Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Colorful Cotton Leads w/ Snap End

Item #18155
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Bring out your bright colors with these Amish made cotton lead ropes. Lead measures 1/2" x 6'. Chrome plated snap and clamp. Comes with snap.

Made in the USA

Customers Also Shopped For
Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass ...
Description:
Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass plated snap. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Choose Havana, Chestnut or Black. Measures 6'L x 1"W. This leather lead pairs beautifully ...
Made of harness leather. Harness leather is hot ...
Description:
Made of harness leather. Harness leather is hot stuffed with oils and waxes so it's hearty and will withstand harsh weather conditions. Favorite Features Feels great in your hands Nickel plated snap and conway buckles Sizing It Up 5/8" x ...
Softpadded leather lead withHeavy duty hardware and 30" ...
Description:
Softpadded leather lead withHeavy duty hardware and 30" chain.This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Measures 7'L x 1"W. All with solid brass hardware exceptBlack/White which comeswithstainless steel hardware. Engraved nameplate ...
Hand braided nylon roping reins with latigo leather ...
Description:
Hand braided nylon roping reins with latigo leather ends Favorite Features Stamped diamond tooling Stainless steel hardware buckles Brass plated cinch snap Made in the U.S.A.Sizing It Up 5/8" x 7ft
Specifically designed to match the Circle Y Topeka ...
Description:
Specifically designed to match the Circle Y Topeka Flex-Lite Shell Border Saddle, but a great addition to any collection, this breastcollar is made from the finest leather with quality hardware. Favorite Features Shell tooled Stainless steel hardware Made in the ...
Specifically designed to match the Circle Y High ...
Description:
Specifically designed to match the Circle Y High Horse Cordura Magnolia Trail Saddle, but a great addition to any collection, this breastcollar is made from the finest leather with quality hardware. Favorite Features Border tooled Made in the U.S.A.Sizing It ...
Specifically designed to match the Cashel Western Trail ...
Description:
Specifically designed to match the Cashel Western Trail Saddle, but attractive enough to pair with any western saddle, this breastcollar is constructed of quality chocolate skirting leather. Favorite Features Stamped diamond tooling Stainless steel hardware buckles Brass plated cinch snapMade ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Colorful Cotton Leads w/ Snap End is rated 3.4794520547945207 out of 5 by 73.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed The clip and the diameter of the rope are small. More like a dog leash than a horse lead. The way the end is finished is very poor and flimsy.
Date published: 2015-09-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good price, but didn't like how each end secured Although I read the mixed reviews before ordering, I was disappointed with how both ends of the rope were secured with metal, which I felt could hurt your hands and may not be long lasting. Rope part was fine for the price, but would have liked it to be a bit thicker with a better hand feel. I decided to return.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality lead rope I bought this because I don't like very long lead ropes and this is only 6 ft. It's a good quality rope and snap. My only gripe with it is the end...it's not knotted or anything, it's taped and has a little metal clasp around it; so I made a knot in it myself. Overall a great lead rope.
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Meets USPC requirements! We purchased three cotton leads for our barn & will be buying more. Sturdy yet soft, easy to clip yet strong hardware. Love the colors!
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lead I really like the feel of the cotton rope and the snap is sturdy enough for my big mare.
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Short This is a nice quality lead rope but it is very short! Probably only a 5' lead vs the usual 8', so not as useful in my opinion.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Inexpensive lead I found this lead rope to be not useful. It is to thin when being held which could lead to rub burns on your hands if a horse pulls. It is also held together by a metal clip/staple at the which could catch on your hand if pulled through. Two stars only because of the price. You get what you pay for in this case. Inexpensive lead rope that just won't stand up to the riggers of barn life
Date published: 2014-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed The rope is too short. The clasp sticks and the entire item is cheaply made. Very disappointed
Date published: 2014-08-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible I hate it! Cheap cheap. So flimsy it would not hold a horse
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice for the price We gave a these away as prizes for a hunter paceGreat for every day use
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not safe I LOVE Smart-Pak. The customer service is awesome and the products I've purchased have been excellent.Except this one :-(The first time I tied my horse in the barn aisle with this lead, in less than 5 minutes the lead clip was hanging from my pony's halter and the end that should have been attached to the clip was dangling toward the ground. My pony had not moved, all he had done was quickly move his head.This lead is not safe. The clamp that is supposed to keep the rope attached to the clip is flimsy and the rope itself is thin. I prefer a lighter weight clip so this looked like something I could use. It wasn't.This product is not up to the standard I expect from Smart-Pak. I would not recommend it. Even though the price was minimal, I will be going to the trouble of returning it so the people at Smart-Pak can see the defect.
Date published: 2014-06-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Soft but very short I was a little disappointed when I received these lead ropes. Another review said they were short but honestly thought 6ft was quite long enough...until I received them. The hardware isn't overly heavy and the lead is very short. It is nice and soft and perhaps would work as a trailer tie but not my favorite lead rope by far.
Date published: 2014-04-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent lead rope This lead rope is decent. Nothing fancy. It's rather short and on the smaller scale. It would make a much better dog leash than a horse lead rope, but it's pretty and works. And it was definitely a good price.
Date published: 2014-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty, but not heavy-duty I got this in the navy/burgundy and I'm pretty happy with it. However, if you have a strong horse or a horse that pulls, don't buy this lead - the hardware is flimsy, and I don't think it would last very long with a pushy horse. That being said, it works just fine for my laid-back TB and I, and I love the color!
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice colors, but not heavy duty I bought this lead rope for the color. The color is very bright, however the lead rope is light weight. It is short (only 6 feet) as stated in the description and the width of the rope is thin/narrow. If you are looking for a heavier weight lead rope that will stand up to abuse, this isn't your best option. The snap is also small and weak.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Lead Rope Got a couple of these as spares.  The colors are nice and the cotton is soft.  I wish they were a smidge longer.
Date published: 2013-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good I really like my old lead rope but it was getting worn out. I bought this one an loved it! Thank you!
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Color lead rope The idea of the colors is wonderful. But I find The rope is slightly too short and too thin. I need a little bit longer rope with the bigger horses.Saddlebug
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Way too short! Too short and thin. The colors are nice but it is hard to tie my horse with it this short!
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great item. Perfect length, thickness and softness.
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! Great everyday lead with beautiful colors. My only fault is that is is kind of thin and I prefer a thicker rope.
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected... I was excited for this lead rope because of the fun colors BUT it was not at all what I was expecting. It was so short and much thinner than any other lead rope I've seen. The clasp wasn't very substantial and the end was capped off poorly. Needless to say, it went directly back into the box and was returned.
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not well made stay away if you are looking for quality.The fixing is misserable and will not last long.The ends are fixed with wire.NO go!
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for what it's worth My lead finally needs to be replaced. To give people an idea, I just checked my order history and I bought this lead rope a little over a year ago. For eight bucks, it's lasted much longer than I ever thought it would. It's definitely been battle tested. It's been left out in the rain and snow, dragged through the mud, and I use it on my horse when I bathe her. It's fairly inexpensive so I don't mind replacing it. The only drawback is that it pretty short.
Date published: 2012-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Choice I am only 5'1" and the 8' leads were way too long for me to handle. The shorter lead is perfect - fits in my hand without dangling on the ground. Would recommend especially for petite people.
Date published: 2012-09-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from LEAD ROPE I RECEIVED MY ORDER AND I TOOK IT OUT OF THE BAG AND I PUT IT BACK IN ITS WRAPER AND SENT IT BACK. IT WAS NOT STURDY OR HEAVY ENOUGH.I AM NOT A PICKY PERSON AND I DONT HAVE ALOT SO FOR ME TO NOT LIKE THIS PRODUCT IS SOMETHING. I EVEN THOUGHT OF USING IT FOR MY DOG'S LEASH BUT IT WASNT STRONG ENOUGH LOOKING FOR THAT
Date published: 2012-09-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sticky clip The ropes on the leads are fine, but the clips do not move smoothly, even with an application of WD-40. I ended up adding on my own clip to the one attached to the rope since this became such a problem.
Date published: 2012-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cotton Leads I use these as trailer ties for my trailer tied to a piece of bailing twine. They are very adjustable (Just tie them at the legnth you want them) and work Great!
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Short lead I love the color choices of these lead ropes, but it was much shorter than I had expected. It does not feel all that durable either. I don't expect it to last long, but I suppose it's cheap enough to replace with another great color combination.
Date published: 2012-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this rope! I love this rope and the variety of colors that it comes in. I purchased this specific rope because I wanted something purple/orange to go with the rest of my horses tack. The quality is good however it could stand to be a bit more sturdy. I noticed people commenting on the length but I personally don't have any problem with it, I don't prefer an extremely long lead rope so this works great for me. I will re-purchase this item in the future :)
Date published: 2012-08-04
  • 2016-07-28T10:34CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_8155, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders