Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Charles Owen JR8 Junior Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #15418
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Introducing the new JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest level of protection!  Low profile design is covered with a microfiber suede material treated to protect against marking and scuffing. Brim is gently rounded to flatter the face.

**ASTM F-1163-15/SEI Certified

Helmets Comparison Chart

Favorite Features

  • Metallic logo is positioned above the peak
  • Embroidered logo on the back of the helmet where a ribbon would traditionally be
  • Nylon harness coordinates to complete the finished look and offers additional strength, safety and security
  • The lining is interwoven with silver ions to provide anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a popular fiberglass jockey skull with a streamlined design. Lightweight and deep-fitting with a soft edged three point harness made from high strength nylon. Four discreet vents to keep you cool on course. ...
    "GPA Speed Air 4S helmet from the Redline ...
    Description:
    "GPA Speed Air 4S helmet from the Redline Collection by GPA is filled with top notch safety features. With 50 years experience in the business and following a patented principle, the Reline generation of helmets allows for a new level ...
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmet is the ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmet is the latest blend of tradition and technology. This low profile helmet combines fade resistant velvet side panels with a vented velvet center for maximum airflow. It's the perfect combination of classic and cool! ...
    "The Samshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the ...
    Description:
    "The Samshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption. Swarovski crystals provide a show-ring sparkle; ...
    "The Samshield Shadow Mat Shimmer Leather Top Helmet ...
    Description:
    "The Samshield Shadow Mat Shimmer Leather Top Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption. ASTM/SEI F1163-15 approved. Helmets ...
    "Add a little sparkle into your everyday life ...
    Description:
    "Add a little sparkle into your everyday life or in the show ring with the Charles Owen JR8 Sparkly Helmet! Made of a special sparkle material, the black bling and shiny silver center seamlessly complement the black weather resistant microsuede ...
    "Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the ...
    Description:
    "Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the Ayr8® Leather Look the latest choice in equestrian protective headwear. The Leather Look Ayr8® requires minimal care to maintain its brilliant appearance. The lining features interwoven silver ions, providing anti-microbial protection against ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen JR8 Junior Helmet is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 151.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, super comfortable Second Charles Owens helmet that I have purchased for my daughter, She loves the fit.
    Date published: 2016-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy great value for the money fits true to size and is very comfortable
    Date published: 2016-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! I just ordered this helmet for the second time. I love CO helmets (I have a skull cap for cross country and an AYR8 that I finally splurged on for dressage and show jumping!). I use the JR8 as my every day schooling helmet, though it does look nice enough that I've used it several times at schooling and recognized shows. I noticed the other day that the foam lining was starting to break down, so I checked the label and realized that I have been using it since October 2010! I took reasonably good care of it, stored it in a helmet bag and almost always kept it inside, but I really cleaned it pretty minimally and used it almost every day. The outside surface of the helmet still looks new, and I think that the main reason for the deterioration of the lining is because I ride in it every day during Texas summers! I can't wait to get my new one and definitely recommend this helmet for every day use or for shows.
    Date published: 2016-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my JR8!!
    Date published: 2016-08-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Comfortable! I have had this helmet for around three years and I absolutely love it! It was my first expensive and nice helmet and it is super comfortable. The only thing is it has gotten dirty, which is expected and I'm finding it hard to clean so I think the cleaner is a good thing to purchase at the same time as the helmet.
    Date published: 2016-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charles Owens at a more reasonable price I bought this helmet as my first more expensive helmet because I wanted something a little more formal for the show ring. After riding in Troxels and cheaper Ovations, it was really a nice step up. The helmet is very stylish and even though it says it's a "junior" helmet, it looks fine on me even though I'm an adult with a larger head. Although I bought it just for shows, now it's my primary riding helmet, since it's too nice to just save for special occasions. The chin strap is not my favorite, but it's something I was willing to compromise on for the bargain price. I've recently just purchased an AYR8 helmet as well though, since this one doesn't have much ventilation which may pose a problem as it gets warmer for the summer. I still plan on keeping this one as a back-up, since I ride at a couple different barns and it's nice to have an extra.
    Date published: 2016-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good helmet for the price This helmet fits well and is very comfortable. I like that it covers the whole head, including fully covering the back of the head. It looks very nice and can be worn for schooling and shows. The only part I wish was different is the chin strap. It fits well, but is not as nice as the other chin straps that fully wrap around the ears to the chin.
    Date published: 2016-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely helmet, reasonable price I bought this as an upgrade from my Troxel. I wanted something a little nicer for showing, but I can't fathom buying a $500 helmet that will only last a maximum of 5 years if I don't have a fall. They have the replacement if you fall, for a discounted price, which made me a little more comfortable buying it. While it says junior, it's not limited in sizing (I'm 34 and have a big head: size 7 1/4). It looks nice, especially for showing. I'd recommend finding it in a store first to try on, since it doesn't really adjust much, but it's much cheaper here.
    Date published: 2016-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-10-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really great! Really great fit, very comfortable. My only issue with it is that it's got no vents which can be a problem in the summer
    Date published: 2015-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I just upgraded from a Troxel to this helmet and I've never been happier!! Definitely a must have. Looks classy for both schooling and at shows!
    Date published: 2015-08-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous This helmet looks great and really completes the schooling or show look for a very reasonable price. It does however; get pretty warm due to the lack of ventilation. Being from Southern Arizona though means that no matter what helmet you have on, it's hot. I haven't had the helmet long enough to speak for its durability, but I expect it'll hold up very nicely. The fit was exactly as expected
    Date published: 2015-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Proud to have the best! I never have spent this much on a helmet, but I wanted the best, and it was on sale.
    Date published: 2015-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Junior Helmet! I bought this for our daughter who is just starting :) We love the fit, the style, and the quality:) and for the price, this Charles Owen Helmet can't be beat :)
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing:) !!!!! It is an amazing helmet!!! It hurts at first where it sits on your head, but after a few rides it shapes to your head. I am so happy with my helmet!
    Date published: 2015-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Great Charles Owen quality at a nice price! I bought this helmet for my daughter to use as her dressage helmet and it works perfectly and fits great! My Smartpak rep even helped me with sizing. Thanks!
    Date published: 2015-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet I have ever owned! I love this helmet! In the past, helmets always hurt my head after about a 1/2 hour of riding, and I had grown to believe that helmets were just all that uncomfortable. I had heard good things about CO, so I thought I would try this helmet, the most basic of the COs. I wore it around the house for an hour to test it, and my head didn't hurt at all! The padding is so comfortable, and seems to mold to my head. At first I was worried the padding would be problematic in the heat, but I have ridden in humid 90 degree weather and have only experienced minimal amounts of sweating, which is to be expected anyway, helmet or no helmet. As an added bonus, it is also a nice looking helmet. I definitely plan on buying another when the time comes :)
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love <3 I have had this helmet for a while now and it has held up very well. Great price cause I was able to pay for it by myself at the age of 10. Will be getting another one of these very soon.
    Date published: 2015-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ADORE This helmet does run a little bit small, but the smaller fit was still very managable. This helmet is very stylish and flatters nicely. A lot of the girls at my barn have this helmet.
    Date published: 2015-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the kids Got this for our 2yr daughter to show in the lead-line class. Good fit with plenty of room to grow over the next couple of years.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not cheap but she loves it It was at the top of her list and when she opened it she squealed. So much more comfortable than her old helmet.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT This helmet is perfect! Fits and feels great plus it looks great!!!
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like this helmet It is very comfortable for having no air vents. It can feel heavy on your head after a while but the lining is nice and cushioned. For the price compared to the GR8 it is an exceptionally good value and has the good quality and name of Charles Owen. I kept my Ovation helmet for schooling in case this got too hot and gave me a headache as some reviewers said, but I just use this one all the time now. I also love that the suede will not get scratched during schooling and looks great for shows. I am very happy with this purchase!
    Date published: 2014-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice helmet I bought this helmet for my daughter. She has had the exact same helmet for 2 1/2 years of showing and schooling. It is classic, well-made, a held up well to constant use. She could have kept using her other helmet for much longer (our new dog chewed a chin strap making it unsafe!), and the quality is certainly worth the price tag.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet! Great helmet! Extremely comfortable and light weight. Very pleased!
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet for the Price I bought this helmet a little over a year ago and it still looks and feels great! It fits true to size and molds to your head nicely. I definitely would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice helmet for both schooling and showing.
    Date published: 2014-10-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Charles Owen I bought this helmet for my daughter and she likes it. She has a lot of hair though and finds it a little shallow for putting it up into a net for showing.
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_8
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_129
    • loc_en_US, sid_5418, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders