Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Charles Owen GR8 Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #12415
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The GR8 helmet by Charles Owen is at the cutting edge of equestrian fashion. This helmet is both sleek and sporty with its low profile design. Available in a variety of colors, the GR8 Helmet is covered with a microfibre suede material that has been treated to afford it protection against marking and scuffing so your helmet continues to look great for years to come.

Favorite Features

  • Low profile design and gently rounded brim for a flattering look
  • Press stamped metallic logo is positioned centrally above the peak with another discreet logo on the back of the helmet where a ribbon would traditionally be
  • Harness is reinforced with nylon for additional strength, safety and security
  • Silver ions are interwoven throughout the lining in the headband to provide anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors
  • Kitemarked to PAS015 and BSEN 1384. Certified by SEI to ASTM F1163-15.

Sizing It Up

Charles Owen helmets are sized using metric measurements (Centimeters). We advise using Centimeters when determining size.



Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmet is the ...
    Description:
    The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmet is the latest blend of tradition and technology. This low profile helmet combines fade resistant velvet side panels with a vented velvet center for maximum airflow. It's the perfect combination of classic and cool! ...
    The Custom Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a ...
    Description:
    The Custom Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic. Endless ...
    The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked ...
    Description:
    The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked velveteen and has a rounded removable breakaway visor and coolmax lining. Easily adjustable dial ensures a snug fit while high flow vents keep you cool. YKK adjuster clip and buckle are positioned ...
    Equi-Lite Helmets are the highest quality schooling helmet. ...
    Description:
    Equi-Lite Helmets are the highest quality schooling helmet. Dial Fit System accommodates your ponytail, hugs the back of your head, and reduces the tendency of your helmet to shift forward or backwards when you ride. Total of 9 venting ports ...
    The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low ...
    Description:
    The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low profile design created for the performance-oriented rider. Favorite Features Woven honeycomb mesh keeps debris out of strategically placed vents while channeling fresh air throughout the helmet interior Dri-Lex adding maximizes moisture diffusion ...
    Following the success of the original Antares Helmet, ...
    Description:
    Following the success of the original Antares Helmet, the Antares designers created a new style with a more classic and conservative look. Complete ventilation keeps air flowing through the vents, keeping you cool and comfortable. Gorgeous Nubuck covering with a ...
    Add a little sparkle into your everyday life or ...
    Description:
    Add a little sparkle into your everyday life or in the show ring with the Charles Owen JR8 Sparkly Helmet!  Made of a special sparkle material, the black bling and shiny silver center seamlessly complement the black weather resistant microsuede side panels. Styled ...
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen GR8 Helmet is rated 4.7037 out of 5 by 81.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect traditional helmet My daughter always wore this helmet through her equitation and hunter years. I had an original GPA that just didn't quite fit my oval shaped head. This Charles Owen style fits perfectly and is so comfortable.
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really is lower profile I am a CO fan because I have a majorly oval head, I'm afraid to try anything else as I was sorry the few times I strayed. For background, I tried the J3 and 4Star helmets (looked WAY too big) before deciding to go with the Pro II for my XC hat. For dressage and stadium, I tried the SP8 first (also looked WAY to big), then finally ended up with the GR8 and I wish I'd just gone with it first. I have a smaller oval head, with a long narrow face. This helmet is the most flattering I've found so far. Also strange and worth mentioning - for the longest time I was always a 7 7/8, now I wear a 7 3/4. Not sure if the sizing changed slightly, or my head is shrinking in old age:/.
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So flattering! All of my life I was stuck with bulky helmets that just didn't flatter my head at all! I figured at I would give this a try because it was all over today, and I'm so happy that I did! It looks so flattering on every bodies head but I would recommend this for more oval/round head structures. This is honestly one of my best purchases hands down!:)
    Date published: 2015-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it really is a great helmet This is my second GR8 helmet. I am buying it so I can rotate with the other- to let one get completely dry before using it again. These helmets are lightweight, comfortable, easy to keep clean, reasonably cool/well ventilated and attractive. I only wish it was available with a tan-colored harness, which would be less overwhelming on my pale face.
    Date published: 2014-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this helmet so much I have 2! I bought this helmet about 2 years ago for a show helmet. I loved it until i fell of into the mud and got a big stain on it but nothing to damage the helmet.I ended up using that one as my schooling helmet and got another one for showing. Its very comfortable and very classy!
    Date published: 2014-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this helmet Had this helmet for about a year and a half- unfortunately need to replace after hard fall. I am looking at vented options but will probably come back to this one. Can't beat the stylish, professional look. This helmet fits my head better than the J3 skull cap and the GPA Speed Air- possibly built for a different head shape? Truly in love with this helmet and it held up beautifully. Sad to see it go!
    Date published: 2014-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! Good price for great protection. Love this helmet, this is our 2nd one.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing helmet! I bought this for the show season and to have a nicer more classic look when i ride! Its great! It cleans up easily, looks professional, and is great quality! I bought mine overseas because it is cheaper! But overall its my favorite style I've tried overall!
    Date published: 2014-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Favorite Didn't purchase from SmartPak (although i totally would have because i looooove their customer service) but i am in love with this helmet. i have a larger helmet size and it just molds to your head so wonderfully. i would advise watching the video about how to fit a charles owen, you have to try it on 3 times before you know how it fits, wonderful helmet, cleans up great with the cleaner and looks stunning in the show ring. will repurchase when necessary
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the helmet but snap broke in less than a year Had the helmet less than a year and the snap came out of the strap.  SmartPak did offer me a discount on a new one but did not replace.  I like the helmet huts disappointed that it had to be replaced so quickly!
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Had to replace in less than a year Like the look and feel of the Charles Owen. However mine at 10 months of use had to be replaced as the snap came out. Smartpak did assist with a discounted replacement but rather disappointed in the short life mine had (used 4-5x) a week for 10 months
    Date published: 2013-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Helmet Ever I absolutely love this helmet! It is sleek, stylish and functional! I got it for my birthday, and I loved it so much that I bought a second for schooling! It is very comfortable to wear, and it takes wear really well. I use it every day, and it is still going really strong! It does get a little warm in the summer, but I haven't had a big issue with that. I would definitely buy one again in the future!
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another vote for "too hot!" The helmet looks good and cleans up easily and has stayed smelling sweet over the last couple of years, but it is so HOT! My hair is totally soaked after every ride unless it's a < 45 degree day. The liner also compacted after a short time and I had to have considerable foam lining added to keep it snug.
    Date published: 2013-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Went with blue this time! I needed a new helmet because I had more hair than when I bought my first GR8, and it was five years old. I went with the midnight color and I am SO HAPPY I did. I get compliments everywhere and it is beautiful. It's a dark and rich color, really love it. Makes me smile every time I pull it out to wear. I went up one size and it fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2013-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet I originally purchased the JR8, but it looked like a bubble. This one is more low profile and very comfortable. I love the harness fastening.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well Fitting Helmet I purchased the GR8 helmet after not being able to get the right size (and not wanting to wait for it to be back in stock) in the Samshield helmet. I am pleased the GR8, as it fits well and looks quite sharp.The helmet fits pretty true to size, maybe just a touch on the large size, and the chin strap is comfortable and easy to adjust. I am not wild about how it fastens, with the weird metal thingy and snap, but it stays put and doesn't pinch or cause discomfort.The other nice thing about this helmet is that it seems to clean up easily. Dusty finger prints and horse hair just brush right off.In my opinion, this is a quality product and a good value.
    Date published: 2012-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit Love the fit, not as streamlined as I'd like but that's due to my giant head I think! This is my second CO and it fits great! I don't like how the fabric shows dust easily, but it comes off easy enough.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive, but worth it This is wonderful helmet! It looks much better than the older CO models... much more streamlined and attractive. I did have a little trouble finding the right fit, however. Since I wasn't in a hurry, I was able to make worry-free returns to Smartpak until I had the perfect fit!
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a "GR8" Helmet! The Charles Owen GR8 Helmet was definitely a great buy! The helmet itself fits well and a little snug, it is also very durable and protects very well. Aside from being a fully functional helmet, it is also very fashionable and easy to clean. A little towel or sponge can easily clean up any mess! At first I was a lithe skeptical of the price, but I have heard many wonderful things about this helmet and wanted to give it a try! Although it is on the pricier end of helmets; it is definitely worth it if it keeps you safe and you can keep it for years to come!
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A wonderful helmet After a fall my much beloved helmet needed to be replaced. I had previously had the Hampton hat by CO and really wanted to stick with CO. I love this helmet very much. It is extremely comfortable. Cleans up well with a damp sponge, or riding +3 horses in the pouring rain, of which being completely soaked (but not soaked through) dried out over night to a just purchased clean.
    Date published: 2012-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charles Owen GR8 For that special show look! Nice fit - no headache -light on your head. I wear this one for Dressage. Jazz loves the fact that it matches HIM!
    Date published: 2012-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Quality Helmet This is easily the one of the best helmets on the market today in terms of quality and style. Though expensive, you truly get your money's worth. The shape of the helmet itself seems to flatter anyone's face and it is very stylish and appropriate for the show ring. You can tell just by the way the helmet feels that it's made with quality materials. And I absolutely love the buckle feature instead of the snap. It looks much cleaner for shows. A suggestion I would make is that you should order the helmet to fit SNUGLY. This is what I did and it fits absolutely perfectly now. If you buy it a little bigger, the inner lining wil compress and the helmet will be way too big after a few rides. Also, some people say this helmet gets very hot when riding in warm weather, but it's actually not unbearable. It's of course not going to keep you as cool as a vented helmet, but you'll be hot in whichever helmet you wear when it's this hot. This is the best purchase I have ever made on a helmet, and when my other one is ready to retire, I will for sure be buying another GR8.
    Date published: 2012-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Helmet This helmet is terrific. It fits perfectly (make sure to measure your head as instructed). It seems to be very high quality and I am proud to wear it at competitions. Good buy.
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bleh. My parents purchased this helmet for me since i had been begging for a GR8 for a very long time. Sadly, it was uncomfortable to wear with my long shiny locks down, and i looked like a snowglobe with my hair up... so unfortunately i had to return. All my friends who have this helmet say it's wonderful though, so i guess my hair and head shape are only suited for GPA's!
    Date published: 2012-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet out there I absolutly love my GR8 charles owen!! this is my second one and i still love it. its the black on charcoal, i get a lot of compliments at shows and my friend liked the colors so much she got the same helmet. It fits beautifully and if buying this helmet get the cleaner and disenfectant, my helmets relatively new but on my old GR8 the sprays saved me before shows. Its a great helmet and i would reccomend it to anyone.
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best out there I don't have enough good things to say about this helmet. The fit is terrific. I have never been more comfortable riding for long hours. Additionally, it's one of the few helmets that I don't think makes me look ridiculous with a bulbous head. It does ventilate well, especially outdoors, in the indoor if it's hot it gets a little toasty. I wish the outside of the helmet was a touch easier to clean.
    Date published: 2012-04-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from TOO HOT! I bought this helmet during the winter and really loved how it fits. However, there is not one single vent anywhere. Every time I ride my head is sweating and very hot, even when it is zero degrees out, my head is drenched in sweat when I take off the helmet. Forget about the summer months...it is painful to wear this helmet! Love the quality and style...but it is just way too hot!
    Date published: 2012-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! Worth the money! The only thing is, I ordered a 7 1/8 because my old IRH was that size, but it is a bit snug-Nothing bad just order one size up! :)
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Helmet!! I absolutely LOVE the GR8. If you are looking at Charles Owen's, go with this one. The JR8 fit my head wierd. The GR8 Is also really good for fitting alot of hair under which is a problem for alot of competing junior riders. Hands down, best helmet around.
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charles Owen is unsurpassed in quality I love every CO helmet I have ever owned! Fit is great, and they are stylish!
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    • 2016-05-04T16:43CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_76
    • loc_en_US, sid_2415, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders