Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

EquiSect Fly Repellent

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #14037
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Unique active ingredient approved by both the EPA and OMRI. EquiSect Fly Repellent repels and kills horn, stable, house, horse and deer flys as well as mosquitoes, lice and gnats on horses and ponies. Controls fleas and ticks on cats and dogs. EquiSect Fly Repellent is guaranteed to provide better results than any other popular natural repellent product. 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

View Product Label

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    EquiSect Fly Repellent is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 65.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not For My Horse My horse is esp bothered by flies but is allergic to flysprays with heavy chemicals, which is why I bought it. It didn't last very long & I wouldn't buy it again.
    Date published: 2011-11-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from good price but didn't work This only lasted about two hours when I used it, I would have to constantly have to spray my horses throughout the day it's a good price but not worth it as it just doesn't keep the flys away for long
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Fly Spray I absolutely LOVE this fly spray. It smells great - like fresh squeezed lemons. I've never had a problem with flies when using it, as compared to other brands of fly sprays. The price is great and it is safe for you, your horse, and the enviorment.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Fly Spray! My favorite fly spray; by far. It smells great, seems gentle, and works well! It does a pretty good job at repelling flies but I've found it doesn't repel as long as more heavy duty sprays. I don't, however, need or like a spray that lasts super long. This spray fits my needs and I will continue to use it for a very long time. Also adds some shine!
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great! Love this flyspray. My horse has reactions to alot of flysprays BUT not this one. It is great. I can use it everyday and it seems to keep most bugs away.
    Date published: 2011-07-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Equisect Fly Repellant Unfortunately, the horse needs to 'literally' have a bath in this product to be effective at all. Also, the effects are short lived. This products is not suited for the biting flies or mosquitoes.
    Date published: 2011-07-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works For Only a Few Minutes I bought this product for my sensitive mare who reacted to just about anything chemical. Although this fly spray did not cause any sort of reaction, it also only kept the flies off for about 10-15 minutes before they were back on her again. I finally spot-tested Pyranha fly spray and she had no reaction to that, and it worked. I realize that natural fly sprays aren't going to work as well as chemical fly sprays--but I certainly expected more from this spray then what I got out of it. I used two different bottles, in case the one was a bad batch, and still got the same result. Definitely would not recommend this spray. I would go for Pyranha's natural fly spray next time I need something natural.
    Date published: 2011-07-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Something natural that actually works Great natural product that actually keeps the flies off. Has a nice smell, and does not make the horses coat greasy.
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fly repellent I have used this product in the past and am very happy with it.
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice natural alternative Equisect Fly Repellent is a nice alternative to other chemical sprays. It does seem to repel the bugs longer than other sprays without the patented ingredient. The horseflies in our area have been relentless this year and this repellent helps, although you need to reapply it frequently if working at prime bug time during the day.
    Date published: 2011-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Safe Product Ingredients are natural and safe. Provides decent protection, as good or better than many products. Not the best for heavy fly days, but I'm not afraid to have overspray drift onto my own skin.
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy Horse I really like this fly spray because it doesn't have the strong chemicals and their smells like some of its competitors. My horse has sensative skin and it doesn't seem to bother him; works well to keep him happy and fly free.
    Date published: 2011-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Spray Ever!!! I purchased this fly spray for the first time this May. With all the insects that new england brings this fly spray repels them all. My horse is out for about 7 hours a day, while the other horses are being pestered by the bugs, my horse hasnt had any bites and doesnt get stressed out. I also love how it doesnt have any harsh chemicals or a strong smell I reccomend this product to everyone!
    Date published: 2011-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly spray!! I love this spray. It is all natural which is great to know that your not putting all of these chemicals on your horse. I have a dark mare and the flies just love her. When I got this they stayed away when riding and for turnout. Shes out all day so this was awesome. And at such a great price! Its worked the best out of all the fly sprays I've tried. I will definitely be buying again.
    Date published: 2011-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best organic flyspray Have tried many natural and organic choices, this one works as well as any of the chemical sprays and works better than any of the other natural sprays. I use it for both turn-out and trail riding and combine it with a Cashell flymask with ears for complete protection. It is OMRI listed, meaning it is approved for certified organic farm use.
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good fly spray I wish that I could use something stronger but my horse broke out in bumps when I sprayed him with Tri-tec. I like that Equisect is all natural. It has a pleasant odor and lasts just fine through a 2 or 3 hour ride. It's only OK for turnout but the flies have been exceptionally nasty this year. I like that I can use it on my dog too.
    Date published: 2010-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe and effective We've used Equisect since it was first introduced, and we've been very happy with it. It is safe and effective, and smells good.
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good ! Doesn't have an obnoxious smell, and it seems to work well on the pesty face flies. Reasonably priced, I'd buy again.
    Date published: 2010-07-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from doesn't work for me this is a great idea - i'm all for green and natural but this did nothing to deter the green head flys, or the biting black flies. I was very disappointed.
    Date published: 2010-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite! This is by far my favorite fly/mosquito spray. I have tried everything - and I mean everything. I have one horse that generally doesn't like fly spray, but will stand for this. I do have to spray my horses daily, but even with the sprays that claim to work longer I was spraying daily. I also like that it doesn't smell like chemicals and I can use it on the dogs ears.
    Date published: 2010-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Really like this fly spray. It is strong enough that it lasts for days, and I don't have to keep reapplying harsh chemicals to my horses. Has a pleasant smell as well!
    Date published: 2010-07-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Natural Product Keeps the bugs off, smells great, and doesn't have that "toxic" feel that many of the other bug sprays do. Isn't as effective on the big bombers or biting greenheads as the longer-duration traditional sprays (but what product really is?), but is a really good product which I would purchase again.
    Date published: 2010-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! This fly spray works great! My horse gets attacked by flies and would come in with blood all over his legs from the flys biting him, ever since I've been using this spray the bugs don't come near him! This is a great product at a great price!
    Date published: 2010-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Natural Fly Spray I was on a quest to find a natural fly spray that actually worked for more than 5 minutes and my horse didn't develop hives from. I decided to try Equisect and am so glad I did. This smells nice, is all natural and actually works. I took my horse out in the bug infested park with this and she didn't get attacked at all. Her trail companion wearing a regular fly spray was attacked without mercy. I've repurchased this several times and will continue to do so.
    Date published: 2010-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not stinky Doesn't appear to be as toxic as other fly sprays, which means that the spray doesn't stink but the flies aren't exactly dropping dead on contact, either. It's decent and I would recommend it because it's not bad for my horse or the environment.
    Date published: 2010-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice I just received this 2 days ago and I love it already.I gave my horse a bath and put this on afterwords and it worked great, a fly came towards him and flew away.. It even chased off a bee that was bothering him. I definitely love this product.
    Date published: 2010-05-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good so far this is working very well but its still early in the spring ;D smells good too
    Date published: 2010-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actually works! As a "green" fly repellent, I was dubious about whether it would actually work, but have been pleasantly surprised at it's effectiveness! I re-apply daily, and appreciate the fact that I don't feel like I'm slowly killing myself every time I do. Seems to do a decent job keeping everything but the biggest horseflies away (but few repellents do anything against those guys!). I used to swear by Tri-Tec, but this is now my fly spray of choice.
    Date published: 2010-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly repellent on the market!! After years of trying just about every product out there, I have finally found a spray I feel not only works but is safe for my horse. The combination of natural ingredients works very well on my very sensitive TB who is normally tormented by flies and other insects. I use it while he's out to pasture as well as on the trail. I have found EquiSect to be the most effective as well as long lasting and a great value compared to other, more expensive and less effective products. I also like that my horse isn't doused in chemicals - and it doesn't cause his dark bay coat to fade!
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked well Got the first bottle of this as a free sample with my feed-through, and reordered another bottle for the rest of the season. Has worked very well - especially for gnats. Smells odd at first, but I like the natural ingredients instead of more oily chemicals. We will continue to use this product and recommend it for turn-out as well as stabled horses.
    Date published: 2009-09-24
    • 2015-05-27T09:53CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_57
    • loc_en_US, sid_4037, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.