Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Dubarry Galway Boot

Dubarry USA, LLC
- Item #17708

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Dubarry Galway Boot is the original waterproof, breathable boot from Dubarry, perfect all purpose outdoor footwear for any weather. Raved about in Europe for years due to the unique marriage of function, durability and style that has been a hallmark of Dubarry since 1937. Used for a variety of outdoor pursuits from equestrian pursuits to dog walking or country lifestyle and from hunting to winter fashion. Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Full Gore-Tex® lining provides complete waterproofing
  • DryFast-DrySoft™ exterior leather offers protection, comfort, temperature control, durability and style.
  • Treated exterior allows you to rinse mud and muck from your boots with a hose!
  • PU/Rubber sole, unique to Dubarry boots, is direct injection molded to the upper to ensure a proper seal for superior function.
  • We strongly recommend Dubarry Leather Cream for extended life in barn environments

Imported 

Sizing It Up

Because of the wider instep and roomier design, please consider sizing down if you are in between sizes. 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Dubarry Galway Boot is rated 4.6937 out of 5 by 160.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hard working boot I originally bought a pair in April of 2011 and literally wore them out. I did everything in them and they were definitely worked hard and put away wet. The only problem I have is that they have very little arch support, so my feet would hurt after walking 2-3 xc courses. However, my feet were nice and dry, so I couldn't complain too much. I had to buy this pair because I had worn the leather away on the inside of my ankle causing a hole that dubarry couldn't fix without hurting the goretex. They are the best equine footwear for nonriding and are worth the price.
    Date published: 2015-08-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice boots but stiff bought these to replace a pair i had 4 years, still like them but stiff
    Date published: 2015-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Boots! Leather quality is great - soft and buttery right out of the box. Look and feel like they are made to last. Getting lots of compliments on them.My only dissapointment was that the footbed doesn't have any arch support, but that can be fixed with an insert I'm sure.
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from THRILLED THEN DISSATISFIED I brought my first pair of the Galway Dubarrys in 2011 and I absolutely loved them, extremely comfortable and I thought durable. I worn them usually dog walking, but occasionally at the stable. I cleaned and conditioned them regularly and they continued to stand up to my use until last month when I noticed my left foot was damp and on further inspection noticed the sole of the boot coming loose from the toe. I emailed Dubarry and have not heard from them. I understand they are only warranted for one year, but I find this unacceptable to happen within three years. I have a pair of Ariat Bromonts that have lasted eight years and still going. I am sorry to have to write this as I really like the boots.
    Date published: 2015-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from After a rough start, so far so good! I initially read that these boots run big, however, I didn't find that to be the case. I normally wear a 9.5 so I ordered a 9. Well they were too small. So then, I thought that the 9.5 should be perfect; wrong. They were too small. So I sent them back and ordered the 10. They fit perfectly. I have normal-narrow width feet, so I was surprised to have to size up.So far they're great. Very comfortable and I love the height so that shavings don't get in.
    Date published: 2015-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love 'em Had them 4 a month. So far they're awesome. Stylish, comfortable, & super water proof. Can't wait to c how long they last.
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sarah's Christmas Sarah loves these boots and with all the wet weather we have had since Christmas. She has enjoyed splashing through puddles.
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Think twice before buying I got my first pair for Christmas several years ago. I was delighted because they were comfortable and seemed sturdy. I wore them winter, because they were warm and waterproof, and in summer, because they were comfortable and dry for course walks, dog walks and early horse show mornings when the ground was still wet with dew. I did not wear them to ride or muck stalls. Unfortunately, the second winter they started to leak. I wrote to Dubarry and after much discussion, they agreed to replace them even though the said they were only guaranteed for 1 year. The same thing happened to the current pair. This summer they too started to leak, even though I proactively bought the expensive treatment recommended by the staff at the Rolex booth. They rudely told me that the leakage was a manufacturing defect, to contact Dubarry (again) directly, and they would probably not replace them since they were over a year old. I really liked these boots, but don't feel that the company standsbehind them, nor do I feel they are worth the expense.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great boots Pricy but well worth it. Confortable and well made
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots Pricy but worth it, feel comfortable and well crafted
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extraordinary boots! Purchased for my daughter who is studying Agriculture/Economics and therefore has labs at Dairy farms etc. She also is an equestrian and she hasn't taken the boots off since she received them for Christmas. Warm, comfortable and weatherproof. (and great looking!)
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FABULOUS BOOT Wear these boots everywhere . . . town, barn, chicken coop. They are comfortable, warm,exceptional quality, expensive and great looking.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfortable and durable Comfortable with no break in. Waterproof in extreme conditions. Fit true to size.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots Ever! I have always wanted a pair of these and I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable they are. They hold their shape well and are extremely warm! Looking forward to seeing how they hold up over the years. They are pretty narrow through the foot, so I needed a half size up.
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wonderful boot! Had I written this review for my first pair it would be 5 stars and then some. I bought a pair of Dubarry's in 2007 and wore the heck out of them (rode in them, city walked in them, mucked stalls, tromped around shows, through water, snow, etc) and treated them basically with benign neglect. They held up amazingly well and frankly still look good. It was only this last year or so that the soles developed a small crack and I bought a new pair. I will say that the new pair does not seem as durable. Wondering if all of the popularity has resulted in mass production/lower production values on the company's part, which is sad. The stitching has come loose in places and I haven't even ridden in them. They are right fashionable, but I bought them to go to the barn as well as around town. That being said, I still love them. They still look great. And they are comfy as all get out.
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them Great early Christmas present!!!! Super warm & comfy
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as expected! My daughter loves them! They look great and feel even better.
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy I bought these boots!!! I thought a long time about buying these books because they are pricey, but I'm so happy I took the plunge! The first time I stepped into them they felt almost broken in, so comfy. I love the craftsmanship and the look of them. I almost bought the competition's version but am glad I went for the DuBarrys because I'm hard on my footwear and these like they will hold up! People say they run large, I ordered the 8.5 and they fit to size for me but my foot tends to run slightly on the wide side though wide fit shoes are too wide for me.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous footwear! I bought these a few weeks ago and ordered the wrong size. I sent them back and the customer service folks were wonderful about expediting the order. Boots are here and I love them. Have never been disappointed in the service I receive.
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pricey - worth it, let's hope Just purchased these boots (kept them in the "wishlist" for a significant time) ... let's hope they are all I was expecting them to be as I trial them throughout the winter!I did recently take them on a trip to the west coast and they were great.I would say this - I do think that Dubarry has a step up on the knockoffs for certain. I guess for purchase price alone, I wish I could have bought the less expensive brands, but admit that this was the only one that fits my higher arch successfully (and wow, nice quality as well).Enjoy if you try them as well
    Date published: 2014-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holds up well in all weather. Good fit, easy on, easy off. Comfortable for long hours in the barn.
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Absolute Best Boots Ever I bought these boots a year and a half ago after thinking about them for so long. Yes they are pricey but OH MAN THEY ARE WORTH IT! I have worn them in 70 degree weather and -10 degree weather and my feet are always happy. I don't ride in mine very often but I do wear them to the barn and around show grounds. They are still holding up and I have only cleaned them once. As for the stitching problems that some people are having: I have never had any! The stitching has held up great with not even the slightest bit of ware. I get more compliments on them than any other shoes. Through puddles and mud and snow these boots have never failed me!
    Date published: 2014-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them Amazing quality, as was expected. All the reviews I'd read said they run big and since I usually teeter between sizes 7.5-8, I went with 7.5. Unfortunately they were tight, do I had to exchange for the bigger size. Im very happy with them
    Date published: 2014-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No break-in period! My Dubarry's were instantly comfortable. I brought them with me (brand new) on a two week trip to Scotland and they kept my feet warm and dry without giving me any rubs. Walked right into Loch Lomand and hiked around Hadrin's Wall without any issues. I did add a gel innersole since I was doing city walking in them as well as running around in lakes and sheep fields. I can't wait to start wearing them in the barn!
    Date published: 2014-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for walking, riding, barn work...!! I've had my Dubarry Galways for 3 years now. I purchased them specifically for long walks to university while I lived in Edinburgh. They are fashionable enough for the city, waterproof and comfortable enough for hiking, and practical enough for the barn. The winter of 2011 was one of the worst on record in Edinburgh and my Dubarrys + thick socks meant my feet stayed warm and dry on 2 mile walks to uni through often thick snow. I also wear them for walks on the south downs with my family. I use them for barn work and hacking out, though I would not recommend for lessons or schooling as grip is not great. Mine are worn just about daily and have been for 3 years. My boots still look great and are well cared for. I know people have commented about stitching rubbing out but I have not had this problem. I absolutely love my boots and am going to buy some clares when I have the money.
    Date published: 2014-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from just fabulous! Comfortable! Waterproof - YAY! Love the purchase even though they are a bit pricey. Ordered on a Thursday and they were delivered the next day - amazing!
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Quality! Love these boots. I wear them everywhere! I can wear them while schooling, hanging out at the barn, and even out and about town.The quality is amazing and they've help up beautifully. I'm always getting complements.
    Date published: 2014-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous boots! Fabulous well made boots! I also have a pair of the Dublin River boots and these hold up better. I feel they fit true to size, I don't feel they run large. They are on the expensive side, but they hold their value :-)
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Longterm Durability I would not recommend these boots. They do not hold up and the company does not stand behind its product. I deliberated for months on whether to purchase these or apair of knock offs and was convinced when a Dubarry salesperson told me, whilestanding in a bucket of water, that they would last “for decades”. While attractive, the stitching began coming apart at the ankles with really only minimal use- primarilywalking in the snowy winters. I know of at least two others who had similar issues.When I asked to have them repaired they told me that the stitching was due to“abrasions and rubbing of some sort”. They said they would repair them for a $150.00 plus shipping to Ireland. I was surprised by this response as I’ve ridden in themfewer than a dozen times resulting in limited rubbing. I do not have the means formany expensive articles but see the value in purchasing high quality items that last.These, unfortunately do not meet my standards. I would prefer to spend the $150 on a pair of new knock-offs, which, by the way my sister purchased at the same time, andthey are still going strong!
    Date published: 2014-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Soft and Fit Like a Glove Met a tourist from Australia that was wearing these in the sleet and rain. They are perfect for everyday here in Alaska
    Date published: 2014-03-07
    • 2016-02-10T14:42CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_148
    • loc_en_US, sid_7708, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.