Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Eqyss Avocado Mist

Eqyss International, Inc.
- Item #15092

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Eqyss Avocado Mist is an oil-free, silicone-free leave on conditioning spray that maintains the moisture balance within the hair shaft.

Favorite Features

  • Prevents the hair from becoming dry, brittle, and breaking off
  • Shines and conditions the coat with a unique formula that combines the extracts of avocado and aloe vera
  • Detangles without the heaviness common in most conditioners
  • Great for Dogs too!

Sizing It Up

32 oz spray bottle

Made in the USA

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Eqyss Premier Cream Rinse was developed specifically to ...
    Description:
    Eqyss Premier Cream Rinse was developed specifically to condition rough, dry, brittle hair and make tangles disappear. Brushing will be tangle free. Eqyss Premier Cream Rinse is a rich combination of natural emollients minimizes flyaways and smoothes hair cuticles to ...
    New look, same great formula! Eqyss Marigold Spray ...
    Description:
    New look, same great formula! Eqyss Marigold Spray creates a barrier on the skin to stop odors and protects the skin from the things associated with the hot summer months. Eqyss Marigold Spray reduces bleaching out of the mane, tail ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Eqyss Avocado Mist is rated 4.1731 out of 5 by 52.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from meh. Not impressed. While this might prevent the hair from becoming dry, brittle, and breaking off, it leaves hair, mane and tail sticky - which could be from the avocado and aloe. Doesn't detangle at all. It is indeed heavy. Smells great, but the product is worthless. Don't waste your money.
    Date published: 2015-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smells incredible! This product smells absolutely incredible! It works great for my horse's skin and coat in this frigid winter weather. The only reason I gave it a four star instead of a five star rating is because it goes on a little patchy if you curry it into your horse's coat. I've found if you spray and use a soft brush to spread it out, then curry it into his coat it works much better.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love how this keeps my horse's tail from breaking I bought a bottle years ago and didn't use it. When cleaning out my tack, I put it out just to use up. I can't believe the improvement in my horse's tail. Typically from blankets or fly sheets, the hair at the base of the tail rubs off or is short and brittle. Now this section of his tail is getting long. This product does a great job keeping his hair supple. Everyone in the barn also loves the smell
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great to help manes and tails grow! I used this on my andalusian gelding to help keep his mane and tail nice and soft. The product smells great and also works well for braiding.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product & Smells Really Good! The smell is AMAZING!!! But not only that but this product adds a lot of shine to my entire horse without making him greasy (just don't spray where the saddle goes or it will slip) Definitely one of my favorite grooming sprays!
    Date published: 2014-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Fantastic! I LOVE this product, I have been using it for over 15 years. The smell is simply amazing!
    Date published: 2014-09-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sticky I've had this product for almost a year now, and I barely ever use it anymore. Yeah, it smells great but I think its not doing anything for my horse's tail and coat but making it crusty and sticky. He hasn't had any improvement from dry skin, and I think this almost might make it worse
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I bought this along with the Mega-Tek Rebuilder to aid in the regrowth of my horse's tail that had been chewed off by a pasture-buddy. In just a few months, his tail was obviously fuller and growing out. The products are not greasy or sticky and leave a beautiful shine and softness.
    Date published: 2014-04-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Scented water I wanted to love this, maybe based on the name. I body clipped my gelding and he had really dry skin, so I was looking for a moisturizing spray. I think some $3 human hair conditioner diluted in water would have the same effect. It doesn't really smell that great to me. I have the impression that Eqyss products are overpriced and ineffective, based on this and the marigold spray. Not cool. $20 down the drain.
    Date published: 2014-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Xlnt for white mane n tail I use all eqyss products. After many years of trial and error, I've decided to stick w eqyss products. High quality, they work and work well together. I prefer a spray on detangler rather than a gel. This product is not sticky, keeps my twh mane and tale smooth and tangle free.
    Date published: 2013-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eqyss Avocado Mist I just love this stuff! It smells like something you would find in a high end hair salon. It works wonders in Beau's mane and tail. So not only does he smell good, he looks good too :)
    Date published: 2013-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells wonderful! I learned about this product from my trainer who uses it on all his horses. It smelled wonderful and I couldn't wait to try it on my horses. It is a great leave in conditioner and does a good job detangling manes and tails. Best part - the scent stays put for a few days...even after they roll in the dirt right after their bath!
    Date published: 2013-04-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Eh..It's okay. I used this product recently on my horse, and I just didn't see results that I was expecting. His coat looked shiny and pretty afterwards, but I just wasn't "wowed."
    Date published: 2013-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm never without this stuff! I've used this spray for years and will continue to do so. Others have mentioned that it isn't a great detangler, but in my opinion it isn't advertsied as such. I spray some on a towel and rub my horse down after grooming and prior to my ride. It creates a beautiful shine without being slippery. I use Vetrolin shine on mane and tail, but sometimes spray this on almost like a finishing product. I do agree that if you use too much it does feel a bit tacky on the tail, but just go easy! Everyone comments on how shiny my horses coat is. Supplements and diet play the biggest part, but this spray does help. Takes off dust and doesn't hurt that he smells good to! Get some you'll be glad you did.
    Date published: 2013-01-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from More or Less First off, the amazing smell of this product could knock someone off their feet. I've been able to smell it across the barn, it is so powerful... In a good way.When I use this product, it refreshes the mane/tail so you can get all light tangles out of the hair.After usage the tail feels lighter and more free moving. It's really a big difference. And considering I only use four or five squeezes a time, I've had a whole bottle for a year and have more than half of it left.The only reason this product didn't get a five star was because if your tail (like my pasture boarded horse) is really dry or tangly, there is no way this product could be enough. It's a nice moisturizer, but if you need a really, really good one, go with survivor.
    Date published: 2012-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leave my horse smelling wonderful This is a fantastic 'healthy' alternative to show-sheen and it gives you the shine without the silicone. Although you have to reapply this more often than show-sheen (I usually put show-sheen on my horse once a week, this I apply 2-3 times). And it leaves your horse with a natural soft rather than slick. I just love the smell too.
    Date published: 2012-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Coat Conditioner That Leaves Them Glowing I like to use a coat conditioner on my mare after every bath, but don't want to use a silicone-based product on a regular basis due to concerns over its long-term effects on hair health. While I still use Show Sheen for our pre-show baths due to its unmatched shine power, I chose Avocado Mist as my regular after-bath conditioner since it is silicone-free and contains many coat-beneficial ingredients. It's best used as an after-bath coat conditioner; it leaves her silky soft and glowing, and helps repel stains. After bathing, I scrape off the excess water then spray her mane, tail and coat (avoiding the saddle area). Because she tends to have a fine, thin mane and tail, I then apply Eqyss Mega-Tek Rebuilder to strengthen and help them stay long and luxurious. Once she dries I brush everything out. For a detangler on dry hair I find it's better to use Eqyss Survivor. In winter, I use Avocado Mist to spritz her coat before blanketing to eliminate static electricity, and when bathing is on hold due to weather, I spray her tail down once a week and because it isn’t slippery, I can easily rebraid and bag it. It’s a great product I depend on year-round.
    Date published: 2011-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Mane & Tail I have been using Advocado Mist for several years and my horse's black mane and tail are healthy and shiny. In the summer it also helps prevent the sun from bleaching out the color. An added bonus is - it smells great!!
    Date published: 2011-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for my needs My primary use for this product is for the anti-static qualities it produces. Better than anything else I've tried on the horse including dryer sheets themselves and because it's oil and silicone free, I can use it often. Even the white spots on my horse are shiny.
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice product i really like the line of EQyss products. but its not for everyones budgets:(i would like the prices to go down but it works well on my dutch warmbloods hair .......so its a great product for people that like the "all natural product!" ya im that way so i saport it 100%GO SMARTPAK!!
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from OK I'm a fan of EQyss products, but haven't really used this one as much. It's not cheap (of course) and it just didn't seem to do that much for the buck. I really like the marigold spray.
    Date published: 2010-10-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from DISAPPOINTED This product was recommended to keep my mare's mane and tail from getting dry and brittle and rubbing out. Smells good but was very disappointing as it made the hair very sticky and look dull. Now I have a bottle of product I won't use.
    Date published: 2010-08-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth it I was very disappointed in this product. The only reason why I paid the high price of this spray was because of the amazing quality of all the other EQYSS products. However, this spray did nothing for my horse's tail or coat. It did not help with detangling at all and it made his tail feel grimy and sticky after I used it. I continued to use it anyway, hoping that I might see some improvement, but nothing happened.
    Date published: 2010-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum This stuff smells delicious, and really does the job too! Helps keep dry coats and tails moisturized. I like all of the EQYSS products!
    Date published: 2010-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Conditioning Spray I love to use this product on my geldings coat, mane and tail. Adds shine, smells great, and helps remove tangles.
    Date published: 2010-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Thing EVER! I use this on a daily basis after i wash/bathe my horse after I ride. I used to feel bad about drying out her skin but the Avocado Mist hydrates her coat and makes her look fantastic! She always has a sleek, shiny coat and I get compliments on how good she smells! Perfect product for someone who shows and bathes frequently! I love it!
    Date published: 2010-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from simply in love I have ordered Megatek, again. In addition to that I ordered the creme rinse, and avocado mist and shampoo. My entire family is using it including my 2 year old American Bulldog. I don't even have to purchase dog shampoo anymore. Thanks Smart Pak! You're delivery timeframe is spectacular as well. This is the X-mas season and I still received my products within days. Kudos to you Smart Pak. I'm a fan for life.
    Date published: 2010-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great conditioner I have used just about every shine/conditioner and the EQYSS AVACADO MIST is one of the best.It does a great job on manes and tails .It also leaves my black beauty glowing.Its not sticky and it smells great .The first time I used it on my horse he kept wanting to lick the spary bottle.
    Date published: 2009-12-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sorry I bought it! Bought as a conditioner and detangler for my horses tail. Did not work as a detangler and made the tail gunky and heavy.
    Date published: 2009-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Barn favorite I love this stuff. It is a bit pricy but love the way it makes my horses mane and tail feel (natural and healthy). It especially great to use when the hair is dry, frizzy and brittle. Helps tame over the mane and smells great!
    Date published: 2009-10-22
    • 2016-02-09T14:44CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_47
    • loc_en_US, sid_5092, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.