Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Effax Leather Balsam

Schweizer-Effax GmbH
- Item #20820
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Extends the “lifespan” of your leather with this beloved product!

Contains: care additives such as bees' wax, lanolin, avocado oil

Made in Germany


Favorite Features

  • Unique combination of lanolin and caring oils improves the durability and reliability of the leather equipment
  • Bee's wax provides a moisture-repellent effect and leaves the leather with a brilliant shine as well as giving the product a uniquely special smell.


Sizing

Sizing It Up

1.7 ounces

500ml



What Customers Say:

Ingredients

Contains: care additives such as bees' wax, lanolin, avocado oil
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Universal Saddle Cart is a great addition ...
    Description:
    "The Universal Saddle Cart is a great addition to your tack room or show supplies. Holds any English or Western saddle for cleaning or storage, and folds up easily when not in use. Made of high strength steel tubing with ...
    "The Phoenix West Trunk Stand is designed to ...
    Description:
    "The Phoenix West Trunk Stand is designed to keep your trunk clean and off the ground. Made from ¾ steel tubing for durability and powder coated with a high gloss black finish for years of trouble-free use!"
    "Burlingham has added a Western flair to their ...
    Description:
    "Burlingham has added a Western flair to their proven Deluxe Tack Trunk, by adding a hand woven Mayatex designed padded seat. The ""Western Deluxe"" is complete with Tote Tray, Trunk Divider, Dry Erase Board, Dry Erase Pen, Mirror, Bandage Net, ...
    "Customize anything you want with this self-adhesive brass ...
    Description:
    "Customize anything you want with this self-adhesive brass Oval Nameplate! Perfect for trunks, stall doors, mounting blocks...you name it! Add extra elegance by ordering this nameplate mounted on an oval wooden plaque! The wood plaque is also available with a ...
    "Love our SmartPak Deluxe Wood Trunk? Well look ...
    Description:
    "Love our SmartPak Deluxe Wood Trunk? Well look no further for the perfect starter trunk! This trunk includes a removable sliding tray, bottom runner with stained interior, and has brass plated spring loaded handles, lid stays, and hasp. This trunk ...
    "The Burlingham Deluxe Trunk includes tote tray, trunk ...
    Description:
    "The Burlingham Deluxe Trunk includes tote tray, trunk divider, dry erase board, dry erase pen, mirror, bandage net and wheels. Strong lid that can be locked with a padlock and molded in handles. The Burlingham Deluxe Trunk will take years ...
    "Travel Saddle Stand is lightweight and compact with ...
    Description:
    "Travel Saddle Stand is lightweight and compact with cut-out grips for easy handling. Unique stand and tote in one. Beautiful spruce wood with dark Special Walnut stain."

    Reviews

    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Effax Leather Balsam is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 75.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality I bought the 50ml Tub and it's highly effective. Used it on a brand new piece of tack and it became very supple in as little as two uses. There is a mild waterproofing effect, you notice it when you wash your hands after applying the product to tack; probably from the beeswax. Smells unique, something I would personally associate with expensive or new tack. I would suggest buying the larger tub if you're going to be conditioning all of your tack. The smaller tub is perfect for bracelets, collars, spur straps, etc. It might last me 30 applications for these smaller sized leather products.
    Date published: 2016-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes the leather really supple It's a great easy to use conditioner in a tub with a screw on lid- which is great. It makes the saddles and bridles nice and soft, and isn't ever sticky.
    Date published: 2016-09-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from love it but not great for regular use I wish effax would create a good cleaner. This is good for occasional use but not good for a 9 year old to use on a regular basis.
    Date published: 2016-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Saddle This product keeps your saddle supple and nourished.
    Date published: 2016-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product for your expensive tack! I have used this product for years now on all of my tack. It keeps the tack soft and looking like new. It prevents cracking and harm from rain and sweat. This is the best product on the market that I have found to help in the care of your expensive tack. This is not a daily cleaner but one you would use every now and again. It works great on dry winter hands too!!
    Date published: 2016-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite leather care product I used this on all my tack. It's easy to use and my leather looks great
    Date published: 2016-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results I bought this to bring my saddle back to life. It takes a weather beating. The saddle soap made it look like new again. I also used it on my new leathers. Now they are soft.
    Date published: 2016-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product! I've used this leather balm for years! Always brings my tack back to life and helps break in new leather! Plus I've buffed my leather seats in my car with it! Love love love love!
    Date published: 2016-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Absolutely nothing makes my saddle feel and look like Effax! It does make the dirt stick to the boots though. For "sticky" tack without being literally sticky it is on a level of its own and it keeps the leather looking fantastic!
    Date published: 2016-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective Had to stop borrowing it! Works well making my aged saddle look moist and better looking. I have the cleaner too
    Date published: 2016-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Great, Conditions Well, Great Value I bought the Effax Leather Balsam as a change from my usual Passier Leather Balsam. Though this is not up to the Passier quality I like the smell, and effectiveness of the Effax. Definitely worth the money and keeps tack looking and feeling fabulous!
    Date published: 2016-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Softened my leather (and my hands)
    Date published: 2016-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC FOR LEATHER I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT FOR YOUR LEATHER CONDITIONING.
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from conditions and makes leather look like new I am in love with this product. Note: some people do not like the smell, personally - I LOVE IT!
    Date published: 2015-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful job on my old paddock boots. Later, a quick wipe to get the dust off and they look great
    Date published: 2015-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Love this stuff. really conditions well and leave leather feeling wonderful.
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice for conditioning, but slippery afterwards Love how well it conditions, and quickly--but I used it on an old set of split reins and the next time I used them (2-3days later) they were a bit slippery. Thats why the four stars. Otherwise, I love the smell, the consistency, how it treats leather, and ease of use. Price may seem a bit steep, but the tub is sizable and should last a long time.
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A little goes a long way! Love the smell, all natural ingredients. A little goes a long way! This product leaves a nice shine to the leather. Great on boots, bridle and saddle. For dry or cracked leather best to use as a follow up treatment after saddle soap or similar.
    Date published: 2015-08-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Staind pants I used this product on my dressage saddle, and the next day at a show it stained my white pants black. Besides that, it smells bad.But everyone else seems to love this product, so maybe it was just me who had a bad experience.
    Date published: 2015-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasts long, works great! This product is incredible. You only need a little bit and it spreads across my tack like warm butter. I think the key to not make it greasy is apply small amounts and work in until absorbed. With other conditioners I feel like I have to constantly condition my leather in order for it to stay soft and supple, but with this product I have noticed my tack stays conditioned longer. I have had the same jar now just a little under 2 years and I still have easily one or two months of use left of it. The smell is also great!
    Date published: 2015-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic conditioner I bought this as a conditioner for in between oilings and it is absolutely fabulous. After cleaning my saddle, bridle, and breast collar i can apply this for nice supple leather. It is a tad greasy on the hands but what conditioner isn't? I live in a humid climate and i dont have a problem with it being too rich or not sinking in.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does wonders for your leather! Have used this product for years - wonderful product for saddles & bridles.
    Date published: 2015-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this! I wanted something to soften leather and keep it in condition. There are so many products that promise to do that, but this has exceeded my expectations! It is easy to use, goes on smoothly with a round sponge (wish that had been supplied as it really is the easiest way to get the product on evenly and in the right amount.) My tack looks great and is easy to care for. It is great for boots too! A little goes a long, long way, so the price is well worth it.
    Date published: 2015-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and True! Effax is a staple in our barn. Its easy to use and fool proof. It makes leather butter soft and is safe enough to use every day. It has kept all of my tack looking brand new for years.
    Date published: 2015-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great leather conditioner We had heard good reviews about Lederbalsam, and tried it. So glad we did, as it is a great one step cleaner/conditioner. Plus, it was at a fair price with fast shipping. Thank you!
    Date published: 2015-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best leather conditioner! I bought this originally for my slippery HDR saddle, but I use it on all of my leather now! Makes it so soft and supple!
    Date published: 2015-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I have been using this on my saddle and bridle for a month now and they are so soft! I use it a few times a week after I clean my tack. I have also used it on some old leather halters and bridles and it softened them right up. My friend had an old saddle she wanted to use but it hadn't been touched in years. With a week of oiling and conditioning with with Effax it looks brand new! A must have for tack!
    Date published: 2015-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for all types of leather This is the best! Will not use anything else. Makes saddle feel like you have such better contact!
    Date published: 2015-02-16
    • y_2017, m_1, d_22, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_67
    • loc_en_US, sid_10820, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders