Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine

Item #11073
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine moisturizes and strengthens hair; neutralizes static electricity. Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine is non-oily, repels dust, dirt and sand. Concentrate: contains no water or alcohol. UV protectant.

Made in the USA
Safe for use on Dogs.

Ingredients

Cyclomethicone, Dimethicone, Panthenol, Hydrolyzed Silk, Ethylhexy Methoxycinnamate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Fragrance
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Are you familiar with that feeling when you ...
    Description:
    "Are you familiar with that feeling when you pull your horse out of the stall the morning of a show and his beautifully white socks the night before have mysteriously turned brown overnight? You can now rest easy with Stain ...
    "The Microfiber Drying Towel is made from super ...
    Description:
    "The Microfiber Drying Towel is made from super absorbent 700 GSM (grams per square meter) dual pile microfiber. The 3.5 sq. ft. drying towel is an ideal size for any size animal - horse or pet! Use after a bath, ...
    "Effol Mane and Tail Liquid contains special oils ...
    Description:
    "Effol Mane and Tail Liquid contains special oils to prevent the dock and crest of the mane from drying out and inhibiting hair growth. Visible fullness and easier combing of the mane and tail are guaranteed due to the same ...
    "Twinkle Glitter Gel is oil free and instantly ...
    Description:
    "Twinkle Glitter Gel is oil free and instantly adds sparkle to mane, tail, body, legs and braids. Available in 10 colors. Use with our Stencil Kit to personalize your horse. 4 oz. To Apply: Simply brush into groomed area, let ...
    "Give your horse a healthy coat with Wahna ...
    Description:
    "Give your horse a healthy coat with Wahna Win Complete Coat Care. Conditions, moisturizes and hydrates both the skin and the coat while creating a beautiful shine without harsh silicones. An important addition to summer grooming when frequent bathing depletes ...
    "Round, very firm rubber curry, features a molded ...
    Description:
    "Round, very firm rubber curry, features a molded strap for easier grooming. Green. Rubber Hand Groomer effectively lifts out dirt and breaks up clumps of mud to deep clean. Imported."
    "Voted by The Horse Journal as a top ...
    Description:
    "Voted by The Horse Journal as a top choice for producing a maximum, oil free shine that will last for several days. Magic Sheen hair polish is a specially formulated silicone blend that produces maximum shine and a lustrous, healthy ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 164.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works best on dry NOT wet tails I love using this product on my horse's tail after I wash it - you just have to make sure it dries fully so that you don't waste too much product. On a dry tail you only need a small amount to get rid of dreadlocks and nasty tangles!
    Date published: 2016-08-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cowboy Magic....works well. Just tried it for the first time and I think it did a good job. I have always used Show Sheen and was glad to see there was another product for tight nasty mats in horse's manes (from rubbing). I had to use a whole lot more than the "nickel" sized amount, over and over...and with one horse I just had to spray a lot of Show Sheen on to get it in the right places throughout the mane.
    Date published: 2016-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! This detangler is wonderful. It makes combing out a thick, tangled mane very easy.Unlike some other conditioners that I have tried, it does not attract dust and dirt. I use it once a week to keep manes and tails silky and tangle-free.
    Date published: 2016-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes grooming Easy! My favorite product for tangly manes and tails. I highly recommend!
    Date published: 2016-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leaves my horses mane and tail tangle free This product leaves my horses mane and take tangle free and it shines.
    Date published: 2016-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST STUFF I HAVE EVER FOUND The detangler is THE BEST STUFF I HAVE EVER FOUND for getting tangles out of dog hair. I DO NOT groom without it.
    Date published: 2016-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly Effective! Love this product! Apply it to mane and tail, pick hooves, brush/comb out.
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT!! This is my go to for mane and tail care. I have tried ALL of the others and I always come back to Cowboy Magic. Leaves manes and tails soft and tangle free for days.
    Date published: 2015-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! I bought this product after seeing someone post about it on Facebook. Works fast and takes all the tangles out quickly. Will be a staple in my grooming tote now.
    Date published: 2015-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Detangles and protects! I use this on 3 horses in my barn. I've been able to keep my grey horse's tail full looking and smooth. It also works well to keep very dry tails protected so they break less. For showing, this adds a beatiful shine and reduces static.
    Date published: 2015-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from detangles, doesn't dry the hair, smells great This is my favorite detangled. It leaves tails shiny, tangle-free, and soft and helps keep them that way. It smells good too, and is reasonably priced.
    Date published: 2015-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for tails This works great to detangle tails and long manes. Apply this and detangle with your fingers. It is especially great for horses that might be afraid of sprays.
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I very rarely take the time to write a review - simply because I think the product I buy should do what its designed to do & needs no comment from me when it does! However - this product not only does what it claims, but it does so WAY BEYOND MY WILDEST EXPECTATIONS!!!I have very long, straight hair that gets tangled 5 minutes after I comb it. If I'm outside & there's a gentle breeze, it would take at least 15 minutes to comb out the knots. At bedtime, it would take 30 minutes to comb out the knots before putting it in a ponytail. Well, you get the idea. After trying every hair conditioner & detangler on the market (with no good results) I found it hard to believe that this product would work. But on the advice of another long-haired woman's recommendation, I decided to try it.I rub a nickle size amount of Cowboy Magic between my hands & massage it into my hair, which I've shampooed WITHOUT adding conditioner! I thought - no way am I going to be able to comb my wet, tangled hair! Boy, was I in for a surprise! Not only did my comb glide effortlessly through my shampooed hair, it remained that way for the next several days until my next shampoo, feeling & looking silky smooth! Just one word of caution: a little does indeed go a long way & too much may give your hair a "greasy" look. For me, a dime to nickel size amount works well. My hair reaches 5" below my waist.Thank you so much Cowboy Magic! I am & will remain,Your New Loyal Customer
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff. My horse hates her mane being sprayed so this works great for her majesty. It is a bit expensive for me though because I have a mustang with tons of hair so I only use it on her mane and forlock. Smells great and feels good on my skin.
    Date published: 2015-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cowboy magic detangler Great great product. Excellent and works very well
    Date published: 2015-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is the best! This product turned my gelding's dry sunburned tail into a shiny pliable tail that I could actually brush without breaking off lots of hair. Love it!
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great on tails! I prefer this over any detangling spray as the sprays dry out the tail and cowboy magic does not
    Date published: 2014-09-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works, but it's messy This really works when you need to detangle a tail, but it is super slimy and messy. I prefer the detangler spray and shine to this, but like I said, it absolutely does what it says it will do. Just have a wet towel near by to wipe off your hands!
    Date published: 2014-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product!
    Date published: 2014-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great On My Portuguese Water Dog! This product works it's magic on my Portuguese Water Dog. These dogs have curly hair that is prone to mat especially when she is in and out of the water during the summer months. It makes her coat silky and shiny too.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing beats this product! Nothing beats this product! It does the job (every job) - it detangles, shines, is not greasy nor sticky (no dirt or sand attaches to it), easy to use and smells great. It has it all. I have a Haflinger with long mane and tail and her manes detangle into dread locks, but Cowboy Magic Detangler always gets the job done, without breaking of any hair - you can use it for your own hair too. I tried a LOT of Detangler product, but this one just works the BEST ! Gotta love it !
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Attracts dust and dirt I bought this based on the good reviews of others.I put a small amount on my horse's tail and forelock and brushed it through. The next day his tail looked dusty and dirty. The product is oily so it attracts dirt and dust and makes his tail look dull - not shiny at all. Not only that swishing his tail made his whole back end is ever so slightly sticky or gummy feeling which also attracted dust to his coat. To top it off, it was not even easy to brush through his tail. His tail is black, so I cannot even imagine what it would do to a white tail.I'll stick to Canter Mane and Tail Detangler. I'm completely puzzled about all the positive reviews.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! Used to use Show Sheen then I got some Cowboy Magic for Christmas a few years ago and will not buy anything else again! A little goes a long way and lasts at least a few days and sometimes longer! I even used it on the dock of another horse in my care that has sweet itch. She used to rub her tail raw until I started working this product into her tail and she now has a full, lush tail and no more sweet itch!
    Date published: 2014-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from this realy works I have been use cowboy magic for a few years and it has not let me down even in muddy weather
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only detangler I use. It's the best. I have used Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine for several years. I love the way itmakes my mare's tail feel and so much easier to comb out.
    Date published: 2014-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE Cowboy magic Detangler and shine! I have been using cowboy magic for three years and I can say it's the best detanglerout there...my horses often have mud and other stuff in their tails and just a little bit of this stuff and the comb goes through with ease...the bottle last a long time!
    Date published: 2014-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than Showsheen I have always used Showsheen detangler on my horse's tail, but I bathed a friend's horse and used her supplies - I couldn't believe how great this detangler was! He has a thick tail and I just squirted some of this on there, while the tail was still wet, and was able to brush it out in minutes. I got some for my horse, a grey, and his tail looked shiny and stayed tangle-free for days (it would have lasted longer I'm sure, had he not gone out and rolled in the mud)! Plus, it smells great. I'm switching brands!
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    • y_2017, m_1, d_19, h_4
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_142
    • loc_en_US, sid_1073, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders