Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine

Item #11073
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine moisturizes and strengthens hair; neutralizes static electricity. Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine is non-oily, repels dust, dirt and sand. Concentrate: contains no water or alcohol. UV protectant.

Safe for use on Dogs.

Made in the USA

Customers Also Shopped For
Small, lightweight, durable corded Lister Star Clipper with ...
Description:
Small, lightweight, durable corded Lister Star Clipper with wrist strap designed for body clipping. Permanent magnet motor ensures low noise and constant speed regardless of load. Advanced triangulated grip, full-width clipper, replaceable filter. Favorite Features Best of all, you DO ...
All Oster Cryogen-X blades are cryogenically treated by ...
Description:
All Oster Cryogen-X blades are cryogenically treated by being deep frozen to 300 degrees below zero, so molecules are aligned in a perfect structure. The result is a harder, denser metal that holds a sharper edge through prolonged usage. Leaves ...
Twinkle Glitter Gel is oil free and instantly ...
Description:
Twinkle Glitter Gel is oil free and instantly adds sparkle to mane, tail, body, legs and braids. Available in 10 colors. Use with our Stencil Kit to personalize your horse. 4 oz. To Apply: Simply brush into groomed area, let ...
Created exclusively by Shapley's, Show Touch-Ups are color-enhancing ...
Description:
Created exclusively by Shapley's, Show Touch-Ups are color-enhancing sprays designed to safely and effectively conceal stains, scars, blemishes, and flaws. Show Touch-Ups cover completely and will produce a wide range of color depending on the number of coats applied. The ...
World Champion Shine On for show ring shine ...
Description:
World Champion Shine On for show ring shine on eyes, ears and muzzle. Brings out extra glow and highlights facial expressions for the look of a winner. Dark or Natural colors. Favorite Features Enhances your horse's natural skin pigments Long-lasting ...
A gentle, yet effective cloth designed to clean, ...
Description:
A gentle, yet effective cloth designed to clean, protect and promote healthy skin. The Dermacloth is an innovative concept in rinse-free cleaning and management of skin problems. Dermacloth is commonly used for rain scald, scratches, ringworm, girth itch, cracked hooves ...
Dream Coat conditions the coat to leave the ...
Description:
Dream Coat conditions the coat to leave the ultimate high gloss shine. The fine mist andtiny droplet size give a perfect, even finish, every time. The non-slip formula can be used prior to riding and used on the saddle patch. ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine is rated 4.8789808917197455 out of 5 by 157.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT!! This is my go to for mane and tail care. I have tried ALL of the others and I always come back to Cowboy Magic. Leaves manes and tails soft and tangle free for days.
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! I bought this product after seeing someone post about it on Facebook. Works fast and takes all the tangles out quickly. Will be a staple in my grooming tote now.
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Detangles and protects! I use this on 3 horses in my barn. I've been able to keep my grey horse's tail full looking and smooth. It also works well to keep very dry tails protected so they break less. For showing, this adds a beatiful shine and reduces static.
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from detangles, doesn't dry the hair, smells great This is my favorite detangled. It leaves tails shiny, tangle-free, and soft and helps keep them that way. It smells good too, and is reasonably priced.
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for tails This works great to detangle tails and long manes. Apply this and detangle with your fingers. It is especially great for horses that might be afraid of sprays.
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I very rarely take the time to write a review - simply because I think the product I buy should do what its designed to do & needs no comment from me when it does! However - this product not only does what it claims, but it does so WAY BEYOND MY WILDEST EXPECTATIONS!!!I have very long, straight hair that gets tangled 5 minutes after I comb it. If I'm outside & there's a gentle breeze, it would take at least 15 minutes to comb out the knots. At bedtime, it would take 30 minutes to comb out the knots before putting it in a ponytail. Well, you get the idea. After trying every hair conditioner & detangler on the market (with no good results) I found it hard to believe that this product would work. But on the advice of another long-haired woman's recommendation, I decided to try it.I rub a nickle size amount of Cowboy Magic between my hands & massage it into my hair, which I've shampooed WITHOUT adding conditioner! I thought - no way am I going to be able to comb my wet, tangled hair! Boy, was I in for a surprise! Not only did my comb glide effortlessly through my shampooed hair, it remained that way for the next several days until my next shampoo, feeling & looking silky smooth! Just one word of caution: a little does indeed go a long way & too much may give your hair a "greasy" look. For me, a dime to nickel size amount works well. My hair reaches 5" below my waist.Thank you so much Cowboy Magic! I am & will remain,Your New Loyal Customer
Date published: 2015-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff. My horse hates her mane being sprayed so this works great for her majesty. It is a bit expensive for me though because I have a mustang with tons of hair so I only use it on her mane and forlock. Smells great and feels good on my skin.
Date published: 2015-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cowboy magic detangler Great great product. Excellent and works very well
Date published: 2015-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is the best! This product turned my gelding's dry sunburned tail into a shiny pliable tail that I could actually brush without breaking off lots of hair. Love it!
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great on tails! I prefer this over any detangling spray as the sprays dry out the tail and cowboy magic does not
Date published: 2014-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works, but it's messy This really works when you need to detangle a tail, but it is super slimy and messy. I prefer the detangler spray and shine to this, but like I said, it absolutely does what it says it will do. Just have a wet towel near by to wipe off your hands!
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great On My Portuguese Water Dog! This product works it's magic on my Portuguese Water Dog. These dogs have curly hair that is prone to mat especially when she is in and out of the water during the summer months. It makes her coat silky and shiny too.
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing beats this product! Nothing beats this product! It does the job (every job) - it detangles, shines, is not greasy nor sticky (no dirt or sand attaches to it), easy to use and smells great. It has it all. I have a Haflinger with long mane and tail and her manes detangle into dread locks, but Cowboy Magic Detangler always gets the job done, without breaking of any hair - you can use it for your own hair too. I tried a LOT of Detangler product, but this one just works the BEST ! Gotta love it !
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Attracts dust and dirt I bought this based on the good reviews of others.I put a small amount on my horse's tail and forelock and brushed it through. The next day his tail looked dusty and dirty. The product is oily so it attracts dirt and dust and makes his tail look dull - not shiny at all. Not only that swishing his tail made his whole back end is ever so slightly sticky or gummy feeling which also attracted dust to his coat. To top it off, it was not even easy to brush through his tail. His tail is black, so I cannot even imagine what it would do to a white tail.I'll stick to Canter Mane and Tail Detangler. I'm completely puzzled about all the positive reviews.
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! Used to use Show Sheen then I got some Cowboy Magic for Christmas a few years ago and will not buy anything else again! A little goes a long way and lasts at least a few days and sometimes longer! I even used it on the dock of another horse in my care that has sweet itch. She used to rub her tail raw until I started working this product into her tail and she now has a full, lush tail and no more sweet itch!
Date published: 2014-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this realy works I have been use cowboy magic for a few years and it has not let me down even in muddy weather
Date published: 2014-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only detangler I use. It's the best. I have used Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine for several years. I love the way itmakes my mare's tail feel and so much easier to comb out.
Date published: 2014-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE Cowboy magic Detangler and shine! I have been using cowboy magic for three years and I can say it's the best detanglerout there...my horses often have mud and other stuff in their tails and just a little bit of this stuff and the comb goes through with ease...the bottle last a long time!
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than Showsheen I have always used Showsheen detangler on my horse's tail, but I bathed a friend's horse and used her supplies - I couldn't believe how great this detangler was! He has a thick tail and I just squirted some of this on there, while the tail was still wet, and was able to brush it out in minutes. I got some for my horse, a grey, and his tail looked shiny and stayed tangle-free for days (it would have lasted longer I'm sure, had he not gone out and rolled in the mud)! Plus, it smells great. I'm switching brands!
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy get through the toughest tangles This is the only product that works on my Friesian's thick, wavy tail. I only comb it out every few weeks to reduce breakage, and this product makes it a simple easy task. My one complaint is the cost. It is expensive, but considering only a small amount is necessary and the overall effectiveness of it, well worth the extra few dollars. 
Date published: 2013-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from goodbye tangles My quarter horse has very fine baby-type mane and tail that tends to get impossible tangles. Cowboy Magic works like a charm.
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! This product makes my horse's tail so easy to brush through! And it smells great!
Date published: 2013-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use this product always for my show horses This company continually has Top of the Line products!
Date published: 2013-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic tail detangler this is the only leave in tail conditioner and detangler i use, it's the best. keeps my tails tangle free and helps keep dirt and dust from sticking.
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Mane and Tail Product ever It calms the frizzy horse hair and leaves mane and tail feeling like silk. Defintly worth the money
Date published: 2013-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! I use cowboy magic on my andalusian's mane and tail almost every time after i wash it. Cowboy magic is amazing at keeping tangles away and keeping the hair silky and shiny. It is a little expensive but a little goes pretty far.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best so far My rescue Arabian mare was in awfull condition, but had a very long tangled mane, I was able to untangle then wash with Cowboy Magic products. Her mane is now, two years later, touching her knees. I do keep it French plaited for protection. I use the detangler and shine on all my other horses.I have found less breakage with this product.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good detangler Have been using this for years- great to get the tangles out of tails and avoid pulling out hair. Also works well on dogs who get into burrs and such.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cowboy magic Great Product I love this conditioner for my horse, he has a very thick mane an tail, it keeps it silky soft and tangle free.
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Have My friend's horse had a HUGE knot in his tail... about the size of a cantaloupe, and thanks to cowboy magic, she was able to work out the knot in two applications. I also love to use this when my horse gets his forelock covered in burs (we counted 70+ burs last time) and once all the burs are taken out, I use cowboy magic to get rid of his "bur afro".
Date published: 2012-11-14
  • 2016-07-28T11:05CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_135
  • loc_en_US, sid_1073, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders