Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Colorful Cotton Leads w/ Snap End

Item #18155
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Bring out your bright colors with these Amish made cotton lead ropes. Lead measures 1/2" x 6'. Chrome plated snap and clamp. Comes with snap.

Made in the USA

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass ...
    Description:
    Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass plated snap. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Choose Havana, Chestnut or Black. Measures 6'L x 1"W. This leather lead pairs beautifully ...
    These Amish made cotton leads have chrome plated ...
    Description:
    These Amish made cotton leads have chrome plated snaps and clamps. Match your halter with your lead! Sizing It Up 1/2" x 6'
    With heavy duty snap and leather "popper", this ...
    Description:
    With heavy duty snap and leather "popper", this 24-strand polyester Blocker Lead Rope is an excellent option as a lead and works perfectly with any of the other Blocker products. Sizing It Up 12' long rope Imported
    These fantastic cotton leads are an economical barn ...
    Description:
    These fantastic cotton leads are an economical barn staple! These leads are carefully braided at both ends to avoid fraying with a  30" brass plated chain, making them heavy duty and meant to last. At the same time the cotton remains soft in ...
    This durable cotton lead rope is soft in ...
    Description:
    This durable cotton lead rope is soft in your hands and makes for a great necessity to have at the barn. Favorite Features Soft cotton rope Brass bolt snap 15" chain Sizing It Up 3/4" cotton rope 8 1/2' long ...
    This Heavy Cotton Lead won't wimp out on ...
    Description:
    This Heavy Cotton Lead won't wimp out on you, and will last for ages! Favorite Features 100% cotton heavy duty cotton Brass bolt snap Sizing It Up 3/4" x 9' long Imported.
    Made from a continous piece of rot-resistant diamond ...
    Description:
    Made from a continous piece of rot-resistant diamond braided poly rope, this halter is soft to the touch for both horse and handler and the 8' detachable lead is the perfect length. Favorite Features Made from soft, two-toned, diamond braided ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Colorful Cotton Leads w/ Snap End is rated 3.4853 out of 5 by 68.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Meets USPC requirements! We purchased three cotton leads for our barn & will be buying more. Sturdy yet soft, easy to clip yet strong hardware. Love the colors!
    Date published: 2015-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lead I really like the feel of the cotton rope and the snap is sturdy enough for my big mare.
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Short This is a nice quality lead rope but it is very short! Probably only a 5' lead vs the usual 8', so not as useful in my opinion.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Inexpensive lead I found this lead rope to be not useful. It is to thin when being held which could lead to rub burns on your hands if a horse pulls. It is also held together by a metal clip/staple at the which could catch on your hand if pulled through. Two stars only because of the price. You get what you pay for in this case. Inexpensive lead rope that just won't stand up to the riggers of barn life
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed The rope is too short. The clasp sticks and the entire item is cheaply made. Very disappointed
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible I hate it! Cheap cheap. So flimsy it would not hold a horse
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice for the price We gave a these away as prizes for a hunter paceGreat for every day use
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not safe I LOVE Smart-Pak. The customer service is awesome and the products I've purchased have been excellent.Except this one :-(The first time I tied my horse in the barn aisle with this lead, in less than 5 minutes the lead clip was hanging from my pony's halter and the end that should have been attached to the clip was dangling toward the ground. My pony had not moved, all he had done was quickly move his head.This lead is not safe. The clamp that is supposed to keep the rope attached to the clip is flimsy and the rope itself is thin. I prefer a lighter weight clip so this looked like something I could use. It wasn't.This product is not up to the standard I expect from Smart-Pak. I would not recommend it. Even though the price was minimal, I will be going to the trouble of returning it so the people at Smart-Pak can see the defect.
    Date published: 2014-06-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Soft but very short I was a little disappointed when I received these lead ropes. Another review said they were short but honestly thought 6ft was quite long enough...until I received them. The hardware isn't overly heavy and the lead is very short. It is nice and soft and perhaps would work as a trailer tie but not my favorite lead rope by far.
    Date published: 2014-04-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent lead rope This lead rope is decent. Nothing fancy. It's rather short and on the smaller scale. It would make a much better dog leash than a horse lead rope, but it's pretty and works. And it was definitely a good price.
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty, but not heavy-duty I got this in the navy/burgundy and I'm pretty happy with it. However, if you have a strong horse or a horse that pulls, don't buy this lead - the hardware is flimsy, and I don't think it would last very long with a pushy horse. That being said, it works just fine for my laid-back TB and I, and I love the color!
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice colors, but not heavy duty I bought this lead rope for the color. The color is very bright, however the lead rope is light weight. It is short (only 6 feet) as stated in the description and the width of the rope is thin/narrow. If you are looking for a heavier weight lead rope that will stand up to abuse, this isn't your best option. The snap is also small and weak.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Lead Rope Got a couple of these as spares.  The colors are nice and the cotton is soft.  I wish they were a smidge longer.
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good I really like my old lead rope but it was getting worn out. I bought this one an loved it! Thank you!
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Color lead rope The idea of the colors is wonderful. But I find The rope is slightly too short and too thin. I need a little bit longer rope with the bigger horses.Saddlebug
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Way too short! Too short and thin. The colors are nice but it is hard to tie my horse with it this short!
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great item. Perfect length, thickness and softness.
    Date published: 2013-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! Great everyday lead with beautiful colors. My only fault is that is is kind of thin and I prefer a thicker rope.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected... I was excited for this lead rope because of the fun colors BUT it was not at all what I was expecting. It was so short and much thinner than any other lead rope I've seen. The clasp wasn't very substantial and the end was capped off poorly. Needless to say, it went directly back into the box and was returned.
    Date published: 2012-11-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not well made stay away if you are looking for quality.The fixing is misserable and will not last long.The ends are fixed with wire.NO go!
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for what it's worth My lead finally needs to be replaced. To give people an idea, I just checked my order history and I bought this lead rope a little over a year ago. For eight bucks, it's lasted much longer than I ever thought it would. It's definitely been battle tested. It's been left out in the rain and snow, dragged through the mud, and I use it on my horse when I bathe her. It's fairly inexpensive so I don't mind replacing it. The only drawback is that it pretty short.
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Choice I am only 5'1" and the 8' leads were way too long for me to handle. The shorter lead is perfect - fits in my hand without dangling on the ground. Would recommend especially for petite people.
    Date published: 2012-09-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from LEAD ROPE I RECEIVED MY ORDER AND I TOOK IT OUT OF THE BAG AND I PUT IT BACK IN ITS WRAPER AND SENT IT BACK. IT WAS NOT STURDY OR HEAVY ENOUGH.I AM NOT A PICKY PERSON AND I DONT HAVE ALOT SO FOR ME TO NOT LIKE THIS PRODUCT IS SOMETHING. I EVEN THOUGHT OF USING IT FOR MY DOG'S LEASH BUT IT WASNT STRONG ENOUGH LOOKING FOR THAT
    Date published: 2012-09-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sticky clip The ropes on the leads are fine, but the clips do not move smoothly, even with an application of WD-40. I ended up adding on my own clip to the one attached to the rope since this became such a problem.
    Date published: 2012-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cotton Leads I use these as trailer ties for my trailer tied to a piece of bailing twine. They are very adjustable (Just tie them at the legnth you want them) and work Great!
    Date published: 2012-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Short lead I love the color choices of these lead ropes, but it was much shorter than I had expected. It does not feel all that durable either. I don't expect it to last long, but I suppose it's cheap enough to replace with another great color combination.
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this rope! I love this rope and the variety of colors that it comes in. I purchased this specific rope because I wanted something purple/orange to go with the rest of my horses tack. The quality is good however it could stand to be a bit more sturdy. I noticed people commenting on the length but I personally don't have any problem with it, I don't prefer an extremely long lead rope so this works great for me. I will re-purchase this item in the future :)
    Date published: 2012-08-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from small its a good quality lead rope but very very small for PONIES only
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lead Rope It is not as substantial or thick as I expected and there is a lot of metal at the snap. Not as long, either. However, the lead rope was a good value for the price.
    Date published: 2012-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect lead great length and thickness, with a quality snap! perfect for around-the-barn use. I don't bring it to shows because I use an extra long lead for grazing outside the ring. I got the navy and white and love it.
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    • 2016-04-28T16:21CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_64
    • loc_en_US, sid_8155, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders