitive skin and this was really gentle. It smells good and keeps the flys off all day.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to Work I have used a lot of fly sprays that do not work. This one seems to do a pretty good job and isn't so toxic that it leaves me with a headache. I think the citronella is what makes it effective and give it a non-abrasive smell.
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well, prefer its more natural base Try to stay away from chemical products as much as possible - use this throughout the season, and although it can leave a touch of oily residue, it does the job.
    Date published: 2013-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff! I have to be careful with what I use on my horses and some products are safe to use but don't last long. This works well and lasts.
    Date published: 2013-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Natural Fly Spray I love this product. I have three horses and one has very sensitive skin. Other fly sprays make his skin break out, this one does not and it is a natural as it can be. My other two horses love it also. You can use a wash cloth and spray the product on it and then wipe around the horse's face without any problem. Horses love the smell and heave a big sigh of relief. It is also great on the mane and tail, an unexpected conditioner so you get two things for the price of one. I buy a larger container because I use this all summer long.
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't need to use a lot It dosent take a lot to get the flys to go away smells good to. Only down side is it only lasts for a few hours before you have to reaply it
    Date published: 2013-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Fly spray for Summer Eczema/Sweet Itch I bought this fly spray as a substitute for one that had been discontinued. I use it twice a day, dawn and some time before dusk. I am also using another product from Iceland to help with any breakouts. Also have added some supplements to help with this condition.Last 2 years he was oozy, crusty and not happy. I had to use steroids. This year, I have managed to keep any outbreaks to a minimum, and can manage them without putting him on steroids.Bottom line, my icy seems to be having a MUCH more comfortable fly season. This spray works real well for his condition.
    Date published: 2013-06-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice smelling fly spray! This fly spray smells great, works about as good or better as any on the market, and has more natural ingredients than some sprays.Really like this one!
    Date published: 2012-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Spray I have used this product for years and it remains very good.
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the Job I like this insect spray, as it seems to keep the flys from landing on the horse and it lasts longer than most sprays. I used it at a horse show in July, sprayed my horse with it in his stall so the spray would also land on the shavings. It did a good job of keeping the flys away, but I did keep the stall picked of manure, which helps. A little pricey, but worth the money. Smells nice.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fly spray that conditions This fly spray is good for our arid and sometimes very humid conditions. It works well for the aggressive mosquitoes as well as the blood sucking flys. It is gentle on the horses skin and does not burn their coats. You do have to put it on a couple times a day when flys are real bad. It does not make me sick as some of the other flly sprays do.
    Date published: 2012-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A more natural approach to FLY SPRAY. So, I had given up on the search for a fly spray that works on all of the nasty insects we have here in NC....I have tried MANY! I decided to go more natural and purchased a bottle of Flysect. I was pleasantly surprised! No, it didn't get rid of the bugs altogether, but it worked as good or better than some of the more expensive fly sprays that are comprised of strong man-made chemicals that I have tried. And it smells great!
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fly spray! I recently decided to try this product. It is probably one of the best fly sprays I've ever used. I try to always use natural, botanically based fly sprays but most only last a few minutes. This one lasts much longer. It is slightly greasy because of the lanolin but well worth it for my horses comfort.
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly spray ever! This is the best fly spray i have ever purchased it keeps away the flies and bugs and gives my gelding a nice shiny coat. It also has a very nice citronella scent. When i ordered it i used the barn saver shipping it shipped right to my barn, free shipping! The only downside it ships with other peoples thing so it got a little bit mixed up.
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lasts and smells great! This is my favorite fly spray! Flys have been really terrible this year which has caused me to go through 3 different styles/brands of spray, I am going to go back to this one due to its lasting power. The natural oils in the product cause it to work for longer than the synthetic brands so if I can't get out to the barn everyday, I don't feel guilty. Because it is all natural I don't worry about spraying it on my hands and rubbing it on his face. The smell is also good and the nice shine it brings to my horse's coat will keep this company getting my business
    Date published: 2011-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff I love this fly spray! It is a little bit greasy, so always apply BEFORE tacking up! But it has a very nice citronella scent, and definitely keeps the bugs away. I've also noticed that it keeps my horses' hooves very shiny, which is a nice side effect! Overall I've used many different types of fly spray, and this is definitely my favorite.
    Date published: 2011-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps flies away I have always preferred flysect. I tried this one because of the citronella. At first I hated how greasy it was, but my horse's groom said it was the only brand that he has seen that really keeps the bugs away in turnout. I think that outweighs the greasiness concern.
    Date published: 2011-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can live with this! The citronella bug spray smells Great and leaves my horse with a nice shiny coat. I haven't seen any flies on him, so it is effective too. I have an aversion to chemicals so this is a great solution for both of us! If it's on my horse, you know it's going to be all over me too. Send me another bottle!
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    • y_2017, m_2, d_27, h_4
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_52
    • loc_en_US, sid_3428, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders