Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Charles Owen Pro II Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #16855
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Just when you thought riding couldn’t get any “cooler.” The Charles Owen Pro II has ventilation holes in the front and rear for maximum airflow and ultimate comfort. The removable cover has a visor and mesh front that will keep air flowing. 

Imported.

Helmets Comparison Chart

Favorite Features 

  • Soft headband is interwoven with silver ions throughout the lining, providing anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors
  • Revolutionary Grpx™ Technology has built in grippers that help this skull cap fit like a glove
  • Kite marked to both PAS015 and BSEN1384.  ASTM/SEI F1163-15
  • Silver or Black
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmet is the ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmet is the latest blend of tradition and technology. This low profile helmet combines fade resistant velvet side panels with a vented velvet center for maximum airflow. It's the perfect combination of classic and cool! ...
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic. Developed for ...
    "Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the ...
    Description:
    "Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the Ayr8® Leather Look the latest choice in equestrian protective headwear. The Leather Look Ayr8® requires minimal care to maintain its brilliant appearance. The lining features interwoven silver ions, providing anti-microbial protection against ...
    "The Charles Owen AyrBrush Helmet blends the latest ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen AyrBrush Helmet blends the latest technology with sophisticated design to create the ultimate in equestrian fashion! This helmet features a smooth, matte finish created with an exclusive mark-resistant paint made specially in Britain for easy maintenance. With ...
    "Introducing the new JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the ...
    Description:
    "Introducing the new JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest level of protection! Low profile design is covered with a microfiber suede material treated to protect against marking and scuffing. Brim is gently rounded to flatter the face. **ASTM F-1163-15/SEI Certified ...
    "Add a little sparkle into your everyday life ...
    Description:
    "Add a little sparkle into your everyday life or in the show ring with the Charles Owen JR8 Sparkly Helmet! Made of a special sparkle material, the black bling and shiny silver center seamlessly complement the black weather resistant microsuede ...
    "The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a popular fiberglass jockey skull with a streamlined design. Lightweight and deep-fitting with a soft edged three point harness made from high strength nylon. Four discreet vents to keep you cool on course. ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen Pro II Helmet is rated 5.0 out of 5 by 60.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breathable! I use this helmet for cross country, and I love it! very secure fit, with optimal vision and breathability!
    Date published: 2016-11-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfortable helmet I got this because my trainer recommended it. It was great for a while, very comfy, nice color ( I got silver). However I hadn't even had it for a year and on the cross country course the buckle on the strap came undone and my helmet fell off! .The clip must have been defective because I clearly remember latching it. Other people I know have also noticed that the clip on this helmet don't click in super well and the clip on my helmet when tested afterwords was very easy to pull out. Charles Owen refused to refund us or replace it, but SmartPak was nice enough to, thank you SmartPak! It would have been my favorite helmet, and so far my new one has been holding up fine.
    Date published: 2016-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PURCHASE!! Great quality! Love this helmet! Great fit & quality. Came highly recommended and would recommend!
    Date published: 2016-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! True to size. I have a more oval head and I was worried it wouldnt fit. But I ordered it knowing that smartpak is always great about returns. However it fits and rides in wonderfully! and looks nice to!
    Date published: 2016-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All-around great helmet Bought this after a nasty fall where I cracked my head hard. Was wearing an Ovation helmet that I've loved for a couple years. Thought I would take the chance to check out a skull-cap and this one was on sale. At first I thought it was going to be too heavy but after riding in it, I can say it's not at all. Love the ventilation. I bought it in the same size as my Ovation and unlike other reviewers, I haven't found it stretching out. It fits more snug with my short hair in a french braid than it does when I don't have my hair braided. Even then, when I don't have my hair braided, I don't feel like it's loose. I could see adding just a smidge of padding to snug it up more but only time will tell if I need to.
    Date published: 2016-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and great protection!
    Date published: 2015-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet! Had ordered the wrong size, but as always, Smartpack is free returns. Always allow for a little breakin, but not so tight to put a lot of pressure. They were great and shipped the new one out immediately. Way to go Smartpack!
    Date published: 2015-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, light weight and cool! Love this helmet! Super comfortable, easy to forget you've got it on! Fits well, is very lightweight and cool. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Helmet This helmet has pretty good ventilation, but my head sweats a little in it. I also love how the back of the helmet basically cups the back of your head. GREAT helmet!
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very protective helmet This is not my first Charles Owen, nor will it be my last. I bought this helmet a little over 6 months ago and had my first fall with it at a show. In warm up my horse slipped and fell on me, when he went to stand back up he stepped on my foot, my side, and my head. This helmet did it's job and saved my life. Without the helmet my horse's studs would have done quite a bit of damage. Very thankful for Charles Owen's helmet technology because without it, who knows if I would be here writing this review.
    Date published: 2015-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very lightweight and comfortable I bought this to replace my prior helmet after a crash. I knew from the sizing I would be border-line, but the 1/2 size larger was definitely too large, so I went with the smaller size, as suggested by the size chart, which was tight, but within two weeks of riding in the heat it fit perfectly - snug but definitely not too tight anymore.I have not noticed any significant difference (good or bad) in ventilation from my prior helmets- I guess I just generally accept that summer riding = sweaty hair. I like how secure it feels while still being lightweight and without looking like a complete mushroom, and I like that it doesn't obstruct my vision, and I love the super soft chin strap. My prior helmet's strap was stiff/uncomfortable, and forced a bit too far forward for me, so I am happy with the switch (although still thankful to the other one for keeping me head in one piece!).
    Date published: 2015-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb fit, very soft leather harness. I was looking for an upgrade from Tippary schooling helmet and am beyond pleased with this choice. Doesn't feel heavy when wearing & air vents keep it comfortable. I have Charles Owen show helmets so I ordered the same size and it fits like it's custom made.
    Date published: 2015-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! Great fit and looks great! I ordered the silver one but it was too bright, black was a better choice for me.
    Date published: 2015-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet we've owned Bought one for myself first, and found it to be very light and comfortable. I bought a silver one for my husband who gallops at the racetrack, it looks so slick!
    Date published: 2015-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very lightweight and comfy! I bought this a month ago and am so happy! When I got the box, I questioned whether it was the right item because it was so light! I love the ventilation and the silver coating, it keeps me so much cooler. It's also very comfortable, I forget it's even on. Great helmet, would certainly buy again!
    Date published: 2015-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! I purchased this helmet as both a schooling and showing helmet and I absolutley love it! It fits amazingly and it breathes very well. I did have to go down a size from my previous Charles Owen so that's something to note. Overall this helmet is the perfect addition to an eventers wardrobe or if you just want to be super safe and comfortable while riding!
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super helmet!
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and very comfortable helmet. I bought this for my son after he fell and cracked another helmet. He is very pleased with this one. It not only provides excellent protection but looks very nice as well.
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet ever! I love this helmet! I've owned a several different brands so helmets, and this is definitely the most comfortable. It breathes well, fits well, looks good, and even the harness is great. I highly recommend this helmet.
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, comfortable helmet! Recently purchased. Fits snug and is comfortable. Chin strap is soft. Definitely would recommend.
    Date published: 2014-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of Compliments! I bought this helmet for my granddaughter who competes in eventing. She loves this helmet and has received lots of compliments on it! I like it best because it gives her head the protection that is needed. Great product!
    Date published: 2014-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet Ever! I outgrew my JR8 charles owen helmet and wanted to try a skull cap type helmet. I ordered one size up and it fit great. thanks!
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really comfortable helmet. I have had 2 J3's prior to this purchase but after buying an AYR8 I realized the J3 didn't fit me very well. I love the AYR8 and the Pro II fits very similar. Like all the Charles Owen helmets, super quality.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not great if you want your hair in your helmet. I actually ended up returning this helmet. I have long hair and keep it french braided most of the time. This really changed the fit and stability of the helmet, to the point that it truly did not feel like it fit or would stay on my head when I had the braid coming  out the back. That said, without my hair in it, although slightly large, it felt very protective and like it would save my head from a significant impact.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable I bought this in July and have used it for numerous show this year. I absolutely love how light weight and comfortable it is. Good quality and will buy Charles Owens from now on.
    Date published: 2013-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great so far! This is a great skull cap!! Not nearly as bulky as the CO 4 star and still very safe and comfortable. This helmet was more true to size as well. I've only had it a few weeks but really like it so far. Top safety ratings and that awesome eventing look :)
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Skull Cap Don't bother ordering or trying any other skull caps! This one is light and fitted to my head. I've tried other skull caps and they are ridiculously heavy and bulky, not this one! Perfect for an eventer! I've taken a couple falls with this helmet on, including 2-3 times on the cross country course (I know I should replace it with a new helmet but it holds up really well)! The only thing is that it can be difficult to get the cover on.
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, breathable, durable helemet. Oh how I love my CO Pro II, let me count the ways:1 - Great fit for a variety of head shapes. I think my head is a bit more round than oval, and this works great for me. For comparison, the AYR8 is my other helmet and I think the Pro II fits just a tiny bit better (less oval).2 - Breathable, I don't tend to sweat as much in this helmet as I have in others.3 - VERY comfortable; I can wear this helmet all day (and I have, sometimes by accident!)
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had to catalog order this and was so happy it fit perfectly from the measuring of my head at home. Fits great. The helmet cover that came with it was kind of cheap and the brim was bent from being crammed in a box, but I use my own cover and rubber band anyway so I didn't mind too much
    Date published: 2013-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE!! I got this helmet for Christmas to replace my original pro skull cap that is over 6 years old. I love it, the improvements are wonderful, the inside is soft and the harness is a lot more comfortable. Highly recommend this helmet.
    Date published: 2013-01-08
    • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_56
    • loc_en_US, sid_6855, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders