Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

EquiFit ShouldersBack Lite

- Item #16744
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A summerweight version of the original ShouldersBack!

ShouldersBack Lite gently pulls, aligns, and holds your shoulders into the “correct” position, training your mind and muscles to keep a taller stance even after you slip it off -- just like the popular original.

Favorite Features

  • Made from PowerMesh it is a soft sheer variation on the original
  • Lightweight and flexible
  • 100% elastic construction with VELCRO® closure ensures complete freedom of movement

Hand wash, line dry.
Made in the USA

Sizing It Up

Measure the circumference of the rib cage just below the chest for size.
Small (Child up to 24”)
Medium (Adult and Adolescent up to 38”)
Large (up to 50”)

Customers Also Shopped For
Clinically demonstrated to promote relaxation and improve back ...
Clinically demonstrated to promote relaxation and improve back flexibility, theSoft and pliable Equilibrium Massage Pad is designed to provide effective, easy to use, affordable therapy for horses and ponies. Each massage session lasts for 30 minutes, using strokes, vibrations and ...
An All-Purpose, water-resistant boot that is durable enough ...
An All-Purpose, water-resistant boot that is durable enough to withstand everyday use without compromising flexibility. Favorite Features Features a breathable VenTECH lining which promotes air flow to the horse's leg Water resistant exterior Recessed stitching and an extra-strong PVC padded ...
A fly mask that lasts! Textilene is a ...
A fly mask that lasts! Textilene is a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable enough to withstand outdoor use. The densely woven PVC strands enable this fabric to be heat-sealed while the high UV performance ensuresProtection and long lasting ...
Why We Love ThisThe EquiFit T-Sport Wraps help ...
Why We Love ThisThe EquiFit T-Sport Wraps help to transfer out heat and keep your horse's legs cool while at work. Made of composite materials combining open-celled, non-latex foam with high-quality fabrics. This unique combination was developed for certified athletic ...
The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Bell Boots provides ...
The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Bell Boots provides ultimateProtection with a reinforced Pro Mesh strike area. Pro Mesh material is rip-stop, durable, and will not hold water. UltraShock lining absorbs shock andProtects the vital areas of the hoof while theSoft, ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


EquiFit ShouldersBack Lite is rated 4.121212121212121 out of 5 by 66.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works! From other reviews I was afraid it would rub under my arms. I think it will IF you don't keep your shoulders back. Which is the point right? It definitely improves posture and I can tell it is forcing me to use the muscles I wasn't with the rolled shoulders. I think ultimately it will make my back stronger. May think about getting one to use at the computer.
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really helps with posture as well as shoulders while riding
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love it Has really helped me with my slouching! Makes you aware and really helps you put your shoulders where they need to be! It does rub a little in the arm pit area but nothing a fleece sleeve won't help!
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I bought a Medium because of the measurements given. However it does not go down far enough on my back and the mesh doesn't go far enough around my torso. Customer Service said they did not think a Large would have more material. I will try it for a few more weeks, but I have not noticed a difference yet so I can't finish the survey. I'll rate it again in a month.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A total failure for scoliosis I have scoliosis, which leads to my right shoulder being lower than my left and my head dropping forward while I walk. I bought this product about a month ago hoping it would help straighten my head and shoulders. I walked using it a few times and found it ineffective. I believe it's overpriced for a small amount of material. To be fair, it may work for equestrians. For my purposes it's a total waste of money.
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fits great but smelly After looking at so many reviews on similar braces, this product by far seemed to be one of those with the fewest complaints for being uncomfortable. Unfortunately I have not been able to do more than try mine on briefly because of the perfumey chemical smell emanating from it really bothers me. I have tried soaking in borax and unscented detergent and am hanging it outside everyday so hopefully the odor will fade. Not much luck so far.I bought one for myself and one for my hubby. He's sensitive to chemical odors and perfumes too and doesn't even want to bother because he thinks the smell is so offensive, so I will be sending that one back. If you are sensitive to chemical/perfume don't bother buying this. If your sense of smell has been deadened from air fresheners, perfumes and scented dryer sheets etc. you probably won't notice anything. Beyond that customer service was great.
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too hard to wear and adjust. I am in the process of sending this item back. It did not work for me.
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful product I bought this for motorcycle riding to give me some shoulder support. After about an hour of riding I would get tension across my shoulders but the Equifit ShouldersBack helped that and extended my ride with less tension but does not eliminate the tension. Glad I bought it.
Date published: 2014-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Useful Rider Training Aid My grandmother fussed at me for slouching as a child, now my instructor fusses at me for slouching as an adult! The ShouldersBack has been a useful training aid for myself to assist in creating new (better) habits!
Date published: 2014-05-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just o.k. I have worn this a few times and don't really like it.  The straps do cut into your arms even with a shirt under it.  I think this is partly caused by the velcro that is used, there is no padding on it or finished edges, andy by the way it is constructed.  The straps get pulled toward the center of your body causing it to cut into your arms.  If the back were put together differently it could pull the straps more away from the center of your body and sit on the front part of your shoulder.  I think this would also make it more effective in pulling your shoulders back.  I'm going to see if I can take it apart and sew it together better and put some padding on the straps.  If that doesn't work I will make my own.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! LOVE IT! Purchased this for my daughter after months of begging to get it. Now that she has it, she wears it everytime she rides. It definitely does what it's designed to do; it prevents her from letting her shoulders come forward when her & her horse are jumping! Not to mention, it has even improved her posture OFF her horse! That makes me one happy Momma!
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product! I have bought 3 of these and they always end up disappearing, i think my barn mates are taking them! Great product, it really does help get your shoulders back.However, a little disappointed with the sizing. Don't order a small if you're an adult. I'm 5'3" about 100lbs and ordered what i thought was an adult small, nope, its a child's size. it does fit me but if you're an average adult order a medium. I called SmartPak and Liz told me if it doesn't ft just send it back and they'll send me a medium.I can always depend on SmartPak, they have the best customer service!
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You will enjoy....!! Best purchase I made! I have been told not to get this because they did not see the value of it. I first started noticing that I needed to keep my shoulders back with riding but I even found myself needing it at work. And it wasn't that I REALLY wasn't putting my shoulders back but that I was putting them back WRONG! INSTANT RELIEF of back pain! I was so glad that I got this! I gradually worked myself to wearing it 6 hours a day so far to get my muscles use to it and hopefully train them to not need it soon! Really helped correcting it though. Would recommend wearing a t-shirt underneath it!
Date published: 2013-03-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Comfortable for Riding I tried wearing this over my shirt once while riding (it was a 1 hour jumping lesson) and I did think it helped keep my shoulders back, however, it rubbed my underarms raw. I still use it occasionally when I'm sitting at my desk to remind me not to slouch, but it's not comfortable enough for moving around in.
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful for a desk jockey like me! I spend most of my time hunched over a computer at work. This has led to a general decline in my posture, which unfortunately carries over into my riding - basically, I've developed the bad habit of rounding my shoulders forward, and it actually hurts to roll them back and down. On a friend's advice, I bought the shouldersback lite, to help correct my posture at work and thus correct my riding posture. I'm glad I got it. When I am wearing it, it serves as a constant "reminder" to correct my posture. I don't know how people can ride in it, given it does intentionally inhibit your range of motion which i think would be uncomfortable in the saddle, but to each his/her own! Be sure to gradually adjust the length of time you are wearing it and the traction applied to your shoulders as too much too soon can make you very sore! Also, it is not meant to be worn next to the skin and will chafe. I wear it over a very thin t-shirt and under the rest of my clothes, and it is invisible. Granted, it is winter here in Ohio so we are all bundled up against the cold...so I may have to rethink the layer idea come summertime!
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An okay buy. While this does help with my posture problem, the fit to the armpits does hurt. If I where it on top of a shirt it is better, however I would like to wear it under my clothes so that I can wear it more often.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Always Ride With It! I wear this gadget nearly every time I ride, especially when I'm jumping. I have a terrible tendency to round my shoulders over a fence. My ShouldersBack does help, but I think you also have to be conscious of your position. I wish it were a bit more rigid to perfect my posture even more.I've washed and even dried this thing; it's really durable. I did have to trim the straps because they were too long. And I do wish I had ordered the black version. The velcro straps absorb all sorts of animal hairs! Yay.
Date published: 2012-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Eh... The overall quality of this product is excellent. Maybe I should have gotten a size smaller? I was expecting more of a forced action to keep my shoulders back. I felt like i could still still round if I wanted to. The material is lightweight and comfy! I would recommend this product, but be careful of the size you buy.
Date published: 2012-08-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Useful but itchy I bought this because i work at a computer all day and find it really hard to keep my shoulders back. I got it in white to keep me cooler during the hot summers. It does it's job, but it's not a miracle worker by any means. Defiantly need to wear it over a shirt to itchy to wear next to the skin. I would never buy the regular one. Get the lite version even for winter use since you need a camisole on under it anyway. The lite is pretty breathable and when I ride I forget it's on, which I feel like it should be pulling more on my shoulders. It does adjust under the bust and across the shoulders, but it can only do so much. Perfect practice makes perfect not artificial aides. I have hand washed it a bunch since its white it shows all the dirt so far it holds up well to hand washing. I think it's a little expensive for what it does and the comfort level.
Date published: 2012-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great help for hunter princess this item is just like advertised. it really helps rider's posture & imperceptible under a jacket. it's a little lighter for summer shows. we've run it through the washing machine and it was fine (rider does still sweat!)
Date published: 2012-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very helpful it's not a substitute for being fit, but it really does help! the best thing is that my shoulders are back, my posture is better, without forcing it to happen, so my muscles are relaxed, as they would be if i were simply more fit or naturally upright. definitely helps learn the "muscle memory", and without it, i can more easily relax into a better posture. i do wear it over a thin undershirt, and it feels fine. was a little awkward to put on the first time, but then i got the hang of it, and it's easy. the label goes on the outside, which might confuse some at first. i think it's great, and am glad i got it.
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wise Buy! With 3 thoracic compression fractures and from the advice of my physical therapist, I purchased this item for the purpose of helping to improve my posture. This support helps to remind me to stand up straight and roll my shoulders back, thus helping to relieve some of my pain. As recommended in other reviews, I must wear this over a light T-shirt to avoid the straps rubbing on my shoulders. Hopefully, I will be back in the saddle soon.
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders I have osteoprosis and the shoulders back really gives me the help to keep my shoulders in a better position when riding and I very often wear it even when I am not riding.
Date published: 2012-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy I've tried another version of this product and found it uncomfortable. This lightweight version is easier to convince myself to wear. Easy to adjust and apply.
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Price I agree with the prior positive reviews of this item.It is now a part of my everyday riding gear. For this reason, I don't think the price is too bad for something that works. I am a tall adult with a thin frame, and I found the only minus to be the lack of velcro (it should have more). After positioning the straps- I had extra material left over that doesn't stay as flat as it should. With the colder weather, I found a silk shirt works perfectly underneath it.
Date published: 2011-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Help for Posture The shoulders back really has made a difference for me. It does not force your shoulders back; it simply helps create new, healthier muscle memory.
Date published: 2011-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight and WORKS! Was not really sure how this product would work but I decided to give it a try and was pleasantly suprised! It really does remind you to keep your shoulders back and it is so lightweight that you can easily wear it under shirts comfortably. Would recommend if you have an issue with rounding your back and hunching your shoulders. This gentle reminder will help.
Date published: 2011-09-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed feelings This product will definately change the position of your shoulders. I would give a word of caution to the adults like myself out there...you know whose shoulders may be tight due to stresses over the years....I put it on the first day and pulled it nice and tight and man, did it work...only it caused me to overcompensate and I pulled a muscle in my back pretty good! User error though not the product, be smarter than myself!! The material is a little scratchy, as other reviews have stated, given the price point of the product and all the "equifit technology" this was a little disappointing. That being said the product does definately work...though pricey.
Date published: 2011-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good purchase Just received the shoulders back but could feel a difference on the first ride. My trainer also felt it made a difference in my posture.
Date published: 2011-08-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SHOULDER BRACE Difficult to put on. Straps roll very easily. Not really too impressed. I suppose it will do the job.
Date published: 2011-08-16
  • 2016-10-26T13:17CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_6744, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders