Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Charles Owen Hampton Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #12399
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Covered with the best Italian velvet, the Charles Owen Hampton is designed to flatter and shade the face with a peak that is gently rounded.

Favorite Features

  • Adjustable deerskin harness is made from stay-soft leather and reinforced with nylon for additional strength, security and durability
  • Luxurious gold satin lining 
  • Rich black velour headband
  • Lining is interwoven with silver ions, providing anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors

Certified by SEI to ASTM F1163 and kitemarked to PAS015 and BSEN1384.

Sizing It Up

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen Hampton Helmet is rated 4.8519 out of 5 by 27.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful but had to send back This was my daughters pick for a Christmas present. This is a beautifully made helmet in every way; gorgeous lining and velvet, not velveteen, nice harness and classic details including coming with a satin bag to store it in. unfortunately the thing is absolutely *huge* in profile and my daughter didn't like that look. It is so thickly padded it stands away from the forehead about 2 inches and the same all around. My daughter ended up getting a velvet Troxel which is just as nice really so everyone is happy.
    Date published: 2013-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and Durable I purchased this helmet a couple years ago and it still looks like new. It's good quality and durable. My only complaints: They run a little small, and even though mine is the 'proper' size, it looks like it's perched on top of my head like an afterthought.
    Date published: 2012-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Charles Owen is top notch! I strongly advocate Charles Owen helmets, and this helmet is no exception! It truly is luxurious velvet, and the harness is so comfortable, and I can't say that for all helmets! My only complaint is it'll leave you with a sweaty head on some gentle rides; I found my GR8 was much more airy.
    Date published: 2010-12-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Show Helmet I adore this helmet. It is extremly comfy and looks great in the show ring. I have had mine for about 5 years, and it has faded a little bit, but it has been FIVE years of hot, sunny shows, cold, rainy shows, and everything in between. The only negative to this helmet is it gets a little hot, but honestly not that bad at all. I seriously recommend this helmet for anyone showing!
    Date published: 2010-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from pretty helmet great profile, but does run small, all of the charles owens I ordered to try for myself and my daughter did.
    Date published: 2010-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet Very comfortable and (I think) flattering. Lightweight and good ventilation! Glad to have stylish protection.
    Date published: 2010-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Helmet I love this helmet. It is extremely comfortable and is becoming. I've had other Charles Owen helmets and have loved them all. I bought the Hampton this time because it is a bit more traditional then my GR8.
    Date published: 2010-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive traditional looking helmet! This helmet is one of the most attractive and traditonal in appearance and sillhouette. The helmet seems to fit well tom an oval shaped head which is often difficult to fit. Comfortable to wear, it fades nicely when worn outside and remains pleasing in it's appearance through use.
    Date published: 2009-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet I got this helmet thinking maybe I should try something alittle nicer and trim looking for the shows(I'm not a big fan of the "stripe down the middle" helmets). This is so comfortable and easy to clean. The velvet is so soft and appealing, I don't know why everyone else doesn't have it! It does get sweaty and hot up there, but after setting it down for 5 minutes, the helmet is already dry!
    Date published: 2009-07-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from One of the best out there I chose this helmet because of it's beautiful show-ring worthy looks, and the comfort! I have not yet fallen with this helmet, but I know when the time comes, this helmet will protect me! The soft velvet looks so classic, I've gotten tons of compliments on it! The leather harness looks so professional, I love it! My only complaints are, because of the lack of vents, it got quite hot and I was very sweaty. I have even passed out once in this helmet. The leather harness did seem to stretch a bit too, but that's it. I love this helmet and will continue to wear it for my show career!
    Date published: 2009-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable I love everything about this helmet! So comfortable, so stylish, and did I mention so comfortable??? This hat could not be better!
    Date published: 2009-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great on, and safe I love this helmet because it does not look large and bulky at all, but it is still super cushiony and safe with a leather harness.
    Date published: 2009-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Value. Superb Comfort I have this helmet along with the GR8 and a GPA Titium Pro. The Hampton has the wonderful, wonderful Charles Owen comfort that I love. If you've never tried a Charles Owen this is an economical starter version. It has the classic appearance of traditional helmets which makes it appropriate across almost all specialties and disciplines. The traditional styling also means it's timeless. You won't find yourself spending a fortune on the next latest and greatest $500 helmet if you get the Hampton!! Surround your head with supreme comfort and style at an affordable price point!!!! A note on fit. The Charles Owens helmets tend to fit people with more oval shaped heads. My rounder headed friends prefer the original GPA helmets (not the newer pro models).
    Date published: 2009-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I am in LOVE with my Hampton Hat! Because of the price I was a little reluctant at first, but it is so worth it. This helmet just oozes quality. Everything feels so soft and rich, yet sturdy. Maybe it's just a coincidence, but the first show I wore this helmet in I won the championship ribbon for my divison (hunter classes)!
    Date published: 2009-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! I needed to find a nice helmet for stadium and dressage and love my Charles Owen J3 so had to stay with a Charles Owen for my second helmet purchase. This helmet has all of the quality of the Charles Owen brand with a super baby soft leather harness and a nice slim profile. Really nice quality helmet- worth the money.
    Date published: 2009-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classy I love the Hampton. It is a classic that outlives the 'Fad' helmets. It is extremely comfortable and comes with a great price.
    Date published: 2008-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! I wear this helmet for day to day riding, and it still looks amazing and very classic in the show ring. It is perfect for lower level dressage where you still have to wear a helmet because it is not bulky and looks classic. It is also super comfortable and the padding is still soft, and the leather harness, too!
    Date published: 2008-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety and Beauty! As an Adult Amateur rider, I was very reluctant to switch from my non-SEI certified helmet because I feared that my head would look GIGANTIC in the certified helmets. I tried on many of them, including the GPA, and cringed at the reflection looking back at me from the mirror. How could a helmet make my head look that big? Then I found the Hampton. This very traditional looking helmet does not make my head look big at all. Additionally, it is the most comfortable helmet I've ever worn. The padding on the inside is soft and forms to the shape of my head enhancing its comfort. The leather chin strap is the softest leather I've ever felt...I hardly even know it is there. Now, because of this helmet, I am a happy Adult Amateur rider with a very well protected head!
    Date published: 2005-03-29
    • 2015-05-27T09:44CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_26
    • loc_en_US, sid_2399, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.