Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Effax Leather Combi

Schweizer-Effax GmbH
- Item #11027
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

For the most thorough leather cleaning, Leather Combi is a great alternative to traditional saddle soap. Leather Combi's grease free formula penetrates leather and does not attract dust. With regular use, leather is non-slip, tear-resistant, smooth and insensitive to water and sweat.

Made in Germany.

Favorite Features
  • Grease Free
  • No dust attraction
  • Non-slip
  • Tear-resistant
  • Water and sweat resistant

Sizing

500ml
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The serious equestrian knows the importance of coordinating ...
    Description:
    "The serious equestrian knows the importance of coordinating barn colors. It not only gives your barn a distinctive appearance, it also helps protect your investments from damage and theft. Please allow 4-6 weeks for delivery. Imported."
    "Don't bring the barn dirt where it doesn't ...
    Description:
    "Don't bring the barn dirt where it doesn't belong! The Fiebing's Boot Scrubber is perfect for use both at home and at the barn. Easily attachable to wood deck or flooring. Simply slide boots back and forth through the bristles ...
    "Conveniently store your tack and equipment in this ...
    Description:
    "Conveniently store your tack and equipment in this durable Burlingham Deluxe Trunk without Padded Seat. The strong lid can be locked with a padlock and the sturdy design will take years of use. This trunk will be drop shipped directly ...
    "Burlingham has added a Western flair to their ...
    Description:
    "Burlingham has added a Western flair to their proven Deluxe Tack Trunk, by adding a hand woven Mayatex designed padded seat. The ""Western Deluxe"" is complete with Tote Tray, Trunk Divider, Dry Erase Board, Dry Erase Pen, Mirror, Bandage Net, ...
    "Bye Bye Odor™ is a safe natural microbial ...
    Description:
    "Bye Bye Odor™ is a safe natural microbial solution specially formulated to eliminate urine and manure odors. Simply spray stalls, trailers, or kennels daily with enough to give the bedding or surface an even misting and within three days or ...
    "Give long break-in times the boot! The Der ...
    Description:
    "Give long break-in times the boot! The Der Dau Boot Stretch Spray helps soften and permanently stretch all leathers or suede. It helps relieve tight boots or half chaps. The unique formula will soften even the stiffest boot or shoe, ...
    "Effax Mildew-Free for Leather reliably prevents leather from ...
    Description:
    "Effax Mildew-Free for Leather reliably prevents leather from being attacked by mildew and fungi on the basis of a natural care oil mixture. The addition of lanolin also means the leather receives the ideal nourishment of high quality resins. For ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Effax Leather Combi is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 94.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Daily Leather Cleaner I discovered the Effax Leather Combi about 15 years ago at the Devon Show. So happy I took a chance and tried something new. Excellent gentle daily leather tack cleaner. Easy to use and smells great. Does NOT leave a sticky gummy residue. Matter of fact, this will help to remove the built up gummy, sticky meds on your fine leather tack. Brings your leather back to a clean soft, feel. It even brings the original colors back as it strips away the built up gunk from using daily saddle soap. My go to product for any leather or vinyl tack clean up.
    Date published: 2017-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Leather Cleaners Available! 10 years ago I purchased a high end used saddle. I always used Effax Leather products on it to keep it clean. About a month ago I sold that saddle for $50 more than what I paid for it. This stuff keeps your leather in GREAT shape. This product does a great job cleaning tack and it doesn't leave that gunky build up behind that so many other leather cleaners do. I use it approximately every other time I ride. I also combine it with the Effax Leather Balsam, which I use once or twice a month. Combined they've kept my tack in great shape.
    Date published: 2017-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Leather Cleaner I live in a very humid climate so tack rarely needs to be conditioned or oiled and most tack soaps don't fully get out the gunkiness that accumulates with sweat, conditioner and dirt. Wiping down tack after every ride is super easy and doesn't leave a film or build up in any tooling. I do not find it dries out my tack because I already live in very humid conditions.
    Date published: 2016-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cleans Thoroughly without Foam and Gumminess This stuff is gentle and deeps cleans all leather. I haven't had a problem with it stripping color or leaving a residue. It doesn't foam much (if at all) when applied, and wipes off nicely. It leaves a clean surface to apply your favorite conditioner/oil. I've used it on fine leather (saddles, bridles, shoes, sofas, etc.) with great success.
    Date published: 2016-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite!!! I'm so in love with this product! It makes cleaning quick and leaves my leather soft and supple!
    Date published: 2016-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for after rides and lighter cleaning This product is so easy to use and does a great job removing sweat and grim. Its very friendly toward leather and doesn't require getting the leather wet I like the way it smells too.For really dirty leather that has a build up of black grim and a build up of dried sweat I resort to glycerine soap,suds and a scraper.
    Date published: 2016-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great cleaning don't dig the smell Cleans great but smells like rubbing alcohol. And it's very liquidy so it seems to not spread much I feel like I have to use a lot.
    Date published: 2016-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever for cleaning tack I have used efface for years and was asked to clean some filthy molded tack unbelievable how well it worked
    Date published: 2015-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best leather cleaner ever! I have used this product for the past couple of years and it is by and far the best leather cleaner out there. I can take an old piece of leather that is dirty and dry and practically make it look like it did when I bought it! You will need to purchase a leather conditioner to your leather once it has completely dried. You want be disappointed with this product.
    Date published: 2015-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Cleaner This is a great deep cleaner for weekly cleaning. It is very sudsy so I mix it with water and put it in a spray bottle - 1 part soap/3 parts water. Water bottle makes it more convenient too. I then spray it on my saddle or I spray it on a wet sponge for cleaning my bridle. I then follow up with Passier Lederbalsam to condition it.
    Date published: 2015-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great wipe down Great to use daily to keep tack clean. No residue, doesn't stain leather. Good on light leather as well!
    Date published: 2015-09-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice product. Did a good job on my old paddock boots
    Date published: 2015-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well, and quickly. Used this multiple times now, leaves leather clean and pliable with only one step. Only needs a small bit of elbow grease on caked on dirt areas, and for relatively clean tack a quick swipe suffices. Tack is usable and feels nice afterwards. I did use the leather basalm, afterwards one time, and my next ride, the reins were too slippery. I have a separate review on that elsewhere. But the effax combi is excellent cleaner and I will buy again.
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Stuff! I am a tack cleaning fiend!! Everyday I have at least 3 bridles, 2 girths and 1 saddle to clean. This stuff is wonderful for daily cleanings! Non-greasy, cuts right through sweat and hair. Wonderful especially in the summer, as the alcohol in the product burns off, meaning there is often no wipe down process. Leaves saddle tacky and lovely to ride in the very next day.
    Date published: 2015-06-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic cleaner, I was a bit reluctant because of the price, but you end up using less of it because it works so well the first time (no sore fingers and arms from scrubbing)! Made my daily work harness look and feel like new.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I tried it! I've seen this stuff around but didn't know if it was worth trying. I read some of the reviews and thought I'd give it a go. I'm SO glad I did! This stuff is amazing. It cleans and conditions with no sticky residue. If your tack is as dry as mine tends to get, you will also need to use a oil conditioning type product on occasion, but this stuff is awesome for cleaning and regular conditioning. I couldn't be more pleased.
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great leather cleaner I bought this after borrowing it from a riding pal--cleans the leather nicely and it smells good too! I used this first and then oiled my saddle with their oil product. Tack looks and feels great.
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breaks down dirt really well Along with a sample of the Lederbalsam from Effax, I had a sample of the Combi. At first, I was taken aback by how watery it seems; I'm used to thicker, creamy soaps, but after I figured out how it worked best for me, I really have grown to love it. I still use it with a water dilution and sponge, and I love how it well it breaks down dirt and sweat without scrubbing too much. It does seem a little on the drying side, but used with Lederbalsam, the dryness is counter-balanced perfectly. The Effax leather care products have replaced a big-name brand in my tack cleaning cabinet.
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff! So to really use this stuff well, you have to understand it. It's a deep cleanser so it's meant to strip everything off the leather and that sometimes means you might be left with some dryness (especially calfskin) . I always follow up with the Effax Leather Soft and Balm if I'm not going to take the time to oil my saddle (I mean let's be real; oiling is a process) But for what it is, I think it does the best job. Also don't be afraid if you find some residual dye from your saddle coming off, because that's what it is, residual.
    Date published: 2014-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good stuff non greasy, gentle to use on leather. also like the conditioner
    Date published: 2014-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best for deep cleaning every week or so I've been using Effax on my tack for about a year now. I started using it every time I rode, but I noticed that while my tack was always clean, it was starting to get dry. I've cut back to just using a damp cloth after every ride, and I use this once a week or as needed. I also follow it up with conditioner to avoid it drying out my leather. This seems to working really well. So highly recommend because it really is the best to get rid of anything that doesn't want to come off, but not as a daily cleaner.
    Date published: 2014-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best dirt and grime remover This stuff is a great once a week or once every 2 week cleaner.  It gets the really grimy stuff off that the Effax Leather Cream Soap doesn't always get. I was using it every day on my tack, but noticed it was starting to dry some of my stuff out a bit.  I got the Effax cream for every day use and now only use this once a week.  It strips my tack of all the grime and leaves everything looking nice and new!  
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Product My barn owner left his tack outside for 3 months.. It was completely mildewed and covered in dirt and grime. I offered to take the tack home and clean it with Effax Leather Combi, and it looks like new. No mildew, no dirt, and it looks great. I use this on my Marcel Toulouse saddle and it keeps it from being destroyed by water when I go through the river. All you have to do is take a damp sponge, use the combi, and clean. It only takes 10 minutes or so. No residue is left over and the tack looks and feels great. Definitely my go-to product.
    Date published: 2013-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good I have been using the Effax Leather Combi for just over one month. It is simple and seems to really clean off built up sweat and grim on my bridle and martingale. I also have been using it on my tall boots to remove the grim on the side from riding. You really don't have to use that much at all. After the tack dries the leather feels clean, looks clean and doesn't have any residue left over
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Little Goes A Long Way This was the first leather-cleaner I had purchased and I'm totally impressed! Cleans like a charm and leaves the leather soft. I used it to clean a saddle that had COBWEBS on it and it still came out looking like-new. Shipped fast. Great product.
    Date published: 2013-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cleaner to be beat Definitely earned its place in my tack box. I'm obsessive about cleaning tack and this seems to work faster and better then the saddle soap method. Also gets all the grime off my bridle (my foaming warmblood makes this difficult)
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Melts off tough dirt This product is perfect for melting off tough sweat accumulations or stuck on dirt. It even softens and helps to remove stuck on hay and slobber from hard-to-reach crevasses of bridles. I do feel it can be slightly drying, but combining it with a conditioning saddle soap makes for a perfect cleaning combination!
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use This product seems to be very high quality. It is very easy to use and it's nice to know that it both cleans and conditions. So, when I'm in a rush, I can quickly squirt it onto a rag, swipe it over my tack, and I'm good to go! Really happy with how my tack looks after using it.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_5
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_87
    • loc_en_US, sid_1027, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders