Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Charles Owen JR8 Junior Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #15418
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Introducing the new JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest level of protection!  Low profile design is covered with a microfiber suede material treated to protect against marking and scuffing. Brim is gently rounded to flatter the face.

Favorite Features

  • Metallic logo is positioned above the peak
  • Embroidered logo on the back of the helmet where a ribbon would traditionally be
  • Nylon harness coordinates to complete the finished look and offers additional strength, safety and security
  • The lining is interwoven with silver ions to provide anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors

**ASTM F-1163-15/SEI Certified

Sizing It Up

Helmets Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
Samshield is a mix between the rider's needs, ...
Description:
Samshield is a mix between the rider's needs, the designer's creative energy and the engineer's technical vision. This helmet is made from anti-scratch Polycarbonate outer shell to keep it show ring ready at all times. The front air inlet allows ...
TheEquine Couture Sportif Natasha Breeches offer comfort and ...
Description:
TheEquine Couture Sportif Natasha Breeches offer comfort and style with contrast stitching and the Comfort Sock System leg bottom, which is made to fit any leg length. Favorite Features Soft stretch opening offers a perfect, seamless fit underneath your boots ...
Keep warm with the Samshield Winter Helmet Liner! ...
Description:
Keep warm with the Samshield Winter Helmet Liner! Created from the base ofthe Samshield Shadow MattClassic Liner with the addition ofaWindstopper flap lined with synthetic fur. ItProtects against wind and cold while supplying excellent breathability. Internal memory foam supplies the ...
We Love This Engineered to give you total ...
Description:
We Love This Engineered to give you total confidence in your upper bodyProtection, the Kontakt 5 meets the latest and most comprehensive 2009 bodyProtector safety standards. A slim line appearance is achieved through tapered shoulders and rounded chestProtection panels. Ventilation ...
Why We Love ThisThe Troxel Liberty features an ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Troxel Liberty features an ultra low profile design with dial fit technology and a classic high gloss finish created for schooling and all-purpose riding. Large vents provide superior ventilation for a cooler, more comfortable ride.Favorite Features ...
Advanced Dublin RCS footbed with cradle offering arch ...
Description:
Advanced Dublin RCS footbed with cradle offering arch support and moisture control for all-day comfort.Favorite Features Quality leather boot Speed lacing system for ease and adjustability Moisture-wicking lining for rider comfort Rubber outsole designed for grip, endurance and stability control ...
The Fleur Ladies Polo by Horseware is your ...
Description:
The Fleur Ladies Polo by Horseware is your classic polo with added feminine ruffle detailing at the placket. Favorite Features Fashionableruffle placket detailing Figure Flatteringslim fit w/ stretch 95% cotton , 5% spandex Machine Washable Imported Sizing It Up XS ...
out of 5
96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Charles Owen JR8 Junior Helmet is rated 4.76056338028169 out of 5 by 142.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I just upgraded from a Troxel to this helmet and I've never been happier!! Definitely a must have. Looks classy for both schooling and at shows!
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous This helmet looks great and really completes the schooling or show look for a very reasonable price. It does however; get pretty warm due to the lack of ventilation. Being from Southern Arizona though means that no matter what helmet you have on, it's hot. I haven't had the helmet long enough to speak for its durability, but I expect it'll hold up very nicely. The fit was exactly as expected
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Proud to have the best! I never have spent this much on a helmet, but I wanted the best, and it was on sale.
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Junior Helmet! I bought this for our daughter who is just starting :) We love the fit, the style, and the quality:) and for the price, this Charles Owen Helmet can't be beat :)
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing:) !!!!! It is an amazing helmet!!! It hurts at first where it sits on your head, but after a few rides it shapes to your head. I am so happy with my helmet!
Date published: 2015-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Great Charles Owen quality at a nice price! I bought this helmet for my daughter to use as her dressage helmet and it works perfectly and fits great! My Smartpak rep even helped me with sizing. Thanks!
Date published: 2015-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet I have ever owned! I love this helmet! In the past, helmets always hurt my head after about a 1/2 hour of riding, and I had grown to believe that helmets were just all that uncomfortable. I had heard good things about CO, so I thought I would try this helmet, the most basic of the COs. I wore it around the house for an hour to test it, and my head didn't hurt at all! The padding is so comfortable, and seems to mold to my head. At first I was worried the padding would be problematic in the heat, but I have ridden in humid 90 degree weather and have only experienced minimal amounts of sweating, which is to be expected anyway, helmet or no helmet. As an added bonus, it is also a nice looking helmet. I definitely plan on buying another when the time comes :)
Date published: 2015-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love <3 I have had this helmet for a while now and it has held up very well. Great price cause I was able to pay for it by myself at the age of 10. Will be getting another one of these very soon.
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ADORE This helmet does run a little bit small, but the smaller fit was still very managable. This helmet is very stylish and flatters nicely. A lot of the girls at my barn have this helmet.
Date published: 2015-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the kids Got this for our 2yr daughter to show in the lead-line class. Good fit with plenty of room to grow over the next couple of years.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not cheap but she loves it It was at the top of her list and when she opened it she squealed. So much more comfortable than her old helmet.
Date published: 2015-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT This helmet is perfect! Fits and feels great plus it looks great!!!
Date published: 2014-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like this helmet It is very comfortable for having no air vents. It can feel heavy on your head after a while but the lining is nice and cushioned. For the price compared to the GR8 it is an exceptionally good value and has the good quality and name of Charles Owen. I kept my Ovation helmet for schooling in case this got too hot and gave me a headache as some reviewers said, but I just use this one all the time now. I also love that the suede will not get scratched during schooling and looks great for shows. I am very happy with this purchase!
Date published: 2014-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice helmet I bought this helmet for my daughter. She has had the exact same helmet for 2 1/2 years of showing and schooling. It is classic, well-made, a held up well to constant use. She could have kept using her other helmet for much longer (our new dog chewed a chin strap making it unsafe!), and the quality is certainly worth the price tag.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet! Great helmet! Extremely comfortable and light weight. Very pleased!
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet for the Price I bought this helmet a little over a year ago and it still looks and feels great! It fits true to size and molds to your head nicely. I definitely would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice helmet for both schooling and showing.
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Charles Owen I bought this helmet for my daughter and she likes it. She has a lot of hair though and finds it a little shallow for putting it up into a net for showing.
Date published: 2014-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet and the service was excellent. Very happy with the customer service and the products.
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I got this helmet a few weeks ago and I love it! At first it feels weird but when it molds to your head shape it's so conferrable and great for showing too! :)
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great schooling helmet for everyday use I bought this helmet with the intention of using it to school. I do like it for just that! The dome of the helmet is shallower than the GR8 so it is not as low profile. The straps are nicely adjustable but ackward to put on if you have a large head and a lot of thick hair like I do. It is cute to practice in but I would not use it for showing for the fact that it is not as clean looking on my head since it is not super low profile. If you had a small head it would probably be perfect!
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet I recently bought this helmet for my daughter for shows. The quality is great and it fits nicely. Will definitely buy another Charles Owen helmet in the future.
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and looks good in the show ring I bought this last month for my daughter. She loves the look and feel. I love the fit and it looks great on her in the show ring. She does say it is warmer than her last helmet but she is very happy with it.
Date published: 2014-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks professional, feels great Love this helmet. Steeper price, but I haven't regretted it for a second. I upgraded from my old Troxel show helmet and I definitely love it. Not as much ventilation, but it the comfort and looks make up for it. Feels like a pillow if you don't mind the sweat. Great quality, I baby it, but it would probably last reguardless. I use for both schooling and show. Mine is a bit bigger than it should be, but the harness keeps it in place. I suggest knowing your size of CO and what will fit before ordering.
Date published: 2014-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit As soon as I put this helmet on I knew it was a keeper. Very seldom can I buy a helmet without trying it on first and this one is a perfect fit!
Date published: 2014-08-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Worth the Purchase Price I purchased this helmet for my daughter in August 2012. It was used a few times a week and is always stored in a helmet bag in a climate controlled tack room. Recently, we noticed the helmet was not fitting as well so we took it to a local tack shop to have someone experienced with helmet fitting take a look. The front padding had completely broken down and the tack shop owner was able to fit an entire hand inside the helmet while it was on my daughters head! The helmet went from fitting my daughter to being unusable in less than two years! I have never seen a helmet break down so quickly. I will not purchase this product again and I am glad my daughter never had a fall with this helmet. For the price I am extremely disappointed and of course it is out of warranty after one year. Do not waste your money.
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FAVORITE HELMET I have had this helmet for about a year and it is my favorite! I had a Troxel, but I decided I needed a better more mature helmet. I decided on this one and I could not be happier! The helmet has a nice stylish design that is nice and slimming. Some people say that there isn't a lot of ventilation, which is true, but it still is not overly hot. I live in a moderately hot area so I understand. I use the Charles Owen helmet cleaner which works really well to keep the interior of the helmet clean. I am super pleased with this helmet. It has held up very well! I have had multiple falls on this helmet and no wear or tear at all! It is easy to clean which is always nice too! I am actually going to now get a GR8 for showing!!!! For sure recommend!
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite helmet This helmet is a life saver. A year ago I had a near rotational fall with my horse, and I hit my head so hard mid fall that I blacked out. I found out later that I had hit my temple (covered by the helmet) on my horse's head and then the exact same spot on the ground when I broke my collarbone. I had a massive headache the next day, but no concussion or brain damage. I was very lucky. This helmet is safe, comfortable, and affordable, and I completely trust the Charles Owen brand. Even though my horse and I no longer jump (we do dressage instead), I will continue to buy/use this helmet everyday and in the show ring. You can't go wrong with this helmet!
Date published: 2014-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit Bought this helmet for my daughter. Was having a hard time finding the right helmet that fit tight enough with her long hair up in it. This was the only 1 after 4 helmet tries that was affordable. It looks nice, covers the important areas as it should, fits snug with her hair up and can be worn in the rated shows.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charles Owen The helmet arrived a few weeks ago, and I love it. Perfect fit and very comfortable.
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I love this helmet! I have two Charles Owens (one for show and one for practice). I love this brand. This helmet is comfy, cool, looks great and durable!
Date published: 2014-03-18
  • 2016-07-28T10:34CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_122
  • loc_en_US, sid_5418, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders