Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Effax Leather Balsam

Schweizer-Effax GmbH
- Item #20820
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Extends the “lifespan” of your leather with this beloved product!

  • Unique combination of lanolin and caring oils improves the durability and reliability of the leather equipment
  • Bee's wax provides a moisture-repellent effect and leaves the leather with a brilliant shine as well as giving the product a uniquely special smell.
500ml

Contains: care additives such as bees' wax, lanolin, avocado oil

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Effax Leather Balsam is rated 4.6909 out of 5 by 55.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasts long, works great! This product is incredible. You only need a little bit and it spreads across my tack like warm butter. I think the key to not make it greasy is apply small amounts and work in until absorbed. With other conditioners I feel like I have to constantly condition my leather in order for it to stay soft and supple, but with this product I have noticed my tack stays conditioned longer. I have had the same jar now just a little under 2 years and I still have easily one or two months of use left of it. The smell is also great!
    Date published: 2015-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic conditioner I bought this as a conditioner for in between oilings and it is absolutely fabulous. After cleaning my saddle, bridle, and breast collar i can apply this for nice supple leather. It is a tad greasy on the hands but what conditioner isn't? I live in a humid climate and i dont have a problem with it being too rich or not sinking in.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does wonders for your leather! Have used this product for years - wonderful product for saddles & bridles.
    Date published: 2015-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this! I wanted something to soften leather and keep it in condition. There are so many products that promise to do that, but this has exceeded my expectations! It is easy to use, goes on smoothly with a round sponge (wish that had been supplied as it really is the easiest way to get the product on evenly and in the right amount.) My tack looks great and is easy to care for. It is great for boots too! A little goes a long, long way, so the price is well worth it.
    Date published: 2015-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and True! Effax is a staple in our barn. Its easy to use and fool proof. It makes leather butter soft and is safe enough to use every day. It has kept all of my tack looking brand new for years.
    Date published: 2015-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great leather conditioner We had heard good reviews about Lederbalsam, and tried it. So glad we did, as it is a great one step cleaner/conditioner. Plus, it was at a fair price with fast shipping. Thank you!
    Date published: 2015-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best leather conditioner! I bought this originally for my slippery HDR saddle, but I use it on all of my leather now! Makes it so soft and supple!
    Date published: 2015-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I have been using this on my saddle and bridle for a month now and they are so soft! I use it a few times a week after I clean my tack. I have also used it on some old leather halters and bridles and it softened them right up. My friend had an old saddle she wanted to use but it hadn't been touched in years. With a week of oiling and conditioning with with Effax it looks brand new! A must have for tack!
    Date published: 2015-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for all types of leather This is the best! Will not use anything else. Makes saddle feel like you have such better contact!
    Date published: 2015-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommend by My Saddle Maker I finally splurged and bought a custom made dressage saddle for my horse. The maker included a little tub of Lederbalsam in the package that came with my saddle. I figure if you are spending more money on a saddle than the horse cost, and the maker recommends a product to care for it, you should probably stick with it. :p
    Date published: 2015-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes Tack Cleaning a Pleasant Chore This conditioner has all the ingredients recommended by my saddler maker. I would not use a conditioner without beeswax. The smooth consistency of the conditioner makes it a snap to apply. The bonus is the wonderful fragrance.
    Date published: 2015-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product I've used this product for years and love it! It conditions the leather and makes it look very shiny. It works great on my buffalo leather saddle and also makes the seat feel tacky. The jar last a long time since a little goes a long way.
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product I used to use another popular leather balm, that used to leave my tack sticky and greasy it also used to dry my saddle and bridle so I had to clean it more offten. So after using up the last of it I decided it was time to try something new. So after reading lots of positive reviews I went ahead and purchase Effax leather balm. One it smells so good and it cleaned my buffalo leather dressage saddle so well. It absorbed quickly leaving with out leaving a sticky greasy mess behind. The next day my saddle was butter soft just like they day I bought it. Now to try it out on my bridle, I highly recommend to every one!
    Date published: 2014-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes your leather like butter! Effax leather balm completely renewed my dull saddle. I have purchased many leather conditioners over the years and this stuff is amazing and like no others I have ever used. It conditioned old leather and literally made it buttery soft like harness leather. Highly recommend it for dry, brittle leather.
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, great value! Love the Effax products. Leaves leather supple, water resistant and with a beautiful shine. Use sparingly for best results. A container usually lasts me a while.
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the smell Delighted with how it leaves the new bridle and stirrup leathers.
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Conditioner!! I bought this product a mouth ago in hopes that it would make my saddle more sticky and it worked!! It also fixes and scuffs on my saddle
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love Love this product I have used Effax Leather Balsam for years with great results on my tack. Since I keep my tack in good condition, I usually only need it for full detailing, i.e. when I take a bridle completely apart to get into the crevices. It can restore suppleness to stiffened bit holders in no time. Recently, I have conditioned some tack for a friend, who is not so diligent with her leather care. I was able to completely restore a show bridle that had not been used or touched for 2 years. It was terribly dry, but luckily had not cracked. Even Effax would not have been able to help with that, but it can do almost anything else. If you keep your tack in good shape, be careful not to use too much, as it can make the leather limp.
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great conditioner! Smells delicious! I love this conditioner and use it 2-3 times per month to condition my tack and tall boots. It leaves the tack and boots with that "just buffed" shine. It also really helps protect the leather from water. I have had zero issues with rain/water spots on my saddle since using this product. The smell is fantastic.
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome! I used this product on my saddle and bridle. It oils and conditions the leather so well and darkened my saddle to a beautiful color. What i've also noticed about this product is it almost waterproofs the leather, so I would recommend this to the people who don't want their tack to get water damage.
    Date published: 2014-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for shows! I had a sample of the Lederbalsam and had to scrape the remnants out of the tub - I loved it that much. I just got my new big tub replacement, and it's still better than ever. It smells great, and I find that it works best for getting a show-ring shine on all of your leather, boots included. I still deep clean and condition before shows, but rubbing a little of Lederbalsam on everything before you go in the arena really makes your tack and boots shine. It seems to repel dust to some extent, too. I also find that I only need a little, so it therefore lasts a long time (I had my tiny sample for about 5 years!). It has yet to stain my white breeches, too (although I'm not rubbing this all over my saddle's seat - talk about slippery!).
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Conditions leather beautifully! This product takes good care of your leather and has a bit of stick to it to help you stay in the saddle.
    Date published: 2014-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effax Leather I purchased Effax a month ago. I love it. It treats and softens the leather and does not leave it greasy. It smells good too
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great smell! Leaves leather in great condition. Easy to use. Use it on leather couch as well as saddle.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great conditioner I love Effax products in general and was recommended the lederbalsam by a few people and it does in fact work great to condition leather and keep it soft and supple and gives it a grippy feel. A little goes a long way and you can use to much and cause your saddle to feel nasty but if you leave a sponge in the jar and tap it down before using that works for me. The smell is wonderful and for once your hands won't have a nasty odor. The worst thing in my opinion is that if the dust starts blowing around as happens at my barn while you use it your saddle will get dusty.
    Date published: 2014-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! LOVE! This product is wonderful! Really easy to use, very emollient, spreads well, and does not dry tacky or sticky. It is nice to use because I even love how it moisturizes my hands when I clean my boots/tack. Great product!
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Say what???????? Just got my first jar. I expect it to perform but it is rather frustrating the directions are ONLY in German! Thank goodness for you tube!
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice product While Ultra Leather Conditioner is still may favorite, this is a close second.  It works better when warmed and definitely has a waxy finish, but that is a plus for my trail saddle. I love the strong beeswax smell!
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite! I've used this product for as long as I can remember. Keeps leather supple, and smells good enough to eat. A jar lasts a long time. I wouldn't use anything else!
    Date published: 2013-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Stuff! Someone else I respect recommended this stuff to me for my driving harnesses, and boy howdy, does it work WELL! Best stuff I've used, & I've clean ALOT of harness in my years! I've also used it on my western split leather reins & most of my English bridle-works... same GREAT results. This is my new go-to stuff for leather cleaning!!! 5 stars.
    Date published: 2013-10-03
    • 2015-08-31T16:17CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_50
    • loc_en_US, sid_10820, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.