Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Effax Leather Balsam

Schweizer-Effax GmbH
- Item #20820
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Extends the “lifespan” of your leather with this beloved product!

Contains: care additives such as bees' wax, lanolin, avocado oil

Made in Germany


Favorite Features

  • Unique combination of lanolin and caring oils improves the durability and reliability of the leather equipment
  • Bee's wax provides a moisture-repellent effect and leaves the leather with a brilliant shine as well as giving the product a uniquely special smell.


Sizing

Sizing It Up

1.7 ounces

500ml



What Customers Say:

Ingredients

Contains: care additives such as bees' wax, lanolin, avocado oil
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Snow Proof Silicone Water and Stain Repellent provides ...
    Description:
    "Snow Proof Silicone Water and Stain Repellent provides extra, heavy-duty, longer lasting water and stain protections. Keeps water out while allowing it to breath, keeping it soft and pliable. Use on leather, suede, canvas, nylon, cotton, and other fabrics. Made ...
    "Lexol® Neatsfoot Leather Conditioner is an all time ...
    Description:
    "Lexol® Neatsfoot Leather Conditioner is an all time classic favorite amongst many equestrians due to its fantastic reputation of pro-longing the life of your leather, and protecting your tack investment. This formula both softens leather and helps prevent cracking. Lexol® ...
    "For the most thorough leather cleaning, Leather Combi ...
    Description:
    "For the most thorough leather cleaning, Leather Combi is a great alternative to traditional saddle soap. Leather Combi's grease free formula penetrates leather and does not attract dust. With regular use, leather is non-slip, tear-resistant, smooth and insensitive to water ...
    "HEY Leather Combi Wash is a specially designed ...
    Description:
    "HEY Leather Combi Wash is a specially designed detergent for leather-textile combinations. This amazing product cleans leather and all leather-textile combinations without a detrimental effect on color. It also preserves the function of material combinations and is kind to seams ...
    "Leather Therapy Restorer Conditioner is an award winner ...
    Description:
    "Leather Therapy Restorer Conditioner is an award winner from the inside out to make leather stronger and last longer. Eradicates mold and mildew problems. Shortens new leather break-in period. Leather remains supple and beautiful with increased strength. Leather Therapy Restorer ...
    "Snow Proof Waterproofing Paste softens, waterproofs, and restores ...
    Description:
    "Snow Proof Waterproofing Paste softens, waterproofs, and restores all smooth leather articles. Perfect for saddles, boots, and other leather items exposed to rugged use. Stops mildew and prevents dry rot and cracking. Made in the USA"
    "Trusted by saddle makers for over a century, ...
    Description:
    "Trusted by saddle makers for over a century, Fiebing's 100% Pure Neats Foot Oil is a tack room staple! This trustworthy product is a natural preservative for leather articles subjected to rugged use and outdoor exposure. Made in USA"

    Reviews

    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Effax Leather Balsam is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 80.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff!! I have always use Effax Leather Balsam for many years and absolutely love it. It smells great and keeps the leather soft and is easy to use. Also, water beads up on the leather after use so if your caught in the rain the leather doesn't dry out.
    Date published: 2017-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product for tack, boots and shoes! I love this super rich product for deep conditioning my saddle, bridle, reins boots, shoes, leather gloves and purses. Clean with saddle soap or another cleaner first, Then rub this product in to moisturize. I use it 3-4 times a year on the products listed above.
    Date published: 2016-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite balm by far! I got this as it was recommended by my saddle manufacturer for treating my dressage saddle. It smells great, goes on easy with a tack sponge, and soaks up VERY well. It does NOT leave a shiny finish, and so far, I haven't had to scrub off any excess product since it soaks in so well. I think it smells amazing, and the major negative others had to say was that it stinks (I definitely disagree). The tub is huge, and will last me a very long time. I have used it on my boots, saddle, and bridles and think it's done good things for all my leather goods.
    Date published: 2016-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for high quality soft leather I bought this on the recommendation of my saddle fitter after finding that other soaps and conditioners were too harsh for my wonderfully soft leather saddle (calfskin/buffalo). not only did it restore the leather, it now looks better than it did when I bought it! It restored moisture and color to the leather without softening or weakening it, as oil does.
    Date published: 2016-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality I bought the 50ml Tub and it's highly effective. Used it on a brand new piece of tack and it became very supple in as little as two uses. There is a mild waterproofing effect, you notice it when you wash your hands after applying the product to tack; probably from the beeswax. Smells unique, something I would personally associate with expensive or new tack. I would suggest buying the larger tub if you're going to be conditioning all of your tack. The smaller tub is perfect for bracelets, collars, spur straps, etc. It might last me 30 applications for these smaller sized leather products.
    Date published: 2016-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes the leather really supple It's a great easy to use conditioner in a tub with a screw on lid- which is great. It makes the saddles and bridles nice and soft, and isn't ever sticky.
    Date published: 2016-09-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from love it but not great for regular use I wish effax would create a good cleaner. This is good for occasional use but not good for a 9 year old to use on a regular basis.
    Date published: 2016-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Saddle This product keeps your saddle supple and nourished.
    Date published: 2016-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product for your expensive tack! I have used this product for years now on all of my tack. It keeps the tack soft and looking like new. It prevents cracking and harm from rain and sweat. This is the best product on the market that I have found to help in the care of your expensive tack. This is not a daily cleaner but one you would use every now and again. It works great on dry winter hands too!!
    Date published: 2016-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite leather care product I used this on all my tack. It's easy to use and my leather looks great
    Date published: 2016-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results I bought this to bring my saddle back to life. It takes a weather beating. The saddle soap made it look like new again. I also used it on my new leathers. Now they are soft.
    Date published: 2016-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product! I've used this leather balm for years! Always brings my tack back to life and helps break in new leather! Plus I've buffed my leather seats in my car with it! Love love love love!
    Date published: 2016-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Absolutely nothing makes my saddle feel and look like Effax! It does make the dirt stick to the boots though. For "sticky" tack without being literally sticky it is on a level of its own and it keeps the leather looking fantastic!
    Date published: 2016-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective Had to stop borrowing it! Works well making my aged saddle look moist and better looking. I have the cleaner too
    Date published: 2016-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Great, Conditions Well, Great Value I bought the Effax Leather Balsam as a change from my usual Passier Leather Balsam. Though this is not up to the Passier quality I like the smell, and effectiveness of the Effax. Definitely worth the money and keeps tack looking and feeling fabulous!
    Date published: 2016-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Softened my leather (and my hands)
    Date published: 2016-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC FOR LEATHER I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT FOR YOUR LEATHER CONDITIONING.
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from conditions and makes leather look like new I am in love with this product. Note: some people do not like the smell, personally - I LOVE IT!
    Date published: 2015-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful job on my old paddock boots. Later, a quick wipe to get the dust off and they look great
    Date published: 2015-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Love this stuff. really conditions well and leave leather feeling wonderful.
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice for conditioning, but slippery afterwards Love how well it conditions, and quickly--but I used it on an old set of split reins and the next time I used them (2-3days later) they were a bit slippery. Thats why the four stars. Otherwise, I love the smell, the consistency, how it treats leather, and ease of use. Price may seem a bit steep, but the tub is sizable and should last a long time.
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A little goes a long way! Love the smell, all natural ingredients. A little goes a long way! This product leaves a nice shine to the leather. Great on boots, bridle and saddle. For dry or cracked leather best to use as a follow up treatment after saddle soap or similar.
    Date published: 2015-08-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Staind pants I used this product on my dressage saddle, and the next day at a show it stained my white pants black. Besides that, it smells bad.But everyone else seems to love this product, so maybe it was just me who had a bad experience.
    Date published: 2015-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasts long, works great! This product is incredible. You only need a little bit and it spreads across my tack like warm butter. I think the key to not make it greasy is apply small amounts and work in until absorbed. With other conditioners I feel like I have to constantly condition my leather in order for it to stay soft and supple, but with this product I have noticed my tack stays conditioned longer. I have had the same jar now just a little under 2 years and I still have easily one or two months of use left of it. The smell is also great!
    Date published: 2015-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic conditioner I bought this as a conditioner for in between oilings and it is absolutely fabulous. After cleaning my saddle, bridle, and breast collar i can apply this for nice supple leather. It is a tad greasy on the hands but what conditioner isn't? I live in a humid climate and i dont have a problem with it being too rich or not sinking in.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does wonders for your leather! Have used this product for years - wonderful product for saddles & bridles.
    Date published: 2015-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this! I wanted something to soften leather and keep it in condition. There are so many products that promise to do that, but this has exceeded my expectations! It is easy to use, goes on smoothly with a round sponge (wish that had been supplied as it really is the easiest way to get the product on evenly and in the right amount.) My tack looks great and is easy to care for. It is great for boots too! A little goes a long, long way, so the price is well worth it.
    Date published: 2015-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and True! Effax is a staple in our barn. Its easy to use and fool proof. It makes leather butter soft and is safe enough to use every day. It has kept all of my tack looking brand new for years.
    Date published: 2015-05-14
    • y_2017, m_3, d_25, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_72
    • loc_en_US, sid_10820, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders