Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Charles Owen JR8 Junior Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #15418
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Introducing the new JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest level of protection!  Low profile design is covered with a microfiber suede material treated to protect against marking and scuffing. Brim is gently rounded to flatter the face.

Favorite Features

  • Metallic logo is positioned above the peak
  • Embroidered logo on the back of the helmet where a ribbon would traditionally be
  • Nylon harness coordinates to complete the finished look and offers additional strength, safety and security
  • The lining is interwoven with silver ions to provide anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors

**ASTM F-1163-04a/SEI Certified

Sizing It Up

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen JR8 Junior Helmet is rated 4.7638 out of 5 by 127.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet for the Price I bought this helmet a little over a year ago and it still looks and feels great! It fits true to size and molds to your head nicely. I definitely would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice helmet for both schooling and showing.
    Date published: 2014-10-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Charles Owen I bought this helmet for my daughter and she likes it. She has a lot of hair though and finds it a little shallow for putting it up into a net for showing.
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet and the service was excellent. Very happy with the customer service and the products.
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I got this helmet a few weeks ago and I love it! At first it feels weird but when it molds to your head shape it's so conferrable and great for showing too! :)
    Date published: 2014-10-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great schooling helmet for everyday use I bought this helmet with the intention of using it to school. I do like it for just that! The dome of the helmet is shallower than the GR8 so it is not as low profile. The straps are nicely adjustable but ackward to put on if you have a large head and a lot of thick hair like I do. It is cute to practice in but I would not use it for showing for the fact that it is not as clean looking on my head since it is not super low profile. If you had a small head it would probably be perfect!
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet I recently bought this helmet for my daughter for shows. The quality is great and it fits nicely. Will definitely buy another Charles Owen helmet in the future.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and looks good in the show ring I bought this last month for my daughter. She loves the look and feel. I love the fit and it looks great on her in the show ring. She does say it is warmer than her last helmet but she is very happy with it.
    Date published: 2014-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks professional, feels great Love this helmet. Steeper price, but I haven't regretted it for a second. I upgraded from my old Troxel show helmet and I definitely love it. Not as much ventilation, but it the comfort and looks make up for it. Feels like a pillow if you don't mind the sweat. Great quality, I baby it, but it would probably last reguardless. I use for both schooling and show. Mine is a bit bigger than it should be, but the harness keeps it in place. I suggest knowing your size of CO and what will fit before ordering.
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit As soon as I put this helmet on I knew it was a keeper. Very seldom can I buy a helmet without trying it on first and this one is a perfect fit!
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Worth the Purchase Price I purchased this helmet for my daughter in August 2012. It was used a few times a week and is always stored in a helmet bag in a climate controlled tack room. Recently, we noticed the helmet was not fitting as well so we took it to a local tack shop to have someone experienced with helmet fitting take a look. The front padding had completely broken down and the tack shop owner was able to fit an entire hand inside the helmet while it was on my daughters head! The helmet went from fitting my daughter to being unusable in less than two years! I have never seen a helmet break down so quickly. I will not purchase this product again and I am glad my daughter never had a fall with this helmet. For the price I am extremely disappointed and of course it is out of warranty after one year. Do not waste your money.
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FAVORITE HELMET I have had this helmet for about a year and it is my favorite! I had a Troxel, but I decided I needed a better more mature helmet. I decided on this one and I could not be happier! The helmet has a nice stylish design that is nice and slimming. Some people say that there isn't a lot of ventilation, which is true, but it still is not overly hot. I live in a moderately hot area so I understand. I use the Charles Owen helmet cleaner which works really well to keep the interior of the helmet clean. I am super pleased with this helmet. It has held up very well! I have had multiple falls on this helmet and no wear or tear at all! It is easy to clean which is always nice too! I am actually going to now get a GR8 for showing!!!! For sure recommend!
    Date published: 2014-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite helmet This helmet is a life saver. A year ago I had a near rotational fall with my horse, and I hit my head so hard mid fall that I blacked out. I found out later that I had hit my temple (covered by the helmet) on my horse's head and then the exact same spot on the ground when I broke my collarbone. I had a massive headache the next day, but no concussion or brain damage. I was very lucky. This helmet is safe, comfortable, and affordable, and I completely trust the Charles Owen brand. Even though my horse and I no longer jump (we do dressage instead), I will continue to buy/use this helmet everyday and in the show ring. You can't go wrong with this helmet!
    Date published: 2014-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit Bought this helmet for my daughter. Was having a hard time finding the right helmet that fit tight enough with her long hair up in it. This was the only 1 after 4 helmet tries that was affordable. It looks nice, covers the important areas as it should, fits snug with her hair up and can be worn in the rated shows.
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charles Owen The helmet arrived a few weeks ago, and I love it. Perfect fit and very comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I love this helmet! I have two Charles Owens (one for show and one for practice). I love this brand. This helmet is comfy, cool, looks great and durable!
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I can see why this is so popular! After a massive fall that basically destroyed my old IRH, I decided to get a JR8 for shows. I'm quite happy with the helmet. I have a more round than oval head, and the first time I wore the JR8 I thought I had made a terrible mistake because of all the pressure on my head. However, after a few uses it has molded to my head and is not uncomfortable to wear for lessons. Also, I appreciate the extra "room" at the back from the oval shape to stuff my hair in for shows. If you have a more round head and are worried about fit, I'd recommend ordering a tiny little bit up from your usual size to make sure it fits on the sides, or just sticking with your regular size and hope it molds to your head as well as it did to mine.This is definitely a nice helmet for Eq shows.
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has been a GREAT starting helmet!!! This has been a great starting helmet for me. The first helmet I ever had was a plastic Troxel, but when I started jumping I decided I needed something with a little moreprotection. And hey, let's be real, the style factor never hurts either :) So I bought thisalmost a year ago and I have loved every minute of riding with it on my head. Thesmall visor is really flattering, it's very easy to adjust, and I love the stripe down themiddle because it adds a little extra flare (even in the black/black). It's also ridiculously easy to keep clean. As in a damp-cloth-wipe-down easy. The only reason I'm nolonger in this helmet is because I've started Eventing, so I werk a Skull Cap now. ButI find that Charles Owen's quality is unparalleled, so of course my new helmet is also a CO!
    Date published: 2014-03-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from If it only were better ventilated I love this helmet, but wish it were better ventilated. Thanks so much,
    Date published: 2014-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from As described, good quality, but not for me I am 5'7, 140 lb average adult female. Hat size 6 7/8 in the AYR8.  First ordered the JR8 in same size just to save money. It fit well except the chin strap was just a little too short to be comfortable and adjustable.  So it had to go back.  The second thing is as an eventer, I really like the gripx technology of the AYR8 versus the crossed straps of the JR8. While I think the JR8 is well made and is just fine for the purposes it is marketed for, I needed the AYR8 for the longer chin strap and more substantial head coverage- I will wear it xc too.  A side note: I felt the AYR8 and the JR8 are the same shape-  somewhat oval.  
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfortable I bought this helmet to replace a GR8 that I was wearing when I had a riding accident last year. As I have returned to riding  I really like the fit and look of this helmet just don't find the harness and closure of this one as comfortable as the GR8.
    Date published: 2013-12-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Weird Fitting I would not recommend this product for the price. My friend and I both bought this style for both of us it appeared to fit and looked great BUT when you hit the back it tossed forward. This happened for BOTH of us. It might be different if someone fits the helmet exactly to you but I still doubt it. If you plan on showing pleasure or something and only need it to look pretty then buy it but not if you actually want it to protect you. If you do decide to get this make sure you go to a store and have one fitted or else it is probably not going to fit properly. I am very surprised there are not more reviews like mine on here. It blew me away the difference between the CO and an IRH cheap version, I felt much more secure in the IRH. I think people just like the name and not the actual product. Other versions of CO might be better but I don't know.
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb quality Bought for my teenage daughter. Great style, quality and price. Very happy with grey/black style.
    Date published: 2013-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet On The Market! i absolutely love my Charles Owens JR8 helmet! i use it for showing and schooling. Super easy to clean. Fits perfectly according to size chart. A little pricey for the value but all together terrific! no ventilation so it gets a little hot but im perfectly fine with that. mine is getting a little small so i will definitely be buying another one of these soon!
    Date published: 2013-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet I think that this helmet is pretty nice. It's very comfortable, however there is no ventilation so it can get very hot!
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, slim lines This helmet does run a bit small, maybe because it fits exactly to the shape of your head. It seriously feels like a glove. I had to make one return for sizing and probably should have gone up one more size, but didn't want to wait any longer for my new helmet. I'm not crazy about the crisscross harness, it rubs on my ears. It is definitely the least bulky looking helmet I've ever worn and it looks good and is nicely padded.
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from jR8 review I started looking at COs when I finally ran out of patience with my ill fitting IRH helmet. I have a large head and my IRH was a model with the adjustable knob in the back.....no attractive and definitely not show worthy. I originally purchased the JR8 because I had heard such great things about COs and it was the most cost friendly.Smartpak delivered the JR8 earlier than expected, which was a welcome surprise! However, once I got the JR8 I found it did not fit. I could force it on, but the size was really snug even though I followed the sizing chart and measured my head several times.I also found that the JR8 is very oval in shape where I have a rounder head. The JR8 was very tight on the sides of my head.I had to return the JR8 (love Smartpak's return process...so easy!) and purchase the AYR8 by CO which was a much better fit. Even though it was much more expensive than the JR8, it was well worth the money.I love my CO AYR8 and I'm sure if the JR8 had fit I would have loved it just as much. CO is an awesome company with high quality helmets.
    Date published: 2013-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a fit This Charles Owen helmet fits my oval head with a hug. Feels secure and doesn't get off center like others. Don't know about durability yet, but Charles Owen is a well-respected brand.
    Date published: 2013-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this helmet! I have a small head and this fits perfectly. I have been riding for 20 years and this is the best helmet I have ever worn. It fits very snug so it does not shift around my head, but it is not tight enough to give me a headache. It looks stunning and is easy to clean.
    Date published: 2013-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy I have never purchased the "high end" Charles Owens helmet. But the 'low end" one is absolutely the most comfortable "rated" helmet I have ever purchased. It is well worth the money!!
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most comfortable helmet ever! This is the most comfortable helmet that I have ever worn! It perfectly fits my small narrow head. And it looks great.
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    • 2015-05-28T09:49CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_110
    • loc_en_US, sid_5418, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.