Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Effax Leather Cream Soap

Schweizer-Effax GmbH
- Item #20819
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Effax Leather Cream Soap cleans and cares for the leather in one single step with no water required! Get great-looking leather that's supple and durable for years to come with this easy and convenient formula.

Favorite Features

  • Provides a pleasant leather surface with a good grip, without any danger of staining other equipment
  • Flic-Flac bottle design allows you to hang it up in the tack room and makes it easy to apply in just the right dosage
  • Contains high quality ingredients such as soya-kali-soap and lanolin

Sizing It Up

400ml

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Effax Leather Cream Soap is rated 4.8462 out of 5 by 26.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A nice option when water isn't available Cleaning tack with water in the freezing winter barn (even hauling the water into the heated tack room) is not very desirable, so this is a nice option to have when it's really cold or I'm in a hurry. I don't feel like it cleans as well as some other products and it does start to build up over time, so I find I do have to still take my tack home once a week and do a really good thorough cleaning.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from awesome polish..but i really love how easily my boots are clean and shiny when most polishes have a matte finish. the only con about this is that my friend used used this also and it rubbed black stains on her grey horse's sides. other than that I love the product!
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works really good Smells great and is easy to use.I will order it again.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy to use! This product is so,easy and quick to use, and does a great job on cleaning my boots after a trip to Laramie River Ranch in Colorado!!
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for black tack I use this on all my tack, but it's great for black tack. Sometimes when I use a heaver conditioner, like Liederbalsm, on black tack it either doesn't soak in or the black bleeds, this solves the problem. Great that you don't need water and love the hanging cap design.
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all in one cleaner and conditioner! I've been using this product for 6 months. Its great for lazy people like me who don't love cleaning tack. Since this product cleans and conditions at the same time I definitely use it more than any of my other tack cleaners. It keeps my saddle, bridle, and tall boots in tip top shape. I try to use this product on my tack about once per week. Then once every 2-4 weeks I use the Effax Lederbasalm to deeply condition. I love the cap on this product. You can attach it to the end of the tube and hang it upside down so its ready to dispense with no drip.
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I love this soap! Super easy to use, leaves all my tack feeling soft supple and clean.
    Date published: 2014-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Nice Keeps my expensive tack looking and feeling great. Doesn't stain soft leather like other products.
    Date published: 2014-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's Effax, what more can I say. Just a great product always.
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy! I live in Central California where conditions are DRY.  Even our winters are dry. Frequent conditioning of tack is necessary as our summer heat dries tack out quickly.  I have my bottle of soap hanging on my bridle rack.  I actually do fill a small bucket of water so that I can rinse the sponge and slightly dilute the soap.  Water isn't necessary, but I find that since I use the soap daily, I don't need very much of it.  I simply dampen my tack sponge, squirt some soap directly on the sponge, and wipe my tack clean.  Once I've finished (a simple 5 minute job), I do take a clean cloth and wipe off any extra product which seems to keep it from building up.My bridles haven't ever been this soft and clean.  Everyone few weeks, I also use a hardier conditioner, but that's even easier to apply as my bridles are extra clean all the time!  
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the soap! The soap cleans leather without making it sticky and leaving white residue. 
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! Just got this stuff today and immediately tried it on all my tack. I loved it!  Made my saddle soft yet grippy.  Also made my tall boots look better than they have in a while!  Definitely recommend if you want something thats quick to use and leaves your leather products looking and feeling like butter. 
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product only have used it once, but the product is liquid/creamy similar to lotion making it very easy to apply
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy! Love this stuff!I have it hanging on my bridle hook and it's so easy to grab a sponge and clean my tack right away after riding. In the dry climate here I love that I don't have to use both tack cleaner and conditioner to keep the leather nice. When's it's humid it can get a bit tacky but it's worth having the moisture when it's dry out.Love the ease and access of the bottle. I have used most of it already, but I think you could make it last longer if you use it sparingly.
    Date published: 2013-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tack Cleaner This is my go to cleaner for my tack. I love the ease of applying- just squeeze product onto sponge and apply to leather. Leaves tack feeling soft and supple but gives a decent amount of grip. One of my favorite features is the hook built into the bottle so that you can hang it and just squeeze onto a sponge. Thank you to whoever thought of that! Genius feature! The only thing is be careful hanging it when it is 100+ degrees outside, it will drip out of the bottle. I follow with the Effax Leather Balsam every so often and the Effax Mildew-Free.
    Date published: 2013-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolutely fabulous product. Will recommend to others and reorder for myself
    Date published: 2013-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome & easy daily leather cleaner! I was using HorseTech's ReitSport Saddle Soap, which smells great, but it was drying out my Amerigo Vega dressage saddle to the point my leather was "squeaking" when riding; very annoying. I started using this Effax Leather Cream Soap -- recommended by my local tack shop -- and I cannot believe the difference! This cream soap smells great, goes on SO easy (no water needed!) and wipes off clean. It doesn't leave a "tacky" feel but still gives you a nice "stick" in the saddle, so awesome! I highly recommend this product for your daily tack cleaner! I still pair it with Antares Leather Conditioner every few weeks and Antares Leather Oil ever other month or as needed.
    Date published: 2013-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product As with other Effax products this is an excellent cleaner for leather.I have two Hermes saddles and will use only the best-and this is it.
    Date published: 2013-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is awesome! In southern California tack dries out very quickly. This cleans leather without stripping it dry nor leaving it goopy. An excellent one step cleaner for daily use. As a tack cleaning junky I HIGHLY recommend.
    Date published: 2013-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite one-step cleaner This has been my favorite one-step cleaner for daily use for a long time. It goes on easy with a sponge and leaves leather clean and soft. The hanging bottle makes it easy to use. It also does NOT remove the black dye from tack (e.g. black dressage saddles), unlike some other products.About once a month, I also use a two-step process of Effax Leather Combi -- which strips off residue -- followed by Effax Lederbalsam.
    Date published: 2012-08-14
    • 2015-08-30T14:41CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_25
    • loc_en_US, sid_10819, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.