Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Deluxe Grazing Muzzle

Item #13693
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Deluxe Grazing Muzzle is a combination grazing muzzle and breakaway halter all-in-one. Unique design of the Deluxe Grazing Muzzle utilizes a plastic side-release buckle as its breakaway feature.

Sizes run slightly large so please order a size down if your horse may be in between sizes.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Deluxe Grazing Muzzle is rated 3.9136 out of 5 by 81.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective weight control Fits my Quarter horse just right. Easy to adjust on his head with no wearing on his hair.
    Date published: 2014-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greedy mare proof! My mare is a food hound. She will blow up like a balloon if left to her own devices. So in order to let her have any access to pasture, a muzzle is necessary. I put hers on only at night on the hot days, and she has a circular movement she has perfected to snorffle all the grass she can through the hole. This slows her down yet keeps her occupied. The worst part of using the muzzle was the look on her face the first time I put it on her. But she is smart and she soon figured out I wasn't going to remove it just because she looked pathetic and focused her energy on how to get the most grass through the hole that she could.
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from This is NOT a Best Friend Deluxe Grazing Muzzle I thought I was ordering Best Friend brand grazing muzzles, these are NOT them! This is a SmartPak brand muzzle made to look similar. The quality and make are not the same. The muzzle portion is much smaller than the Best Friend and the fit is smaller.
    Date published: 2014-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Darned good grazing muzzles! I have used these sturdy, safe muzzles for several years now to help manage my EMS horse. I really like them!
    Date published: 2014-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Both vet and farrier impressed Amigo is suffering with grass founder so needs to restrict his grazing. This muzzle fits well (one inch below his mouth) and is easily adjustable. It took three ten or fifteen minute sessions for him to stop trying to rub it off. He now wears it eight hours on pasture with his herd and all nightwith free choice hay without the muzzle in his stall
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Change in product FYI - this is no longer the Best Friend deluxe grazing muzzle. I accessed my previous orders in my SmartPak account and ostensibly ordered the same exact thing again, but it is now a SmartPak product. I decided not to keep it because I thought the bucket seemed too flimsy and prone to rubbing. Cannot say if it would work for others, but I didn't want to run the risk.
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fits smaller than Best Friend I am ordering a size up because the cob size is rubbing my horse's face raw.  My horse was a cob in the Best Friend sizing.  If you were previously using best friend, be aware of the size change.
    Date published: 2013-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Aid! I have ponies and always have one of these muzzles on hand if their girth size gets out of hand! I live in a lush environment and I think it's important for my ponies to have plenty of pasture time. Without a grazing muzzle, some would not maintain good body condition. There are muzzles that aren't made as well as this is.....a well made muzzle will remain on your pony,so it can do itsjob :)
    Date published: 2013-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Purchased this muzzle for our miniature donkey. I was concerned the fit may be too large. It fit perfectly, with good space around his nose and muzzle. He has no problem drinking water and is able to graze just fine enough, but limited enough to aid in control of over eating the lush grass.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Grazing Muzzle This is a decent muzzle. Better than another I had tried. The first day he got it off twice. Than also the second day. The next day I put a halter OVER the muzzle and it has stayed on. The stitching is ripping out already in places. I hope it lasts.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nobody likes a diet, but... This is the second Deluxe Grazing muzzle I"ve owned, and having bought other brands would certainly rank it above others out there. However, some of the stitching on this particular muzzle began to unravel within a week of wear, (others of this brand did not and this mare tries HARD to get this thing off), the muzzle has caused rubs, so some sort of covering is needed. Best Friends has replacement snaps and covers for this muzzle on their website! Also, when the muzzle gets wet, the adjustment pieces WILL slip, allowing the muzzle to drop, so duct taping them in place is also necessary.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Strong rubber odor This grazing muzzle looks well made, and I believe it would fit my horse, but it has such a strong rubber odor that I think the fumes would be at best unpleasant and at worst unhealthy for a horse wearing it for hours at a time. Or even minutes.I am trying to air it out before deciding whether or not to return it.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor quality, high price More expensive than the Best Friend grazing muzzle, and the quality is horrible.
    Date published: 2013-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Grazing Muzzle After my big boned 16 hand QH destroyed a cheaper grazing muzzle I invested in this one. It has held up very well, and I am happy with it. It has left a little rub mark in what I would call the 'temple' area of his face, but the other grazing muzzles left rub marks on his muzzle/bottom lip. I had read that this muzzle runs large and I disagree, I think it runs true to size. I got the extra large and I know there are bigger horses than my guy, the size below would not have worked. It is very adjustable, I'm very happy with it, a little high in price but compared to the others I had first, it is worth it!
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from junky knock off! Wish I would have read reviews first. Thought this was the best friends deluxe grazing muzzle. If I wanted a knock off I would have purchased one for less than $20. It runs very small. Horse size is a smaller then a cob, and the quality is poor, even for a knock off. If it was priced at $10 it would be a better value. $50 is outrageous for this inferior product. I buy from smartpak all the time and this is the first time I've been unhappy with my purchase. This is not representative of smartpak products. On my way to the tack shop to buy a new one.
    Date published: 2013-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than the detachable muzzle! My horse has used this muzzle every night on turnout in the summer for years and its safe, doesn't cause rubs and keeps him from grazing too much while also being able to drink. I was skeptical about the nylon being safe so I tried the detachable one on a leather halter but it wouldn't stay on and didn't fit right. He's broken out of 4 of these all-in-one muzzles, never with an issue so I will continue to use this muzzle since it seems to work the best!
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Returned this I returned this because after I ordered it a number of people in my barn told me that they didn't hold up that well. So I exchanged for the old type that fits onto your own halter and I can use my halter shipping fleece to keep the sides comfortable. So I'm not reviewing from first hand experience. Just decided to take their word for it....
    Date published: 2013-04-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Would Not Use The grazing muzzle does not provide enough air space for the horse to breathe and stay cool in the summer. I have found another grazing muzzle to be much more satisfactory and a much better value.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stitching not so good I ordered 2 of these. One is still good. However, the other has some serious stitching problems. The cheeckpiece stiching is coming completely out & the one side came off. This is after 2 weeks of use. Not pleased.
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from My Mare Said, "No Thanks." Overall, this is a nice muzzle. However, my mare broke the snap within a week. I'm going to look at a craft/fabric store to see if I can find something to fix it up..or duct tape ;) I'm sure it's fine for horses who aren't as..opinionated..about wearing muzzles!
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable & adjustable I switched from the regular grazing muzzle to the muzzle/halter in one after my horse was ditching the muzzle. This one is much lighter, more comfortable looking, and provides more places to adjust the size than a regular halter. So far it has held up very well. I wish that smartpak would also carry the sheepskin liners made for these muzzles.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good and sturdy This grazing muzzle is the 2nd one I have purchased for my Paso Fino. She is always hungry and puts on weight easily. This cob size muzzle with halter attached is easy to fit, break-away and does slow down her grazing. She enlarged the hole on the first one I bought 5 or 6 years ago and she needed the new one with the small hole. She has had no trouble with laminitus and while fat, isn't obese thanks to this muzzle.
    Date published: 2012-10-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Deluxe grazing muzzle The snap broke right away. The plastic teeth broke off making the muzzle useless. I am going to return it.
    Date published: 2012-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grazing muzzle I have used grazing muzzles for the past 4years. I have two horses with laminitis and the muzzles allow them to go out with the herd and not eat too much grass.
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from essential I've been using Best Friend grazing muzzles for about 8 years. I have lush irrigated pastures that my horses, pony and miniature donkey can not be on for indefinite periods. they are pulled off at night but the grazing muzzles allow me to extend their grazing time significantly which keeps them much happier. My vet says I have one of the few miniature donkeys in western Montana that hasn't foundered because of the dedicated use of the muzzle. I sometime put a piece of carrot in the muzzles to give them more incentive to want to use them. The breakaway feature keeps them safe and works perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy Love this muzzle and so do the horses. Soft around the nose so it's super comfortable. It helps to keep our horse trim even though we have a ton of grass.
    Date published: 2012-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I love the padding around the top of the muzzle and so do the horses. We have an abundance of grass and we have to be careful they don't get too much grass. This muzzle is perfect!
    Date published: 2012-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome muzzle !! I was really nervous to order this product be cause I have a large pony with a wide muzzle. It fits wonderfully with plunty of room for agustibity. I just love it!
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thought This Was the Best Friends Muzzle My gelding is on his third season with his old BF Deluxe Muzzle. I ordered another as this one is showing signs of wear. This is not a BF grazing muzzle, the quality is not there and it looks smaller than what I now have. There also is no spare break away clip. I will be sending it back as soon as I can get another BF muzzle ordered from someplace else.
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Large Muzzle Good quality, fair fit. Tried Arab size and too small around the muzzle. Went to horse size and it is HUGE. Too bad it's not adjustable around the muzzle. Also, my horse can't figure out to get the grass through the hole so it is very frustrating for her. Our grass is long so doesn't stand up to go through hole. Is there a way to teach them how it works?
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    • 2015-05-24T08:48CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_75
    • loc_en_US, sid_3693, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.