Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

EquiFit ShouldersBack

EquiFit
- Item #12360
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

ShouldersBack is the only product like it on the market! Designed for the equestrian, ShouldersBack is an all-elastic garment that helps you attain proper equitation in a safe and comfortable manner.

Favorite Features

  • Researched and developed by a leading orthopedic supply team.
  • Gently pulls, aligns, and holds your shoulders into the "correct" position.
  • The more you slouch, the greater the pull, detering poor posture.
  • 100% elastic construction ensures you the complete freedom of movement to cope with any unforeseen events.
  • In addition to riding, can be worn while working, driving, etc.
  • Recommend wearing over a thin layer

Imported. 

Sizing It Up 

To get your size: Measure the circumference of your rib cage just below your chest.
Sizes: Child (up to 24"), Adult/Adolescent (Up to 38"), Large (38"+).

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    EquiFit ShouldersBack is rated 4.3617 out of 5 by 47.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Posture rehabilitator! I've fought with my posture for years and as I age it gets more difficult to maintain correct posture for day to day activities and more so for riding. This product aligns your shoulders so that your shoulder blades are flat against you back and your are in correct posture. I wear it around the house and I can tell a difference in my posture when I take it off. It's easier to stand straight. I'm more aware of correct posture now. My husband was so impressed that I had to buy one for him too. Immediately his coworkers noticed the difference in his posture. It takes a while to get used to it when riding but that only tells me how bad my posture was before wearing it.
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Work in Progress I bought the nude-colored "lite" version in a large because I have developed a bad habit of rounding my shoulders at the computer and it's affecting my riding, especially the sitting trot. (The large straps are quite long and I'll need to cut them off.) The "Shoulders Back" device works to remind rather than force. It's minimally intrusive. Having said that, the "invisibility" of it creates some problems already noted in other reviews: the straps over the shoulders are thin, narrow and dig into your arms; the Velcro attachments that adjust the length of the straps are flimsy. For instance, a little soft padding that one could attach at strategic points near one's arm area would be very helpful.
    Date published: 2013-08-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I put it on over a t-shirt and didn't think it was worth the price. The material felt cheap and the velcro is on small sections at the end of the straps. I returned the item with no hassle.
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product If you have a rider that needs that extra look thisit. If you try it you won't forget it.
    Date published: 2013-04-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Useless Shoulder Back I did not find this brace any help at all:It is awkward to put onIt will rub on the front of your shouldersStraps will slide of your shoulders if not very tightTake a deep breath - pull your shoulders upthen breathe out slowly and roll your shoulders back and down.This works better!!Try some Yoga instead with your riding
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Equitation Miracle I'd been out of riding for about 2 years, and my tendency to round my shoulders (I'm the tall and lanky kind) has gotten even worse now that I'm back in the saddle. I knew I needed some aid in order to help build the correct muscles needed to sit tall on my own, and a friend recommended this product to me. What a device! I wear it every day for a few hours, on or off the horse, and afterwards there is visible improvement. It's like having your own personal chiropractor - as my muscles relax, my back cracks - it's wonderful!If you do decide to buy it, though, be prepared to wear a t-shirt under it, as you won't want to wear it directly on the skin. Wearing two shirts is lighter than show clothes though, so it's not usually a problem!
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent I actually purchased this because I have an extremely weak right shoulder due to scar tissue. I have constant pain, but I have found that while wearing the Shoulders-back nearly all of my pain is alleviated. It's helped improve my balance in the saddle and during weight training as well. Can't say enough good things about it! You do need to wear it on top of a base layer as it will cause chaffing on the skin. I've also found that I can only wear it about 6-7 hours at a time. Totally worth the money. Great device to help you improve your posture!
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase As an "older equestrian", the Equifit shoulders back garment helps with improving my posture when riding as well as when I'm working on the computer. It doesn't "force" your shoulders into the correct position automatically, but helps "remind" you what good posture feels like. As a result, it has helped reduce shoulder pain overall and assists in improving my seat and balance when on my horse. Thanks!
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped me regain my posture I tore my rotator cuffs a few months ago, and even after physical therapy my shoulder stayed kind of caved in. I bought this in hopes it would "train" my shoulder to be in the right position. I started wearing it around the house, and noticed a change in my posture after just a few uses (30 minutes at a time, while I did household chores). I then started riding in it, and my posture improved and my shoulders were no longer making me unbalanced.
    Date published: 2012-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ShouldersBack This really works! It keeps my shoulders back and my trainer is saying less and less about my position. The stitching on one of the velcro straps did come up, but my mom easily sewed it back down. It might have been my own fault, though.
    Date published: 2012-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product but needs to be changed to make it more comfortable especially by the underarms as it gets a bit sore even with a shhrt underneath. I do like the way it helps my upper body but i felt that if i used it every day by underarms would get chaffed
    Date published: 2012-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool to help ride with shoulders back,head up.
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shoulders Back I recently purchased your Shoulders Back - I love it and have recommended it to everyone I know. I wear it riding, driving, working on my ranch. I haven't had any chafing at all, it's very comfortable. I can't imagine anything happening to it because it's very well made - but if something did I would immediately order another. It's so worth the price and has made my life so much easier and pain free.
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from shoulders back I purchased this item actually not for riding but to help correct my habit of slumping my shoulders while on the computer, desk, etc. which a lot of times would end not only sore shoulders/neck but a headache. It does work. My only suggestion is the way it cuts under the arms. I first purchased a youth/adult, then the large because it cut under my arms, but went back to the youth/adult because there was no difference in the width of the back between the straps so they both cut equally sharp under my arms. The difference in size was just the band length. It definitely works, but personally I think it would annoy me while riding.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Schooling I've been using a Shoulder's Back for years and always recommend them to people who may have trouble maintaining good posture, and who tend to ride more on their own than in lessons. Its a great reminder to lift your chest.Do wear it over at least a short sleeve shirt. I used to wear it under my shirt and it caused rub marks in my armpit area. Also if you tend to have bad posture all the time I recommend wearing all day for several days.
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy :) I really love this, but you have to wear it over a tshirt or else you'll get rubs.
    Date published: 2011-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Can Really Feel The Difference! My trainer is always telling me to keep my shoulders back, so this seemed like an obvious purchase. Ever since I bought it my trainer has complained about my position less and less and I can really feel the difference. The only negative is that the material rubs the skin so you have to wear it over you shirt.
    Date published: 2010-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product When I first received the Shoulders Back in the mail my initial impression was "Oh I just spent nearly $50 on some material and strips of velcro". However, after riding in it, my view totally changed and it was soooo worth the money.Both my trainers remarked what a huge difference it made to my upper body in terms of my shoulders not being rounding and as a result opening up my upper body. It has also hugely helped to reduce my shoulder and back pain.Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2010-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from You Don't Have to Be A Rider to Appreciate ShouldersBack has helped alleviate my upper back pain both on and off the horse. It's really improved my posture and helped me build muscle memory to be able to maintain it without wearing the brace. My only complaint is that it chafes under my arms, so you have to wear an undershirt with it. With the summer heat, I've had to devise another solution. Cut the toes off a pair of bobby socks and stick the straps of the ShouldersBack through the "sock tube" and adjust the socks from there. Adds some bulk but really helps.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A winner!! My first lesson while wearing my EquiFit was the first lesson I didn't hear, "Shoulder's back," constantly. It doesn't replace good technique, nor can it make a bad rider good, but it can make a good rider better. I found out that my trainer even uses one once in a while for herself... Since I spend so much on aids for my horse, it makes sense to spend a little on aids for myself!
    Date published: 2010-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase I bought my first 1 back brace 5 years ago and it wore out. It helps me get in shape for equitation classes, since i mostly ride the hunter classes.
    Date published: 2010-02-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from a must have for shoulder pain I measured myself and bought the youth/adult. Had to send for the bigger one, but opted to keep the smaller one, because there was not enough tension on the big one. The first 10 min were very painful. I kept it on for two hours and the relieve was immense. The next day my headache was gone and I stood straight. . The next day my headache was gone and I stood straight. I wear it now on a regular basis, when I drive the bus. I have to agree the straps cut in the armpit, but I think I can alter it by putting the straps of an old bask bag under them.
    Date published: 2010-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a wonder trainer i used it everyday when i got it but due to my degree of scoliosis i can't.but soon i am having i will use it after surgery recovering from it and when i finally get back into the saddle i will use it.
    Date published: 2010-01-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Idea, But Needs Improvement This product really helps keep those shoulders back, while not interfering with your bra. However, after two rides, I had significant schafing from the edges of the shoulder straps. A padded strap made of a softer fabric would really help, since this is something that should be used daily for some time.
    Date published: 2009-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No More Back Pain A few years ago, I had back pain from riding my green horse, an Arab who was 4 at the time, and I wore this product all the time, including school and riding, and my back felt so much better. However, this product caused rubbing on the inside of my arms that was uncomftorable when I had to move my arms a lot, like when I was jumping or in gym class.
    Date published: 2009-11-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product I purchased shoulders back due to a neck and shoulder injury setting my posture off. It has been very helpful in and out of the saddle!! The arm straps do chafe and can leave me with soreness under my arms - aside from that - I think the product is very good!
    Date published: 2009-11-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Flat Work Posture Fit well, and kept shoulders back. Did hamper release on jumps. Would recommend wearing for flat work, but not for jumping bigger jumps.
    Date published: 2009-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Upper back back brace Whoever designed this had women in mind. It allows maximum support for middle and upperback without interfering with your bra.
    Date published: 2009-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I work at my computer all day. I felt like I needed something to give my back a little more support. I've worn it while I'm working and my back feels much better and I sit up much straighter.
    Date published: 2009-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! I bought the EquiFit Shoulders Back as I am recently retired. With many years at a desk, and now wanting to get back into the show ring, my shoulders were stooped a bit. This product did the trick, and helped my body position in the saddle, so that I sat in the saddle much better. I'm also wearing it around the house from time to time to remember to keep my shoulders back. Showring, here I come!!
    Date published: 2009-08-12
    • 2015-08-26T12:51CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_41
    • loc_en_US, sid_2360, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.