Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Effax Leather Combi

Schweizer-Effax GmbH
- Item #11027
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

For the most thorough leather cleaning, Leather Combi is a great alternative to traditional saddle soap. Leather Combi's grease free formula penetrates leather and does not attract dust. With regular use, leather is non-slip, tear-resistant, smooth and insensitive to water and sweat.

Made in Germany.

Favorite Features
  • Grease Free
  • No dust attraction
  • Non-slip
  • Tear-resistant
  • Water and sweat resistant

Sizing

500ml

What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Burlingham Sports Grooming Box is designed for ...
    Description:
    "The Burlingham Sports Grooming Box is designed for grooming supplies, medications, cleaning supplies or any small utility items. The interior bottom is divided to keep bottles or small items from sliding around. The upper storage compartment is great for housing ...
    "HEY Leather Combi Wash is a specially designed ...
    Description:
    "HEY Leather Combi Wash is a specially designed detergent for leather-textile combinations. This amazing product cleans leather and all leather-textile combinations without a detrimental effect on color. It also preserves the function of material combinations and is kind to seams ...
    "Adorn your horse's stall with this classic nameplate. ...
    Description:
    "Adorn your horse's stall with this classic nameplate. Custom engraved with your choice of text- clearly showcase your horse's name, you as an owner, your barn name, or anything else you'd like to highlight. We can fit it all with ...
    "Leather Therapy Wash safely and effectively deep cleans ...
    Description:
    "Leather Therapy Wash safely and effectively deep cleans even the toughest grime problem without hardening or darkening leather. Concentrated micro-suds lift out embedded dirt leaving leather clean with a wonderfully soft feel. No buildup in tolling areas to worry about ...
    "Keep track of your tack! We've selected a ...
    Description:
    "Keep track of your tack! We've selected a variety of plates to keep all of your tack organized. Included with all of our plates is the appropriate mounting hardware. Our Bridle, Martingale, & Girth Nameplate comes with 1/4"" rivets. A ...
    Why We Love This ID your dog, personal ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This ID your dog, personal belongings, and tack! 1" diameter satin brass nameplate can be customized with two lines of text. Comes with an 'S' hook and split ring for attaching to whatever you need to label! ...
    "Keep track of your tack! We've selected a ...
    Description:
    "Keep track of your tack! We've selected a variety of plates to keep all of your tack organized. Included with all of our plates is the appropriate mounting hardware. Our Halter Nameplate comes with 1/4"" Chicago screws. Classic plate in ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Effax Leather Combi is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 88.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great cleaning don't dig the smell Cleans great but smells like rubbing alcohol. And it's very liquidy so it seems to not spread much I feel like I have to use a lot.
    Date published: 2016-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever for cleaning tack I have used efface for years and was asked to clean some filthy molded tack unbelievable how well it worked
    Date published: 2015-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best leather cleaner ever! I have used this product for the past couple of years and it is by and far the best leather cleaner out there. I can take an old piece of leather that is dirty and dry and practically make it look like it did when I bought it! You will need to purchase a leather conditioner to your leather once it has completely dried. You want be disappointed with this product.
    Date published: 2015-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Cleaner This is a great deep cleaner for weekly cleaning. It is very sudsy so I mix it with water and put it in a spray bottle - 1 part soap/3 parts water. Water bottle makes it more convenient too. I then spray it on my saddle or I spray it on a wet sponge for cleaning my bridle. I then follow up with Passier Lederbalsam to condition it.
    Date published: 2015-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great wipe down Great to use daily to keep tack clean. No residue, doesn't stain leather. Good on light leather as well!
    Date published: 2015-09-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice product. Did a good job on my old paddock boots
    Date published: 2015-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well, and quickly. Used this multiple times now, leaves leather clean and pliable with only one step. Only needs a small bit of elbow grease on caked on dirt areas, and for relatively clean tack a quick swipe suffices. Tack is usable and feels nice afterwards. I did use the leather basalm, afterwards one time, and my next ride, the reins were too slippery. I have a separate review on that elsewhere. But the effax combi is excellent cleaner and I will buy again.
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Stuff! I am a tack cleaning fiend!! Everyday I have at least 3 bridles, 2 girths and 1 saddle to clean. This stuff is wonderful for daily cleanings! Non-greasy, cuts right through sweat and hair. Wonderful especially in the summer, as the alcohol in the product burns off, meaning there is often no wipe down process. Leaves saddle tacky and lovely to ride in the very next day.
    Date published: 2015-06-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic cleaner, I was a bit reluctant because of the price, but you end up using less of it because it works so well the first time (no sore fingers and arms from scrubbing)! Made my daily work harness look and feel like new.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I tried it! I've seen this stuff around but didn't know if it was worth trying. I read some of the reviews and thought I'd give it a go. I'm SO glad I did! This stuff is amazing. It cleans and conditions with no sticky residue. If your tack is as dry as mine tends to get, you will also need to use a oil conditioning type product on occasion, but this stuff is awesome for cleaning and regular conditioning. I couldn't be more pleased.
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great leather cleaner I bought this after borrowing it from a riding pal--cleans the leather nicely and it smells good too! I used this first and then oiled my saddle with their oil product. Tack looks and feels great.
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breaks down dirt really well Along with a sample of the Lederbalsam from Effax, I had a sample of the Combi. At first, I was taken aback by how watery it seems; I'm used to thicker, creamy soaps, but after I figured out how it worked best for me, I really have grown to love it. I still use it with a water dilution and sponge, and I love how it well it breaks down dirt and sweat without scrubbing too much. It does seem a little on the drying side, but used with Lederbalsam, the dryness is counter-balanced perfectly. The Effax leather care products have replaced a big-name brand in my tack cleaning cabinet.
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff! So to really use this stuff well, you have to understand it. It's a deep cleanser so it's meant to strip everything off the leather and that sometimes means you might be left with some dryness (especially calfskin) . I always follow up with the Effax Leather Soft and Balm if I'm not going to take the time to oil my saddle (I mean let's be real; oiling is a process) But for what it is, I think it does the best job. Also don't be afraid if you find some residual dye from your saddle coming off, because that's what it is, residual.
    Date published: 2014-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good stuff non greasy, gentle to use on leather. also like the conditioner
    Date published: 2014-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best for deep cleaning every week or so I've been using Effax on my tack for about a year now. I started using it every time I rode, but I noticed that while my tack was always clean, it was starting to get dry. I've cut back to just using a damp cloth after every ride, and I use this once a week or as needed. I also follow it up with conditioner to avoid it drying out my leather. This seems to working really well. So highly recommend because it really is the best to get rid of anything that doesn't want to come off, but not as a daily cleaner.
    Date published: 2014-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best dirt and grime remover This stuff is a great once a week or once every 2 week cleaner.  It gets the really grimy stuff off that the Effax Leather Cream Soap doesn't always get. I was using it every day on my tack, but noticed it was starting to dry some of my stuff out a bit.  I got the Effax cream for every day use and now only use this once a week.  It strips my tack of all the grime and leaves everything looking nice and new!  
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Product My barn owner left his tack outside for 3 months.. It was completely mildewed and covered in dirt and grime. I offered to take the tack home and clean it with Effax Leather Combi, and it looks like new. No mildew, no dirt, and it looks great. I use this on my Marcel Toulouse saddle and it keeps it from being destroyed by water when I go through the river. All you have to do is take a damp sponge, use the combi, and clean. It only takes 10 minutes or so. No residue is left over and the tack looks and feels great. Definitely my go-to product.
    Date published: 2013-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good I have been using the Effax Leather Combi for just over one month. It is simple and seems to really clean off built up sweat and grim on my bridle and martingale. I also have been using it on my tall boots to remove the grim on the side from riding. You really don't have to use that much at all. After the tack dries the leather feels clean, looks clean and doesn't have any residue left over
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Little Goes A Long Way This was the first leather-cleaner I had purchased and I'm totally impressed! Cleans like a charm and leaves the leather soft. I used it to clean a saddle that had COBWEBS on it and it still came out looking like-new. Shipped fast. Great product.
    Date published: 2013-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cleaner to be beat Definitely earned its place in my tack box. I'm obsessive about cleaning tack and this seems to work faster and better then the saddle soap method. Also gets all the grime off my bridle (my foaming warmblood makes this difficult)
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Melts off tough dirt This product is perfect for melting off tough sweat accumulations or stuck on dirt. It even softens and helps to remove stuck on hay and slobber from hard-to-reach crevasses of bridles. I do feel it can be slightly drying, but combining it with a conditioning saddle soap makes for a perfect cleaning combination!
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use This product seems to be very high quality. It is very easy to use and it's nice to know that it both cleans and conditions. So, when I'm in a rush, I can quickly squirt it onto a rag, swipe it over my tack, and I'm good to go! Really happy with how my tack looks after using it.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbeatable! I may stray, but I always come back to this product. Cleans even the grubbiest tack well and leaves leather nice without feeling sticky. Has preserved my tack very well over the last several years. Easy one-step cleaning. You will not regret this purchase--highly recommend!
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best cleaner ever! I can't say enough good about this product. Cuts through the grime on my bridle and leaves my saddle supple and conditioned. Don't waste your money on another product. Really!!
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different but good... I had never tried any saddle soap that was liquid before I tried the Leather Combi. I had a tendency to put a little too much on my little sponge while using it, but after a few cleanings, I got the hang of it.The soap is pricey, but a little does seem to go a long way. The product has a good smell, although I detect a faint odor of alcohol. Anyway, I am pleased with the product.
    Date published: 2012-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff Effax is great for cleaning saddles and boots without leaving a residue and doesnt attract dust to the surface. I find that it does a way better job than most cleaners
    Date published: 2012-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite leather care product This is far superior to saddle soap or glycerin bars. No sticky feeling left behind, it does not attract dirt and grime, and is kind to leather. Really does get the sweat and dirt out of the leather. This is the only product I use for cleaning other than a damp cloth.
    Date published: 2012-03-14
    • y_2017, m_1, d_20, h_16
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_81
    • loc_en_US, sid_1027, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders