Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Chambon

Item #14772

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

A Chambon is excellent for horses who tend to be tense and hollow through the back. A Chambon teaches the horse to yield at the poll and stretch his head and neck down and forward. An excellent training aid for young horses but requires an experienced trainer to use properly.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    This Leather Lunge Caveson is made of durable ...
    Description:
    This Leather Lunge Caveson is made of durable leather. Adjustable cheek pieces and snap at the throat. Padded noseband and chin piece for extra comfort. Three rings at noseband. Brown. Horse size.
    The Web Training Surcingle is made of high ...
    Description:
    The Web Training Surcingle is made of high quality webbing. The adjustable leather straps with roller buckles on both sides and padding around the wither ensures a perfectly comfortable fit. Five top D rings and center D ring at the ...
    A great value and a must-have for any ...
    Description:
    A great value and a must-have for any horse's training! Brown leather training surcingle with appropriately placed Dee rings. Roller buckles at girth for easy adjustment. One size.
    The Pessoa Lungeing System was invented by international ...
    Description:
    The Pessoa Lungeing System was invented by international show jumping rider Nelson Pessoa. The Pessoa Lungeing System is designed to encourage balance and a gradual build-up of topline. The Pessoa Lungeing System consists of an easy-to-put-together array of ropes, clips ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Chambon is rated 4.35 out of 5 by 20.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from chambon The chambon I purchased has helped immensely with my young horse. It is teaching her to use and relax her back but is not harsh in any way.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great training aid This Chambon is a wonderful training aid it allowing a ewe neck horse or hollow back horse soften and go long and low...get a stretchy back...and begin to get connected.
    Date published: 2013-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Well Made This is an excellent product and it's very well made. It is fully adjustable fitting my 15 H as well as my 17 H Horse. Excellent value for the price.
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke after first use. So, I have been able to use this even though it has broken... but is has been with some MacGyver style rigging. There are these small pins that hold the rope in place on either side. With the smallest amount of pressure they pop out. Not a BAD thing. If you have hours to crawl around on your hands and knees in the arena looking for them when they pop out. I get it, the set up is made so that with a little too much pressure, the rope is released and the horse is free... but my guy is 4 and doesn't mind the chambon... and just testing the pressure with his head, the pins popped out and were lost. Also, I had to add another 10 holes in the girth strap because the cord is so long and even though my guy is 16.3, he was still able to walk around like a giraffe if he wanted to. With the rigging my trainer and I have done, my horse can comfortably lunge around in a beautiful training level stretch. But I would say this was a piece of equipment that was constructed great in theory, but in reality, is poorly conceptualized.
    Date published: 2012-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely product High quality construction with supple but durable leather crown piece. The only training aid I use consistently and I can see the results in my horse's topline! Great for my 23 year old former grand prix jumper who loves to carry himself with a hollow back. Perfect for those horses that are difficult to encourage to go long and low for strength-building.
    Date published: 2012-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommended I bought this product to help my horse get muscle and balance. We only use it for lunging, but I have ridden him in it. It's a great product because it is quality material, and well made.
    Date published: 2012-03-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from In the past I've used the deGogue and Chambon quite a bit and was very happy with it. I finally decided to get a Chambon again. It fits my nearly 17h horse well enough and he works well in it. The quality of the material is good. I especially like the cords. However, I would have preferred that the cords can be detached from the poll piece. This one does not allow you to do so. That limits me in using the Chambon just for warm up, especially since the leather strap that attaches to the girth also has to be slipped off rather than buckled on and off. Overall a fine value for he money.
    Date published: 2011-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool if used correctly. Very well made and easy to use. A must have tool but should only be used by those who understand how to use it. Not for every horse but great for those that respond well to poll pressure.
    Date published: 2011-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't do without it My horse had a consistency of tossing his head and hollowing out through-out his back. When he finally did get on the bit, he had trouble maintaining a low headset. The chambon has taught him to correctly respond to the bit because it applies pressure on the bit when he raises his head in a natural way like your hands would. So after conditioned use of the chambon, he learned to flex at the pole with the pressure of my hands instead of evade it like he used to. Also, the chambon helped him round out and build up the right muscles to maintain a round hunter frame. I use this almost every time I ride and I have really seen an improvement over the past year. I don't know what I would without this!!
    Date published: 2010-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from helped alot my horse was very tight and hollw through the poll and neck. neck stretches, draw and side reins were just making it worse.the non punishing effect of the chambon plus the way ti is made and put on the horse had my horse do a complete 180!
    Date published: 2009-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple to use This is a simple and effective training device. The price is right, too. I did have to add several more holes with a leather punch to get the device to have any effect while lunging, but after that it worked great!
    Date published: 2009-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent value, solidly made This is a VERY well made item considering the price. The leather is flexible without a tendency to crack as it often does with cheap leather. The nob/slit type of fastener for the poll piece is excellent and easy to use. The band over the poll is wide enough to not 'cut' but still apply pressure. For more petite horses, the device is too 'big' but it's very easy to add more holes into the leather and adjust the buckle to shorten the leather between the legs and up to the rope. If you think you might ever need to use one, the value of this compared to $100 version is outstanding.
    Date published: 2008-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful Training Tool! Chambons are great for teaching horses how to stretch into the bit contact and use the back without coming behind the vertical. However, be sure to teach your horse that he must yield to pressure on the poll; horses that don't understand this can panic and fight a chambon. These are awesome training tools in the right hands. If you are inexperienced, have a trainer or knowledgeable horse person work with you and your horse.
    Date published: 2008-06-19
    • 2016-02-08T14:10CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_18
    • loc_en_US, sid_4772, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.