Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine

Item #11073
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

AutoShip and Save 5% (Details)

days
You'll save $ per shipment, or $ per year!
(Discounted price will be reflected in your cart)
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine moisturizes and strengthens hair; neutralizes static electricity. Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine is non-oily, repels dust, dirt and sand. Concentrate: contains no water or alcohol. UV protectant.

Made in the USA
Safe for use on Dogs.

Ingredients

Cyclomethicone, Dimethicone, Panthenol, Hydrolyzed Silk, Ethylhexy Methoxycinnamate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Fragrance
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Power Detangler from Leovet contains Roman chamomile ...
    Description:
    "The Power Detangler from Leovet contains Roman chamomile that naturally brightens pale coats, manes, and tails. This spray shines and detangles, ensuring quick mane and tail combing. This spray won't weigh down hair, instead it provides lots of volume. This ...
    "Are you familiar with that feeling when you ...
    Description:
    "Are you familiar with that feeling when you pull your horse out of the stall the morning of a show and his beautifully white socks the night before have mysteriously turned brown overnight? You can now rest easy with Stain ...
    "If your horse’s whites resemble more yellowthan bright ...
    Description:
    "If your horse’s whites resemble more yellowthan bright white, Blinded by the White TotalBody Whitening Treatment is what you’relooking for. Designed to work side-by-sidewith our SQUEAKY GREEN & CLEAN DeepCleansing and Conditioning Shampooeven the most stubborn stains won’t stand achance. ...
    "Effol Mane and Tail Liquid contains special oils ...
    Description:
    "Effol Mane and Tail Liquid contains special oils to prevent the dock and crest of the mane from drying out and inhibiting hair growth. Visible fullness and easier combing of the mane and tail are guaranteed due to the same ...
    "This attractive sparkly finish brush consists of a ...
    Description:
    "This attractive sparkly finish brush consists of a carefully selected mixture of soft yet highly durable black horsehair to promotes great shine. The dense bristles and leather handle are embedded in a waterproof sparkly black resin back without any glue, ...
    "The Haas Kavallerie Brush is made of the ...
    Description:
    "The Haas Kavallerie Brush is made of the highest quality of pure and robust mane and tail horsehairs. The outside bristle ring is placed longer around which creates optimal grooming results and promotes a shiny coat. Made In Germany"
    The Kensington Grooming Tote is a convenient and stylish way ...
    Description:
    The Kensington Grooming Tote is a convenient and stylish way to carry your grooming and health supplies! The Kensington Grooming Tote is super easy to clean and has numerous pockets to keep you organized.  Imported. Favorite Features Interior elastic straps to hold ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 174.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trainer Recommended My trainer recommended this when my horse's tail started drying out when we were in sandy, sunny Florida this past winter. Definitely made a difference!
    Date published: 2017-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never without it This is a staple in my tack box. I use it on the mane , tail and forelock to detangle , prevent breakage , and moisturize their hair .
    Date published: 2017-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great and no waiting for it to dry! This detangler is truly instant - I love that I don't have to wait for it to dry like you do with Showsheen or other spray detanglers. It also doesn't make my horse's tail slippery - just soft and detangled. She was in particularly bad heat this spring so her tail was....extra crusty. Even after shampooing it, it was basically dreadlocked. This instantly detangled it. It also works well on human hair in a pinch - definitely have used this on myself when my own hair is a rat's nest. A little goes a long way (for humans and horses!) so the value is great.
    Date published: 2017-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best detangler I've found! My buckskin has such a huge, coarse tail that it is very hard to comb. In addition, there is a lot of sand in our soil which dries his long tail out, making it even harder to manage. Then, I discovered Cowboy Magic. Before I groom him, I put some Cowboy magic in my hand (a good 2-quarters-worth) and work it through his tail. Then I put about a nickel's worth in his mane. I groom him and, last of all, comb his mane and tail. I've found it helps to give the Cowboy Magic a few minutes to sit. It just works better. Then, it not only helps detangle, but adds beautiful shine as well. I would give 5 stars but would love a spray-on version even better. And, cost-conscious as I am, it is a bit pricey...but worth it.
    Date published: 2017-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes tails heavenly Best detangler on the market for all tails big and small.
    Date published: 2017-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic stuff! How did I not know just how amazing this stuff is?!! I have been riding for 40 years. Put it on tail dry and voila, the tail is detangled and beautiful!! Best stuff EVER! Even better than healthy hair. A bit expensive.
    Date published: 2016-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect detangler Love this. Mare's tail stays tangle free and soft with this product.
    Date published: 2016-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works great, that's why I still buy it and use it all the time.
    Date published: 2016-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best for getting out burdocks. Nice and shiny.
    Date published: 2016-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Untangling I have used this product for years. A small amount worked through a clean tail at shows eliminates the need for show sheen. It also works great to untangle tails. Even the worst rat-nests can be resolved quickly without having to use scissors and this helps to minimize any damage or breakage of the hair.
    Date published: 2016-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works best on dry NOT wet tails I love using this product on my horse's tail after I wash it - you just have to make sure it dries fully so that you don't waste too much product. On a dry tail you only need a small amount to get rid of dreadlocks and nasty tangles!
    Date published: 2016-08-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cowboy Magic....works well. Just tried it for the first time and I think it did a good job. I have always used Show Sheen and was glad to see there was another product for tight nasty mats in horse's manes (from rubbing). I had to use a whole lot more than the "nickel" sized amount, over and over...and with one horse I just had to spray a lot of Show Sheen on to get it in the right places throughout the mane.
    Date published: 2016-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! This detangler is wonderful. It makes combing out a thick, tangled mane very easy. Unlike some other conditioners that I have tried, it does not attract dust and dirt. I use it once a week to keep manes and tails silky and tangle-free.
    Date published: 2016-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes grooming Easy! My favorite product for tangly manes and tails. I highly recommend!
    Date published: 2016-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leaves my horses mane and tail tangle free This product leaves my horses mane and take tangle free and it shines.
    Date published: 2016-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST STUFF I HAVE EVER FOUND The detangler is THE BEST STUFF I HAVE EVER FOUND for getting tangles out of dog hair. I DO NOT groom without it.
    Date published: 2016-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly Effective! Love this product! Apply it to mane and tail, pick hooves, brush/comb out.
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT!! This is my go to for mane and tail care. I have tried ALL of the others and I always come back to Cowboy Magic. Leaves manes and tails soft and tangle free for days.
    Date published: 2015-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! I bought this product after seeing someone post about it on Facebook. Works fast and takes all the tangles out quickly. Will be a staple in my grooming tote now.
    Date published: 2015-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Detangles and protects! I use this on 3 horses in my barn. I've been able to keep my grey horse's tail full looking and smooth. It also works well to keep very dry tails protected so they break less. For showing, this adds a beatiful shine and reduces static.
    Date published: 2015-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from detangles, doesn't dry the hair, smells great This is my favorite detangled. It leaves tails shiny, tangle-free, and soft and helps keep them that way. It smells good too, and is reasonably priced.
    Date published: 2015-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for tails This works great to detangle tails and long manes. Apply this and detangle with your fingers. It is especially great for horses that might be afraid of sprays.
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I very rarely take the time to write a review - simply because I think the product I buy should do what its designed to do & needs no comment from me when it does! However - this product not only does what it claims, but it does so WAY BEYOND MY WILDEST EXPECTATIONS!!! I have very long, straight hair that gets tangled 5 minutes after I comb it. If I'm outside & there's a gentle breeze, it would take at least 15 minutes to comb out the knots. At bedtime, it would take 30 minutes to comb out the knots before putting it in a ponytail. Well, you get the idea. After trying every hair conditioner & detangler on the market (with no good results) I found it hard to believe that this product would work. But on the advice of another long-haired woman's recommendation, I decided to try it. I rub a nickle size amount of Cowboy Magic between my hands & massage it into my hair, which I've shampooed WITHOUT adding conditioner! I thought - no way am I going to be able to comb my wet, tangled hair! Boy, was I in for a surprise! Not only did my comb glide effortlessly through my shampooed hair, it remained that way for the next several days until my next shampoo, feeling & looking silky smooth! Just one word of caution: a little does indeed go a long way & too much may give your hair a "greasy" look. For me, a dime to nickel size amount works well. My hair reaches 5" below my waist. Thank you so much Cowboy Magic! I am & will remain, Your New Loyal Customer
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff. My horse hates her mane being sprayed so this works great for her majesty. It is a bit expensive for me though because I have a mustang with tons of hair so I only use it on her mane and forlock. Smells great and feels good on my skin.
    Date published: 2015-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cowboy magic detangler Great great product. Excellent and works very well
    Date published: 2015-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is the best! This product turned my gelding's dry sunburned tail into a shiny pliable tail that I could actually brush without breaking off lots of hair. Love it!
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great on tails! I prefer this over any detangling spray as the sprays dry out the tail and cowboy magic does not
    Date published: 2014-09-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works, but it's messy This really works when you need to detangle a tail, but it is super slimy and messy. I prefer the detangler spray and shine to this, but like I said, it absolutely does what it says it will do. Just have a wet towel near by to wipe off your hands!
    Date published: 2014-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great On My Portuguese Water Dog! This product works it's magic on my Portuguese Water Dog. These dogs have curly hair that is prone to mat especially when she is in and out of the water during the summer months. It makes her coat silky and shiny too.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing beats this product! Nothing beats this product! It does the job (every job) - it detangles, shines, is not greasy nor sticky (no dirt or sand attaches to it), easy to use and smells great. It has it all. I have a Haflinger with long mane and tail and her manes detangle into dread locks, but Cowboy Magic Detangler always gets the job done, without breaking of any hair - you can use it for your own hair too. I tried a LOT of Detangler product, but this one just works the BEST ! Gotta love it !
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_152
    • loc_en_US, sid_1073, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders