Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Feed Tub

Item #12027
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof so you can use it indoors or outdoors year-round! Molded from the finest corded rubber on the market, nothing matches the pliability and strength of DuraFlex rubber.

Favorite Features

  • Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof corded rubber holds up to rugged use
  • Molded-in handles for easy carrying
  • Three metal hooks attached for hanging upright for use (other necessary hanging hardware not included)
  • Rubber is naturally safe and soft for animals for feeding and watering

Sizing It Up
Holds 6.5 gallons
18.5 inch diameter
9" high

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Feed Tub is rated 4.7073 out of 5 by 41.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indestructable! This tub is strong enough to withstand the body bumping of my built-like-a mack-truck gelding!
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best thing I've found for a bucket destroyer! My big, hungry Gypsy Sport Horse has a habit of destroying any and all feeders. Plastic feeders were cracked, handles were ripped off rubber buckets. I resorted to sliding a rubber pan under the fence every day, but having a feeder to dump grain into is so much easier! This rubber tub is so far the best thing I've found for him. I secure it to the bottom of the fence with a bucket strap, and although he does rip the metal loops off every now and then, this lasts MUCH longer than anything else I've tried!
    Date published: 2014-12-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this last year but only started using it a few months ago. My horse is a cribber and will crib on wall-mounted feed buckets... he's also a pig and likes to tip over the shallow feed pans and drag them around his stall. This one has been great -- it stays on the floor (albeit tied with twine to the wall so he can't drag or flip it around!). My only complaint is that the two of the metal rings have torn out already.
    Date published: 2014-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from bigger than I thought, but works perfectly I ordered this for my picky eater mare who would paw at her shallow feed pan and tip it over on to the ground, spilling her grain and her SmartPak supplements! I wanted something bigger, with higher sides, so I added this to my SmartPak order. When it arrived, it was bigger than I anticipated, and I considered returning it. I went ahead and kept it though, because I liked the idea of being able to soak a foot in it if I ever needed to. I brought it out to the barn and fed her with it, and what do you know, it kept her from tipping her food on to the ground! The sides are high enough that when she paws, she doesn't get her foot in to the pan to tip it. And if she does hit it with her hoof, it is heavy duty enough not to tip over and spill the contents. She eats everything now, which makes me happy because I know she's consuming the supplements I'm paying for! I used metallic silver permanent marker to write her name in large letters across the outside. The metallic silver shows up really well on the black feed tub.
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to clean, horses have easy time eating grain! Bought these for a local therapeutic stable as a donation for some of their indoor stalls. The horses clean them up, but if they don't, snaps make them easy to remove and clean. They also are flexible so not easy to break. I really like them, and if I had my own stalls which needed feeders, I'd pick these again.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Playful horse tested and approved My horse plays with his buckets and feed tubs and gets rough when he is eating. Other feed tubs didn't last long enough and would crack and get ripped right off the wall. This fee tub is flexible and soft and so far after 1 month I haven't had to replace any snaps and the bucket has not gotten ripped off yet. It seems sturdy.
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally - something that works! My old quarter horse is a picky eater, prone to flip his feed bucket if there's something in there he doesn't like. Also, the handles of several brands of buckets tended to hit him around the eyes when he was trying to eat. The 6 1/2 gallon feed tub gives him plenty of room, and since it attaches at 3 points in a corner of the stall, it is impossible for him to flip! We BOTH love it!
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile Feed Tub I like the depth of the tub and its sturdiness. It is easy to clean and it will last for a long time.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does your horse think he needs a drum set? This tub can take abuse and keep your horse from thumping his feed bucket to make mayhem!
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Convenient These rubber tubs really take a beating b/c they are flexible. Only issue is they smell when they first arrive. Have to let them air out for a while.
    Date published: 2012-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality and Value My gelding has destroyed his other feed boxes. I purchased this rubber one and so far it is great.
    Date published: 2012-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice feed tub I like the larger feed tubs because my horses spill less grain. These are durable, I use them on the ground in my pasture as my horses live outdoors and they get beaten up eventually but it takes a couple of years of being in the weather, getting trampled, getting scrubbed each week, etc.
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Design Is Fine The older versions of this bucket have rings that pull through when a horse leans on them. This version has reinforced rings that, combined with strong stainless steel snaps, are much more difficult to tear down. So far my horse has not figured out how to pull these down. I think it's now the best feed tub on the market after this major upgrade.
    Date published: 2012-06-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from 6-1/2 gal feed tub I bought this tub as a ground feeder with the possibility of it becoming a hanging feeder later. I thought it would be bigger as I was trying to replace a much bigger one that is coming apart after the horsers keep biting it. My fault but wasn't sure how big 6-1/2 gal was because I couldn't find a gal size on my old one. It is well made but it just isn't doing what I thought it would do for me. I have a senior mare that has dropsy when she eats (most of her bottom teeth are almost gone) and I use the tubs to either feed out of or catch the dropsy. The hooks and the eyelets keep falling out so I'm going to just take them out and save them for when I want to hang it.
    Date published: 2012-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Value Purchase This feed tub serves not only a feed-pan, also a medical treatment ustensil. It is deep enough to soak your horse's foot in the solution when needed. I like the material that is quite durable. Good product!
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a messy eater! My horse is a messy eater and the corner feeder and over fence feeder in his stall just couldn't keep up. Most of his food ended up tossed on the floor, but this tub seems to contain the mess fairly well. He can also kick it around as much as he pleases without denting or cracking it. Wish I would've bought this sooner!
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable and improved I bought a couple of these tubs years ago and I still have them sans the eyelets, because they pulled through the holes in the tub. The new tub I bought has a metal reinforcement underneath the lip of the tub to prevent this from happening and I expect that the good qualities of the tub, flexibility and durability, won't be compromised by faulty eyelets this time.
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Feed Tub I had my first one for 5 years and it finally wore out. I bought a plastic more expensive one and it didn't last a year. So I ordered another one of these.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, Safe, Good Value I own a DuraFlex flat-backed bucket, so I'm familiar with Miller Manufacturing's great quality. I switched my horse from the bucket to the tub to give him more room to eat his feed. Miller makes this sturdy tub from reclaimed rubber, in the U.S. - what's not to like?
    Date published: 2011-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice feed tub for price This rubber feeder replaced a plastic corner feeder that had broken holes where the double end snap secures it to the wall. (This has happened with several plastic corner feeders.)I plan on replacing my other plastic corner feeders with this rubber feeder. Good buy.
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Feed Tub I purchased this feed tub to replace an existing one that had seen better days. This tub is sturdy and comes with hooks for easy hanging. It is a great value, too.
    Date published: 2011-10-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worthwhile Bought this bucket for a horse who loves to "sit" against his feed tub and breaks a plastic tub each month! This one is holding up really well - it has enough give that he can lean away on it and it doesn't crack or break.
    Date published: 2011-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feed tub! Doubles as a play toy once the food is gone! The soft rubber is great for making his playtime a little quieter for his barnmates. I didn't mount it to the wall, but rather use it loose in his stall and he seems to think it is the best thing ever. He was a little inquisitive of the 'new rubber' smell, but once he had a couple meals in it, that was long gone. Seems to be impossible to break as well... it's sturdy!
    Date published: 2010-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indestructible I have a mare that delights in destroying feed tubs and throwing her feed around. I feed on the ground in a pasture. She hasn't been able to phase this one, and her feed stays in it better than in any of the others I have tried. The soft rubber is strong but flexible.
    Date published: 2010-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality feed tub This is a great quality feed tub. It's deep and wide and seems to be indestructable.
    Date published: 2009-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from He still hasn't broken this one! I had a bucket like this for years, and when it finally broke, I tried to find another locally. Instead I purchased a traditional corner feeder for ten dollars more. He broke it in two days. The barn help put another old one in, it lasted a day. They hung a pail up high, he didn't break it but was well on his way to flattening it. After this order arrived and was installed, he is happy or stymied by it. Either way, I am delighted as this drama is now over.
    Date published: 2009-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more face rubs and scratches My horse has a bad habit; no matter what bucket/feeder I tried, he throws his head around when he eats (I have tried about 5 kinds of feeders to date). It was so bad that he would constantly get cuts on his face and spill his feed. I took a chance and ordered this feeder and I am very happy. It is very soft rubber and I am happy to say he has no more cuts on his face and he doesn't throw his feed out of the bucket anymore.
    Date published: 2006-03-13
    • 2015-08-29T13:25CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_32
    • loc_en_US, sid_2027, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.