Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Deo Lotion

Item #11518
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save 5% (Details)

days
You'll save $ per shipment, or $ per year!
(Discounted price will be reflected in your cart)
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Deo Lotion is easy to use and environmentally safe. Deo Lotion is made with 100% natural ingredients. Deo Lotion Fly Repellent prevents any contact- no more flies, horseflies or gnats spoiling your ride!

Deo Lotion is offered in concentrate, gel or roll on

View Product Label

Favorite Features

  • Easy to Use
  • Environmentally safe

Ingredients

Gel: Lauryl Sulfate, Citronella Oil, Clove Oil, Thyme Oil, Cedar Oil, Geranium Oil, Olive Oil, Grape Seed Oil, Vitamin E, Water, Hydroxymethyl, Cellulose, Water$0$0Liquid: Lauryl Sulfate, Citronella Oil, Clove Oil, Thyme Oil, Cedar Oil, Geranium Oil, Olive Oil, Grape Seed Oil, Vitamin E, Water$0$0Roll On: Lauryl Sulfate, Citronella Oil, Clove Oil, Thyme Oil, Cedar Oil, Geranium Oil, Olive Oil, Grape Seed Oil, Vitamin E, Water
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Amigo Fine Mesh Fly Mask with ears ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo Fine Mesh Fly Mask with ears is ready to help you battle those pesky flies this coming season! Lightweight and stretchy, it protects from flies with its contoured fit and large, soft ears. Breathable, fine mesh outer with ...
    "Bite-Lite brings pest control indoors with the introduction ...
    Description:
    "Bite-Lite brings pest control indoors with the introduction of the Armadilha Insect Indoor Light Trap. What's in a name? The word ""armadilha"" means ""trap"" in Portuguese. If you need to control indoor house flies, moths, wasps, and other flying pests ...
    "CalmCoat® Natural Fly Repellent is a water based ...
    Description:
    "CalmCoat® Natural Fly Repellent is a water based formula that is designed to repel biting insects. The unique combination of Citronella and other botanicals naturally repel biting insects including fleas, ticks, mosquitoes, black flies, no-see-ums, gnats, chiggers, and deer flies. ...
    "Add our Equiderma Skin Lotion to your favorite ...
    Description:
    "Add our Equiderma Skin Lotion to your favorite must have’s and you’ll have a new champion by your side. With power, predictably and gentle grace it will quickly conquer the skin problems that leave your horse uncomfortable. Rain rot, scratches, ...
    "Aloe Herbal Flay Spray Ready To Use A ...
    Description:
    "Aloe Herbal Flay Spray Ready To Use A gentle blend of ingredients, including botanical oils to repel flies, gnats, and other flying insects on horses. Contains coat conditioners and sunscreen which promote a healthy coat and protection from the sun. ...
    "A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece ...
    Description:
    "A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece Fly Mask is constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene® fabric, a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable. It's made to withstand tough outdoor use. The densely woven ...
    "The Bite-Lite H-Trap is the newest and most ...
    Description:
    "The Bite-Lite H-Trap is the newest and most effective horse fly trap on the market today for catching tabanids (also known as greenheads, deer flies, yellow flies, and B-52 bombers). By placing this unique, study trap in a hot, sunny ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Deo Lotion is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 181.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works better than anything else This is my second year using this stuff. You mix it as concentrated as suits your needs and it keeps the flys, but especially, the knats off. Their coats gleam and I think they even like the smell. I sure do. My vet tells me that pyrethrins break down within 15 minutes in sun light. This stuff lasts all day. And the price is right - I'm paying less than $4 for a quart of spray.
    Date published: 2015-05-15
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from smart flex sr great Deo lotion not I bought this and the flies are still in love with my horse I wipe it on with a rage or sponge and the seem to love him ..
    Date published: 2015-04-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Smells great, average performance.. Bought this at a show after the horrible realization that I had forgotton to pack my own fly spray for my more sensitive thoroughbred gelding. The perks: it smells fantastic and is easy to apply, especially the lotion! Great for areas that you don't necessarily want to spray, i.e. their face. The downsides: while it was certainly better than the alternative of just going fly-spray-less, I was a bit under-enthused with the performance, especially for the price. I noticed my horse developed some irritated skin on his chest where we had applied it, which luckily was taken care of after a good bath. Final verdict? Not necessarily worth the extra money. I'll probably be sticking to the more traditional sprays, or trying Smartpak's new proprietary brand this year.
    Date published: 2015-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing stuff! I was told by a friend of mine about this product, and let me try her lotion on my horses, the horses love it! Plus the smell is so good, I use it on myself! Keeps the bugs off their faces and legs, conditions their skin, gives them a pretty shine, and doesn't leave a greasy residue! It's great! I'll always have it in my barn!
    Date published: 2014-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product-effective and pleasant to use I purchased this product after reading about it on the blogs/forums on smartpak's website. Several people recommended it for horses with a sensitive coat. My older Haflinger gelding has been having more allergy and coat issues this past summer. This product has been a very effective repellent for insects. It has a pleasant citronella odor, and has been non-irritating for my horse. It is somewhat pricey, but it definately works!
    Date published: 2014-09-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from smells good We have tried several types of fly sprays, most recently this one. Unfortunately, we have yet to find one we are totally satisfied with. Maybe we are expecting too much, or perhaps our Pennsylvania flies are just incredibly aggressive.
    Date published: 2014-09-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fly Repellent I bought CLAC for my horses because it's safe enough that I can even use it on myself and my dogs. My horses have absolutely no problems with me spraying or wiping CLAC on them, it's as if they know it will not harm them. It is a good product for deterring the bugs and smells great.
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for my sensitive tb! I've been buying this for years. It does not make my very sensitive thoroughbred mare break out in hives. It smells great! It works decently for not being a very harsh fly spray
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well Since I don't use harsh chemicals on my horse this product is a good alternative. It repels flies and mosquitoes, and smells nice too!
    Date published: 2014-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Non-irritating spray for sensitive coats Bought a small bottle for my allergic Haffie, trying to rule out allergens, and saw this product recommended on a Smartpak discussion forum. Citronella smell is pleasant, and it is non-irritating, and good defense against bugs! I just ordered a bigger bottle!
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite fly spray I have used this for years. My horses prefer it because it keeps the flies away but it is not harsh like the ones with alcohol.
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly protection So far I have bought three bottles of CLAC this year. It's amazing how different my horses will react to a fly spray that is not horrible for them. CLAC is so safe I can use it. When I spray my horses they just stand still waiting for me to finish, but if I approach them with a horrible chemical spray they fuss and leave me. I apply CLAC in the morning and again at night around dinner time it keeps the bugs at bay. I can actually breath while spraying them without a problem which is also something I can not do with the horrible chemical sprays. I will wheeze for days. I use the cream and the roll on also. It's a safe product.
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! I bought this product a month ago after trying the cream, which worked wonderfully. We have a lot of biting flies at our barn because there is a dairy facility just down the road. I have several horses who are showing sensitivity to the flies. One won't keep his fly boots on, and even Final Fly-T wasn't doing the job; I was also very concerned about using such a strong and harsh product on already irritated skin. I used the Deo lotion, and we noticed a decrease in the flies and gnats right away! Since I teach lots of kids, some of which have special needs and can be very sensitive to chemicals, I am thrilled to find a product that I can feel better about using with children around. This product contains no harsh unpronounceable chemicals, just plant based oils, and it is safe enough to use on yourself ;-) I only wish they made a spray formulation and sold it by the gallon!
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A long time favorite This product not only works but both the horses and I like it - I sometimes even spritz a little on the back of my neck before heading out for a trail ride. It lasts a long time if you dilute it correctly.
    Date published: 2014-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great, even helps with greenheads! I love the gel, it comes with a sponge in the container. I put it all over my horses belly, chest, ears and parts of neck when the greenheads are bad when I ride and especially at shows. I do the same for turnout as well and keeps even the greenheads away from any area he has this on. Just try to use every other day or be sure to wash off. My horse is sensitive and will burn if I use this too often. Still the best stuff I have found. One of the gel containers usually lasts most of a fly season for me.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Effective! I purchased this product less than 1 month ago ago and it is super effective! I have a very sensitive thoroughbred who can't stand flies, and he barely notices them when we are riding because of this product. I am so thankful for the customer service representative at smartpak who recommended it to me
    Date published: 2014-07-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Effective...a little messy I ordered the gel and I have found this to be a super product and very effective! Repels flies, gnats and mosquitoes. I bought it for the face and figured it would be not very messy being a gel, unlike other gunky products like SWAT. Although it isn't greasy like those products and doesn't seem to leave buildup its still a bit messier than I imagined plus the lid was hard to close with icky hands. I would say its more of a lotion than a gel. Likewise, because it is not thick, it doesn't seem to last very long. Since I was essentially happy with it, I just scooped some out and got it into a spray bottle and mixed with water and use it like that. Overall, good product! I'm ordering the roll on this time!
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Foal safe I bought both the concentrate (rated here) and the roll-on, knowing that I would have a mare and foal needing protection from midsummer flies. Both have done well with the concentrate, showing no major swelling, scabs, or other sign of fly problems--although I do have to renew the Clac application after a couple of hours. No irritation from the product, either--I would hesitate to use stronger, harsher chemicals on the mare and foal. Had used this product some years ago, and glad to have returned to it.
    Date published: 2014-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Foal safe I bought both the concentrate and the roll-on (the latter rated here), knowing that I would have a mare and foal needing protection from midsummer flies. The roll-on has worked well on ears, rolling on easily and apparently working well (no fly-bite scabs inside the ears of the now 3-week-old foal) with no irritation. Also stayed on well on the mare's face, since I didn't want to put a mask on her right away. Hadn't used Clac in a few years, but glad to have gone back to it.
    Date published: 2014-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps flies at bay I don't like to slather my horse in bug dope - I know some of the fly spray chemicals are really toxic to humans and horses. This seems to work ok, I usually apply it right before a ride and she seems fairly calm for the hour or so that we're working. I definitely need to re-apply daily to keep the black fly bites from getting too bad. I mixed it in a 5-1 ratio and it seems to do the trick.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad I tried it! When the Smartpak representative recommend this to me, I'd never heard of CLAC or DEO before. When it arrived, I was very pleased with the ease-of-use and the effectiveness of this product.
    Date published: 2014-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! Easy to use and really works well!
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow & Wow I have used this the past 3 days on my OTTB mare. She is super sensitive to the no-see-ums/little gnats that like to burrow & in the past I have used every other fly spray on the market, plus home-made concoctions. 3 days ago, she was starting to swell & the bugs were burrowing in her chest like they do-I used this spray on her chest, belly & between her back legs (underneath) & by that afternoon, the swelling was GONE, the bugs were GONE, & she is not rubbing her tail like in past summers! I am so excited to have found this-I love the way it smells with it's essential oil ingredients. If you have a sensitive horse-this is worth a try. I hope it continues thru the summer. Hooray!
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for sensitive horses. I have used this product before and was excited to find it on the smartpak site. Love the smell and the way it keeps bugs at bay.
    Date published: 2014-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best Fly Repellants I've used all the forms of Deo Lotion--Concentrate, the cream that you can apply w/a sponge (GREAT for applying to the midline of the belly and the back of the ears), and the roll on, which is what I'm reviewing here. I bought the roll on to apply to the inside of my mares' ears. The minute it starts to get slightly warm, small, gnat-like bugs arrive and start biting and bloodying their ears. It's awful. Deo roll on allows me to apply the repellant comfortably in their ears and the gnats and bites vanish. It only takes A LITTLE and you don't want it to drip down their ears. Just get the roller dampened and spread it around the the ear; a little goes a long way AND lasts about 3-5 days.
    Date published: 2014-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Sensitive Horses. I have used this product many times, love the scent and the horses love the way it works! Would recommend to anyone who has thin skinned horses.
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from CLAC Fly Spray I've used CLAC on and off for years and tried other products but I keep coming back to my old stand by. During peak fly season it may need to be reapplied more often but it's worth it considering I can use a fly spray where I don't have to worry about what chemicals my horse and I are exposed to.
    Date published: 2014-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Natural Fly Spray I've used this product for years. The scent is pleasant, and I feel better about daily use with this product given that it has known, identifiable ingredients. It's not the best at keeping all flies off my horse during the sweaty summer months, but when the flies aren't so prevalent, it certainly works. It also comes at a great price. I get about 3 bottles of fly spray out of one bottle of this concentrate, making it one of the cheapest fly sprays around.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from clac gel This was an awesome product. I used it on the face and nose not covered by the fly mask- and no flies. Great product
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best "natural" flyspray This product works great for my sensitive mare and keeps gnats away from all of my horses.
    Date published: 2013-08-27
    • y_2017, m_12, d_17, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_164
    • loc_en_US, sid_1518, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 79ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders