Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Deo Lotion

Item #11518
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Deo Lotion is easy to use and environmentally safe. Deo Lotion is made with 100% natural ingredients. Deo Lotion Fly Repellent prevents any contact- no more flies, horseflies or gnats spoiling your ride!

Favorite Features

  • Easy to Use
  • Environmentally safe

Sizing It Up
Deo Lotion is offered in concentrate, gel or roll on

View Product Label

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Deo Lotion is rated 4.6039 out of 5 by 154.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from CLAC Fly Spray I've used CLAC on and off for years and tried other products but I keep coming back to my old stand by. During peak fly season it may need to be reapplied more often but it's worth it considering I can use a fly spray where I don't have to worry about what chemicals my horse and I are exposed to.
    Date published: 2014-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Natural Fly Spray I've used this product for years. The scent is pleasant, and I feel better about daily use with this product given that it has known, identifiable ingredients. It's not the best at keeping all flies off my horse during the sweaty summer months, but when the flies aren't so prevalent, it certainly works. It also comes at a great price. I get about 3 bottles of fly spray out of one bottle of this concentrate, making it one of the cheapest fly sprays around.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from clac gel This was an awesome product. I used it on the face and nose not covered by the fly mask- and no flies.Great product
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best "natural" flyspray This product works great for my sensitive mare and keeps gnats away from all of my horses.
    Date published: 2013-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Flyspray I love this flyspray! It's affective almost all season (I just start the season mixing it less strong then when we are at the height of the season). I love that I can spray my horses and then use it myself and on my dog. And the gel is AMAZING!!!! You don't have to worry about getting it in their eyes! It is super easy with the sponge to get all the right places.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from No effect on bugs I have purchased Clac in the past without good results, but got swayed to try it again by all of the good reviews. It was a waste of money. I made the concentrate 7:1, and then 4:1 and it didn't repel flies for one second. I wasn't even able to drown them by spraying them directly!Maybe the bugs in other parts of the country respond, but the gnats, green heads, deer flies, and stable flies here are completely undeterred.
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy I am very happy with this product. I bought the gel for my geldings belly and sheath, works well. He doesn't have the welts on him from the gnats, it smells pleasant and comes with an easy application sponge. Just a word of caution, to NOT use the gel on fair skined or white noses because it is mostly oil and will cause sunburn!!
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite fly spray I've tried cheap and expensive sprays but I keep coming back to this one. Tried to make my own essential oils concoction last year based on the Deo formula but it just clogged up the sprayers.Really good value - the 1-litre bottle makes 2 gallons.
    Date published: 2013-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from At last ! Something that works! Nothing else kept the flies away.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so great I was expecting more from this after reading some reviews. Although it smells nice, it really only repels flies for about 3 minutes after you apply it. I tried doubling the suggested strength, and I think that helped some, but not enough to get me to buy any more. I think Ultrashield is probably better, and have tried Adams fly spray with good results.
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Economical You dilute the concentrate at a ratio of 1:7. So it goes along way and works as good as more expensive chemical sprays.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love using this natural fly spray instead of the harsh chemicals and it seems to work just as well.
    Date published: 2013-06-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Trying this out So far I'm not sure this works as well as the reviews stated. I mixed the concentrate 50/50 and when applied it keeps the flies away for about an hour. I usually apply when the horses are stalled eating to help with the stomping. I am going to continue experimenting with the ratio. The smell is pleasant.
    Date published: 2013-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Product but..... It is a concentrate and there isn't any directions on how to mix it. I've just been mixing it 6oz water to 1oz deo. It seems to work well at that ratio.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only repellent I use! I started using this full time 3 years ago for a horse who is very sensitive to topicals. I have tried almost every herbal fly repellent made, as well as making my own concoction, and the Deo-Lotion is by FAR the best. I use both the concentrate (dilute it according to how bad the flies are at the time) and the gel. About once a summer I have tried a different fly spray (an expensive chemical one) and always come back to the Deo-Lotion. Sometimes I add in some Skin-So-Soft to help a little more with the gnats for my horse that has sweet itch.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Fly Spray I originally bought this product for a horse who started having reactions to pyrethrin based fly sprays. It is amazingly hard to find a fly spray without pyrethrin but a comparison article rated this product better than even the synthetic and natural pyrethroids. Ten years later I no longer have that horse but I still preferentially use this product for my current horse. It honestly does work better than anything else I've ever used and I recommend it to all my clients.
    Date published: 2013-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever For seven years I have been searching for a safe, natural product that would last longer than 6 hours. I am thrilled to say Deo keeps the midge at bay for a good 18 plus hours. My horse is so much more comfortable. If I want longer protection, I rub the gel on her belly. This gives her an easy 30 - 36 hours of protection. It smells nice and it is not a sticky mess. Great product.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best stuff ever! I love the gel! It is very easy to apply. A couple of wipes down the flanks, legs, and neck and your horse is bug free. Doesn't take much and container lasts one horse a whole, long, hot, Texas summer.
    Date published: 2013-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Doesn't do much for mosquitos Really enjoy that Deo Lotion is natural and I feel safe putting this on my horse and myself. Mixes up easily and one 500ml makes at least 4 32 ounce bottles of spray. Does well on the flies and I love the smell! My Thoroughbred has no problems with this spray on his skin.
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very strong Citronella! I really liked this product because it is natural. It really smells good. The flies don't like it, but it does not repel all of the flies. Plus you should not put the stuff near your horses eyes or ears. It has worked better than anything else I have tried. So overall, I liked it!
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff really works! We have been using DeoLotion concentrate and Clac gel for several years at our barn. It does a great job repelling those annoying flies and even the most sensative-skinned horses have had no reaction to these products. I like the fact that DeoLotion can be either diluted for use in a spray or used as a wipe when the flies are especially persistant.
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the only insect repellent I will use on my horse. I love the smell and the fact it is made from all natural ingredients. I find it works better than most other fly sprays and gels on the market. I dilute the liquid so one bottle goes a long ways. I love the gel for application on the poll, ears, and face.
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from helps, but.... As with all fly sprays I've ever tried, this helps but doesn't last. I think our flies 'get used to it' and become immune to it! So therefore I rotate fly sprays, even use two brands-one on top of the other. Right now I have five brands of fly spray in the barn! I use them everyday along with fly sheets, masks, and booted front legs and my horses still stomp a lot.
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good at first but... My mare has sweet itch and the first time I ordered this I was really happy with the bug protection. I like the idea of natural protection. However, on the second order my horse had a skin reaction, so I stopped using it. I called Smartpak and they looked into it for me - yay Smartpak- and they did find that the makers did indeed change the "recipe". Unfortunately I can no longer use it, but Smartpak gave me a refund. :)
    Date published: 2012-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING!!! This is by far the best fly spray out there. It is all natural so it is great even for horses with sensitive skin! It keeps the flies away!!!! I also bought the gel (which was more of a cream) last year for the firt time and it was great for putting on their ears, around their eyes and under my mare near her udders where she always gets bitten! This is a fabulous product I highly reccommend it!
    Date published: 2012-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Spray! My QH gelding broke out last summer (itchy, peeling skin) after I switched to a stronger spray. After going back to Deo his skin quickly returned to normal. I love that this is a concentrate because I can mix it stronger during really heavy fly seasons. I would definitely recommend this to anyone!
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from exceptional product I've used this fly spray for years. It's all natural and one light spray is effective in keeping flies off of my horse for at least three days. I dilute it about half and half, and even spray the inside of his paddock lightly with it. It's well worth the price.
    Date published: 2011-12-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than most The clac is definitely better than most products. Diliute more than it suggests and it helps even more. The worst part about this product is that the tail ends up getting greasy and hard to brush.
    Date published: 2011-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for horses with sensitive skin My mare had a bad reaction to stronger sprays - lots of peeling and itching. This does a good job of keeping flies off of her without the problems. It doesn't last as long per application, but that's an okay trade off for me. I really like that it is a concentrate - one bottle lasts a good long time.
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No More Pealing or Flakey Skin Chemical-based insect repellents caused peeing and flakey skin on my QH gelding. This product has eliminated this malady and restored a healthy coat.It does not repel gnats and mosquitoes very well. It needs to be reapplied frequently.Until I can find a safer repellent, I will continue to use this product in order to avoid skin peeling again.
    Date published: 2011-09-10
    • 2015-08-29T01:57CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_138
    • loc_en_US, sid_1518, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.