Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Deo Lotion

Item #11518
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Deo Lotion is easy to use and environmentally safe. Deo Lotion is made with 100% natural ingredients. Deo Lotion Fly Repellent prevents any contact- no more flies, horseflies or gnats spoiling your ride!

Favorite Features

  • Easy to Use
  • Environmentally safe

Sizing It Up
Deo Lotion is offered in concentrate, gel or roll on

View Product Label

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Developed to keep your horse healthy and sane ...
    Description:
    Developed to keep your horse healthy and sane all summer long without the use of harsh chemicals, natural Zephyr's Garden Pure & Simple Plusrefill concentrateis a blend of essential oils, herbs, and apple cider vinegar for topical application. With added ...
    Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly ...
    Description:
    Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!Favorite Features Designed for comfort withSoft durable materials and fully lined seams Three hole cap for ears and forelock provides stability ...
    TheUltraShield Sport Fly Spray provides sweat resistant bugProtection ...
    Description:
    TheUltraShield Sport Fly Spray provides sweat resistant bugProtection forHeavy workouts in the hottest, most humid weather!This water-based formula kills and repels multiple species of flies and mosquitoes and stays active for up to 14 days. Favorite Features Protects against biting ...
    Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect ...
    Description:
    Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!Favorite Features Designed forcomfort withSoft durable materials and fully lined seams Provides UVProtection for sensitive noses for horses that sunburn easily Imported Sizing It Up ...
    Healing Tree TEA-CLENZ is a cationic, or non-sudsing, ...
    Description:
    Healing Tree TEA-CLENZ is a cationic, or non-sudsing, cleanser that in its properly diluted form is superb in the treatment of rainscald, rainrot, ringworm, summer sores, girth itch, and other fungal and bacterial skin problems, especially those involving large areas ...
    ThePyranha Spray Master System includes a 1/2 horsepower ...
    Description:
    ThePyranha Spray Master System includes a 1/2 horsepower electric motor-driven pump controlled by a solid state electronic timer. This timer is programmed to dispense an insecticide formulation in the form of a very fine mist at specific intervals through spray ...
    ThePyranha 1-10HP 55 Gallon Concentrate are insecticide refills ...
    Description:
    ThePyranha 1-10HP 55 Gallon Concentrate are insecticide refills for the Pyranha Spray Master System. Developed over 30 years ago using the highest quality pyrethroids, HP is a premium formulation that has set the bar for effective automatic flying insect control ...
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Deo Lotion is rated 4.6051 out of 5 by 157.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing outstanding for such high-priced stuff. Expected way more protection because of the description (and price), but the 1:7 ratio didn't keep the flies away any better than any other product I've used. Feel like I wasted my money. Next batch I'll mix 2:6 and see if that makes a difference. It may be all natural stuff but it's got a very strong chemical smell.
    Date published: 2015-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even repels horseflies I've used this product for over 15 years, and love it. There is ONE BIG concern that people need to be aware of. If you have a lot of Japanese Beetles in your area, understand that this product will ATTRACT them to your horse. I use it in the years we have low JB populations. Some horses react rather violently to a JB landing on them as if it was a horsefly. It's a dark flying insect, similar size to a horsefly. Horses aren't so good at identifying insect species - they're just worried it's going to bite them. No repellent works better, IMO.
    Date published: 2015-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff!!!Used this spray it in a buggy area and the bugs did not even come near my horse. This spray is awesome.
    Date published: 2015-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far working really well! We used this stuff years ago and for the longest time I couldn't find it. I remembered it as being potent and effective. So I ordered it. It's REALLY potent- when the box arrived I could smell it and thought that maybe it had spilled in the box. It hadn't. I was just able to smell it through the sealed bottle, the plastic bag, the crumpled paper AND the cardboard box. It's strong but doesn't have a horrible smell. So I watered it down 1:4 to see how effective that would be and determine if that was too strong/weak. It seems to work well for me at this concentration level. Repels flies well and when I manage to actually spray a fly it falls over and dies. It seems to hold up to mild sweating but I can't say for sure after heavy sweating- I usually just reapply. Very cost effective- the initial bottle is kinda pricey but when you water it down you get many more bottles out of that one.
    Date published: 2015-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good alternative to chemicals This actually works ok for a chemical free repellent. I got the concentrate so I can mix it appropriately acording to my horses sensitivity.
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally affordable bug spray that works Concentrated to give more effective bug prevention
    Date published: 2015-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works better than anything else This is my second year using this stuff. You mix it as concentrated as suits your needs and it keeps the flys, but especially, the knats off. Their coats gleam and I think they even like the smell. I sure do. My vet tells me that pyrethrins break down within 15 minutes in sun light. This stuff lasts all day. And the price is right - I'm paying less than $4 for a quart of spray.
    Date published: 2015-05-15
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from smart flex sr great Deo lotion not I bought this and the flies are still in love with my horse I wipe it on with a rage or sponge and the seem to love him ..
    Date published: 2015-04-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Smells great, average performance.. Bought this at a show after the horrible realization that I had forgotton to pack my own fly spray for my more sensitive thoroughbred gelding. The perks: it smells fantastic and is easy to apply, especially the lotion! Great for areas that you don't necessarily want to spray, i.e. their face. The downsides: while it was certainly better than the alternative of just going fly-spray-less, I was a bit under-enthused with the performance, especially for the price. I noticed my horse developed some irritated skin on his chest where we had applied it, which luckily was taken care of after a good bath.Final verdict? Not necessarily worth the extra money. I'll probably be sticking to the more traditional sprays, or trying Smartpak's new proprietary brand this year.
    Date published: 2015-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing stuff! I was told by a friend of mine about this product, and let me try her lotion on my horses, the horses love it! Plus the smell is so good, I use it on myself! Keeps the bugs off their faces and legs, conditions their skin, gives them a pretty shine, and doesn't leave a greasy residue! It's great! I'll always have it in my barn!
    Date published: 2014-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product-effective and pleasant to use I purchased this product after reading about it on the blogs/forums on smartpak's website. Several people recommended it for horses with a sensitive coat. My older Haflinger gelding has been having more allergy and coat issues this past summer. This product has been a very effective repellent for insects. It has a pleasant citronella odor, and has been non-irritating for my horse. It is somewhat pricey, but it definately works!
    Date published: 2014-09-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from smells good We have tried several types of fly sprays, most recently this one. Unfortunately, we have yet to find one we are totally satisfied with. Maybe we are expecting too much, or perhaps our Pennsylvania flies are just incredibly aggressive.
    Date published: 2014-09-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fly Repellent I bought CLAC for my horses because it's safe enough that I can even use it on myself and my dogs. My horses have absolutely no problems with me spraying or wiping CLAC on them, it's as if they know it will not harm them. It is a good product for deterring the bugs and smells great.
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for my sensitive tb! I've been buying this for years. It does not make my very sensitive thoroughbred mare break out in hives. It smells great! It works decently for not being a very harsh fly spray
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well Since I don't use harsh chemicals on my horse this product is a good alternative. It repels flies and mosquitoes, and smells nice too!
    Date published: 2014-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Non-irritating spray for sensitive coats Bought a small bottle for my allergic Haffie, trying to rule out allergens, and saw this product recommended on a Smartpak discussion forum. Citronella smell is pleasant, and it is non-irritating, and good defense against bugs! I just ordered a bigger bottle!
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite fly spray I have used this for years. My horses prefer it because it keeps the flies away but it is not harsh like the ones with alcohol.
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly protection So far I have bought three bottles of CLAC this year. It's amazing how different my horses will react to a fly spray that is not horrible for them. CLAC is so safe I can use it. When I spray my horses they just stand still waiting for me to finish, but if I approach them with a horrible chemical spray they fuss and leave me. I apply CLAC in the morning and again at night around dinner time it keeps the bugs at bay. I can actually breath while spraying them without a problem which is also something I can not do with the horrible chemical sprays. I will wheeze for days. I use the cream and the roll on also. It's a safe product.
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! I bought this product a month ago after trying the cream, which worked wonderfully.We have a lot of biting flies at our barn because there is a dairy facility just down the road. I have several horses who are showing sensitivity to the flies. One won't keep his fly boots on, and even Final Fly-T wasn't doing the job; I was also very concerned about using such a strong and harsh product on already irritated skin.I used the Deo lotion, and we noticed a decrease in the flies and gnats right away!Since I teach lots of kids, some of which have special needs and can be very sensitive to chemicals, I am thrilled to find a product that I can feel better about using with children around.This product contains no harsh unpronounceable chemicals, just plant based oils, and it is safe enough to use on yourself ;-)I only wish they made a spray formulation and sold it by the gallon!
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A long time favorite This product not only works but both the horses and I like it - I sometimes even spritz a little on the back of my neck before heading out for a trail ride. It lasts a long time if you dilute it correctly.
    Date published: 2014-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great, even helps with greenheads! I love the gel, it comes with a sponge in the container. I put it all over my horses belly, chest, ears and parts of neck when the greenheads are bad when I ride and especially at shows. I do the same for turnout as well and keeps even the greenheads away from any area he has this on. Just try to use every other day or be sure to wash off. My horse is sensitive and will burn if I use this too often. Still the best stuff I have found. One of the gel containers usually lasts most of a fly season for me.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Effective! I purchased this product less than 1 month ago ago and it is super effective! I have a very sensitive thoroughbred who can't stand flies, and he barely notices them when we are riding because of this product. I am so thankful for the customer service representative at smartpak who recommended it to me
    Date published: 2014-07-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Effective...a little messy I ordered the gel and I have found this to be a super product and very effective! Repels flies, gnats and mosquitoes. I bought it for the face and figured it would be not very messy being a gel, unlike other gunky products like SWAT. Although it isn't greasy like those products and doesn't seem to leave buildup its still a bit messier than I imagined plus the lid was hard to close with icky hands. I would say its more of a lotion than a gel. Likewise, because it is not thick, it doesn't seem to last very long.Since I was essentially happy with it, I just scooped some out and got it into a spray bottle and mixed with water and use it like that. Overall, good product! I'm ordering the roll on this time!
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Foal safe I bought both the concentrate (rated here) and the roll-on, knowing that I would have a mare and foal needing protection from midsummer flies.Both have done well with the concentrate, showing no major swelling, scabs, or other sign of fly problems--although I do have to renew the Clac application after a couple of hours. No irritation from the product, either--I would hesitate to use stronger, harsher chemicals on the mare and foal.Had used this product some years ago, and glad to have returned to it.
    Date published: 2014-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Foal safe I bought both the concentrate and the roll-on (the latter rated here), knowing that I would have a mare and foal needing protection from midsummer flies. The roll-on has worked well on ears, rolling on easily and apparently working well (no fly-bite scabs inside the ears of the now 3-week-old foal) with no irritation. Also stayed on well on the mare's face, since I didn't want to put a mask on her right away.Hadn't used Clac in a few years, but glad to have gone back to it.
    Date published: 2014-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps flies at bay I don't like to slather my horse in bug dope - I know some of the fly spray chemicals are really toxic to humans and horses. This seems to work ok, I usually apply it right before a ride and she seems fairly calm for the hour or so that we're working. I definitely need to re-apply daily to keep the black fly bites from getting too bad. I mixed it in a 5-1 ratio and it seems to do the trick.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad I tried it! When the Smartpak representative recommend this to me, I'd never heard of CLAC or DEO before. When it arrived, I was very pleased with the ease-of-use and the effectiveness of this product.
    Date published: 2014-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! Easy to use and really works well!
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow & Wow I have used this the past 3 days on my OTTB mare. She is super sensitive to the no-see-ums/little gnats that like to burrow & in the past I have used every other fly spray on the market, plus home-made concoctions. 3 days ago, she was starting to swell & the bugs were burrowing in her chest like they do-I used this spray on her chest, belly & between her back legs (underneath) & by that afternoon, the swelling was GONE, the bugs were GONE, & she is not rubbing her tail like in past summers! I am so excited to have found this-I love the way it smells with it's essential oil ingredients. If you have a sensitive horse-this is worth a try. I hope it continues thru the summer. Hooray!
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for sensitive horses. I have used this product before and was excited to find it on the smartpak site.Love the smell and the way it keeps bugs at bay.
    Date published: 2014-05-23
    • 2016-05-23T17:40CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_140
    • loc_en_US, sid_1518, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders