Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Charles Owen Pro II Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #16855
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


And you thought riding couldn’t get any “cooler.” The Charles Owen Pro II has ventilation holes in the front and rear for maximum airflow and ultimate comfort. The removable cover has a visor and mesh front that will keep air flowing. The super soft headband is interwoven with silver ions throughout the lining, providing anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors. The revolutionary Grpx™ Technology has built in grippers that help this skull cap fit like a glove. 

Silver or Black.

Kite marked to both PAS015 and BSEN1384.  



Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen Pro II Helmet is rated 4.9574 out of 5 by 47.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet we've owned Bought one for myself first, and found it to be very light and comfortable. I bought a silver one for my husband who gallops at the racetrack, it looks so slick!
    Date published: 2015-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very lightweight and comfy! I bought this a month ago and am so happy! When I got the box, I questioned whether it was the right item because it was so light! I love the ventilation and the silver coating, it keeps me so much cooler. It's also very comfortable, I forget it's even on. Great helmet, would certainly buy again!
    Date published: 2015-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! I purchased this helmet as both a schooling and showing helmet and I absolutley love it! It fits amazingly and it breathes very well. I did have to go down a size from my previous Charles Owen so that's something to note. Overall this helmet is the perfect addition to an eventers wardrobe or if you just want to be super safe and comfortable while riding!
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and very comfortable helmet. I bought this for my son after he fell and cracked another helmet. He is very pleased with this one. It not only provides excellent protection but looks very nice as well.
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet ever! I love this helmet! I've owned a several different brands so helmets, and this is definitely the most comfortable. It breathes well, fits well, looks good, and even the harness is great. I highly recommend this helmet.
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, comfortable helmet! Recently purchased. Fits snug and is comfortable. Chin strap is soft. Definitely would recommend.
    Date published: 2014-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of Compliments! I bought this helmet for my granddaughter who competes in eventing. She loves this helmet and has received lots of compliments on it! I like it best because it gives her head the protection that is needed. Great product!
    Date published: 2014-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet Ever! I outgrew my JR8 charles owen helmet and wanted to try a skull cap type helmet. I ordered one size up and it fit great. thanks!
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really comfortable helmet. I have had 2 J3's prior to this purchase but after buying an AYR8 I realized the J3 didn't fit me very well. I love the AYR8 and the Pro II fits very similar. Like all the Charles Owen helmets, super quality.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not great if you want your hair in your helmet. I actually ended up returning this helmet. I have long hair and keep it french braided most of the time. This really changed the fit and stability of the helmet, to the point that it truly did not feel like it fit or would stay on my head when I had the braid coming  out the back. That said, without my hair in it, although slightly large, it felt very protective and like it would save my head from a significant impact.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable I bought this in July and have used it for numerous show this year. I absolutely love how light weight and comfortable it is. Good quality and will buy Charles Owens from now on.
    Date published: 2013-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great so far! This is a great skull cap!! Not nearly as bulky as the CO 4 star and still very safe and comfortable. This helmet was more true to size as well. I've only had it a few weeks but really like it so far. Top safety ratings and that awesome eventing look :)
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Skull Cap Don't bother ordering or trying any other skull caps! This one is light and fitted to my head. I've tried other skull caps and they are ridiculously heavy and bulky, not this one! Perfect for an eventer! I've taken a couple falls with this helmet on, including 2-3 times on the cross country course (I know I should replace it with a new helmet but it holds up really well)! The only thing is that it can be difficult to get the cover on.
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, breathable, durable helemet. Oh how I love my CO Pro II, let me count the ways:1 - Great fit for a variety of head shapes. I think my head is a bit more round than oval, and this works great for me. For comparison, the AYR8 is my other helmet and I think the Pro II fits just a tiny bit better (less oval).2 - Breathable, I don't tend to sweat as much in this helmet as I have in others.3 - VERY comfortable; I can wear this helmet all day (and I have, sometimes by accident!)
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had to catalog order this and was so happy it fit perfectly from the measuring of my head at home. Fits great. The helmet cover that came with it was kind of cheap and the brim was bent from being crammed in a box, but I use my own cover and rubber band anyway so I didn't mind too much
    Date published: 2013-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE!! I got this helmet for Christmas to replace my original pro skull cap that is over 6 years old. I love it, the improvements are wonderful, the inside is soft and the harness is a lot more comfortable. Highly recommend this helmet.
    Date published: 2013-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Helmet!! I put a ton of research into buying my helmet. I have an odd shaped head, don't laugh. And was tired of always having to push my helmet up during SJ or XC. This helmet is AMAZING! It's incredibly comfortable, with no pressure points. My favorite thing about it is the visibility, especially for XC!BUY THIS HELMET! You will not regret it! Another great thing, it is a Charles Owen, register it and if anything happens to it, they help you get a new helmet. Great Company!
    Date published: 2012-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple the Best IF you event you need this helmet!!! The visibility with it is fantastic! I can finally see no matter where I look. I can't even begin to say how comfortable this helmet is.The trick with it is to tighten the back tie after you put the helmet on and to untie it every time you take the helmet off. It will keep the tie from stretching and your helmet in great shape.
    Date published: 2012-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet ever! I recently purchased this helmet and am very glad I decided to do so. Not only is it very, very comfortable and good quality, but it is very cool to wear. My head doesn't get anywhere near as hot as it used to, and I can actually feel some of the airflow coming through the vents when I'm out galloping around cross country. It is a very big helmet on the outside, but as far as I can tell it fits normally and it is also lightweight. It looks very smart and I couldn't love it more.
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! This helmet was a great summer alternative to my AYR8. Fits the same but was cooler in the heat and humidity. I am glad I got this helmet and will probably continue using it for schooling even when the weather cools off.
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable helmet. I had been riding in a Charles Owen JR8 for about a year and while I loved the helmet itself and the fit I always felt like the visor was blocking my view. I purchased this helmet as my "everyday" helmet to school in and love it! Very comfortable fit and I like the harness much better than the nylon one in my JR8. Very nice helmet.
    Date published: 2012-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super light helmut I really like the Pro Racing II and I got it in the cool silver color. It makes wearing a helmut on a hot day less taxing!!
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Charles OWEN Another great Charles Owen product. I found that this helmet was a bit more ROUND than oblong in fit as compared to the Hampton, but it still fits well and is comfortable. A quality product.
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet I've had my old helmet for years and wanted a new/updated version. This helmet is great. Comfortable and fits perfectly. I love the vents in it, especially for hot summer riding!
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and sleek! It fits exactly like the GR8, but with the added protection of a scull cap.Incredibly light weight!Love it!
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Charles Owen Pro Racing helmet This helmet is of great quality and is super comfy. it is very durable and the gr ypx system system makes the helmet feel super secure, however it sometimes gives me headeachs it still is very comfortable. The vented helmet cover is great but i dont like the harsh texture of the helmet, it is so abrassive it is quite difficult to fit the cover on. i bought mine on clearece for 151 and is was worth it. the harness is super soft. i over recomend this helmet to any one looking for a sporty looking helmet from charles owen.! 5STARS!
    Date published: 2012-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet I have had this helmet for just over a year now and am in love with it! I do have another helmet but whenever i can i'm in my skull cap. I've ridden for hours in the heat with it and it is still clean. I would recommend this helmet to any person looking for a solid and comfortable helmet.
    Date published: 2012-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Charles Owen win! This is my 3rd CO helmet (I have the JR8 & AYR8) and I am absolutely in love with this helmet. This is the first skull cap I've had and I have been amazed at how comfortable it is. I tried a couple others, but this is by far the most comfortable for me. So far, it has retained its size- it hasn't gotten too big after some use, and it fits well.I highly recommend it! Super comfy! :)
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love Love This is my third Charles Owen helmet, of different styles. I will not change, the quality is awesome and formost making me rest easy about the safety of all their products.
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They meant cooler! I have long since been a fan of Charles Owens. I am on my third skull cap from them. I have tried the less expensive ones and been completely satisfied, except for one thing: head sweat. I know I can't possibly be alone in the sweaty head club, but I am the only representative at my barn. I decided to just suck it up and buy this helmet. I am very, very pleased. The vents above the forehead allow me to not sweat nearly as much, and the silver ions really do prevent the dreaded helmet funk.
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    • 2015-08-26T13:25CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_44
    • loc_en_US, sid_6855, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.