Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #16857

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic.

Developed for the equestrian athlete the slimline helmet uses advanced modern materials and incorporates the latest in thermoregulation for helmets to keep your head cool. The leather harness incorporates the revolutionary Grpx™ technology. The harness is coordinated to the specific colors within the range to give that complete finished look.

The brim is gently rounded to flatter the face and a press stamped metallic logo is positioned centrally above the peak. Another embroidered logo features on the back of the helmet to replace the traditional ribbon. The super soft headband is embedded with high tech silver ions, providing built-in antimicrobial protection, helping to keep the helmet hygienic and free from smells. 

Favorite Features

  • Microfiber suede side panels
  • Mesh centre for maximum air flow
  • Grpx™ technology to create snug and secure fit using scientifically designed grippers
  • Antimicrobial headband to keep helmet hygienic and free of smells
  • Certified by SEI to ASTM F1163-15
  • Kitemarked to PAS015 and BSEN1384

Sizing It Up


Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    With the thinning of the ozone layer, every ...
    Description:
    With the thinning of the ozone layer, every rider needs to be more aware of protecting their skin from the sun! The Charles Owen SP8 Helmet provides that better sun protection with a specially designed visor to shade the whole ...
    The Sierra helmet has been completely redesigned with ...
    Description:
    The Sierra helmet has been completely redesigned with an entirely new low profile and geometric visor. Engineered for riding extremes, the Troxel Low Profile Sierra Helmet's new rugged CORDURA and leather covering not only looks good, but also withstands the ...
    Low profile geometry, fashion forward grain leather exterior ...
    Description:
    Low profile geometry, fashion forward grain leather exterior and extreme ventilation make the new IRH Elite Ultra Helmet one of the most comfortable and fashionable helmets on the market. The center front vents together with the right, left and 2 ...
    The GR8 helmet by Charles Owen is at ...
    Description:
    The GR8 helmet by Charles Owen is at the cutting edge of equestrian fashion. This helmet is both sleek and sporty with its low profile design. Available in a variety of colors, the GR8 Helmet is covered with a microfibre ...
    Why We Love This Up-to-date styling, fit and ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the Ayr8® Leather Look the latest choice in equestrian protective headwear. The Leather Look Ayr8® requires minimal care to maintain its brilliant appearance.  The lining features interwoven silver ions, ...
    Introducing the new JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the ...
    Description:
    Introducing the new JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest level of protection! Low profile design is covered with a microfiber suede material treated to protect against marking and scuffing. Brim is gently rounded to flatter the face. Favorite Features Metallic ...
    out of 5
    99% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is rated 4.7426 out of 5 by 136.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet I bought this helmet as an upgrade from the Charles Owen JR8. At first glance, it is a very attractive helmet. I always put my hair up in a hairnet when I ride and the harness in the back is quite helpful. The air vents help, but they don't make a big difference. The outside of the helmet can be cleaned using a damp rag, Ive found that quite helpful.
    Date published: 2015-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another amazing Charles Owen helmet Got this helmet for christmas and I've been using it ever since! Very good quality, just wish it was easier to keep the dust off! Still love this helmet though!
    Date published: 2015-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable helmet Nice comfortable helmet. I grow up not always wearing a helmet. This helmet saved my mothers life.. I would recomment this helmet to everyone.
    Date published: 2015-07-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just OK..... I love CO helmets on everyone else... but they just don't work for my oval head. Lots of space on the sides, and just uncomfortable. This one also gave me the definite mushroom head! I have found the IRH long ovals work better for me, along with the (sadly) spendy Samshields. I will be sending this back for an IRH instead.
    Date published: 2015-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charles Owen AYR8 My daughter moved up from braids to hair-under-the-helmet so a new show helmet was warranted. She loves the styling of the helmet and I like the added security and the vents to help keep her cooler. The GR8 didn't look as attractive on her. It was great for her to be able to try both helmets at home via Smartpak.
    Date published: 2015-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing helmet Best helmet I've ever worn and with every penny never been so happy with a helmet thank you smartpak for the best product ever
    Date published: 2015-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Helmet! This is my second Charles Owen AYR8 helmet as my horse tripped and went down with me and thus I sent the helmet back as they suggest you do when a fall occurs.SmartPak was amazing in sending me another helmet quickly. This fits my head very well and does offer some cooling affect.
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I love my new helmet. Great brand!! I recommend to all.
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Upgraded from my GR8 I am a lover of Charles Owen, amazing quality and safety. I have ridden in a GR8 for a few years and decided it was time to upgrade and I'm so happy I did. Fits more snugly around the back of the head than the GR8 but I still ordered my same size and I love it. Looks great, feels great!
    Date published: 2015-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and Pretty! I can not say enough good things about this helmet! Its light, comfortable, easy to clean, doesn't hold stink, and looks beautiful on. I did find it to run slightly large, and ended up buying a 71/8, instead of my usual 71/4. All in all, a great helmet at a great price!
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yet again, CO doesn't disappoint I've been a Charles Owen wearer forever. And as I'd expect, I have no regrets ordering the ARY8. I've had the GR8 for years but recently moved to the Deep South and it just happened to be time for a new helmet! The fit is perfect (I have a more oval head that brands like GPA didn't really work for). I tried the OneK but didn't like the aesthetic or fit of the chin strap at all, so it was promptly returned. So far, I'd definitely say the ARY8 is overall cooler than the other traditional CO helmets. However, no, the ventilation is not equivalent to driving down a highway with the top down.
    Date published: 2015-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! Love! Love! this helmet I bought this helmet for my daughter for the performance, she loves it for the style.
    Date published: 2015-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Help Received this helmet as a gift and I love it. It's very well made and looks great on! The vents make it pretty cool and breathable as helmets go. It fits really well and is light and comfortable enough that I forget I'm wearing it! I'd definitely recommend this helmet to anyone looking for quality and comfort in a helmet.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet I have needed a new helmet for a year or so. I've never had a fall, but I kept putting up with my IRH. I decided to switch to CO bc the IRH was either too big and sat low on my ears or too small to even get on. The CO is amaaaazing. It feels so secure on my head. Even with out the chin strap, the helmet is going no easily. It looks great, too. Feel so much better wearing it then the IRH.
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great and so comfortable I used it last weekend at a show and it was perfect.
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new Fav...CO Never had a CO and my trainer recommended the JR8 but I have such a round melon that I had to go with the AYR8 and I love it super comfy and love the look.
    Date published: 2014-10-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice looking Really cool looking helmet but unfortunately not great for my shaped headed! If you have more of a round head then this is the helmet for you :)
    Date published: 2014-10-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wish it fit my round head I was really hoping this helmet would fit, but my head is too round. This one is more for the oval shaped heads. Overall it is a nice helmet and I was sad to send it back.
    Date published: 2014-09-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The most comfortable helmet ever I was told about this helmet by my insurance agent. Hmm, maybe she is just hedging her bets on me. Anyway, she said it is exceptionally comfortable. I had been riding in a Tipperary mid-line helmet that I paid around $200. It is fairly comfortable, but this one is 3 times better for comfort. My only complaint is it is kinda hot, but I was wearing it on a hot evening in 90 degree heat. It isn't nearly as hot if I am riding faster like during my barrel run, so I think as long as I'm going fast, I'll be cool. More motivation to go fast, I guess. I rated it at 4 stars due to the hot factor, but it is worth the money for the fit. I am hard to fit with a narrowing at the temples, but I needed no additional padding to fit this helmet. It just molds to my head.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking helmet! The AYR8 helmet is very flattering and comfortable with a great fit.
    Date published: 2014-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit After a bad fall, where my previous helmet slipped to the side, I tried on this helmet and was pleasantly surprised by the excellent fit and comfort. My only concern was heat build up on hot, muggy days. Once you put it on, you forget about it. Yes, it does feel great when you remove it, but you don't feel like you are baking while riding. Chin strap is very comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased! Riders knows not all helmets are the same the AYR8 has a great fit and a stylish look! I'm loving it!!!!
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice helmet This is a very nice helmet, comfortable, and attractive.
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my life I was in a very bad accident and shattered and crushed many bones. My head was not among them thanks to this helmet. It is the only helmet I'll ever buy again. Worth every dime.
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits like a glove! Best fit I've ever experienced in a helmet. I've only worn it twice thus far, but I feel secure and completely protected in it. I recently wore it cross country schooling in high heat for 3+ hours and barely sweated underneath it - definitely a great buy!
    Date published: 2014-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet I've ever owned I absolutely love the AYR8. The fit is perfect and it's comfortable enough to wear all day. I bought the helmet in brown and it's actually darker than pictured (it most likely appears lighter due to camera flash).
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful and classy looking This is a quality helmet and beautiful too. Great craftsmanship. The reason Im only giving it a 4 star is bc it didnt fit my head shape...it pressed my head badly at my temples. I also wished it had a removable liner. But aside from that the navy blue looked stunning with my navy show coat.
    Date published: 2014-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet I've owned!! I was skeptical on buying such a pricey helmet but I promise you, it is SO worth it. The helmet is so lite and comfortable you can barely even feel it on your head. It is very supportive and looks professional. Also, the air vents are superior. I haven't used it yet on those hot summer days but so far it's keeping my head cool(: Everyone at the barn is jealous!
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most comfortable helmet ever designed! Seriously - most comfortable helmet on the market (trust me, I've tried them all on).  Light weight and cool, you can spend hrs in the saddle and you won't even think about what is on your head.  Yes, it is expensive but do you really want to scrimp when it comes to safety???
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great buy I love my ayr8! Not sure how we'll t works but it looks great after 2 years of use! Fits great and is very comfortable.
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    • 2016-02-09T14:40CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_126
    • loc_en_US, sid_6857, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.