Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Effax Leather Cream Soap

Schweizer-Effax GmbH
- Item #20819
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

AutoShip and Save 5% (Details)

days
You'll save $ per shipment, or $ per year!
(Discounted price will be reflected in your cart)
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Effax Leather Cream Soap cleans and cares for the leather in one single step with no water required! Get great-looking leather that's supple and durable for years to come with this easy and convenient formula.

Made in Germany

Favorite Features

  • Provides a pleasant leather surface with a good grip, without any danger of staining other equipment
  • Flic-Flac bottle design allows you to hang it up in the tack room and makes it easy to apply in just the right dosage
  • Contains high quality ingredients such as soya-kali-soap and lanolin

Sizing

400ml
What Customers Say:

Ingredients

Contains: soya-kali-soap, lanolin
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Don't bring the barn dirt where it doesn't ...
    Description:
    "Don't bring the barn dirt where it doesn't belong! The Fiebing's Boot Scrubber is perfect for use both at home and at the barn. Easily attachable to wood deck or flooring. Simply slide boots back and forth through the bristles ...
    "Bye Bye Odor™ is a safe natural microbial ...
    Description:
    "Bye Bye Odor™ is a safe natural microbial solution specially formulated to eliminate urine and manure odors. Simply spray stalls, trailers, or kennels daily with enough to give the bedding or surface an even misting and within three days or ...
    "Chamberlain's Leather Milk Saddle Washing Soap is a ...
    Description:
    "Chamberlain's Leather Milk Saddle Washing Soap is a natural, water-based me´lange of vital emollients and nutrients created to clean and lightly condition leather saddles and bridles. Recipe No.7 is the perfect recipe to maintain your saddle and tack leather; made ...
    "For equestrians sometimes the most important items to ...
    Description:
    "For equestrians sometimes the most important items to keep clean are also the hardest ones to do so. Hey Foam Active Cleaner is the solution! This fantastic product reliably removes dirt and any perspiration even on parts hard to access. ...
    "Sometimes your regular washing detergent just doesn't cut ...
    Description:
    "Sometimes your regular washing detergent just doesn't cut it when it comes to your riding clothes and gear. HEY Sport Micro Wash cleans all textiles of microfiber without any detrimental effect on the color. Nothing is worse than having your ...
    "Famous English ointment (aka ""goo"") that puts a ...
    Description:
    "Famous English ointment (aka ""goo"") that puts a stop to cribbing, gnawing, and other ""no-no's"". Discourage your horse from cribbing or chewing by applying ointment to the surface."
    "The Large Eye Swivel Tack Hook is a ...
    Description:
    "The Large Eye Swivel Tack Hook is a multi -purpose essential for any tack room! Great for both storage and better yet an easy place to clean your tack. Simply hang bridles, girths etc, and rotate as you clean and ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Effax Leather Cream Soap is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 40.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have at the barn! I first tried this about a month ago after it was recommended to me. I had always conditioned my saddle and never really "cleaned" it. Now I used this after every ride and one a week pair it with my usual conditioner. And they work great together! It also works well on my boots for a quick clean.
    Date published: 2016-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this saddle cleaner I bought this a month ago for my new saddle. So easy to use. Wipe dirt and sweat off with damp cloth. Apply small amount of cleaner conditioner and rub in. Leaves a nice non sticky finish that buffs up nice.
    Date published: 2016-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I've tried a lot of cleaning products over the years. This is the best. Easy to use and leaves tack soft and supple.
    Date published: 2016-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I bought his about a month ago and highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2016-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Cleaner This is my favorite cleaner out of the millions of others I have tried. It's easy to use and a little goes a long way. Not so great at scrubbing old sweaty dirt off but perfect for regular use and wiping down tack after XC. Well worth the $$
    Date published: 2016-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product I was so happy to find this product through a recommendation from a friend. As far as waterless soaps, this is the best product I have ever used. And a little goes a long way. I do, however, still like to condition my saddle and leather after use.
    Date published: 2016-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The cream is super easy to use and effective! We have been using this cream for a month now and love it. It's super easy even my son uses it on the saddle and bridle. I love the feature that it is a squeeze bottle.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Effax! Love all the Effax products! This one has a lid with a hook, so you can pop it on the bottom and hang it from the bridle hook which makes it easier to squeeze out the product and clean. Use this to clean and condition my leather.
    Date published: 2015-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works really well!! This is my second bottle, it lasts and works really well!!
    Date published: 2015-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and convenient for daily use. My must have product for my daily training program to keep boots and tack clean, supply snd sweat free.
    Date published: 2015-07-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really cleans! Wanted something quick to clean tack with after riding. This stuff works great. Dab some on a sponge and wipe away. Does not leave any residue and dries quickly. I may have used a bit more than necessary, but I couldn't read the directions as they are printed in ultra-microscopic print which would have required a trip to the car to fetch my reading glasses and a magnifying glass LOL - hence the four star rating. I will use this in conjunction with the Effax leather cleaner.
    Date published: 2015-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product....the smell, the feel of the leather after using it. I will definitely buy it again.
    Date published: 2015-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells good and works great I use this on my schooling boots and it's kept them in great condition. It cleans and conditions leather really nicely, all in one step. My favorite thing about this soap is the clean smell. The hanging bottle with the flip cap is really convenient in the tack room. The only downfall is it seemed to make my saddle a little slippery, so I mostly use it on my boots and bridle.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A nice option when water isn't available Cleaning tack with water in the freezing winter barn (even hauling the water into the heated tack room) is not very desirable, so this is a nice option to have when it's really cold or I'm in a hurry. I don't feel like it cleans as well as some other products and it does start to build up over time, so I find I do have to still take my tack home once a week and do a really good thorough cleaning.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from awesome polish..but i really love how easily my boots are clean and shiny when most polishes have a matte finish. the only con about this is that my friend used used this also and it rubbed black stains on her grey horse's sides. other than that I love the product!
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works really good Smells great and is easy to use. I will order it again.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy to use! This product is so,easy and quick to use, and does a great job on cleaning my boots after a trip to Laramie River Ranch in Colorado!!
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for black tack I use this on all my tack, but it's great for black tack. Sometimes when I use a heaver conditioner, like Liederbalsm, on black tack it either doesn't soak in or the black bleeds, this solves the problem. Great that you don't need water and love the hanging cap design.
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all in one cleaner and conditioner! I've been using this product for 6 months. Its great for lazy people like me who don't love cleaning tack. Since this product cleans and conditions at the same time I definitely use it more than any of my other tack cleaners. It keeps my saddle, bridle, and tall boots in tip top shape. I try to use this product on my tack about once per week. Then once every 2-4 weeks I use the Effax Lederbasalm to deeply condition. I love the cap on this product. You can attach it to the end of the tube and hang it upside down so its ready to dispense with no drip.
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I love this soap! Super easy to use, leaves all my tack feeling soft supple and clean.
    Date published: 2014-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Nice Keeps my expensive tack looking and feeling great. Doesn't stain soft leather like other products.
    Date published: 2014-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's Effax, what more can I say. Just a great product always.
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy! I live in Central California where conditions are DRY.  Even our winters are dry. Frequent conditioning of tack is necessary as our summer heat dries tack out quickly.   I have my bottle of soap hanging on my bridle rack.  I actually do fill a small bucket of water so that I can rinse the sponge and slightly dilute the soap.  Water isn't necessary, but I find that since I use the soap daily, I don't need very much of it.  I simply dampen my tack sponge, squirt some soap directly on the sponge, and wipe my tack clean.  Once I've finished (a simple 5 minute job), I do take a clean cloth and wipe off any extra product which seems to keep it from building up. My bridles haven't ever been this soft and clean.  Everyone few weeks, I also use a hardier conditioner, but that's even easier to apply as my bridles are extra clean all the time!  
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the soap! The soap cleans leather without making it sticky and leaving white residue. 
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! Just got this stuff today and immediately tried it on all my tack. I loved it!  Made my saddle soft yet grippy.  Also made my tall boots look better than they have in a while!  Definitely recommend if you want something thats quick to use and leaves your leather products looking and feeling like butter. 
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product only have used it once, but the product is liquid/creamy similar to lotion making it very easy to apply
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy! Love this stuff! I have it hanging on my bridle hook and it's so easy to grab a sponge and clean my tack right away after riding. In the dry climate here I love that I don't have to use both tack cleaner and conditioner to keep the leather nice. When's it's humid it can get a bit tacky but it's worth having the moisture when it's dry out. Love the ease and access of the bottle. I have used most of it already, but I think you could make it last longer if you use it sparingly.
    Date published: 2013-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tack Cleaner This is my go to cleaner for my tack. I love the ease of applying- just squeeze product onto sponge and apply to leather. Leaves tack feeling soft and supple but gives a decent amount of grip. One of my favorite features is the hook built into the bottle so that you can hang it and just squeeze onto a sponge. Thank you to whoever thought of that! Genius feature! The only thing is be careful hanging it when it is 100+ degrees outside, it will drip out of the bottle. I follow with the Effax Leather Balsam every so often and the Effax Mildew-Free.
    Date published: 2013-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolutely fabulous product. Will recommend to others and reorder for myself
    Date published: 2013-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome & easy daily leather cleaner! I was using HorseTech's ReitSport Saddle Soap, which smells great, but it was drying out my Amerigo Vega dressage saddle to the point my leather was "squeaking" when riding; very annoying. I started using this Effax Leather Cream Soap -- recommended by my local tack shop -- and I cannot believe the difference! This cream soap smells great, goes on SO easy (no water needed!) and wipes off clean. It doesn't leave a "tacky" feel but still gives you a nice "stick" in the saddle, so awesome! I highly recommend this product for your daily tack cleaner! I still pair it with Antares Leather Conditioner every few weeks and Antares Leather Oil ever other month or as needed.
    Date published: 2013-06-09
    • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_22
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_38
    • loc_en_US, sid_10819, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders