Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Fly Predators

Item #12493
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The environmental solution to pesky flies!

Fly Predators are beneficial insects and the natural enemy of flies. These insects never bother humans or animals but feed on fly larvae to interrupt the breeding cycle of flies. Sprinkle on manure areas monthly to control fly populations. Up to 94% reduction in pest flies have been reported. Fly predators cannot be returned as they are living.

Favorite Features

  • Automatic delivery available for easy, convenient reapplication

Fly Predators will be drop shipped to you directly from Spalding Labs via the U.S. Postal Service.
You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Fly Predators is rated 4.3226 out of 5 by 93.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm a believer I had reservations about this product since I had no way of really judging how well it worked. Our flies are way way WAY down from last year, even with the buckets of rain we've had. I do wonder how long they "last" due in part to the consistent rain, there seems to be no perfect time to spread them. Seems to be worth the money for our area, now we just need horse fly, mosquito, and gnat predators!
    Date published: 2015-07-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not thrilled Product did not work as well as thought wld. Clda been because of my birds eating them
    Date published: 2015-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Fly predators We have 2 horses and I purchased 1 to test and see how well it worked. I am very pleased with the results. No flies and a lot less buggy.
    Date published: 2015-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great Definitely saw a reduction in flies. Very easy to use
    Date published: 2015-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They sure do help Have seen a lot less Flys since my first purchase of fly predictors
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work for me I tried this for two months and it didn't seem to help at all. I tried to follow the instructions (as well as other de-flying routines) to the T but my horse is still covered and eaten alive by flies.
    Date published: 2015-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Little Bugs! I have used Fly Predators for several years now. This year, because I wanted to experiment, I didn't buy them. I had the worst fly season EVER and I was so annoyed. I bought some late in the summer and they helped quite a bit. Next year, I will start early in the spring and use them all fly season.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great help I wish we had started earlier with these, but having less flies than normal was wonderful! At prior barns, when we started early enough, we were nearly fly free - which is truly awesome.
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from game changer We attempted a birthday party for my nephew in my backyard next to where my neighbor moved in 5 horses. All we did for 3 hours is kill flies. For every fly we killed 2 more came to pay their respects. I threw out about 20000 fly predators in the field next to our house and we cooked out again two weeks later. 2 flies.
    Date published: 2014-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely makes a difference This was the first year we used fly predators, and we definitely noticed a difference. Last year our horses were miserable and we were going through fly spray by the gallon. This year we've hardly used any fly spray, and no fly masks, except for the month we forgot to put out our fly predators! That right there told me they were working. We have 5 horses and the 5,000 predators seems to be enough, though for our first order we did 10,000.
    Date published: 2014-09-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Think they helped Flies were terrible in our horse stalls this year. We did everything we could to keep the barn and surroundings clean and dry, and ordered the Fly Predators to help keep the number of new flies hatching down.
    Date published: 2014-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to use first time user seems to be alot less flies very easy to use
    Date published: 2014-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Predators is an excellent product We had been using a mist system in the barn and arena and we will be switching solely to Fly Predator as soon as our drum of the mist is empty. My horses are kept at my parents ranch in Simonton, Texas.
    Date published: 2014-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them I really think they have cut down the flies.You just have to check the weather so it doesn't rain the first night.
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! I had a horrible fly population with 22 horses, compounded with the wet weather we had this spring it was near to impossible even with all the sprays to get rid of the flys. After the application of the predators there was a noticeable difference about a week after they were put out. It was sure nice to see the difference. The horses were so happy!
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not right for my situation I keep 25 mini horses on 15 acres. Although they come into a one acre pasture for the night, where the run-in sheds are, they are never stalled. I got the quantity suggested for 50 horses, and spread it in the one acre and then outside that one acre fence about 50 feet. But I think I was trying to cover too big of an area. There were definitely less flies than last year.
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Really wanted them to make an impact. I tried these for 4 months and didn't notice much change in the flys. Our flies were still awful the month of July as they always are. These did not offer any real impact on the fly population and didn't help to give my horses any relife.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Little Bugs! We've been using fly predators for 3 years now. And I can't even describe how much BETTER the fly population is if you use these and start them early enough in the season. My horses are so much happier!!
    Date published: 2014-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good phamplet on fly control included. I think they really work along with traps. Using them does help keep the flies under control.
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A safe an natural approach to fly control We have a serious fly problem at our barn due to the nearby dairy farm. I started this in May, and by mid June we saw a definite decrease in the number of flies as compared to last year.This is NOT a quick fix solution to your fly problems, you will have to use other measures as well; particularly while waiting for the current flies to die. You will also have to remember that if you use harsh chemicals you will also kill off some of the predators.This product needs to be used consistently in order to suppress the number of flies, and should be thought of as part of a multi-stage approach to fly control.The only reason I didn't give this product a 5 star rating was the cost of the bugs!
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the fly predtors they really help with the fly population and I have a cattle farm next door
    Date published: 2014-08-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I used them for 1 month and they did not work! Flies actually seemed worse.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Total waste of money Useless. Did absolutely nothing. I've used these two years now and the flies are actually way way worse than ever before. I gave these things a shot for two seasons, applied as directed, even tried buying twice as many as they said i needed. I cant believe I was dumb enough to waste my money on this useless product for so long.
    Date published: 2014-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from they work!! We only have two horses but our new neighbors moved a herd of cattle next to our farm last spring and we were very concerned how things would go as summer progressed. We all got together and decided to give this a try and it worked! Within a few short weeks the problem was significantly reduced. This year we will start earlier and are confident we will not have any pesky flies to bother us or the livestock. 
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These work great around the sheep too! Our trainer uses these around the horse farm and they work well, in spite of the fact the cattle farmer next store does not. I tried them at home with the sheep and found they work even better. There are no other properties around with livestock so there is no competition from other sources
    Date published: 2013-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO FLIES This is the first season I have used these and they seem to be working great. We had another horse person stop by the other day and could not believe that there were NO flies buzzing around...Love this product...
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely makes a difference I've used Fly Predators for 2 Summer seasons now & can say that they do make a noticeable difference. We start getting shipments in the Spring time before the flies get bad...this is definitely important; if you are going to commit to a season of Fly Predators, you MUST start using them before you notice flies for the best results. We actually use a combination of fly predators, and we set fly traps around the barn area. We keep the back & side of our property as a hay field, that runs right up close to our pastures, and we always have an influx of flies after our hay gets cut. We do also keep our horses on Smart-Bug Off...basically, we do use other products to supplement the fly predators, as they can't take care of all flies. But they do make a big difference - if you have a problem with flies, I recommend these little guys!
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly predators Great product. You really know how good these little guys work when you are running out of them. They are a win/win. No pesticides, and no flys.
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to reduce fly population Last year, I moved my horses from a boarding facility to a field where only my horses were kept and I started using fly predators as well as a feed-through fly control. I definitely noticed a reduction in the non-biting black "house" flies. This year the relief was not as great but I still think the fly predators aided in the reduction of the black house fly population. I did not notice the fly predators themselves once I released them. This product did not seem to help with horse flies or the green biting flies. For the price, I think this product is worth buying.
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly population cut by 90% This is the only stuff that works. FYI: I put out a lot more than they recommend. I have three horses and did 5,000 but got poor results. Now, I just do 20,000 at the beginning of the season and leave it at that.
    Date published: 2012-08-08
    • 2015-08-29T12:50CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_86
    • loc_en_US, sid_2493, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.