Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #16857
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic.

Developed for the equestrian athlete the slimline helmet uses advanced modern materials and incorporates the latest in thermoregulation for helmets to keep your head cool. The soft suede harness incorporates the revolutionary Grpx™ technology. The harness is coordinated to the specific colors within the range to give that complete finished look.

The brim is gently rounded to flatter the face and a press stamped metallic logo is positioned centrally above the peak. Another embroidered logo features on the back of the helmet to replace the traditional ribbon. The super soft headband is embedded with high tech silver ions, providing built-in antimicrobial protection, helping to keep the helmet hygienic and free from smells. 

Favorite Features

  • Microfiber suede side panels
  • Mesh centre for maximum air flow
  • Grpx™ technology to create snug and secure fit using scientifically designed grippers
  • Antimicrobial headband to keep helmet hygienic and free of smells
  • Certified by SEI to ASTM F1163
  • Kitemarked to PAS015 and BSEN1384

Sizing It Up


Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    99% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is rated 4.7717 out of 5 by 127.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Help Received this helmet as a gift and I love it. It's very well made and looks great on! The vents make it pretty cool and breathable as helmets go. It fits really well and is light and comfortable enough that I forget I'm wearing it! I'd definitely recommend this helmet to anyone looking for quality and comfort in a helmet.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet I have needed a new helmet for a year or so. I've never had a fall, but I kept putting up with my IRH. I decided to switch to CO bc the IRH was either too big and sat low on my ears or too small to even get on. The CO is amaaaazing. It feels so secure on my head. Even with out the chin strap, the helmet is going no easily. It looks great, too. Feel so much better wearing it then the IRH.
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great and so comfortable I used it last weekend at a show and it was perfect.
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new Fav...CO Never had a CO and my trainer recommended the JR8 but I have such a round melon that I had to go with the AYR8 and I love it super comfy and love the look.
    Date published: 2014-10-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice looking Really cool looking helmet but unfortunately not great for my shaped headed! If you have more of a round head then this is the helmet for you :)
    Date published: 2014-10-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wish it fit my round head I was really hoping this helmet would fit, but my head is too round. This one is more for the oval shaped heads. Overall it is a nice helmet and I was sad to send it back.
    Date published: 2014-09-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The most comfortable helmet ever I was told about this helmet by my insurance agent. Hmm, maybe she is just hedging her bets on me. Anyway, she said it is exceptionally comfortable. I had been riding in a Tipperary mid-line helmet that I paid around $200. It is fairly comfortable, but this one is 3 times better for comfort. My only complaint is it is kinda hot, but I was wearing it on a hot evening in 90 degree heat. It isn't nearly as hot if I am riding faster like during my barrel run, so I think as long as I'm going fast, I'll be cool. More motivation to go fast, I guess. I rated it at 4 stars due to the hot factor, but it is worth the money for the fit. I am hard to fit with a narrowing at the temples, but I needed no additional padding to fit this helmet. It just molds to my head.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking helmet! The AYR8 helmet is very flattering and comfortable with a great fit.
    Date published: 2014-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit After a bad fall, where my previous helmet slipped to the side, I tried on this helmet and was pleasantly surprised by the excellent fit and comfort. My only concern was heat build up on hot, muggy days. Once you put it on, you forget about it. Yes, it does feel great when you remove it, but you don't feel like you are baking while riding. Chin strap is very comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased! Riders knows not all helmets are the same the AYR8 has a great fit and a stylish look! I'm loving it!!!!
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice helmet This is a very nice helmet, comfortable, and attractive.
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my life I was in a very bad accident and shattered and crushed many bones. My head was not among them thanks to this helmet. It is the only helmet I'll ever buy again. Worth every dime.
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits like a glove! Best fit I've ever experienced in a helmet. I've only worn it twice thus far, but I feel secure and completely protected in it. I recently wore it cross country schooling in high heat for 3+ hours and barely sweated underneath it - definitely a great buy!
    Date published: 2014-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet I've ever owned I absolutely love the AYR8. The fit is perfect and it's comfortable enough to wear all day. I bought the helmet in brown and it's actually darker than pictured (it most likely appears lighter due to camera flash).
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful and classy looking This is a quality helmet and beautiful too. Great craftsmanship. The reason Im only giving it a 4 star is bc it didnt fit my head shape...it pressed my head badly at my temples. I also wished it had a removable liner. But aside from that the navy blue looked stunning with my navy show coat.
    Date published: 2014-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet I've owned!! I was skeptical on buying such a pricey helmet but I promise you, it is SO worth it. The helmet is so lite and comfortable you can barely even feel it on your head. It is very supportive and looks professional. Also, the air vents are superior. I haven't used it yet on those hot summer days but so far it's keeping my head cool(: Everyone at the barn is jealous!
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most comfortable helmet ever designed! Seriously - most comfortable helmet on the market (trust me, I've tried them all on).  Light weight and cool, you can spend hrs in the saddle and you won't even think about what is on your head.  Yes, it is expensive but do you really want to scrimp when it comes to safety???
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great buy I love my ayr8! Not sure how we'll t works but it looks great after 2 years of use! Fits great and is very comfortable.
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from High Tech! I love this helmet! I have had It for about a year now and it looks absolutely wonderful. I would not recommend it for people who live in extremely hot places. Although it seems very ventilated it stall makes your head sweat extremely bad. Other than that it is a wonderful buy!
    Date published: 2013-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great! This helmet is very comfortable, looks great, and is suitable for all English disciplines. The vents don't give great airflow, but it's much better than the ones without any.
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of the Best A helmet won't work if you don't want to wear it. This one feels like you have loads of protection and you hardly know you have it on.  I've had many helmets and given them away - too hot, too heavy, gives me a headache. Like the goldilocks story, this one is just perfect.  I have a slightly oval head and having a helmet that matches my head shape made all the difference.  I had to return the first helmet they sent because the outer shell was attached off-center - strictly cosmetic. Took a photo, sent it to the company and they immediately exchanged the helmet.
    Date published: 2013-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this helmet! I've have a collection of helmets in the past and this is by far my favorite! I love the light feel and how it doesn't feel like my head is being crushed. It's a little bulky, by it has a sleek look to it. I was reluctant to get it because of the price, but now that I have it, I know that I have finally found the helmet that it right for me!
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful in Brown We have found the AYR8 to be the best fitting helmet for our rider. She has an "oval" head and could not find a GPA to fit her. We tried the AYR8 and ... PERFECT! We recently did a USDF dressage show using all brown (rather than the typical black). Everyone loved it!
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my AYR8 I bought my first AYR8 after a fall 4 years ago, I was wearing the helmet every day, on multiple horses and I just retired it due to the fact that it has been dropped and banged around quite a bit in the last 4 years--that's an understatement, I beat the everloving tar out of it, and with a wet rag it still cleans up pretty well. I loved the helmet so much that when I went shopping for a new one, I went right back to it. I do find that I still sweat in it, but probably not as much as I would in a helmet with less ventilation. It is as comfortable as a helmet can be and fits very well. I have a very oval shaped head, so some brands are hard for me to fit, but the AYR8 is great. I don't get the headaches that I used to.
    Date published: 2013-08-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice helmet I needed a navy helmet to match my navy Pikeur shadbelly, and the Charles Owen AYR8 is a perfect match. My usual 6 7/8" size was perfect. I have not ridden in it yet, so don't know how I will like the cooling features.
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AYR8 Review Love this helmet! I have a large, round head and the AYR8 is the perfect fit. I have struggled ever since I first started riding trying to find a comfortable, yet stylish helmet for my large head (im a 7 3/4 with my hair up) but the AYR8 is the perfect fit and still is flattering.The AYR8 is breathable and it keeps my head cooler than my old IRH did.Can't truly rate durability since I just got the AYR8 a few weeks ago, but so far it has stayed nice and clean, even in a sometimes dusty riding ring.Can't say enough about the AYR8. Well worth the price and I will definitely buy again.Special thanks to Martha with Smartpak customer service for helping me chose the AYR8. She was so helpful!!
    Date published: 2013-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breathable, Attractive, and Comfy This product is wonderful. I got this helmet because of its great reviews and style. I am very impressed with it. Even in the intense humidity I still stay cool and comfortable. Great product if you are looking for a helmet.. Buy this.
    Date published: 2013-07-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Classic Looking Helmet I have had several ARY8s and they do fit an array of head shapes I would also say. It's a great helmet if you're looking for an approved helmet with a classic look. I do have to shelf the helmet and switch to one that vents better for warmer months. Good that many other reviewers don't have this problem but I don't find that mine vented at all.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful but... For the six months I have been riding in the helmet, I have really enjoyed it. It seems to warm up and form to the individual shape of my head, and it's been very comfortable. It still looks like brand new after being ridden in 5 times a week for half a year, however I do have one concern. My head gets really hot under this helmet, and the vents don't seem to do much. Although I love the way it looks and it was worth the price, I probably won't buy another one due to how sweaty my head gets on hot days.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good! I recently purchased this helmet, and it looks ten times better on me than my IRH Elite. Even still, I feel like my head looks like a mushroom no matter what helmet I try on! It does smell slightly funky after only a few days of use, though. Let it air out properly after each ride or get a fragrance satchet to keep in it.
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    • 2015-05-28T09:31CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_117
    • loc_en_US, sid_6857, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.