Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Edgewood Hunter Bridle

Edgewood
- Item #14941
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Fancy stitching on padded browband and caveson. Edgewood bridles are hand crafted in the USA and are renowned for their fine attention to detail. Sold without reins.

Favorite Features 

  • Hand finished edges
  • Roller buckles on cavesons
  • Lovely stitching
  • In the famous deep chestnut color Edgewood is immediately recognizable for

Sizing

Pony (.75")

Cob (1.25")

Full (1.25")

Oversize (1.25")
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
    Description:
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Impeccably crafted, stylish hunter bridle suitable ...
    "A quality, leather, non-padded hunter style bridle made ...
    Description:
    "A quality, leather, non-padded hunter style bridle made from genuine full grain European cow hide. The Arc de Triomphe Tribute Bridle is a bridle with exquisite styling and detailing that will look gorgeous on your horse."
    "The Harwich Figure 8 Bridle by SmartPak is ...
    Description:
    "The Harwich Figure 8 Bridle by SmartPak is beautifully crafted jumper bridle made from durable vegetable-tanned leather. It features a padded noseband, browband, monocrown, and a removable fleece nose pad. The superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and ...
    "The Harwich Flash Bridle by SmartPak offers outstanding ...
    Description:
    "The Harwich Flash Bridle by SmartPak offers outstanding quality and features traditional designs with sophisticated and subtle treatments. Harwich bridles are crafted from durable vegetable-tanned leather and feature a padded noseband, browband, and monocrown. The superb craftsmanship is reflected in ...
    "The Harwich Hunter Bridle by SmartPak offers outstanding ...
    Description:
    "The Harwich Hunter Bridle by SmartPak offers outstanding quality and features traditional designs with sophisticated and subtle treatments. Harwich bridles are crafted from durable vegetable-tanned leather and feature a padded noseband, browband, and monocrown. The superb craftsmanship is reflected in ...
    "The Kavalkade Angelo Clincher Bridle is a stunning ...
    Description:
    "The Kavalkade Angelo Clincher Bridle is a stunning deep brown English caveson bridle with a flash noseband that is easily removable to be able to remove the flash and use a bridle in multiple disciples or show rings. Its anatomical ...
    "The KL Italia Chase Figure 8 bridle is ...
    Description:
    "The KL Italia Chase Figure 8 bridle is designed for comfort, with thoughtful attention to details. The Chase Figure 8 Bridle has a soft padded uni-crown headstall providing poll relief, a 7/8” padded round raised browband, and ½” Cheek pieces. ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Edgewood Hunter Bridle is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 28.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a good fit for my Warmblood; quality concerns Ordered both a full size and an oversize, but I needed a full size bridle with an oversize cavesson. Smartpak couldn't accommodate that, and suggested a cheaper bridle where they could do that. I wanted a high quality bridle, so that wasn't an option. I returned everything and bought a beautiful KL Select Italia, who would get me the oversize pieces I needed. The Italia is a great bridle, beautiful dark brown (no oiling needed) and excellent quality throughout. It was also $100 less than the Edgewood. Quality: The stitching on the Edgewood varied in quality; stitching on the reins was not as consistently high quality as the bridle. For the price of this bridle, it should have been perfect. More and more less expensive bridles do have excellent stitching. Edgewood needs to step up their quality control. Overall, it is a lovely bridle, but I fell out of love with it.
    Date published: 2016-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compliments Every Wear I Go This is such a beautiful bride and holds up to every day usage! What more can you ask? I get stopped at every show by somebody looking to complimenting this bridle. The leather quality and padding are fantastic, definitely worth the price tag! My only complaint is that the padded crown version is not a monocrown, so the padding is not what is directly touching the horse's poll.
    Date published: 2016-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful This is a beautiful bridle with buttery soft leather that looks just as expensive as it is. Oiled and darkened perfectly with 100% neatsfoot dip and slight rubbing on more stubborn areas. Sizing is a bit odd though. Horse size was definitely too small for my 16.3 warmblood with "sturdy" head, but oversize is too big, particularly the noseband. Found it odd that this in particular seemed so much larger than the rest of the bridle given that he has the exact opposite of a refined head. All in all a very nice bridle that will just need some sizing adjustments here and there.
    Date published: 2015-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bought this because another rider at my barn has one and I needed a new one. Easy to oil and after only a few uses it is breaking in nicely. Great quality leather. I've received many compliments. It is a beautiful bridle.
    Date published: 2015-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Obsessed I have been using make do, used and lower end bridles over the past few years. When I got my new horse this year I decided to buy a new nice bridle. I started researching and asking opinions etc. Everything always came back to the Edgewood. I was afraid of the orange color when I got it but had seen lots of nicely oiled bridles after the fact. I researched how to oil and did it myself. I heated the oil, dipped the bridle pieces and laid them out on a towel overnight. I woke up to a delicious dark buttery bridle. The leather is fantastic. It looks beautiful on my horse. It is the classic standard I was looking for. Everyone I know who has one has had it for years and years and it still looks great. Can't wait to see how mine holds up too.
    Date published: 2015-07-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle...runs large. I've had an Edgewood bridle for 10 years. They worth the money. I have a 17 hand horse. I ordered the O/S. I am going to return it for a smaller size. The noseband and throat latch were huge.
    Date published: 2015-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drop dead gorgeous I received this bridle about 3 weeks ago, oiled it, and have been using it everyday since. I LOVE this product. It's beautiful; the compliments never end! The leather is super nice, and the design compliments my horses head wonderfully. I got the crown piece laser engraved, and it's really nice, but bear in mind that the engraving will be off to one side because of the Edgewood logo on top.
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle This bridle is amazing! I really want another one for schooling at home.
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Quality but Too Big for Dainty TB Mare I purchased this bridle for my 16.2 hand TB mare. The quality of the bridle was impeccable, and it fit properly, but the thick and ornate noseband looked overwhelming on her dainty face. I was disappointed because my trainer has had an Edgewood bridle for over ten years and it still looks gorgeous after all these years of daily use. On a warmblood or horse with a stronger looking face the noseband would be complementary, unfortunately on my mare it was too much. I ended up exchanging this bridle for the Arc de Triomphe Imperial Bridle and the styling suits her much better.
    Date published: 2014-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality The money spent on an Edgewood bridle is worth it. The stitching is beautiful and the leather is so soft. I've also found it to be very durable. Runs slightly large.
    Date published: 2013-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely bridle. Seems well made and the very wide noseband is great for a horse with a long plain face.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Worth The Money I was looking for a nice show bridle for a long time and I settled on the Edgewood after looking at every brand out there. So many people recommended it that I thought it would be a fantastic pruchase. Wrong. The stitching on one of the cheekpieces came undone after the second ride. I carefully darkened it, but the noseband and browband would not take the oil. So now half of the bridle is a beautiful brown and the rest is still a reddish orange color. I'm not sure what happened, but I will not be purchasing Edgewood tack again.
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle Years ago I had an Edgewood bridle and martingale for my large pony (he wore a cob size) and I absolutely loved the tack. When I first bought my horse we got him an Arc De Triomphe in oversize, which was too big but still serviceable and gorgeous. After doing jumpers for a while, I was looking for a new bridle for his return to hunter land, and knew I wanted an Edgewood. This bridle is perfect for his chunkier head, as the wide noseband is the first that I have seen that is padded, and it just looks brilliant on him. We got a horse size this time around and the fit is great. Can't wait to show in it!
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Bridle This bridle oiled up nicely to a rich brown. The fit is great, and looks stunning on my bay warmblood. My only issue, is that it was missing a keeper on the throat latch. So much for Edgewood's notorious attention to detail.
    Date published: 2012-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful bridle This bridle came with my horse when I bought him 8 years ago. His owner before me had this bridle years before I got it, so it has to be atleast 10 years old. The browband was a little too small for my 16hh TB, but i just put on a different browband. now it fits perfectly! This is the most durable bridle I have ever used. My horse spooked and took off one day as I was bridling him. When I finally caught him, the reins were around his neck and the rest of the bridle was tangled up in his hind leg. I thought for sure my bridle was broken, but it was perfectly fine! That happened 6 years ago, by the way!
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have several, won't use anything else I LOVE these bridles. I started out with just one to use only at shows. Then I realized I hated using my "everyday" tack. Now I own several of these -- at least one schooling and one show bridle for each horse. They're expensive, but they look great and last for years (a couple of mine are over 10 yrs old) if properly cared for. I love how the leather is so soft. Nothing looks as classy in the ring as an Edgewood bridle!
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice Bridle I used this bridle for schooling and showing when I first bought it and it has held up very nicely. Both my trainers recommended it and a lot of people still have their edgewoods from 5+ years ago that they now use for schooling. I didn't realize how great it was until I bought a lightly used bridle of a different brand for schooling and was very surprised by the difference in quality. Unlike the reins, the fancy stitching has held up and over all the bridle still looks new. Mine did not stretch to much and fits my horse perfectly. It is a bit pricey but definitely worth it because of the quality. You will have this bridle for a long, long time. Would definitely buy it another one.
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A beautiful piece of equipment Edgewood products are, in my experience, fantastic to use. With conditioning the bridle darkens to a lovely rich brown that really brings out the stitching. I bought my bridle nearly three years ago, and have used it on a daily basis since then. With regular care, it's stayed in beautiful condition. The problem I've run into though, is that the leather is so supple that it stretches and tears very easily. It's very apparent on the noseband. Recently, mine has torn, where the buckle rests. However, I gladly bought the replacement (edgewood!) piece. I love this bridle, and would willingly reccomend it to anyone, for any venue of riding.
    Date published: 2010-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle. I have had this bridle for years and it has held up well to schooling and showing with it. Only concern is that I have a fancy stitched one and the stitching is starting to come out on the noseband. Everything else is still just as flawless as when I bought it.
    Date published: 2009-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle I purchased a square raised, fancy stitched, padded bridle with matching square raised reins and flash attachment for schooling my hunter. I also have a matching martingale and sheepskin lined girth. The leather is lovely and soft and the construction is impeccable. However, my one complaint is that the leather stretches ALOT. I oiled the bridle three times before using for about 5 rides. Across the span of those 5 rides the noseband stretched out an entire hole. Bummer. I have now reserved the bridle for show use only. The flash attachment I ordered along with my Oversize bridle was not size appropriate for the bridle. I'm not sure if the attachment only comes in one size. Needless to say, that was returned. The bridles and martingales run a bit large in Edgewood. My horse runs a true Oversize in most manufacturers but the Edgewood Oversize bridle is borderline too large as well as the martingale. He is 17.3h, large boned and long necked Dutch gelding and wears the martingale on the second to last (smallest) hole on the martingale adjustment around the girth.
    Date published: 2009-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beauty At Its Finest Want a bridle that will let people know you are serious about riding and the tack you purchase? Well this will do the trick. Edgewood's line of products will make your horse look like a million dollars on show day. I own the Bridle, Martingale, Extra Long Reigns, and the Fleece Girth for use on my hunter and I have not had any regrets. Takes oil beautifully and looks extremely delicate, while at the same time being strong and sturdy. I would recommend the full line of Edgewood products to any one in the A-Circuit, APHA, and AQHA world if you want to make your horse look the best that they can. YOU CANT GET BETTER THAN THIS!
    Date published: 2007-09-16
    • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_26
    • loc_en_US, sid_4941, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 32ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders