Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Dublin Easy Care Half Chaps

Dublin
- Item #16138
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

These easy care half chaps are machine washable and built for comfort.

Favorite Features

  • Elasticized at the back of the chaps
  • Reinforced on the side of the calf
  • Perfect for growing kids or adults wanting a comfortable half chap that is easy to clean
  • Machine washable and hang to dry

Imported.
     

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Dublin Easy Care Half Chaps is rated 4.275 out of 5 by 120.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great half chaps I really like these these Dublin half chaps. They are soft and lightweight, very comfortable, yet are wearing really well. Best of all, I can throw them in the washing machine!
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I had hoped I was very excited to try these half chaps because they are washable. My first pair of suede half chaps were nasty dirty looking after about 2 months of use and were not washable. Brushing helped but not much.These do fit well and are comfortable but were much thinner than I was expecting and the snaps are not very sturdy, one actually came apart the first time I took them off. (I was able to beat it back together with a hammer) Not sure they are going to last long enough to need washed.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Schooling These half chaps are great for the price and have held up well to riding 4-7 times a week for the last 9 months or so. I highly recommend for schooling.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love them These are great they fit my daughter great. They are the only ones long enough for her legs all other brands of half chaps are to short. They are easy to clean. They are holding up well so far.
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really like these half chaps These chaps are so comfortable, and seem to be wearing well through the hard use I'm giving them. I wish they were a tiny bit taller, but I have long lower legs, so I think they will be a good fit for most people. So cool to be able to throw them in the washing machine. Would definitely buy these again.
    Date published: 2012-10-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value! Love the fit of these half chaps! Great price and they are super comfortable. Only complaint is that the brown is a very dark brown... don't match my light brown boots.
    Date published: 2012-10-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from ok its great to ride in but the right button dosent button
    Date published: 2012-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I have had these for about a year now. They have held up through countless confrontations with mud! They don't stretch out overtime so my still have the same snug fit as they did when I first bought them. I don't see myself replacing them anytime soon!
    Date published: 2012-08-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Couldn't make it through a whole ride I bought these half chaps looking for something to wear through the rediculous summer heat here in AZ. I didn't want to spend a lot because they were going to get super sweaty and destroyed. Unfortunately, while they felt and looked nice, they started moving and then slipping down my calf almost immediately. They are very sticky to the saddle, which I liked until I realized that this was partially what was causing the slippage....my leg moved and the chaps didn't. I had to pull them up 4 times in a 45 minute lesson. I am not a complete stick, but am fairly small and even the extra small size didn't work. I am sending them back.
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Buy!! I can not even sress how great these chaps are!! These were the first chaps my daughter ever used, and she absolutely loves them! They are of superb quality, and are definitely a great value! She's used them up to 5 times a week, for hours at times, for 2 years now, and they are just starting to wear down. The fit is excellent, and they are extremely easy to clean, just stick them in the washer and all the dirt comes right off! She needs new ones now, since she is 14 and her legs are growing, and the "fuzz" is starting to come off the chaps. But these chaps are just perfect for schooling and I highly recommend them!
    Date published: 2012-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Half Chaps Full of Quality Unless someone is looking for leather, these half chaps are the way to go. The manufacturer did everything right--no-struggle zipper, elegant suede with an ankle snap and ribbing that adds to a contoured fit. I forgot I was wearing them even after a warm day of riding.
    Date published: 2012-05-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I read the other reviews, but decided to risk it. I read the reviews, but decided to risk it because of the low price. Wrong decision. I thought that I could get around the issue of the chaps falling down by ordering an XS. Didn't work. They ride down all of the time. After wearing them for a month, I have put them in a bin and am looking to buy something else!
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product My daughter wore the child size XL almost every day for 2 years and after hundreds of uses and washings they held up well. After she grew out of them I bought this 2nd pair and we continue to experience the same durability. The elastic does not give out. The suede got a little rubbed off after a few hundred washings but I was still able to sell them to a younger rider on consignment.
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Different from the old style I bought these as a replacement for the same ones I've had for awhile now. These were supposed to be the same Dublin EZ care as what I currently have - that I also ordered from SmartPak. But, they are not the same product. The ones that I just receive are a lot larger and made of different material that stretches much more than the original material. I'm not tiny by any means and I ordered a medium which fit me in the prior material but in this pair, the medium was basically falling off. I will be returning mine because of the very poor fit.
    Date published: 2012-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great half chaps for the price I needed an inexpensive pair of half chaps to wear over my winter boots (MH Rimfrosts), as my regular half chaps just didn't fit over the bulk of the ankle. I have a 16" calf, and order the TL. They fit well over the boots, plus winter breeches with long underwear and heavy socks, with a little room to spare (without feeling too big).The one drawback (which is minor) is that the material is very grippy and SO squeaky against the saddle! I'm sure they'll break in (I haven't been riding much this winter), but man, are they loud.
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the Price I was looking for some schooling chaps while on a tight budget, and these are perfect for all of my needs. They are very durable, and they fit well.
    Date published: 2012-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME HALF-CAPS theses are the best half caps i have ever owned. i love them, they fit great and they go great with any riding outfit
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2nd Pair Bought I bought my 1st pair of the Easy Care halfchaps when they came in pink. Held up to at least two years when I was just riding 1 horse/day. Only one snap broke after at least 1 year of use, showed some wear and tear, but really held up & washed well! Just bought these in black, seem to be thinner and not as durable feeling as the very first pair I got, but still like them for their ease of use and washability (haven't washed this pair yet though). This new pair slides down my leg as I ride, as the 1st pair stayed in place. Only slide down about an inch, and I will pull them up between the several rides a day I do. Overall, I would recommend these, and I probably would buy again! Can't beat the fact that you can machine wash them! Great schooling chap.
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from First purchase Purchased these for a friend for xmas. Quality and value look good for the price and plan on ordering a pair for myself. This was my first time shopping with Smart Pak and used the live chat and they matched the price I found on another site. Really liked the live chat as salesperson was fast, helpful and answered all my questions.
    Date published: 2012-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!! I've bought 2 pairs of theese chaps, and I love them! They fit my skinney legs, and last a lloooonnngggg time! I wore my last pair all day almost every day for a year before the zipper broke. When they get super dirty, I can just throw them in the wash, or brush them off with a broom. They're super easy to care for, fit well, and are affordable. I LOVE theese chaps!
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great Fit But.... I bought these brand new lured in by the "easy care". They fit and feel great on my legs and fit nicely over my riding shoes. However, after the first week of riding in them, they are very worn. All the material that comes into contat with the stirrup leathers has flaked off and they are developing holes in these areas also. So, even though I just bought these, I am now having to purchase another pair of half chaps. I won't go synthetic again....
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the value. Great for beginning riders. Inexpensive and super comfortable.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Thin, but works well for the price. When I bought these it was a snap decision because I'd broken the Zipper off my older chaps. I don't regret it but having known how thin they are I feel like one wrong fall and they're going to tear.
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Price Product I was looking for half chaps a week before my schooling show and went to Google. This pair of chaps was the first hit and the price was right so I went ahead and ordered them. The expected day of delivery was the day before my show (a Saturday), but they showed up on Friday. Pretty good shipping turn around for waiting until the last minute.They fit well and worked great for the show. They are a bit hard to clean (you wipe the dirt off with a wet rag and it looks clean when it's wet and when it dries, it looks dusty again), but they fit well and the price was right. I've only worn them at the one show, so I'm not sure how they'll hold up, but I just plan on wearing them for weekly lessons and shows.
    Date published: 2011-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chaps These chaps may be a little lighter in weight than others but I like that. They fit great and went around my paddock boots better than chaps twice the price. They aren't as hot as others I have worn. That is important in Texas.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good half chap for summer wear These are lighter weight the conventional suede half chaps and are easily washed. Perfect for hot summer days of riding. But, not as protective to the shins and inside leg as suede half chaps. They do seem to do the job and appear to be sturdy enough to last a bit. Fit is very good.
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Invest in a Better Product I was really disappointed with these half chaps after reading all of the reviews. I really don't like them at all. I measured my leg and they were a little small for me. They sag down when I'm riding. They are very thin, it's almost like not wearing any. I like the support of half-chaps, but these were a waste of my money. I only wore them a few times and the stitching is already starting to tear. I'd rather invest the money and get a pair that will last me a few years.
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't hold up These chaps have been adequate since I ordered them at the beginning of the year, and I've worn them a lot. But the suede-like material is really starting to wear off, leaving only some mesh behind. The other problem I had with these was that though they felt like they fit well, they were too thin to stay up with the friction of movement, and they would fall down and bunch around my ankle. My trainer always said she could tell that I was working :), but that also meant they didn't protect me from pinches. Super easy to throw them in the wash, though--that part I loved!! Would be great for a beginner wanting to take lessons in; price can't be beat!!!!
    Date published: 2011-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product These are great half chaps for the money. Very good looking.However they are a little thin even with the double protection on the inner leg. They also run a little large. I had to send back the tall medium in exchange for the tall small.
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Chaps I bought these chaps for my daughter, and she loves them. The only problem that she has had with them so far, is some of the stitching came loose, easy to fix, and sometimes they slides down a bit while she is riding. The are easy to clean up with a bit of water and a good stiff brush. Great value for the beginner rider!
    Date published: 2011-05-01
    • 2015-08-31T15:25CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_101
    • loc_en_US, sid_6138, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.