Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Effol Hoof Oil

Schweizer-Effax GmbH
- Item #15373
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Caring, nourishing ingredients guarantee ideal, all-round protection for healthy hooves. Promotes the elasticity of the hoof horn and makes even soft hooves very robust. Effol hoof oil is absorbed very quickly and gives a long-lasting shine.

Made in Germany

Favorite Features

  • The practical brush-tin ensures economy of use as well as clean and safe storage.
  • Contains: lanolin, laurel oil, thyme.

Sizing

475ml with brush.
What Customers Say:

Ingredients

DESTILLATES (PETROLEUM) HYDROTREATED LIGHT PARAFFINIC, LANOLIN, LAURUS NOBILIS FRUIT OIL, LAVANDULA ANGUSTIFOLIA (LAVENDER) OIL, THYMOL
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Keratex Hoof Hardener strengthens weak, worn and cracked ...
    Description:
    "Keratex Hoof Hardener strengthens weak, worn and cracked hooves by improving the molecular structure of the horn itself. The gentle acting chemical formulation forms additional intermolecular bonds between molecules of keratin through the process of cross-linking, producing a tougher, stronger ...
    "Hawthorne's Sole Packs are just the fix for ...
    Description:
    "Hawthorne's Sole Packs are just the fix for those tough-to-maintain hooves. Hawthorne's Sole Pack offers pain relief and fast healing of bruises, maintaining proper moisture levels and combating thrush. Hawthorne's Sole Packs are in extremely convenient single-use ""paddies"" you'll want ...
    "Do your horse's legs suffer from constant wet, ...
    Description:
    "Do your horse's legs suffer from constant wet, muddy conditions? Keratex Mud Shield Powder is the answer! Keratex Mud Shield Powder is a unique waterproofing and disinfecting powder that assists the horse’s natural defenses against mud and water. Apply daily ...
    "EquiFits newly introduced custom-fit, Hoof Savers provide cushioned ...
    Description:
    "EquiFits newly introduced custom-fit, Hoof Savers provide cushioned protection to your horse's hooves. Constructed using EVA Foam technology similar to that used in the running shoe industry, the pads offer pain relief to laminitic and sore-footed horses and protection to ...
    "The Original Mane 'n Tail Hoofmaker is an ...
    Description:
    "The Original Mane 'n Tail Hoofmaker is an exclusive protein enriched formula developed to maintain strong yet flexible hooves.- Deep moisturizing formula helps reduce dry and brittle hooves- Protein enriched formula conditions the entire hoof surface including coronary band, walls, ...
    "It's finally time to say goodbye to the ...
    Description:
    "It's finally time to say goodbye to the duck tape, diapers, individual ingredients etc. you keep spending both time and money. Rebound Hoof Pack® is a potent, super sticky hoof pack formulated to draw pain, soreness and inflammation out of ...
    "A unique dual-action formula that first penetrates new ...
    Description:
    "A unique dual-action formula that first penetrates new leather and progressively darkens light colored leather, and, secondly, the unique oil formulation helps protect new leather and ensure that mud and sweat can be removed with cold water."

    Reviews

    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Effol Hoof Oil is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 33.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I use this product since a few months and the hoofs are so much better now! I love it!
    Date published: 2016-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Been using for 3 weeks and can see a huge difference.
    Date published: 2016-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Oil My former farrier in Germany recommended to use Laurel Oil for breaking hooves. I do not have it long enough, but totally trust his judgement. This is the only hoof product I could find that has Laurel oil, and it is imported from Europe!
    Date published: 2015-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Oil I have used their ointment but find it messier. This goes on easy and seems to stay visible longer. My shoer recommended it as well.
    Date published: 2015-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only one to use This is the only hoof oil I use. Florida horses feet are notoriously bad but this really helps keeps them healthy and in good condition. Plus not so sticky as other brands.
    Date published: 2015-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from product worth trying! I've been trying to get my horse's hooves healthy for months! His previous owner kept him in pretty bad conditions so amonia from the stall had eaten his hooves and he even had a long vertical crack in one of the back hooves. This product was recommended by the stable owner where I have him boarded and his farrier and the difference it made was noticeable almost immediately. I will keep using this product and definitely recommend it!
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super My horses hooves are much easier to clean and take care of since I've been using Effol hoof oil. I like that it's not sticky as some hoof treatments are.
    Date published: 2014-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results!
    Date published: 2014-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff really works! Effol Hoof Oil helps with keeping my mare's feet looking great!
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product! Worked great for my horses dry hooves. He charges from his dry stall to a damp paddock to a dusty arena daily, and this product kept his hooves perfectly moisturized!
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Oil ever! I love this hoof oil and its basically the only hoof oil, I will use on my horses! It has left there feet moisturized and with improvement and growth. Even my mom noticed a difference in how much healthier their feet looked!
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I wish Smartpak carried the gel form.. I am a schmuck for all effol products, but for everyday conditioning of my horses feet I don't prefer it. Now, don't get me wrong I still really like it, I use this stuff for shows and when my horse needs to look red-carpet ready. Although I despise how fast this goes and it seems as though it does not keep my horses hoofs in as good of a condition as their other hoof products. I keep the oil on hand for showing but for everyday use I prefer the gel form, but smartpak does not carrie that form any more and the places that do are getting smaller and smaller and are opting for the oil.
    Date published: 2012-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff! I use this brand for leather care and its the best I have EVER used, so I tried this hoof oil - works well for very dry times and keep my horses hooves looking and feeling good. I liked it so much I bought another now for when I run out!
    Date published: 2011-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff I haven't used many hoof oils for anything other than polish, so this is my first! I bought it at the recommendation of my instructor because my dutch warmblood had dry, brittle hooves. This oil fixed that after only a few applications. Overall, I would recommend it, but I don't know how it compares to other hoof oils! However, the whole effax/effol line is wonderful, so I expected nothing less :)
    Date published: 2011-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I got this hoof oil because my lease horse has very dry and cracked hoofs and i felt bad. One i started using this oil, his hoofs started looking better after a couple of uses!! I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hoof Oil Seems to absorb really well. Makes the hoofs shine! We are in a drought where I live, so trying to keep a lot of moisture in the hooves. I will buy the product again.
    Date published: 2011-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE my Effol Hoof Oil! I've been using the original Effol hoof conditioner for 15 years. Earlier this year, when I saw the Oil form I decided to buy some. It's slightly easier to apply than the waxier conditioner, but doesn't last as long before you have to buy more. Probably, a little more wastage because it runs down the hoof wall, whereas the conditioner stays right where you put it. Also, if it gets knocked over with the lid off, there it goes....the conditioner is pretty much spill proof unless it's 90 degrees in the summer. I save the oil mainly for shows and use the conditioner kind at home. Either way, you can't go wrong with Effol Hoof dressings!
    Date published: 2010-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Hoof Dressing! Very nice hoof oil. Smells great and seems to penetrate nicely! Great in both wet and dry conditions, helps keep foot balanced.
    Date published: 2010-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for dressage shows The Effol hoof oil is great for dressage shows to look finished, without looking like a glass. It is best if you allow it to dry before exposing the hoof to anything.
    Date published: 2010-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hoof oil A friend recommended ths to me and I love it! I'm a big fan of all the Effol products - they're high quality and always get the job done well - whatever the job may be.
    Date published: 2009-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! I love this stuff, I use it a few times a week and my horse's hooves really show it. He went about 8.5 between farrier appts last time because his feet looked perfect, no chips, no cracking, they looked like they had just been trimmed. It also helps after the muddy spring for keeping the heels and frog from get dry and cracked. Great product!
    Date published: 2009-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product! I use this on my gelding who is stallbound while he recovers from surgery. His feet have become so hard and solid from the dryness of the bedding that the farrier was having a difficult time trimming his feet. The Effol gives his feet back their pliability.
    Date published: 2009-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good hoof oil Applies well. Not overly oily or greasy. Leaves hooves with a nice, conditioned look.Perfect sized container fits nicely into grooming box for ring side!
    Date published: 2009-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Gloss & Condition I was really pleased that the Effol Hoof Oil had such a nice shine packed with conditioners. The clear oil is great for my horse with 4 white feet and the size of the can fits perfectly in my grooming tote. It comes with a screw on cap so you can rest assured that this one won't leak en-route to your door!
    Date published: 2007-09-11
    • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_2
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_28
    • loc_en_US, sid_5373, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders