Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Edgewood Hunter Bridle

Edgewood
- Item #14941

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Fancy stitching on padded browband and caveson. Edgewood bridles are hand crafted in the USA and are renowned for their fine attention to detail. Sold without reins.

Favorite Features 

  • Hand finished edges
  • Roller buckles on cavesons
  • Lovely stitching
  • In the famous deep chestnut color Edgewood is immediately recognizable for

Made in USA


Sizing It Up

Pony (.75")

Cob (1.25")

Full (1.25")

Oversize (1.25")

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Edgewood Hunter Bridle is rated 4.5652 out of 5 by 23.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle...runs large. I've had an Edgewood bridle for 10 years. They worth the money. I have a 17 hand horse. I ordered the O/S. I am going to return it for a smaller size. The noseband and throat latch were huge.
    Date published: 2015-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drop dead gorgeous I received this bridle about 3 weeks ago, oiled it, and have been using it everyday since. I LOVE this product. It's beautiful; the compliments never end! The leather is super nice, and the design compliments my horses head wonderfully. I got the crown piece laser engraved, and it's really nice, but bear in mind that the engraving will be off to one side because of the Edgewood logo on top.
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle This bridle is amazing! I really want another one for schooling at home.
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Quality but Too Big for Dainty TB Mare I purchased this bridle for my 16.2 hand TB mare. The quality of the bridle was impeccable, and it fit properly, but the thick and ornate noseband looked overwhelming on her dainty face. I was disappointed because my trainer has had an Edgewood bridle for over ten years and it still looks gorgeous after all these years of daily use. On a warmblood or horse with a stronger looking face the noseband would be complementary, unfortunately on my mare it was too much. I ended up exchanging this bridle for the Arc de Triomphe Imperial Bridle and the styling suits her much better.
    Date published: 2014-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality The money spent on an Edgewood bridle is worth it. The stitching is beautiful and the leather is so soft. I've also found it to be very durable. Runs slightly large.
    Date published: 2013-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely bridle. Seems well made and the very wide noseband is great for a horse with a long plain face.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Worth The Money I was looking for a nice show bridle for a long time and I settled on the Edgewood after looking at every brand out there. So many people recommended it that I thought it would be a fantastic pruchase. Wrong. The stitching on one of the cheekpieces came undone after the second ride. I carefully darkened it, but the noseband and browband would not take the oil. So now half of the bridle is a beautiful brown and the rest is still a reddish orange color. I'm not sure what happened, but I will not be purchasing Edgewood tack again.
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle Years ago I had an Edgewood bridle and martingale for my large pony (he wore a cob size) and I absolutely loved the tack. When I first bought my horse we got him an Arc De Triomphe in oversize, which was too big but still serviceable and gorgeous. After doing jumpers for a while, I was looking for a new bridle for his return to hunter land, and knew I wanted an Edgewood. This bridle is perfect for his chunkier head, as the wide noseband is the first that I have seen that is padded, and it just looks brilliant on him. We got a horse size this time around and the fit is great. Can't wait to show in it!
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Bridle This bridle oiled up nicely to a rich brown. The fit is great, and looks stunning on my bay warmblood. My only issue, is that it was missing a keeper on the throat latch. So much for Edgewood's notorious attention to detail.
    Date published: 2012-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful bridle This bridle came with my horse when I bought him 8 years ago. His owner before me had this bridle years before I got it, so it has to be atleast 10 years old. The browband was a little too small for my 16hh TB, but i just put on a different browband. now it fits perfectly! This is the most durable bridle I have ever used. My horse spooked and took off one day as I was bridling him. When I finally caught him, the reins were around his neck and the rest of the bridle was tangled up in his hind leg. I thought for sure my bridle was broken, but it was perfectly fine! That happened 6 years ago, by the way!
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have several, won't use anything else I LOVE these bridles. I started out with just one to use only at shows. Then I realized I hated using my "everyday" tack. Now I own several of these -- at least one schooling and one show bridle for each horse. They're expensive, but they look great and last for years (a couple of mine are over 10 yrs old) if properly cared for. I love how the leather is so soft. Nothing looks as classy in the ring as an Edgewood bridle!
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice Bridle I used this bridle for schooling and showing when I first bought it and it has held up very nicely. Both my trainers recommended it and a lot of people still have their edgewoods from 5+ years ago that they now use for schooling. I didn't realize how great it was until I bought a lightly used bridle of a different brand for schooling and was very surprised by the difference in quality. Unlike the reins, the fancy stitching has held up and over all the bridle still looks new. Mine did not stretch to much and fits my horse perfectly. It is a bit pricey but definitely worth it because of the quality. You will have this bridle for a long, long time. Would definitely buy it another one.
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A beautiful piece of equipment Edgewood products are, in my experience, fantastic to use. With conditioning the bridle darkens to a lovely rich brown that really brings out the stitching. I bought my bridle nearly three years ago, and have used it on a daily basis since then. With regular care, it's stayed in beautiful condition. The problem I've run into though, is that the leather is so supple that it stretches and tears very easily. It's very apparent on the noseband. Recently, mine has torn, where the buckle rests. However, I gladly bought the replacement (edgewood!) piece.I love this bridle, and would willingly reccomend it to anyone, for any venue of riding.
    Date published: 2010-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle. I have had this bridle for years and it has held up well to schooling and showing with it. Only concern is that I have a fancy stitched one and the stitching is starting to come out on the noseband. Everything else is still just as flawless as when I bought it.
    Date published: 2009-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle I purchased a square raised, fancy stitched, padded bridle with matching square raised reins and flash attachment for schooling my hunter. I also have a matching martingale and sheepskin lined girth. The leather is lovely and soft and the construction is impeccable. However, my one complaint is that the leather stretches ALOT. I oiled the bridle three times before using for about 5 rides. Across the span of those 5 rides the noseband stretched out an entire hole. Bummer. I have now reserved the bridle for show use only. The flash attachment I ordered along with my Oversize bridle was not size appropriate for the bridle. I'm not sure if the attachment only comes in one size. Needless to say, that was returned. The bridles and martingales run a bit large in Edgewood. My horse runs a true Oversize in most manufacturers but the Edgewood Oversize bridle is borderline too large as well as the martingale. He is 17.3h, large boned and long necked Dutch gelding and wears the martingale on the second to last (smallest) hole on the martingale adjustment around the girth.
    Date published: 2009-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beauty At Its Finest Want a bridle that will let people know you are serious about riding and the tack you purchase? Well this will do the trick. Edgewood's line of products will make your horse look like a million dollars on show day. I own the Bridle, Martingale, Extra Long Reigns, and the Fleece Girth for use on my hunter and I have not had any regrets. Takes oil beautifully and looks extremely delicate, while at the same time being strong and sturdy. I would recommend the full line of Edgewood products to any one in the A-Circuit, APHA, and AQHA world if you want to make your horse look the best that they can. YOU CANT GET BETTER THAN THIS!
    Date published: 2007-09-16
    • 2016-02-10T14:39CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_21
    • loc_en_US, sid_4941, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.