Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Charles Owen Wellington Pro Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #15989

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Charles Owen Wellington Professional is the latest helmet in their extensive range, which continually evolves to provide riders with an ever increasing choice of headgear.

  • The low profile GR8 style silhouette is covered with a microfiber suede material.
  • The peak of the helmet has been re-styled to be broader and squarer in a shape, which flatters the face and shades the eyes slightly more.
  • The uniquely soft snug fitting microfiber suede lined harness extends to the nape of the neck.
  • An integral adjustable drawstring enables adjustment and fit of the harness at the base of the skull.

A super soft headband ensures comfort in all conditions. The lining also features interwoven silver ions, providing anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors.  A centrally fixed metallic badge features the Charles Owen logo, which is repeated in an embroidered form on the back of the helmet.

Regarding safety, the Charles Owen Wellington Professional is certified by SEI to ASTM F1163-15.

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen Wellington Pro Helmet is rated 4.8889 out of 5 by 18.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spend the money I had lusted after this helmet for several months, and when it went on sale, I snatched it up. I've had it for 18 months now and can confidently say it's the best helmet I've ever had in 35 years of riding. I have a long oval head and the Hampton had fit me the best of my previous helmets, but the Welly Pro takes it to a new level. It was initially a tiny bit snug, but I chose to keep it, and it loosened ever so slightly to the perfect fit in a week or two. It's also the most flattering helmet I've ever worn--I have a long, narrow face and most helmets look ridiculous on me. The lower profile of the Welly Pro saves me from looking like I'm under attack by a giant mushroom.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Helmet I bought this helmet to replace my old show helmet. While it looks very nice, it doesn't fit my head as well as the JR8 does. The Wellington tends to sits a bit higher on my head with slight pressure on my forehead compared to the JR8. If the helmet fits your head, I'd say go for it! It looks very classy in the show ring.
    Date published: 2011-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replaced the Best With the Best My daughter damaged her last Charles Owen helmet in a nasty fall last August. Her helmet probably saved her life! She escaped with a bad concussion and a deeply bruised shoulder.The new helmet was an early birthday present. It arrived 4 days after I ordered it, which surprised both of us. We know SmartPak is quick, but this was quick, even for SmartPak!The price was right (on sale), and I'm glad my daughter is once again wearing the safest, best-fitting helmet we have found every time she rides.Thank you, SmartPak, for helping me keep my daughter safe.(Please note that the comments below are about my daughter, not me. She competed in the ICHSA as an undergraduate. Prior to college, she rode and taught riding for several years. I haven't ridden in several years, although I used to ride and teach.)
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this helmet!! I didn't know what the truly correct helmet fit felt like until I put the Charles Owen Wellington Pro Helmet on. Don't get me wrong, I always wore helmets that met the requirements of a properly fitted helmet. But with my long oval head, they didn't give me the same all around feel of my head being securely 'hugged' by the helmet that the CO did. I finally felt that my head was truly, properly protected all the way around.And that was proven last August when my young TB dumped me off right onto my head. I suffered a Grade II concussion but no permanent brain damage thanks to a helmet that actually fit! Cannot wait for my tax return to come in so I can afford to buy another CO! (Don't worry, I'm wearing a Troxel now, but it's just not the same as a CO)
    Date published: 2011-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant and comfortable Love this helmet! Considering it's not really vented in any way, it actually breathes VERY well. Black microsuede is to clean and doesn't fade. Very comfortable helmet - it's a bit rounder than the other Charles Owens, such as the AYR8 and the GR8 (they are a bit ore oval) so if those have not worked for you, try this. The Wellington Pro also has a slightly larger visor and is better for sun protection. My only complaint is that this particular helmet seems to run a bit bigger than the other Charles Owens, so you might want to consider ordering down a size - I have been a 7 1/4 in my last two J3 skull caps and bought a 7 1/4 in this and it is a tad too large for my liking.
    Date published: 2010-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, little expensive Although the COs are a better value than the GPAs, they are still expensive. I like this helmet a lot, despite the cost. It is comfortable and is cool, even in the summer. I also think it is classier than the GPAs, at about 75% of the cost.
    Date published: 2010-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my really big head I bought this helmet to fit my larger head and square face. The leather accent on the back is very nice and it doesn't look awkward.
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Duck Bill I ordered this helmet in the wrong size, but I plan to order a different one. While the overall appearance was pleasing and I didn't look like I had a bowling ball on my head, the bill on this helmet is much bigger than usual. The square shape along with the length of the bill made me look like a duck. I sent it back for the more traditional GR8. Overall a very comfortable helmet and probably excellent for jumping outside in bright sunlight. Also the back cusp of the helmet is leather and looks much more elegant than pictured.
    Date published: 2010-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT I have a real small head and this helmet fits me perfectly. It does move around on me. Stays in place and looks great. The initial cost is higher but worth the extra money.
    Date published: 2009-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wellington Pro Purchase I have a very large head and thick hair and the Wellington Pro was one of the only helmets to fit. It is a great helmet and will last for a long time (worth the money). I recommend if you want a sturdy helmet for a long period of time to chose the Wellington Pro.
    Date published: 2009-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! This helmet is so comfortable... I have a large oval head, so trying to find a helmet that fits and it not huge is definitely difficult... this helmet fits like a glove and is so nice. It also has such a nice low profile! Love it!
    Date published: 2009-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I loved the GR8 but it made me look like I had a huge head...kind of like a battle helmet. But this one has a lower profile and a different brim and I think it is more flattering. Very comfortable and very stylish, love it!
    Date published: 2008-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Upgraded GR8!!! It is hard to believe that Charles Owen could improve on the GR8 helmet, but they have! The Wellington Pro has a very subtle padding at the base of the helmet that provides extra protection but also makes your head feel like it is cradled in comfort. The quick clip closure is much more convenient and easy, especially if you are taking your helmet on and off a lot or unbuckling between rides. The distinctive Charles Owen Logo is still on the front and back of the helmet just like the GR8 so you still get that great look that you see in the Eq. ring these days. Yeah Charles Owen for making something good even better and yeah SmartPak for picking it up so quickly!
    Date published: 2008-01-04
    • 2016-02-11T15:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_18
    • loc_en_US, sid_5989, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.